Its official: US F1 Team officially announced

A couple of hours ago, team principals; Ken Anderson and Peter Windsor officially announced the US F1 Team in an interview with Speed TV. As reported earlier, the US F1 Team intends to take part in the Formula 1 World Championship with its very own chassis and engine, and by hiring American drivers as it plans to join the Formula 1 grid for the 2010 season.

This means that the team has about 1 year to fully develop its contender and assemble its drivers, and rumor has it that the American team is interested to get Scott Speed and Danica Patrick on board.

Nothing much has been revealed during the interview however, apart from the fact that the team will be based in North Caroline which is also the home to the Windshear wind tunnel. The wind tunnel is crucial for the development of the aerodynamic efficiency of a Formula 1 car. The US F1 Team with its “Made in America” tag line will join Force India, as another “country”-based Formula 1 Team.

Both Ken Anderson and Peter Windsor (who is also a motoring journalist) have long resume’s in motor racing such as Formula 1 and Indy Car. Both also revealed that US F1 will reside in North Carolina, America, although most of the other teams are based in Europe. According to the team principals, most of the technology that is utilized in Formula 1 comes from America and that it is cheaper to run a Formula 1 team in America, compared to running one in Europe. But I am pretty sure that logistics might be a problem.

Both also mentioned in the interview that the US F1 Team is privately-owned, as in not a team that is fully owned by a single individual (which should be a millionaire) or an automobile company. Continue reading to watch a 5 minute 23 second-long video of the interview.

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• arch808 on Feb 25, 2009 at 6:01 pm

Finally, some exciting news amid all the negative talks during the off-season. :-)

• arch808 on Feb 25, 2009 at 6:04 pm

go Danica go…!! …schwinggggg.

Scott Speed… I dont think so, this guy only have the name but not the talent… :-)

• lunaticg on Feb 25, 2009 at 6:04 pm

It is an exciting news indeed but if they come with american driver, i don't think that they can compete in F1. F1 is a big difference then american races.

Thanks for sharing.

See you around.

• knight_templar on Feb 25, 2009 at 6:34 pm

If they wanna promote themselves as country based teams, shouldnt they be in A1GP? Anyway wats the point of A1GP, i doubt ppl even watch it.

• the stik (Member) on Feb 25, 2009 at 6:36 pm

american always think they good enough.. in another word: poyo!

entah² their f1 car only can go straight, once reach corners terus straight hentam dinding.. american muscle lah katakanyeeee…

• theanswer on Feb 25, 2009 at 6:46 pm

[quote comment="215270"]american always think they good enough.. in another word: poyo!

entah² their f1 car only can go straight, once reach corners terus straight hentam dinding.. american muscle lah katakanyeeee…[/quote]

hahaha..they'll also comes out with V8 hemi f1 engine. If possible they supercharged the engine.

• what i say on Feb 25, 2009 at 7:02 pm

pasukan belasahan.. but then, since they're into F1, maybe some of the features could be employed into their local sports cars and won't be the laughing stock of the performance car industry. Dumbass American cars can't take corners.

It's about time they figure out what 'precision engineering' means hahaks.

• neveraproton on Feb 25, 2009 at 7:18 pm

I don't think drivers are firmed up yet though…

HOMESTEAD, Fla. — Danica Patrick and Marco Andretti are here at Homestead Miami Speedway for the first official test session of the IndyCar Series. But it's a possible future in Formula One that keeps coming up.

The F1 buzz is in reaction to the newly-formed USF1 team which was unveiled by owners Ken Anderson and Peter Windsor in Charlotte, N.C. on Tuesday.

"I'm very flattered to be thought of, for sure. … Formula One is a very competitive platform, but I don't necessarily know why no one ever spoke to me,'' Patrick said Tuesday after the team mentioned her as a potential driving candidate.

"It's not like they contacted me and I gave them the 'oh yeah, that sounds very interesting.' I never heard from anyone.''

• e-nabilll (Member) on Feb 25, 2009 at 9:26 pm

how do u offcially anounce a team without the drivers or sponsers …

• Chris Chong on Feb 25, 2009 at 9:40 pm

[quote comment="215275"]

hahaha..they'll also comes out with V8 hemi f1 engine. If possible they supercharged the engine.[/quote]

ZOMG! An F1 car with a supercharged HEMI will sound AWESOME!!!

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Feb 25, 2009 at 9:59 pm

[quote comment="215263"]It is an exciting news indeed but if they come with american driver, i don't think that they can compete in F1. F1 is a big difference then american races.

Thanks for sharing.

See you around.[/quote]

it can be done.. montoya was pretty good, and lets also not forget the legendary mario andretti. these guys all came up thru american motorsports.

• the stik (Member) on Feb 25, 2009 at 10:07 pm

ask sylvester stallone laa to be the driver.. dia kan hero dlm movie Driver.. kutip duit syiling atas trek guna tayar.. american hero.. poyo..

• i love to see danica patrick ride a 700 hp machine with those insane Gs. wheeyuweeetttt.

• Fridz (Member) on Feb 25, 2009 at 11:12 pm

Wah3…the very 'poyo' american dudes..they think they can build F1 as doing cookies or what?F1 is a matter of technology invention and research.not just a weekend drag show done as a hobby or 'suka-suka isi masa lapang'…

i bet this american team will not compete in F1.or maybe never to get top 10 ranking or never finish the race.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Feb 26, 2009 at 2:03 am

[quote comment="215315"]Wah3…the very 'poyo' american dudes..they think they can build F1 as doing cookies or what?F1 is a matter of technology invention and research.not just a weekend drag show done as a hobby or 'suka-suka isi masa lapang'…

i bet this american team will not compete in F1.or maybe never to get top 10 ranking or never finish the race.[/quote]

you're just looking at things from 1 dimension. not all americans just drag cars. much of f1 technology can be traced to aeronautical technology.. and dont forget that the americans are good in that field.

• dr_farnz on Feb 26, 2009 at 3:01 am

US always want to be EVERYWHERE.It's like the quest is not complete without them..What the heck..wait and see..

HELL to the USF1..

• tiadaid (Member) on Feb 26, 2009 at 3:18 am

[quote comment="215297"]how do u offcially anounce a team without the drivers or sponsers …[/quote]

Prodrive did it, and was supposed to be in F1 last year. Alas, nothing happened. Well, I wish them well, and hope they don't be another Honda or Toyota

• sharifali on Feb 26, 2009 at 6:16 am

Now we can see the fat drivers eating hamburger when driving… :P

• kimi_ on Feb 26, 2009 at 8:31 am

It would be great if MALAYSIA got one team too.

I wonder then who will be the driver???

• radman on May 26, 2009 at 2:20 am

I wish Peter Windsor and Ken Anderson the best of luck I really do. But I think team "Made in America" will join Force India as a back-marker at the end of the field. One year to develop a competitive F1 chassis and engine? Are they kidding?