2nd generation Nissan X-Trail in Thailand soon!

new-xtrail

Here’s some interesting news – the 2nd generation Nissan X-Trail that has been around since year 2007 is making its debut in Thailand in Q1 2010.

The photo you see above is of the new model although it looks very similiar to the old one. More of a minor evolution of the old one in terms of design. The interior has been completely revamped though, and the center meter panel is now gone, replaced with a conventional one behind the steering wheel. The chassis is a new one shared with the Qashqai, with wheelbase increased by 5mm over the old model to 2630mm.

The X-Trail will be launched with a sole engine option – a 2.0 litre model mated to an XTRONIC CVT transmission with a 6 speed manual shifting mode. The 2.0 litre engine is not the old QR20DE found in the first generation X-Trail 2.0 sold here but the newer MR20DE model that you can also find in the Nissan Sylphy.

With the X-Trail soon in Thailand, there could be a chance that we can finally enjoy the new X-Trail here in Malaysia, as the SUV can be sourced from Indonesia whether in CBU or CKD pack form. Yes, the Thai market X-Trail is built in Indonesia, but the MR20DE engines are built in Thailand. Tan Chong tends to drag on their model lifespan here for as long as possible, resulting in a product lineup that’s an utter yawnfest if not for their ‘mother trucker’. But it could be because of a lack of support from Nissan.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• daus_usop on Nov 14, 2009 at 4:10 am

Waa, no change on the exterior…

• "Tan Chong tends to drag on their model lifespan here for as long as possible, but it could be because of a lack of support from Nissan."

I think this is slowly changing as we have seen rather quick releases of both the Murano and 370z here in the near past, quick by Tan Chong's standards at least…

• mitlanevo on Nov 14, 2009 at 4:48 am

is there car grew bigger or my eyes got problem???

• subhero on Nov 14, 2009 at 5:03 am

UGLY

UGLY

UGLY

• Littlefire on Nov 14, 2009 at 5:55 am

Tan Chong's longest drag of model should be the cefiro… Until now the Teana only imported from Thailand with a big price tag…

• transformer (Member) on Nov 14, 2009 at 6:03 am

ETCM longest selling product are Nissan Vanette… Can't remember how many years already…? Might be older than P1 Saga(Gen.1)… ha ha ha ha…

• Jimmy on Nov 14, 2009 at 6:30 am

Interior, esp the dashboard and meter panels, of 1st gen X-trail is just a piece of shit; worse than proton saga. No telescopic steering for something > rm100, 000? >> typical of Nissan. No technology to built cost-effectively, I guess. No wonder kalah to Toyota and Honda.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 14, 2009 at 6:33 am

finally

• about damn time, our x trail is quite old here.

the 370z and murano was released fast to beat the grey importers. previously nissan lost alot of sales to parallel importers for the 350z and 2.5 murano.

so release early, the parallel importers have no time to market advantage.

• Grand Livina on Nov 14, 2009 at 7:36 am

It looks bulkier n uglier than the previous.. It just my 2 cents..

• lfsism on Nov 14, 2009 at 7:59 am

It's already what, 2+ years since its launch in Japan ? That's way too old….

However, it is a much improved than the previous X-trail…. Feels quite spacious and the 2.0Litre is, surprisingly punchy…. Still have those ol X-trail trails but nevertheless u would know it is an X-trail…. trying to follow how Land Rover carries its design philosophy… making little changes yet people know it is a Land Rover…

Good thing, no more centre meter cluster…

• RickyG on Nov 14, 2009 at 8:09 am

…oh my eyes! >_<

• Black Dog on Nov 14, 2009 at 8:21 am

Somehow, I feel the X-Trail is very very old-fashioned, same as Ford Escape compared to CRV or Rav 4. Even the interior is so boring.

• skyyarif on Nov 14, 2009 at 9:00 am

x-trail is actly tough u know in case u guys didnt know

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 14, 2009 at 9:19 am

hmm was the previous x trail made in indonesia?

• bigcar on Nov 14, 2009 at 1:47 pm

side view looks like land rover's discovery…

• Jugaus on Nov 14, 2009 at 4:08 pm

Ugly

• We have the 2nd gen x-trail (T31) over a year in Indonesia, it's a bloody good car, the suspension is so soft, yet stable enough on high speed. The exterior is continuing the look from the previous gen (T30), the dimension is larger, no more center speedometer in the new x-trail. The CVT xtronic matic transmission is very nice addition too :-)

• brutus on Nov 14, 2009 at 6:07 pm

about bloody time time since it was launched in 2007. wonder why still X-Trail is being marketed where i think the Qashai would be better for the Malaysian market. the Qashai would give CRV a good rundown.

• when that 2nd generation Nissan X-Trail will came in malaysia?

• slowestF1 on Nov 14, 2009 at 7:04 pm

When can we have 7 seater Nissan SUV.

• mitlanevo on Nov 14, 2009 at 11:38 pm

well, Nissan's interior (except GTR lah) always emphasized on practical stuff rather than anything fancy or too bling…

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 14, 2009 at 11:50 pm

but it looks better than toyota or honda(except civic) interior

• NO 2.2l DIESEL!!!!!!

apala ni……

hahahahaha…..joking, but if got sure will sell like hot cakes

…… 3 yrs ah… crv,rav4 oso facelift already

by the time it gets here….facelift model…….

bread n butter models so slow come with new models……

370z n murano..instantly. like maggi mee

• Lonely Watcher on Nov 15, 2009 at 9:29 am

Well, well. No diesel engine is available for this region. The M9R diesel engine is even powerful that Navara's YD engine and yet not need to pay more road tax (2.0L only).

Still has long way to reach European countries' standard.

• mohsin on Nov 15, 2009 at 4:31 pm

I saw it at Bandung last week. It's cool, when it comes alive compared to pictures. Even Indo bank (BRI) put it as a Prizes for their lucky depositors.. and guess what? The Grand Prize is all new Range Rover 4.4L. Lucky them.

• helmi on Nov 16, 2009 at 4:37 am

I drove the current X-Trail 2.0 as an office car. To be frank I like the engine pick-up and the handling which is soft and easy to drive. But I dont like the design both exterior and interior. The interior looks cheap, very basic and no class at all for more RM130k price tag. Dashboard design like a 80's designed car as the centre metering is ugly. Same goes to Sylphy. Shock absorber is hard and annoying. The most pathetic is the road noise, another words its very noisy its like the car has no noise insulation at all where you can hear the sounds from the engine, from tyre and even from air-con blower even at a speed of 100km/h. I hope the new X-Trail will not the same. The new X-Trail shown seems not much different from the current one.

• willpower on Nov 16, 2009 at 8:08 pm

Ugly and no fight with Toyota & Honda in tems of sub-RM160k SUV

• paganfarmer on Jan 09, 2010 at 10:07 pm

i bought an x-trail when it first came out 7 yrs ago. I loved the performance and manouvrability..but f*** with the design n interior. i saw a model once when i was overseas and d interior was so much better, f*** with tan chong n their cheap plastics! im waiitng for this new model to show up on our shores and would b d first to buy if they improve at least on the interior.

• william on Jan 30, 2010 at 5:50 pm

the new generation of X-trail will be firmly launched by year 2010, anybody knows which month will be?

• X-trail on Mar 14, 2010 at 3:17 pm

the new generation of X-trail will be launched in Q3

• Outdoor Person on Jun 23, 2010 at 10:52 am

Frankly speakin..lookin tat they r goin for 2wd, CVT GBox n puttin bak the speedometer bak to the drivers position..Im sure they r goin to make an impact..Firstly, they are answering to urban SUV user (how many of them actually goes offroad), 2. CVT GBox is answering to the fuel hike tat we r goin to face in the future n lastly puttin bak speedo to the driver side = they r listenin to they customers..

For young family of 3 + a maid n a dad who luvs da great outdoor, i might go for it..However it is also depends on their launchin price..

• Outdoor Person on Jun 23, 2010 at 10:56 am

I drove both x trail n da previous crv b4.. in terms of class, lifestyle n driving characteristic, the crv really lives up to its name..had a chance driving to KB using Gua Musang road really impress me wif da handling n comfort..

X-trail; in terms of xterior design is out, engine is quite torqueky compared to crv..but da rest in terms of comfort n handling, i guess tat is why crv is sellin at a much higher price.. Jus my 2 cents worth of opinion.

• Xtrail on Jul 06, 2010 at 6:27 pm

Can anyone comment on coming new nissan Xtrail compare to the tuscon ? Which is worth for the money in terms of power, after sales service and maintenance ?