Next generation Hyundai Sonata pix leaked!

[zenphotopress number=99 album=444]

This is supposed to be the new 2011 Hyundai Sonata and it’s probably going to be revealed soon since it looks like these shots were sneaked out during a photoshoot for its product images. The front instantly reminded me of the latest Mazda 6, except with a whole lot of more chrome going on there. It’s not easy to see how the side profile of the car looks like in these shots but I really think I’ve actually seen the new Sonata on test (or perhaps it was its Kia Optima sibling) at some proving grounds when I was in Korea for the Kia Koup preview drive earlier this year, and it’s got a very Passat CC-like coupe roofline to it – very sleek and nice. The interior seems to look good as well. The Koreans just keep getting better and better each time they try. They have to, it’s the only way forward.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Korean on Aug 24, 2009 at 10:56 am

Korean car – TAK NAK!!!

• dpn mcm cls, blkg mcm jaguar. pehh. menangis beb.

• veelzedub on Aug 24, 2009 at 11:25 am

Nice looking car..rear reminds me of one of them Jaguar cars esp the chrome strip…

• valandil on Aug 24, 2009 at 12:24 pm

looks good, well proportioned..

but i will never buy it even it i got the budget.. sorry.

• valandil on Aug 24, 2009 at 12:26 pm

looks good, well proportioned..

but i will never buy it even if i got the budget.. sorry.

• tat is d way !!!

keep improving and movin' forward

• valkyrie on Aug 24, 2009 at 5:00 pm

…CITY grill…

• Shiny on Aug 24, 2009 at 5:09 pm

Looks like .. its very.. very.. cool car ;)

• Baron on Aug 24, 2009 at 5:11 pm

the interior is very nice…and luxury..

• knoxx on Aug 24, 2009 at 5:15 pm

Prestige looking.. suit for executive sedan..

• Sexy

• reuben how on Aug 24, 2009 at 5:24 pm

They are moving at breakneck speed. I think that by 2011, all passenger vehicles for export from South Korea will have to have Electronic Stability Control as standard – Also, the Genesis is not very expensive, Probably RM 100K at the most. My wife's Optra (Lacetti in South Korea), costs a little over RM 30K.

• BrakeFader on Aug 24, 2009 at 5:38 pm

Front of city, back of mondeo.

• Tiadaid on Aug 24, 2009 at 5:43 pm

I don't want to say it, but the looks kind of remind me of a car…anyone?

• bmpower on Aug 24, 2009 at 5:52 pm

It's still hyundai btw…

their maintenance somehow higher than german car!

resale value? ouch!

• azrai on Aug 24, 2009 at 5:53 pm

Looks like the korean is leaning to the jaguar new design language.

• bmpower said,

August 24, 2009 @ 9:52 am

It’s still hyundai btw…

their maintenance somehow higher than german car!

resale value? ouch!

……………………………………………..

have you owned a hyundai before to make such comments regrading maintenance?

• Automotive_Critics on Aug 24, 2009 at 6:00 pm

Good interior design but exterior looks to aggresive for executive car.

Good job and when P1 will have like this?

• oricon666 on Aug 24, 2009 at 8:44 pm

aiyo… sick of Korean car…

alway u can see BMW, Honda,Toyota things on it…

for me, 3 series + accord back / Camry + City front

i dun wanna say them copy… but..what more can i say…

ya ya… i know this comment will get Bombardment Korean car lover..

bring it on…

at least P1 do some self design nowadayz…

• I think you gotta give a credit to the Korean.

The overall design is somewhat original, minus some details which reminisence the japs of city and camry. But I would say this is the current trend and you would find most of these design cues in other casrmakers.

This Sonata looks promising n exciting unlike their old boring design.

Dare to change huh…hopefully P1 is daring enough to bring on some "unsafe design" in near future.

• Ariff on Aug 24, 2009 at 9:11 pm

the front looks too much like a Merc CLS-class..

• *two thumbs-up !

• 4G63tDSM on Aug 24, 2009 at 9:20 pm

And is that wrong?

While I can't see enough of the exterior to comment much, but for a mainstream car to look that avantgarde, can't be a bad thing. The interior is nice. Much better than the NF. Brings it more in line to the "near" luxury Acura's and Infiniti's. Mask the badge and you wont know better.

It is time though. The NF was released in 2004. I wonder why the NF is not very popular. Given the price it was going for, it is a damn good bang for the buck.

• xatomic on Aug 24, 2009 at 10:33 pm

korean car – style but no substance?

• The back looks more like an Infiniti.

• Rhys Miller on Aug 24, 2009 at 10:55 pm

bmpower

Yes yes .. and all Korean car owners have more money to spend on their maintanence in comparison to all the german car makes ….

• Rhys Miller on Aug 24, 2009 at 10:58 pm

4G63tDSM, Its the brand …. why people did not buy the NF was purely the fact that people didn't enjoy the "WOW" factor when they get their new car .. it's a fact that Hyundai will have to acknowledge and will have to be built over time. As such you can see their vehicles are starting to change it's looks and appeal …

• afkar on Aug 25, 2009 at 12:28 am

say whatever,

but the fact that this car is such a stylish and beautiful motor is extremely undisputable..

waitin' to get the details..

hope it'll reach our shores very soon..

• korean car? maybe 20years later

• bmpower on Aug 25, 2009 at 12:50 am

TJ said,

August 24, 2009 @ 9:56 am

no I dont, but my uncle do.

And my brother is a mechanic..

he knows how hard an owner of korea car to maintain it.

a gearbox also can cost above 14K++!

small item also near thousand.

hyundai getz if accident, a front bumper and hub itself cost you above 1.5K!

so what?!

• I have owned 3 Korean cars to date and they all cost cheaper to maintain than a Japanese car so please, unless you have direct experience with a CURRENT model Korean car (yes, older ones were horrid), please don't make yourself sound silly here. Thanks.

• mystvearn on Aug 25, 2009 at 1:29 am

Brand value and price of parts the biggest problem of this car

• looks good! really! Looks even more luxury from the predecessor!

• Sophian Mohamed on Aug 25, 2009 at 2:28 am

Korean Rojak….:P

• stephenstreets on Aug 25, 2009 at 2:55 am

Damn…so sweet.

I can already hear toyota and honda cringing already

Bravo hyundai!

• yes paul… car manufacturer should look way forward. There is no original in design.. all is about copy someone else and improve it. It better then take someone else car and past your logo on it. I called that one cheating….

• impressive!

• chyan on Aug 25, 2009 at 6:16 am

My gosh the backside looks like Infinity FX Crossover

But I like the design.

The Koreans are getting to it man..

Watch out.

• rce46 on Aug 25, 2009 at 6:44 am

Look nice from the back….

• i just stay away from any korean car…play safe

• bmpower on Aug 25, 2009 at 8:59 am

@vee

3 korean car? what a joke.

you're hyundai salesman right? hahaha

@TJ

I don't mind if you think like that..

but that all was heard because it's told by the owner itself.

and my bro also know how frusted kia and hyundai owner on their parts price.. and some has to order and wait for soooo long.

One of my friend are crying in heart his 2004/03 Accent problematics and no resale value at all. buying at 60K, selling at 15K used car also don't want.

It's still the same..

as long as they do nothing about their parts…

it's not about 90's or what ever.

hyundai still fail after sales service and parts.

now tell me 10 hyundai services center?

hard to tell right? that's it!. their support existence also fail.

It's no doubt their design are getting better.. Especially Kia Forte.

and their engine are getting better especially the collaborated one with mitsu etc. Somehow.. i don't know why they can't make it cheaper.

or might be their local dealer are "throat cutter?"?

• bmpower said,

August 24, 2009 @ 4:50 pm

TJ said,

August 24, 2009 @ 9:56 am

no I dont, but my uncle do.

And my brother is a mechanic..

he knows how hard an owner of korea car to maintain it.

a gearbox also can cost above 14K++!

small item also near thousand.

hyundai getz if accident, a front bumper and hub itself cost you above 1.5K!

so what?!

……………………………………………..

you don't even own a korean to begin with, yet making such sweeping statements. go check the prices btw a korean and a german before commenting further cuz you sound like a complete fool. LOL!!

if you are still think korean as kia carnival, kia sephia, kia rio, jokes on you. the koreans have moved ahead while you still in the 90's. LOL!!

• GermanCarLover on Aug 25, 2009 at 9:30 am

To be precise – Look like Lexus…

• whatever on Aug 25, 2009 at 10:35 pm

come on guys, i don't see any problem with Hyundai engineering, infact hyundai have been in the market way before any of our car manufacturer lah…so please give concrete coment with fact! check this out!!!! —>>>> http://www.thehyway.com/Hyundai_History.htm

• Rhys Miller on Aug 26, 2009 at 5:07 am

bmpower

Name us 10 BMW service centre …

• edwindudley2003 on Aug 26, 2009 at 5:18 am

Interior & Exterior looks great! maybe now Hyundai should focus more on the positioning of their Brand. If they could just invest some hard cash into it, then it would dampen the stereotype of korean cars & its resale value.

• @TJ

I don’t mind if you think like that..

but that all was heard because it’s told by the owner itself.

and my bro also know how frusted kia and hyundai owner on their parts price.. and some has to order and wait for soooo long.

One of my friend are crying in heart his 2004/03 Accent problematics and no resale value at all. buying at 60K, selling at 15K used car also don’t want.

It’s still the same..

as long as they do nothing about their parts…

it’s not about 90’s or what ever.

hyundai still fail after sales service and parts.

now tell me 10 hyundai services center?

hard to tell right? that’s it!. their support existence also fail.

It’s no doubt their design are getting better.. Especially Kia Forte.

and their engine are getting better especially the collaborated one with mitsu etc. Somehow.. i don’t know why they can’t make it cheaper.

or might be their local dealer are “throat cutter?”?

…………………………………………………………….

bmpower,

where are you from? some ulu jungle? you cannot find a hyundai SC. you must be blind, they are everywhere.

http://www.hyundai.com.my/v2/

http://www.kahbintang.com/Service/index.html

support fail? parts hard to find? parts expensive? hard to service? you think hyundai cars are some exotic one off supercars? LOL!!

parts & services are aplenty if you know where to look & if you want the easy way, just drive to a hyundai SC and can you tell me which car brand authorised SC charge as cheap as 'under the tree' SC?

compare apple to apple, don't quote 'under the tree' SC prices to an authorised SC price.

as for your brother, i doubt he knows korean parts prices well or his supplier is conning him big time.

as for your friend's accent, ask him to bring it to a authorised SC lar, stop going to that 'under the tree' mechanic. .

'selling at 15K used car also don’t want'. that used car dealer must be stupid or your friend is stupid cuz someone here is definitely stupid.

HYUNDAI ACCENT 1.5L (A) ‘04, met black, 1 owner, original cond, l/seat, RM26,300. Full loan. 012-2542311 / 012-2871456 –18/8/2009

——————————————————————————–

HYUNDAI ACCENT 1.5 (A) '04, careful owner, clean interior, l/?mile, full loan, RM26,800. 03-42804339 /? 012-6578637 –18/8/2009

——————————————————————————–

'Somehow.. i don’t know why they can’t make it cheaper. or might be their local dealer are “throat cutter?”?'

why not you ask the govt to lower the taxes & duties? why ask the dealer?

you seen other marques lowering their prices with new / FL models launching?

bmpower, ball in your court. LOL!!

• Looks good …….wayyyyyyyyyyyyy better than our Potong ….

• Anti-Toyota on Aug 26, 2009 at 11:36 am

MMg ade kelas dan cantik melecun …interior looks neat and of high quality

Bravo Hyundai !

• bmpower,

too bad your mentality only exist in 3rd world countries like bolehland where badge snobbery outweights everything else thats y most ppl here still buy only jap T and H brands.

check out how well hyundai is doing in US or….no need to go far, just look at singapore. hyundai is already at no. 2 spot outselling even honda and nissan.

anyway this new sonata looks stunning by the way.

• MBX Boy on Aug 26, 2009 at 10:03 pm

Oh no.. I think I'm getting an automobile orgasm! Good job hyundai.

• hmmm, pretty cool looks, but can't say beauty, lacks of souls~

• oec88 on Aug 27, 2009 at 4:39 pm

If this is gonna be real, it will probably be my next car in future. The Hyundai Genesis Coupe is amazing, even this one, marvelous!

• firefox on Aug 27, 2009 at 6:39 pm

wow wow wow, nice looking,

but need more improvement on performance and technology.

• Haree on Aug 28, 2009 at 12:10 am

I own a 2006 hyundai accent and its such a nice car..i havent spend anything extra to maintain the car except for regular services. The car is economical and drives so smoothly.. The interior is still intact and very silent…

Hyundai parts are not expensive.. and makesure u always bring it to the service centre even after warranty.. the 'under tree' mechanic really dont know where to even get the parts for hyundai neither to service it !!

My Verdict ! Hyundai is nice car compared to our local cars !

My next ride will definitely be this new Sonata.. Cant wait for it !!

• ervin on Sep 05, 2009 at 4:29 am

wow wow wow…so cool… rear looks a bit like lexus LS460