Hyundai developing 800cc turbocharged inline-3

Hyundai LogoHyundai is currently developing a new 800cc turbocharged inline-3 engine for its smaller models. producing about 90+ horsepower, which is about the equivalent of a normally aspirated 1.2 to 1.4 litre engine, depending on how aggressive the tune is.

This new 800cc engine will likely be offered first as some form of alternative to the new 1.2 litre Kappa engine (80 horses) in the markets that can afford it, and later probably completely replace it if they are able to price it well. This engine will likely find its way into the Hyundai i10 and the Kia Picanto and later other cars like the Hyundai i20 (Getz).

There are not many turbocharged gasoline engines in the Hyundai-Kia line-up, with the most modern one coming to my mind being the 2.0 litre GDI Turbo unit based on the GEMA engine that was announced late last year. Hyundai’s turbocharged GEMA engine trumps its rivals with the addition of direct injection.

The Kia Forte Koup with its killer looks are just dying for a more powerful engine like a turbo inline-4, as the 2.4 litre version just doesn’t cut it, being quite far off from hitting the 200 horsepower mark. There was also a 1.6 litre GDI Turbo that was slotted into the Hyundai ix-onic Concept from March this year – that one made about 170 horses.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ahaa…perhaps another alternative besides L2-L9 which is pops amongs P2 enthusiasts….then we can watch Kancil vs picanto…krkrkrkrk…

• looks like all the malaysian i10 owners are gonna get the turbocharged transplant after the warranty finishes! =) imagine the turbocharger on the 1.1 engine.. hmmm

• azrai on Aug 12, 2009 at 12:03 am

When Tengku Mahalel and Dr. M decided to buy MV Augusta this is what they are expecting. technology transfer of motorcycle engine into cars. The inspiration? Suzuki, from motorbike makers to car makers. Pity to us it didn't happened.

• Lee Callan on Aug 12, 2009 at 12:08 am

Paul…Is it cheaper to make 800cc turbocharged engines or just a normal 1300cc engine? And which of these is more economical to run, both in terms of fuel consumption and maintenance?

• Paul Tan on Aug 12, 2009 at 12:23 am

A turbocharged engine is probably more expensive.

• Hyundai on Aug 12, 2009 at 12:28 am

Paul, so far Hyundai Turbocharged engine is 2.0 GEMA Non GDI which found in Genesis coupe instead if 2.0GDI. the GDI is not apply to the passenger car yet and it maybe in future.

• bmpower on Aug 12, 2009 at 2:01 am

after over 50 years of existence, they just learn how to turbo-ed the engine. What a lame and slow achievement. Proton is faster, only took 20+ year.

btw.. small cc with higher output are always welcomed.

• tikus on Aug 12, 2009 at 3:09 am

Tengku Mahalel is a joke for P1. And bmpower,Proton got turbo engine meh since when? or u mean Wiralution or Wajalution on the road.

• sam yap on Aug 12, 2009 at 3:45 am

but nowadays hyundai are doing alot better better than proton…

my family juz bought the 'elantra x20 with incus edition' as 4th car…cost onli rm95k….

1.spacious and confort interior

2. nice to drive around

3. better quality than protoon, nice design

4. fc is alot better than what i thought actualli, running less than 3000rpm at 130kmh (gear ratio mayb but the car pick up is quite good also)

they do better than proton now!

anyway, i drivin proton satria neo also…

• old timers on Aug 12, 2009 at 4:48 am

good..good..can always put on my bike..haha.

• Rhys Miller on Aug 12, 2009 at 5:18 am

BM took more than 56 years before it's first turbo charged engine appeared.

Hyundai has been using VGT Turbo chargers in its Starex and Santa Fe ..

Other makers are still stuck with Waste Gated Turbo Chargers…

• peYno on Aug 12, 2009 at 5:55 am

yeah everybody going for turbo changed engine nowadays.. small cc but bigger output

taht means.. proton is in right direction.. producing 1.6 turbo changed…

those who narrow minded may ask.. y proton not come out.. 1.8 or 2.0l for exora.. haha

• Littlefire on Aug 12, 2009 at 8:08 am

But why Proton came out so late about the turbo Campro? Becoz of too much complain about the low power 1.6L N/A engine? Haha..

• campro was originally built for na, not turbo. p1 don have 1.8 or 2.0 litre engine yet so they just plan to slam a turbo unit in the campro as cheaper option. but its still not as good as specially develop a turbo engine like hyundai and other makers.

• sam yap on Aug 12, 2009 at 12:58 pm

little : actualli stock campro r really low power…but then still can sapu those stock city i-vtec,vios vvti with powerful engine…

dun compare campro with b16a, 4age as those engine are build for race…

• dear sam yap,

talking about STOCK campro can beat those STOCK vios and city…

on the paper saying campro have MORE TORQUE is yes…but on the road..

its a different story..

• badboy on Aug 13, 2009 at 3:08 am

Aiya, why look at engine based on HP or torque figure only. An engine has it own character. Yes, campro CPS is giving high hp, but the engine will scream when you press it. Look at the "prince engine" by BMW, just 120 hp but voted best engine of the year.

While City & Vios engine may not produce as much hp than campro, they are a better engine overall.

• Rhys Miller on Aug 13, 2009 at 4:47 am

Actually it's the area under the torque and power curve that makes more of a difference . subsequently the gear ratio matching to the weight of the car that makes the car acceleration characteristics.

• sam yap on Aug 13, 2009 at 4:53 am

deat sapu, yes from 0-100kmh mayb stock city/vios can sapu neo…

juz compare the power to weight ratio…but ahemmm….starting 120kmh onward..saybye bye to city/vios on the straight road onli..

dun compare them in corner, not fair to vios/city coz they cant even catch up…hehe

• sam yap on Aug 13, 2009 at 4:55 am

i noe the bad side and good side of neo…so juz c how u utilise the good side…how u maintain the powerband…hehe

• peYno on Aug 13, 2009 at 7:02 am

Littlefire said,

August 12, 2009 @ 12:08 am

But why Proton came out so late about the turbo Campro? Becoz of too much complain about the low power 1.6L N/A engine? Haha..

Read more: http://paultan.org/2009/08/11/hyundai-developing-…
    =================

came out so late??? turbocharge campro has been developed since 2007

no body complain about low power 1.6l… ppl who complain are ppl who never drive AUTO

• Littlefire on Aug 14, 2009 at 8:11 pm

I newer saw the turbocharge campro since 2007 until now? Where can i get it? If it is developed why so take so long time? Want to waste more R&D money? Now i know where all the money in Proton went…

This is not sufficient, those road side mechanic can just turbocharge or superchange engine by buying parts, modify and do trail and error by themself and can be done in nearly a few weeks or the most months, but for a turbocharge campro need almost 2 years with all the facility, engineers and technology?!? Is this cost-effective? It should have came out with Exora in time, giving the people more choice but have only to get Auto first and now the Manual version which only available low spec…

• Norman on Sep 11, 2009 at 1:03 am

Sceptical towards Proton is so common everywhere where Proton has improved slightly under Dato Syed Zainal.I'm sure they are doing test runs and research first before mass producing it next year.I seldom hear Koreans condemming their own brands even though Kia and Hyundais can be very scrappy at times.They got this spirit call patriotism which we lacked.

• already using hyundai i10.fc is like kancil 850.but performance lack lo. even viva 850 can tapau my i10. maybe power to weight win to viva. but heard that hyundais will produce 800cc turbocharger. stanby to take down japan kcar

hehehehe