Renault-Nissan to introduce the cheapest car in the world in 2012

Renault-Nissan has announced that it will work with an Indian company called Bajaj Auto to produce the world’s cheapest car, even cheaper than the Tata Nano. An agreement was signed and the partnership is set to introduce the new low-cost vehicle in 2012.

Under the agreement, Bajaj will handle the design, engineering as well as the manufacturing while Renault-Nissan will focus on marketing, branding and the sale of parts. CEO Carlos Ghosn revealed that the cost of the car will be lower any car made in India today, pointing to a price tag that would be cheaper than the Rs 1 lakh carried by the Nano.

With India to become the primary market and exports to emerging markets to be made later, the new vehicle is expected to feature a mileage that is better than 20 kilometers per litre. The car will be built in India and will target India’s emerging middle class. Both companies actually announced a partnership last year but apparently there were some disagreements, which have now been resolved. Pictured above is the Bajaj Lite concept that was shown in 2008.

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• Plastic body shell perhaps… wait & see. I didnt say its bad anyway. Tis cud be much better than many china car

• binarumah.com on Nov 12, 2009 at 4:07 am

Hmmm..i thought cars is supposed to potray ur financial status. Why need cheapest?

• fredo on Nov 12, 2009 at 4:20 am

That is the dumbest statement ever binarumah.com

• u can say tat again fredo!

• Even cheaper than nano, when we chance to see some cheap car in CarTax land???

• Gajen on Nov 12, 2009 at 4:41 am

nano looks nicer….and nano europa looks even better

• carlos goshn has todl in the statement before about this .

the essential thing to be done in doing such a small car and cheap car is nissan-renault will provide the necessary stuff while everything else is the indian-company counterpart.

i guess loaning some of the parts from nissan itself is actually lowing the cost of the car. but i cant think of anyway to do a car cheaper than the nano. as u see, the nano doesn't even have a proper engine which is … identical to a car.

• mitlanevo on Nov 12, 2009 at 4:52 am

nana, nono, and upcoming nene?

• subhero on Nov 12, 2009 at 5:05 am

mitlanevo said,
    November 11, 2009 @ 8:52 pm

——————————————————-

i think should call nenen for make it intresting "brand" in malaysia..
    hehe…

• angel on Nov 12, 2009 at 5:44 am

New car less than RM 7k-10k?? Thats awesome..
    Nice car for short distance journey..

• Red car on Nov 12, 2009 at 5:49 am

carlos ghosn is the person who turn around the Nissan…cannot wait for any thing good for low income people, but as usual our tax @excise structure would make it more expensive than viva voom….

• Pas forever on Nov 12, 2009 at 5:57 am

Better car than proton…

• c14man on Nov 12, 2009 at 6:10 am

it's targetted to motorcyclists in india…

maybe if it comes here, there will be less motorcyclists in msia?

and less fatal road accidents?

maybe even less mat rempits? =p

• vampire on Nov 12, 2009 at 6:23 am

Just as Proton was abt to make an entry into
    the Indian market with their Savvy, here comes Renault/Nissan
    to pour cold water to whatever plans Proton had in India.
    Competition would become tough as many manufacturers will be
    coming up with smaller models to cater to the Indian people.
    ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

c14man said,
    November 11, 2009 @ 10:10 pm

it’s targetted to motorcyclists in india…
    maybe if it comes here, there will be less motorcyclists in msia?
    and less fatal road accidents?
    maybe even less mat rempits?
    ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
    Less Mat Rempit but maybe more street races cos as u know
    Msian can do an egine transplant / add this & that to soup up
    their ride.Which would endanger our lives.

• klguy on Nov 12, 2009 at 6:43 am

it can be the cheapest in the whole universe, but not in Malaysia.

• cheapshot on Nov 12, 2009 at 6:44 am

Cheaper than Tata Nano? I wonder how the quality will be…

• redfueler on Nov 12, 2009 at 7:18 am

it's this car will come into mlysia market???

then can compete with p2..

• there isn't anyway that the car can be cheaper than nano . i mean, yes , if u minus the door etc . how can a car be cheaper than that ? a metal chassis with motorcycle based engine plus so called tires which is so small .

• unknown on Nov 12, 2009 at 7:27 am

no need cheap car

go buy a bicycle

bmx got,mtb also got

cheaper than cheapest car

no need fuel some more

for what buying the cheapest car

but the fuel price is still high and supply is decreasing

• S.Roma on Nov 12, 2009 at 7:48 am

subhero said,

November 11, 2009 @ 9:05 pm

mitlanevo said,

November 11, 2009 @ 8:52 pm

——————————————————-

i think should call nenen for make it intresting “brand” in malaysia..

hehe…

———————————————————

Agree with u all, hehe… (Think dirty, lolx !)

• faster faster make this car, so I can buy a couple of them.

1 for going market for my wife, 1 for my daughter, 1 for TT session, 1 for daily office commute, another 1 for spare.

• hack3line on Nov 12, 2009 at 8:00 am

i wonder how is it's price under RM10,000??

Adlof Hitler make Volkswagen that mean people's car, price must be below 10,000 richmarks

anyway, Volkswagen-Porsche overtakes Toyota in 2009, #1 world largest automaker by production.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/business/2009/nov/09/vo…

fuel efficiency and safety is very important now, PROTON should learn from Volkswagen and Adolf Hitler success in automotive industry.

• Not A Dreamer on Nov 12, 2009 at 8:31 am

You guys must be thinking, No freakin way. Why can THEY do it? Why can't we? Allow me to tell all you Malaysians out there… Dream on till ALL the cows can fly. Why? It's because our very own car manufacturer is too busy thinking of more ways of how to suck MORE money out of our pockets!!! Get it?? Hahah

• they are probably gonna built a car with the main frame structure minus the cover. additional seats, spare tyre, speaker, radio, air-cond are optional.

• Black Dog on Nov 12, 2009 at 8:49 am

Now everyone can drive…in India.

Some guys here expect airbags, abs, auto cruise etc etc

You'll be lucky to get a fan, bench seats, speedometer and brake (instead of using your foot)! optional accessories will probably be radio, wipers, horn, mirrors, signal lights and steering wheel!

C'mon, these cars are to replace cows and bikes, won't even be suitable to park below low cost houses here! Bangladesh & Indonesia perhaps…not even Thailand.

• actually i think the nano europa is a nice car… but not for the basic nano haha

• xenonchrist on Nov 12, 2009 at 9:47 am

this car is good for low end ppl , hope after tax cheaper than pvverprice viva 660

• dirtyoldmen on Nov 12, 2009 at 2:19 pm

all above negative comments are based on….what exactly?

do you have insider information? even better than bajaj, renault AND nissan combined?

please share….we could use a laugh.

• mystvearn on Nov 12, 2009 at 3:08 pm

Cheaper than Nano?

Lets see what we can come up with:

-From 3 tyre bolts to 2 bolts.

-From hubcap to no hubcap

-boot can only be open from inside car

-less powerful engine than Nano. Maybe outsource from Honda C70

-fog lamps shown there for premium model, base model has none of that

– bumper non-coloured. Coloured for premium model.

Any more ideas:P

• Marx Len Tork on Nov 12, 2009 at 3:53 pm

At that time.. PERODUA DIE..

nobody want expensive VIVA anymore

• pekan on Nov 12, 2009 at 4:02 pm

-headlamps are actually candle

-there's an option without engine. the driver can use their legs like "Flintstones".

• World cheapest car, when imported into bolehland, will be more expensive than bolehland's cheapest car, Kancil.

Bolehland win!

• mitlanevo on Nov 12, 2009 at 4:14 pm

-no seats

-no windscreen

-no body, just bare frame

-optional handbrake (ROTFLMAO)

• tmbtibm on Nov 12, 2009 at 4:23 pm

Reach our shore, it becomes premium price!!

• MADBOY on Nov 12, 2009 at 5:38 pm

Come on guys. TATA has already showed that Nono is doable and can meet the European safety standard with coming Euro Nano. Why must you doubt car?

• Jumbsuck on Nov 12, 2009 at 5:54 pm

At least Nano much better than proton tiara.

If any car that is more cheaper than this cheapest Renault-Nissan car it got to be that Flintstone paddle-powered car lah.

Still a long way to get that flying Jetson car…

Ok lah to be fair to Proton, simply re-design Savvy (to Viva design) and 5-door Satria version (should done it long time ago). Also a wagon version of Saga turn into cutie small 7-seater mpv (fight P2 mpv…).

Who say we always against Proton? We give ideas what.

N A P – Never Against Proton!

• nighttrain on Nov 12, 2009 at 6:03 pm

In India this car is for the emerging middle class. Middle class in Bolehland means C-class and 3 series (quarter million range). We have super rich, upper class, upper middle class, middle class, lower middle class, regular folks, poor, hardcore poor. So which car goes to these categories? ahaks..

• Jumbsuck on Nov 12, 2009 at 8:19 pm

Anyway..i'm using Proton car oso..

• There are proton cars that are cheaper than this Bajaj

20 years old proton car (with all mechanical parts that need servicing, body parts kemek here and there)

hahahahaha

• squawk on Nov 12, 2009 at 11:41 pm

Mat Rempits won't go for this cuz they can't do wheelies and Superman.

• SY0H (Member) on Nov 13, 2009 at 12:34 am

Hi,

Kudos! to Renault-Nissan for trying their best to create cheapest car in the world (and hopefully with the best technology installed).

Meanwhile the automotive industry in Malaysia are still in its black ages or "zaman batu". Here we have the cheapest cost-production "Tin Milo" cars in the world but we are selling it expensive like hell (many thanks to NAP, AP, P1, P2)!

• old man on Nov 13, 2009 at 12:43 am

Actually, I believe Proton can be cheaper than them, if all those lousy suppliers can be straighten out. Imagine AirAsia is making money in the meal, which Mas is sponsoring the meal from the ticket at a very HIGH cost regardless of whatever reason. Our country product is not mean to target business around the world. It is only the local Malaysian's problem.

Hyundai Accent sell in US for $9,000. Go figure it out what is Proton's real cost. I was told by a insider that Iswara cost is the most cheapest at around RM9,000 only to produce it.

• blasting on Nov 14, 2009 at 3:08 am

aha..aku setuju ngn SY0H…..bila renault ngn nissan bergabung ngn pengeluar kete india utk produce kete paling murah…aku masih teringat "tin milo BX660" kita yg lebih kurang saiz kete nano….aksesori kosong..tp harga….aduh…..!!!!mahal..please la..kalau aksesori kosong jual rm8k dah la…nape jual atas 25k tp tin kosong jer….adei….plz….plz….plz…

• mufasa on Nov 14, 2009 at 7:56 am

old man said,

Hyundai Accent sell in US for $9,000. Go figure it out what is Proton’s real cost. I was told by a insider that Iswara cost is the most cheapest at around RM9,000 only to produce it.

————————-

i not against national car policy, but most of taxi in KL is iswara and they are 1992 tecnology? please convert them to Waja aa,but dont burden the taxi driver,,coz KL taxi is our are national image beb… malu laa..even indon use use they local manifacure car(vios), thai use they local manufacure car too(camry,old one aa)… so malaysia should use local car also aa… so money still pusing in country…

what all these menteri do? ooo..i forgot,,they dont know about paultan.org…

eh,,our story should be about bajaj aa? damn ,i am not good in give a comment…

• autojohndoe on Nov 15, 2009 at 3:46 am

Haha…

Kereta zaman batu?

Luckily, most of us in malaysia has better life than ppl of India…

What an ungrateful person la you…

• Tall car! Could overturn going to Genting.

• wah.. if this car sell like that cheap in malaysia, no more motorcyclist die under lorry tyre.. but govt will never end.. top leaders all babi sial puki.. sapu duit rakyat kaw2..