Tokyo 2009: New Toyota Mark X

toyota-mark-x-live-1

The new Toyota Mark X’s Mazda-like wheel arches are even more obvious in real life than in photos. Toyota has basically taken the existing Mark X design and litreally did a facelift on it, seemingly stretching the front design outwards and upwards.

toyota-mark-x-live-2

As for the rear end, the car’s bangle butt design has been toned down a little and the tail lamp design now stretches onto the car’s bootlid. Kinda reminds me of the Sylphy really. Look after the jump for more live photos of the Mark X at Tokyo 2009.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=592]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mustafa on Oct 27, 2009 at 5:40 pm

is a camry upgrade…which is an a bigger altis which is a bigger vios…..

• Kambing Laut on Oct 27, 2009 at 5:41 pm

The name "MARK" is not suitable in Malaysia. Maybe they can change it for suite our ear needs..

My suggestion is corolla.

• oricon666 on Oct 27, 2009 at 5:57 pm

For the 1st time…. i'm looking at a Japanese car that got Korean car's styling…

not praising the Korean though…. Never..!!

Just dunno what Toyota is doing…

• After Accord now Toyota…they are now trying to look Korean!! Must have got the input from Kia for the rear light…

• Ariff on Oct 27, 2009 at 6:44 pm

ehh..like paul said b4..the design is stuck in the past.

• mark X, nice

• kodok on Oct 27, 2009 at 7:19 pm

rear looks almost like kia forte..wakakaka

• the 1st thing tat came to my mind after looking at the rear..nissan sylphy oso…

• Always loved Toyota and will always love one, boring or not, but the back definitely looks like the Nissan Sylphy.. definately..

• MADBOY on Oct 27, 2009 at 7:56 pm

Kambing Laut said,

October 27, 2009 @ 9:41 am

The name “MARK” is not suitable in Malaysia. Maybe they can change it for suite our ear needs..

My suggestion is corolla.

—————————————

This car is not for Malaysia market, only the grey importer will bring it here.

We already have corolla here in Malaysia.

• Gajen on Oct 27, 2009 at 8:04 pm

nissan sylphy is very ugly…this is very sporty and sleek

• n u guys know wat, Sylphy's rear design is almost the same as Lexus IS250..so who 'refer' whose design?..hmmm..interesting~

• MBX Boy on Oct 27, 2009 at 8:45 pm

The back doesn't look lika a Kia nor a Sylphy. I swear the rear looks so much like a muscular Hyundai Elantra. Like the front design better than the current Malaysian Camry.

• theanswer on Oct 27, 2009 at 9:21 pm

Kambing Laut,

Toyota Mark is not a new name. already here few years back. so no point of changing its name. its a different model from corolla..different class.

• Slayer on Oct 27, 2009 at 9:51 pm

Why not we call it Toyota Kambing instead !!

• lambov12 on Oct 27, 2009 at 11:04 pm

i prefer the previous design .. this is too camry-ish

• milanRed (Member) on Oct 27, 2009 at 11:34 pm

i've seen the previous model on the road, it stands out from the rest of the vehicles… the new one does look slightly taller. Very sweet indeed.

• chew ban on Oct 27, 2009 at 11:52 pm

change toyota designer

• chew ban on Oct 27, 2009 at 11:54 pm

vios, altis, camry, and mark x, most of the design is either similar or ugly, they are one ugly duckling family.

• i actually love the original mark-x.. its unorthodox styling gives it a certain charm inexistent in most other toyotas.. this upgrade however sees it being a victim of commercialization with it taking design cues from the tried and tested… the rear to me looks more like the elantra's than the sylphy's while the front still retains much of its existing look which i like though it doesn't save the entire look…

• oh no i've to sell off my current mark x….

• banny on Oct 28, 2009 at 2:05 am

It looks like the lexus LS 250 from the back.

• Yes the design stuck in the past….but tis is pure RWD. Shudnt be compared wif camry, altis, sylphy or whatever cheapo-but-expensive-in-malaysia FWD car

• Zul, how much ure selling urs?

• littleboy on Oct 28, 2009 at 3:54 am

sayang…..the rear look very koreannnnnn…..i like the older model of markX….got a numbers of units in Kuching….look like Jaguar……nice….

• Gajen on Oct 28, 2009 at 5:21 am

i still think it looks muscular and nice…this interior is a huge jump from the old mark x

• Toyota Fan on Oct 28, 2009 at 6:35 am

As you see the difference of the new corolla altis and the previous corolla altis. In fact the older altis has better build quality for interior while the new ones are very plasticky not only that. Due to the new interior cluster and dashboard, the cabin volumn seems smaller and much more lower in fact. To me, Corolla Axio has very bad build quality and feels like a cheap car which Hyundai Elantra has better build quality and they implement the same interior for the New Altis. OMG, no wonder the new altis not selling as well as the predecessor.

Any way back to Mark X. This is a much more upmarketed Camry and i am sure that the handling is going to blow our minds off. Mark X is somewad bigger than IS250 thus Lexus, face the wall and have a well damn good reflection about ur "upmarketing". Anyway Mark X on reliability wise better than Mazda 6

• chew ban said,

October 27, 2009 @ 3:54 pm

vios, altis, camry, and mark x, most of the design is either similar or ugly, they are one ugly duckling family

_____

well said…

• oricon666 on Oct 28, 2009 at 8:57 am

chew ban said,

October 27, 2009 @ 3:54 pm

vios, altis, camry, and mark x, most of the design is either similar or ugly, they are one ugly duckling family

_____

Someone is making sense finally….

• superbly crafted machine!

• prius and new wish is nice though…. will choose IMPUL SLPHY over this MarkX anytime

• gangully on Oct 28, 2009 at 9:00 pm

DtG said,

October 27, 2009 @ 4:44 pm

i actually love the original mark-x.. its unorthodox styling gives it a certain charm inexistent in most other toyotas.. this upgrade however sees it being a victim of commercialization with it taking design cues from the tried and tested… the rear to me looks more like the elantra’s than the sylphy’s while the front still retains much of its existing look which i like though it doesn’t save the entire look…

original mark x? as in those that were used as the airport limos?

hahahaahah

• Micheal on Oct 28, 2009 at 10:22 pm

urm… mixed up design from various brands? i like the previous one better

• Awesome! not much differ than camry… more sporty & cool.

• KIA FORTE open for b on Nov 12, 2009 at 11:28 am

:)Kami adalah syarikat NAZA KIA dari cawangan KLANG & cawangan KEPONG yang buka 365 hari 9am-9pm setiap hari.

Senang untuk anda melawat KIA pada bila-bila masa selepas waktu kerja mahupun pada hari Ahad & public holiday! Kami adalah SPECIAL OUTLET!

Informasi:…………..:)

NAZA FORTE ini akan launch pada 24 November 2009.:) TENGOK & PERCAYA!

1.6cc AUTOMATIC SHIFTRONIC GEAR!(teknologi 2 dalam 1…boleh pakai auto ataupun manual digital)

SUPER Fuel Efficient…tested 1litre/11km iaitu 0.16sen untuk 1 km.

Harga OTR rm75,xxx.

Open for booking now! We are the only SPECIAL OUTLET in Malaysia which…

OPEN 365 days 9am-9pm daily!

Pls come & visit us at:

No.48 & 50, Lorong Batu Nilam 4B,

Bandar Bukit Tinggi,

41200 Klang.

Hotline:03-3323 9948 (3 lines)

No.69 & 71, Jalan Rimbunan Raya 1,

Laman Rimbunan, Kepong,

52100 Kuala Lumpur

Hotline: 03-6252 9868 (2 lines)

ANY ENQUIRY pls call us. Happy to serve u. tq

or view at YOUTUBE :) searching "KIA CERATO FORTE" :)

• natasya on Dec 07, 2009 at 7:47 am

kayu tul mamat ne…promote kia dia kat sini plak..