Nissan GT-R receives minor updates for 2009

Nissan GT-R Brakes

While we wait patiently for the even faster GT-R V-Spec to roll out of Nissan’s garages, they’ve gone ahead and performed a few minor updates on the “baseline” GT-R. New for the 2009 model year is an extra 5 PS from the engine, bringing the peak power up to 485 PS. It is however more economical, rated at 8.5km/l instead of the previous 8.2km/l. You can also go further per tank of fuel as the fuel tank size has been increased from 71 litres to 73.8 litres. The white paint is now a new shade called Storm White. Other minor changes include the Brembo brake calipers in front losing their Brembo logo and replaced with Nissan wordings, and the removal of the front license plate holder base.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mahs (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 6:10 pm

nice car…
    brunei and singapore see a lot like aunty use to buy vege
    malaysia? where is the GTR?

• kington (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 6:11 pm

I’ve seen quite a number of this new GT-R on the road. Especially white and black ones.

• torque (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 6:37 pm

Daaaaaaamn…always love this car and always will!! Paul, the V Spec is good but not as good as their new limited version GTR LM edition. That is one mean monster…600BHP wor!!! Any news on it? Or it is just rumours? Thanks!

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 7:17 pm

is this car really that fast?

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 7:26 pm

so minor, maybe don’t want to upset the handling of the car

• clover leaf (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 7:38 pm

?????GTR??? NSX??????????????????????????????

• clover leaf (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 7:42 pm

honda is launching NSX replacement model soon, nissan is very anxious so decided to update GTR,

• Pimpjuice (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 8:12 pm

First…Nissan GT-R;
    Second…Nissan GT-R V-Spec;
    Then soon Nissan GT-R V Spec II & Nissan GT-R M-Spec;
    Then most probably Nissan GT-R V-Spec Nur & Nissan GT-R M-Spec Nur
    —————————————————————

• peter32 (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 8:52 pm

Damn !!! I should’ve delay my booking.. :D

just kiddin’.

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 8:57 pm

they say it can go 0-60 mph in 3.5 seconds, thats like faster than any of the ferraris, slower only than the murcielago lp640, bugatti plus others

• e-nabilll (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 9:01 pm

black seen few times in batu caves…it sounds so noisy…maybe the guy changed exhaust or sting…this is suppose to be the performance car on budget…but stil costs rm6xx,000….

• abtm (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 9:10 pm

Whatever they do, great car, but just how do they measure the extra 5PS? most GTRs produces more than the claimed power anyway…

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 9:49 pm

ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG said,
    November 14, 2008 @ 8:57 pm

they say it can go 0-60 mph in 3.5 seconds, thats like faster than any of the ferraris, slower only than the murcielago lp640, bugatti plus others

————————————

yeah, me too !!! i find it something fishie here !!!! is this car really as fast as quoted…. *** cn u guyz still remember the porche sueing them for givin’g false info about da performance !!!!

• e-nabilll (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 10:36 pm

it wasnt bcos of the performance..it was the lap time…pick up any uk based magazine n read the reviews…all getting crazy abt this car…bcos it costs abt 50k pounds…wer a 911 turbo costs almost 80k…n stil beats it almost on everyting !

• elpaciko (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 10:59 pm

nobody recall that porche sueing nissan… because they didnt..
    godzilla really is as powerful as what nissan claim and that really pissed off traditional “high-perfomance” brand

• clover leaf (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 11:18 pm

e-nabilll said,
    November 14, 2008 @ 10:36 pm

it wasnt bcos of the performance..it was the lap time…pick up any uk based magazine n read the reviews…all getting crazy abt this car…bcos it costs abt 50k pounds…wer a 911 turbo costs almost 80k…n stil beats it almost on everyting !__________________________________________________________________________
    we r suppose to benchmark cars based on performance rather than some (non-FIA approved) race track lap time.
    takes nürburgring, superbikes like yamaha, mv agusta clocked even faster times than GT-R and 997, the best part they only cost a fraction compare to supercars.

• csv (Member) on Nov 15, 2008 at 1:18 am

haha, it’s still kicking ass.

• charles27 (Member) on Nov 15, 2008 at 3:11 am

if comparing ferarri, porche, or gtr… its not fair to compare any of them together. They are at different segment… ferrari got too many model and so does posy.. but gtr is still the same bread GT-R.

from spec.. ferrari can goes over 600hp… but its tuning option is little and super expensive. For gtr already have MINE’s tuning kit that can boost to 580hp… kakaka… worth the money alot.

i saw a black gtr in my area few times already. really handsome. sad laa.. 720k car.

• hidrogentank (Member) on Nov 15, 2008 at 10:02 am

the gtr is as fast as they say ,skeptics. maybe you just dont get the physics.

• hidrogentank (Member) on Nov 15, 2008 at 10:18 am

im pretty sure the f430, 911 turbo ,gt2,gt3, whetever are in the same league as the GTR, and it’l pretty much smoke em all, at half the price.plus u get state of the art tech.it can monitor your driving style,tell u d right way to max it ,get the best time out of your lap,tell u how to save fuel etc,i could just go on n on. unconvincing to some i know,less power, much heavier how could this be????.its all about power management and usability.

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 15, 2008 at 11:22 am

charles27 said,

November 15, 2008 @ 3:11 am

if comparing ferarri, porche, or gtr… its not fair to compare any of them together. They are at different segment… ferrari got too many model and so does posy.. but gtr is still the same bread GT-R.

from spec.. ferrari can goes over 600hp… but its tuning option is little and super expensive. For gtr already have MINE’s tuning kit that can boost to 580hp… kakaka… worth the money alot.

i saw a black gtr in my area few times already. really handsome. sad laa.. 720k car.
    ————————————
    the gt-r is a very nice car, but i would still have the porsche, or better, i take both

• mitlanevo (Member) on Nov 15, 2008 at 6:21 pm

really MINOR, lol~

why compare GT-R with Ferrari, Posh and Lambo?

u got GT-R, u win the race on highway….

u got those European marques, whole kampung will salute u…

there are differences….

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 16, 2008 at 10:31 am

yes, but which car will girls dig more? unless u buy alfa romeo, then you no need girls anymore.

• AMG (Member) on Nov 16, 2008 at 11:27 pm

WOW!!… Update again?

Besides, i saw a real model near my house recently.

Plate No. = P**19

• hidrogentank (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 9:58 am

whoevers choosin porsch,ferrari,blah,blah over d GTR is in for a bad deal. GTR is a legend.in a few yrs, whatever euro marque ud hav will b uotdated while d GTR will happily live on.whoever remembers the f360 modena,or 996???

• hidrogentank (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 10:00 am

err, thats outdated*** ,not uotdated .

• rufus-x (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 11:30 am

in my opinion..
    those who chose other supercar brands other than the gt-r are not quite in on the spirited driving groups..hehe

not that i’m saying that those who owns gt-r are really good drivers though..
    just that i’m saying that those who chose gt-r are those who really are car enthusiasts know well what car do they want to drive for spirited driving rather than being fancy to catch others eyes.. ;)

ok, some say that performance tests counts on determining the best car over others..
    but i think no matter how well the performance tests were on paper..
    it is still the matter of how u urself will drive/use the car if u have it..right?

moreover..if ur a petrol head, wouldnt it be nice to have a 500hp car for much lesser price than those continental makes?

:) just my humble opinion..

• torque (Member) on Nov 18, 2008 at 5:13 pm

mitlanevo said,
    November 15, 2008 @ 6:21 pm

Hahaha…kinda true also wat!!! :-)

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 19, 2008 at 10:19 am

hidrogentank said,

November 17, 2008 @ 9:58 am

whoevers choosin porsch,ferrari,blah,blah over d GTR is in for a bad deal. GTR is a legend.in a few yrs, whatever euro marque ud hav will b uotdated while d GTR will happily live on.whoever remembers the f360 modena,or 996?
    ———————————-
    i remeber 360 modena as being the better looking car, especially the spider, which is 10000 times better than the ugly f430 spider. i don’t remember th3 996 but i remember the 993 turbo which is still one of the better looking cars today. still, the gt-r is nice, but its cheap anywhere but malaysia. fuck you barisan najis.

• hidrogentank (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 12:41 pm

ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG said,
    November 19, 2008 @ 10:19 am

hidrogentank said,

whoevers choosin porsch,ferrari,blah,blah over d GTR is in for a bad deal. GTR is a legend.in a few yrs, whatever euro marque ud hav will b uotdated while d GTR will happily live on.whoever remembers the f360 modena,or 996?
    ———————————-
    i remeber 360 modena as being the better looking car, especially the spider, which is 10000 times better than the ugly f430 spider. i don’t remember th3 996 but i remember the 993 turbo which is still one of the better looking cars today. still, the gt-r is nice, but its cheap anywhere but malaysia. fuck you barisan najis.

—————————————————————-

thats your own opinion .i think the GTR looks realy good, its got that sense of prescence(with those 20” wheels), but anyway,
    totaly agreed with the barisan najis thang haha!

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 22, 2008 at 10:42 am

hidrogentank said,

November 21, 2008 @ 12:41 pm

ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG said,
    November 19, 2008 @ 10:19 am

hidrogentank said,

———————————-

—————————————————————-

thats your own opinion .i think the GTR looks realy good, its got that sense of prescence(with those 20” wheels), but anyway,
    totaly agreed with the barisan najis thang haha!
    —————————————-
    nonono, dont get me wrong, the gt-r is an awesome looking car. i was replying the question on who remembers the 360 modena and 996.

• charles27 (Member) on Dec 07, 2008 at 4:26 am

today saw magazine.. the new gt-r basic only RM620k ooo… getting cheaper now.. was above 700k for basic.. premium up to 780k.

• kukumalu on Feb 17, 2009 at 8:38 pm

Malaysia do not have much GTR on the road

the government have raise the car tax up to almost 200%..

means u can buy 1 GTR at singapore…u can buy 3 GTR in malaysia

xD

• osman on Apr 07, 2009 at 10:29 pm

nice