Toyota Auris HSD uses hybrid system from Prius

Toyota Auris HSD

This Toyota Auris HSD Full Hybrid previews what will be Toyota’s first step in offering a hybrid model for each car they sell in Europe by the early 2020s, and starting out with the Auris HSD makes sense as the 5-door hatchback bodytype is the most popular bodytype in terms of sales in Europe.

But 2020 is a long way to go – will we even be in the position to use ‘hybrid’ cars by then or would we have gone all fuel cell or EV, at least in terms of new vehicles? I believe as long as there are countries where cars have a much longer lifecycle and remain in use for a long time (such as our country), there will be the need to have fuel stations that serve petrol, and as long as there’s still petrol widely available, people will still continue to pick it as the fuel of choice, assuming the price of EVs and fuel cells don’t come down of course.

Back to the Auris HSD. It’s of course not the first time Toyota has put a hybrid system in a variant that’s not exclusively hybrid. However these hybrid cars have been pretty much reserved for JDM markets – we’re talking about models such as the Estima Hybrid. Everywhere else, Toyota’s only hybrid offering has been the successful hybrid-only Prius, and the Lexus hybrids don’t really count as they don’t have a Toyota badge.

Toyota Auris HSD

Blue may be the colour signifying hybrid or green technology for the time being but the interior is completely overdone. The best way to describe it would be just acres and acres of blue, with a white centre console area.

For this concept, the 1.8 litre Hybrid Synergy Drive system from the latest Prius has been taken directly and slotted into the concept. A hybrid must of course be aerodynamic (unless you’re talking about a hybrid SUV, then it becomes relative) so Toyota has lowered the stock Auris ride height by 20mm, and they’ve also fitted underbody panels, a rear spoiler, aerodynamic 18 inch alloy wheels, and a rear diffuser.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=485]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• wutever on Sep 14, 2009 at 9:44 am

i'm luvin it!!

• I smell Peugeot's interior & exterior! in design terms…308 like,407 inside

• KitKat on Sep 14, 2009 at 10:28 am

Hari,

I smell Exora-ish dashboard and Neo rear lamps!

• Toyota is 'Moving Forward' in boosting hybrid sales n maintaining their 'No. 1' title in this sector…haha..nice design btw..

• m i the only 1 who thinks tat the rear looks like our very own Satria Neo CPS?…

• mingyuyu on Sep 14, 2009 at 1:18 pm

Blue interior…

• hafizzul on Sep 14, 2009 at 3:59 pm

Bila masuk malaysia ni??

• nazri on Sep 14, 2009 at 4:30 pm

nice… rear at first time i tot it was satria neo

• barca on Sep 14, 2009 at 5:59 pm

hari,

looks good and without doubt, it's more like ripping off the new facelifted 207 exterior.

thank goodness, the similarities stops at the front. :)

• The interior is terrible !

• Jeffery Chew on Sep 14, 2009 at 6:13 pm

KitKat said,

September 14, 2009 @ 2:28 am

Hari,

I smell Exora-ish dashboard and Neo rear lamps!

Read more: http://paultan.org/2009/09/14/toyota-auris-hsd-us…

Hey man, Auris launched on yr 2007 lah..

• lavenderguy on Sep 14, 2009 at 6:43 pm

why this model(not hybrid) is not on sale in Malaysia??

• due to overlapped market…

if UMW Toyota brings it in, where are they gonna position this car?..80k?..no way~it's too cheap..90k?..vios n Yaris territory..100k?..wif tat sum of money u would go for Altis..110k?..ppl would start cursing Toyota..

so?..jangan bawa masuk lebih selamat..

• Gajen on Sep 14, 2009 at 8:07 pm

toyota please bring the auris here…..so much better than latio…

i rather get auris than civic /altis/lancer….this is one sporty hatchback!

• helmi on Sep 14, 2009 at 8:20 pm

Blue interior makes me blue..hmmm… Still skeptical the prospect of hybrid engine. Automotive industry is towards fully EV.

• MycarMylife on Sep 14, 2009 at 8:34 pm

Toyota is testing the waters here for the Altis is on the way out ( just too many taxis in Asean )

• interior is just too blue.

• malaysian on Sep 14, 2009 at 10:13 pm

Lavenderguy, i just rent the non-hybrid model in NZ, if not mistaken, it's a Toyota Corolla. I was given a manual 6-speed (I asked for the cheapest car) The R-gear is beside the 1-gear, and this car is so smooth. Imagine 6-gear in highway. 140KM/h is so easy. (but we quickly stay back to 100KM/hr due to speed limit since there is no kopi-o-ticket here…haha)

• malaysian on Sep 14, 2009 at 10:20 pm

I am right, its a Corolla.

http://www.toyota.co.nz/NewVehicles/Models/Passen…

check with the spec, it should be 1.8L rented to us, since its a non-diesel car we are using.

• The industry may be pushing for fully-EV, but full-EVs are not practical for most people right now. The beauty of the hybrid is that it increases MPG while remaining practical for use by anybody without having to alter their lifestyle – you just drive it like a normal car and fill it up with normal fuel.

EVs may be the future, but hybrids are the present.

• kereta yang smart…

• gesundheit on Sep 15, 2009 at 12:33 am

lurve the exterior…hate the interior…

• automotive jury on Sep 15, 2009 at 1:12 am

haha..I've ask the Toyota dealer..they said, they can bring the Auris here but the price will be skyrocket due of tax..hehe..we as Malaysian should be like European..just buy if it was a good car with reasonable price and practicality..for example, there's a lot of manual version at the west side market than here..just because of us as Malaysian like to use automatic than manual..so they sell what the customer wants..cheer..

• Rambo on Sep 15, 2009 at 5:16 am

Errr…blue interior…yeakks!!

• boleh! on Sep 16, 2009 at 2:59 am

this is latio!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! they copied latio design!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Small dugong. Vios with booth cut off.