New Hyundai Tucson set for 2010 local launch?

I stumbled on an ad by Hyundai-Sime Darby in today’s The Star newspaper. The page 18 half pager had the title “Welcome 2010” and had a picture of the all-new Tucson in the background. This is a clear hint that the mid-sized SUV will be coming our way next year. The other pictured cars are the Avante and i10.

Called the ix35 in Europe and Tucson ix in Korea, this Honda CR-V rival made its global debut at the Frankfurt motor show earlier this year, and is designed by Hyundai’s European design studio in Germany. It was introduced last month in Singapore with the 166 bhp/197 Nm 2.0-litre Theta II engine paired with a new six-speed automatic – figures that should put it as the best in class, on paper, if we get the same spec.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• 4G63tDSM on Dec 21, 2009 at 10:04 pm

Something doesn't really look right with it. Sure they have sharpened the look, but Ford's Kenetic language, doesn't work very well here with the still rather soft rear end.

I first thought it was the new Escape at first glance.

• hmm..

• pulge on Dec 21, 2009 at 10:12 pm

Looks bold. Like it or hate it.

• Mazda 3 MPS + PERODU on Dec 21, 2009 at 10:12 pm

its nice….but boring

• lazyf on Dec 21, 2009 at 10:41 pm

looks weird!!!

• quite nice in the flesh, i like it. Cost ard SGD 79k. not bad

• Kereta Juga Supersed on Dec 21, 2009 at 11:02 pm

boring..

a little bit like Murano… a little bit like Ford Fiesta..

should create advance design..

• Gajen on Dec 22, 2009 at 1:06 am

hyundai tend to put too much of lines or curves in their design…keep it SIMPLE!

• The car looks much better in the metal. If SD prices it right with the right specs, it will sell well.

Very classy interior if you have seen the pictures.

• i drive proton on Dec 22, 2009 at 1:17 am

another ugly Hyundai…..

• Rhys Millen on Dec 22, 2009 at 1:18 am

hmmmmm …. well it will be on of the only all new model for SUV if it get's launched as per speculation ….

• mystvearn on Dec 22, 2009 at 1:30 am

I know what does not look right. The grille is cut too high, how about remove it completely or lowering it making the lights bigger?

• Much better car than stupid CR-V Rav4

• DADIPENANG on Dec 22, 2009 at 2:00 am

cockpit very nice.

http://www.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/newcars_photos….

• meteoraniac on Dec 22, 2009 at 2:28 am

well if they cna keep the price slightly below CRV i wouldnt mind owning one .. looks stunning in real life ….

• droll on Dec 22, 2009 at 2:39 am

the front just looks frightening to me. like a featureless face!

• skiborne on Dec 22, 2009 at 3:30 am

kinda nice but when it comes to malaysia, the specs would be boring u kno like 4 speed auto and that inexclusive badge of inokom

• Aseem on Dec 22, 2009 at 3:32 am

I recently bought a Hyundai Santa Fe with 4,000 miles on the clock for 131k. I've had the car for a few weeks now and I have to say it's an amazing car. Read the reviews and you'll find nearly everyone agrees. It's a diesel but drives like a petrol. It's an SUV but drives like a car. It doesn't feel big yet is a 7 seater. It's got leather all round, electric seats, etc… Ok, it doesn't have the feel of a BMW X5, but a BMW X5 costs RM558k – that's the starting price.

I feel only a complete plonker would spend that much more for an X5. Unless of course the only reason you buy the car is to show the man next to you that you're superior to him, which does seem to be the attitude of a lot of drivers in Malaysia.

If you go to Europe, which is where I have just been, you'll find lots of Santa Fe's because word is getting out that these cars are actually damn good and great value for money.

And did you know BMW's and Mercedes have created such an amazing swindle in class conscious Malaysia – the PRE-tax price for BMWs and Mercs is TWICE as much as in the USA? Add the tax and you have people paying RM300k for a car that cost RM50k to make!

So instead of worrying about what everyone else will think and instead of wasting your money and buying a car where only 12.5% of your money pays for the manufacture of the car (with another 12.5% going to ridiculous profits and 75% for the tax), buy a Hyundai where hardly any of your money goes to tax.

Then enjoy the RM100,000's of saving and buy few properties! And feel good that you haven't taken part in one of the biggest automotive cons in history.

BTW, I think the Tuscon doesn't look as good as my Sante Fe!!!, but I gotta say, over the last few weeks I have become a big Hyundai fan. I hope they release their S-class rival here – if the tax isn't high I'd be the first to buy it!

• WilliamSmith on Dec 22, 2009 at 4:29 am

Bring it on!!! It's overdue to show the dominating Honda CRV what's called a REAL car with UP TO DATE SPEC.

• Interior looks more interesting than the Santa Fe.

Santa Fe rolls too much and body not rigid enough.

• carlocaraddict on Dec 22, 2009 at 5:00 am

it was launched here in the philippines 2 weeks ago and it looks great! the crdi variant will be launched here next year.

• funny man, malaysians dont quite welcome hyundai…hmmm

• Rhys Millen on Dec 22, 2009 at 5:36 am

Prejudice…. Narrow minded…….

• KitKat on Dec 22, 2009 at 6:13 am

Finally the angry crab grille is gone.

• tamaki on Dec 22, 2009 at 7:53 am

i bet if hyundai remove replace wit Honda emblem everyone would fascinate and keep compliment.

• apamau on Dec 22, 2009 at 9:10 am

Glad that the Tucson finally is here, it really looks nice and better looking that the current CRV / Rav.

Looks like the Sonata YF will surely be here in 1st quarter, fr the speed sime darby brings in Tucson. Pls don't wait till 2011 ya..as I am looking forward to own a YF high spec anytime.

• Charger on Dec 22, 2009 at 9:47 am

The profile looks like Santa Fe's.

• I LIKE KOREAN GIRL - on Dec 22, 2009 at 10:28 am

few years down the road~~ korean car will be jamming our road…by that time… japs car better thinkg of something good to cherish our support for them for so many years!! or should i refer to their local dealer here??

japs car is not bad~ just the dealer here dun give enuf of wat we pay them!

• Very modern design and comes with best in its class 6 speed transmission. Dont know whether it can match with Murano's CVT transmission. But this new Tucson doesnt seem to have the previous Tucson's footprint but more towards the SanteFe's size.

Yup me too, saw the Hyundai Sime Darby Ad. It's about getting Hyundai's customers to send their cars for maintenance as they are giving discounts. (Out of the topic) But one more ad that really caught my attention is the 2 + 2 4 U….it's cool, comfortable and it's coming soon. Is it an introduction of a new car or sumthing? Paul, care to investigate?

And for the past two weeks of the NST CBT issue, there were some readers smsed about the the convoy models of Ford Siera seen travelling along PLUS highway, how come there were no spyshots of the Ford Sierra posted by any readers of Paultan blogs? Just curious…hehe.

• Kamyongkai on Dec 22, 2009 at 5:33 pm

Tamaki, I like your post. Hillarious! (to non-honda fanatics, i mean)

• Boink on Dec 22, 2009 at 5:39 pm

more options for the SUV enthusiast, too many CRV's on our roads

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 22, 2009 at 7:54 pm

if i get a Wonder Girls CD with this car. i'd buy it.

• squawk on Dec 22, 2009 at 8:18 pm

It's one of the better looking SUVs IMO. Paul, next time you get pics of a Korean make, maybe you should blank out the name and logo and just post the details here to gauge the initial reaction. :-)

• waklu on Dec 22, 2009 at 8:44 pm

Bah! You can spot a korean designs miles away..

• hehe singaporeans too were apprehensive with korean makes, but now the streets are filled with avantes and fortes…they came a long way i suppose

• I might wanna have one if and only if the spare parts are at approx price with Honda or Toyota !! and the availability

• ST Chong on Dec 23, 2009 at 5:14 am

Sat in the actual unit in S'pore. The interior if one doesn't see any badges, will quickly say its a Lexus. Yeap, it's that impressive, at least to me. Leaps and bounds ahead of the competition that is now. Retailing for around SGD78K which is the same as equivalent to their Honda Civic 2.0. You guys can pretty get a feel of the pricing when it reaches here. Way to go Hyundai.

• Rrrrr on Dec 23, 2009 at 6:45 am

Bullshit Korea, eat dog.. vs stupid Malaysian

• old one look better!

• Jimmy on Dec 23, 2009 at 7:08 am

Price RM138 888. With leather seats, telescopic steering, automatic aircon, ESP, 2 airbags and 4-speed automatic. No sunroof and no electronically-foldable side mirrors. BTW, prices of Hyundai recent models are approaching Toyota/Honda, angkara Sime Darby? Why so arrogant here(Please look at price of Santa Fe and i30)? In US where Hyundai are better accepted, the price are still distant from T and H. With this price tag, I will go for CRV or even Ford Escape in Malaysia.

• Jimmy on Dec 23, 2009 at 7:16 am

Comments are slowwwwer here now. Ditapis already so that only kata-kata yang disukai oleh ORANG BESAR akan timbul.

• HyundaiLove on Dec 23, 2009 at 9:38 am

Better than Your Beloved Proton… done NOTHING just 'tipu duit'

• Reuben How on Dec 23, 2009 at 4:13 pm

Very funny to hear malaysians criticize korean cars. Malaysian can't even fix the potholes in KLCC area let alone want to suceed in F1. Pot calling the kettle black. Typical. I see that most of the korean vehicles on sale have Electronic Stability programme as standard. When will we see this in Proton? Even no side airbags in the Exora yet…

• mazda3 on Dec 26, 2009 at 4:21 pm

hyundai wake up from design.a lot of nice design now.keep up a good work!

• jmg_32188 on Jan 16, 2010 at 3:11 am

it was launched here in the Philippines a month ago.. it's really an eye-catcher.. one day, a Hyundai showroom here displayed 2 units of it.. after two days, one unit was gone.. and 2 days after that, the other unit was also gone.. it seems that buyers were too desperate of those Tucsons for it is really nice-looking.. Honda Cars Philippines started advertising the newly facelifted CR-V last month, the time when the new Tucson arrived all of a sudden.. it is going to be released on February.. advertising was advanced so that buyers will have to think twice: buy a CR-V or a Tucson?.. buying a facelifted CR-V will not be bad since the next gen will be released 3 years later may be..

• woh its getup is much better then stupid Honda CRV.I regreted a lot buying Honda CRV neverthe less i will dispose this and surely go for a new Tucson.GREAT Hyundai,KEEP IT UP

• Auto chart on Feb 04, 2010 at 12:46 pm

Looks like a CRV trying to eat its way out of a giant Mazda3…

• sunny on Mar 10, 2010 at 5:05 am

I had made the reservation to have one. The sales team in Glenmarie Hyundai said that I am the first to reserve the car in Malaysia. I book it 2 weeks ago while, the demo 2.7 cc engine model was still in their wharehouse. It was fascinating. From the body work all the way to the interior.Talk about sporty mid size suv.

The sales said the price range is within 150++K, whatever its is, It will be interesting to know how they are going to compete with Nissan as well as CRVs on this category, I think if Hyundai have the ball and nerve to hike at this pricing range, so, it mean to be great piece of engineering work, well , lets wait and see after I had it , and drive it.

• Vincent on Apr 28, 2010 at 1:14 pm

Looks cool, specs sexy, but it is still Korean; sell you a new car and hit you with expensive spares 3 years down the line. 5 years on, model change and they tell you that the spares are obsolete ………. as in ALL Korean products.

• Marie on May 13, 2010 at 9:16 pm

The most important of a car is not the design, it is the engine itself, i drove Korean car before, the engine quality was not as good as the Japanese car, mainly the the Water Tank – the rubber T-Joint, it’s broken so easily, once it’s broken, it will burn the engine, and need 15k to repair, regardless or new car or old car, it’s simply too fragile!! Not up to the Japanese car standard yet.

• delkolmmaxx on May 15, 2010 at 5:27 pm

When will Hyundai Sime Darby introduces the 2010 Santa Fe to the Malaysian shores? Hope it will not be 2011 and beyond…

• krool de cool on Jul 20, 2010 at 1:03 pm

jes purchase hyundai tucson last week. still waiting for the delivery. hope all goes fine…

• galaxy explorer on Jul 24, 2010 at 11:07 pm

Magnificent vehicle, well done, Hyundai. Sime Darby should concentrate in the plantations business, let the auto experts handle the auto industry and bring down the vehicle price so that more people can afford it. Scrap all artificial boundaries and let the market forces decide the car prices.

• tucsonfan on Sep 05, 2010 at 12:51 am

Got one last week! and it’s really amazing… it is really worth buying.