Mitsubishi’s Ralliart division winds down operations

Mitsubishi’s Ralliart is one of the more famous performance divisions, thanks to the brand’s rally winning exploits and the Lancer Evolution series’ cult following.

So it’s sad news to hear that Ralliart is the latest to succumb to the changed environment the automotive world had to face ever since the global financial crisis hit. It is winding down operations.

Mitsubishi’s quit the WRC in 2005, and more recently abandoned its Dakar Rally exploits last year, including all rally raid events. Mitsubishi is the most successful manufacturer in the Dakar, with 12 wins in 26 appearances, including a record seven back-to-back victories from 2001 to 2007. With this latest development, Ralliart will no longer lend support to motorsport customers and privateers. Also put to a stop is the planning, development and selling of Ralliart products.

“The business circumstance surrounding our company radically became worse and so, this time we have reached the conclusion that we Ralliart Inc, would scale down our business activities as of the end of March 2010,” according to Ralliart Inc’s president Masao Taguchi, in a “farewell letter” to customers, which you can read for yourself after the jump.

Partial Cease of Business Activities along with Ralliart Inc’s
Business Scale Down
Ralliart Inc (President Masao Taguchi) has announced as follows.

Dear all of our customers ,

First of all, we much appreciate for your usual patronage to our company.
Our company have done the various activities relating motorsport with the support of many people since the establishment in April,1984 so far. However, because of the sudden change of economy situation since the year before last, the business circumstance surrounding our company radically became worse and so, this time we have reached the conclusion that we Ralliart Inc., would scale down our business activities as of the end of March 2010.

Along with the scale down of our business activities this time, we would cease the following business and operation which we have done so far. We would like to express our sincere apology to all of customers though we would make you much inconveniences.

Meanwhile, we wish you a continuous support to Ralliart family and entrants driving Mitsubishi cars who play an active part all over the world.

Items which would cease our business and operation along with our business scale down;

1. Support to motorsport customers(Support to the participation, Technical Support, and Awarding of Mitsubishi/Ralliart Driver of the Year)
2. New Planning, Development and Merchandize of Ralliart products (Except FIA VO parts) :*1
3. Information of new products and dispatching motorsport information(at web):*2

*1 FIA VO parts development and those application work shall be done by Mitsubishi Motors Corporation as it is.
*2 FIA Group-N information shall be open at the web site of Mitsubishi Motors Corporation.

Date of the cease: 1st April, 2010

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Mufasa on Mar 12, 2010 at 12:14 am

Date of the cease: 1st April, 2010

——————————

sad,,, not april fool right?

• MyDear on Mar 12, 2010 at 12:14 am

Proton should bought mitsu .. :p

• Alan Wong on Mar 12, 2010 at 12:19 am

Is this an April fools joke???

• redwings on Mar 12, 2010 at 12:23 am

Gosh… we all are big fans on ralliart especially those recent years.. our proton wira were from the lancer evo 3 family…

• MyCarMyLife on Mar 12, 2010 at 12:28 am

Bad moon rising on the horizon for motorsports sigh! Bad times ahead!!

• initial R on Mar 12, 2010 at 12:30 am

sad but truth….. :(

• JULIAN_LEE on Mar 12, 2010 at 12:37 am

Good riddance. BMW M-division better

• The global business scales down is a trend, the economic crisis of 2008 do cut down world purchasing power, mass production facility and global business will shrink. This is not a cyclical change, is a structural scale down on world business (especially for business outside of China), more World brand will scale down, especially on durable goods manufacturer.

• rexis on Mar 12, 2010 at 12:45 am

Huh? The only tuner that is associated with drifting closing shop?

No!

• Rest in peace…;(

• turbo on Mar 12, 2010 at 12:56 am

why dont proton buy it?? lotus + ralliart = power*2

ralliart got experience in Turbo right?

• petrol-head on Mar 12, 2010 at 1:01 am

R.I.P to the legendary tuning company, "you" always be remember as the core tuning specialist for Mitsu…Bis…Hi

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 12, 2010 at 1:06 am

Says there:

Partial Cease of Business Activities along with Ralliart Inc’s

so this is just a temporary close shop, then open back in future when markets are better?

• Annoynimal on Mar 12, 2010 at 1:06 am

Who did the translation?

Malaysia should buy ralliart…

M-division does not do rallies… ddhhhuuuh…

• Eli_za on Mar 12, 2010 at 1:14 am

sad news to our wiralution or wajalution too? :p

• wuttaheck on Mar 12, 2010 at 1:25 am

APRIL FOOL!

• sayang la tu…. its like history …..

• Mysticmind on Mar 12, 2010 at 2:02 am

this is why they should't stop entering rally in 2005!!

now see?

it might be happen to subaru tooooo…

lucky they're just re-enter back. but.. subaru-yota what a boring thing.

• FIREPOLICY on Mar 12, 2010 at 2:08 am

get all the ralliart goodies fast…

maybe it will become more xpensive..

• Lancermania on Mar 12, 2010 at 2:34 am

anoter sad news….

• Black Dog on Mar 12, 2010 at 3:00 am

Scale down not Close down!

So haven't die yet! Only certain sections cease. After operation now on life support. No need RIP yet.

• jolly_idiot on Mar 12, 2010 at 3:19 am

Too many fake things in d market. Blame it to the chinese that fake things out. Haha… Btw, no news on Proton's R3? Doubt it end up like Ralli Art. No sound no air for quite sometime.

So… Who's next?

TRD?

Mugen?

Spoon?

Nismo?

Toms?

Mazdaspeed?

HKS?

Apexi?

K&N?

Gimme the list…

• sad story..

• redfueler on Mar 12, 2010 at 4:06 am

yup, p1 should buy it ;))

• carsenthusiast.blogs on Mar 12, 2010 at 5:33 am

Mitsu down, Proton Up

• Mitsubishi will soon go into bankrupt mode!

• Dr. M on Mar 12, 2010 at 6:35 am

Proton should buy Ralliart and Mugen! Then gain some profit by selling Lotus.

• Dr. M on Mar 12, 2010 at 6:36 am

Proton should buy Ralliart and Mugen. Then make some profit by selling Lotus.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Mar 12, 2010 at 6:37 am

RALLIART IS DEAD and that's final, idiots here keep on thinking proton can buy anything…..these cocks are the people who allow the government to simply waste the taxpayer's money. shouldn't you people at least feel a little bit of grieve for the company?

• droll on Mar 12, 2010 at 6:41 am

:(

• johnny japan on Mar 12, 2010 at 7:02 am

Rest in peace…ralliart..

• just me on Mar 12, 2010 at 7:14 am

yup, if proton buy Ralliart, the R3 version of proton cars can become R4,

R3 + Ralliart = R4

hehehe…

• oh dear, another one bites the dust. joining TRUST.

• Peter on Mar 12, 2010 at 8:11 am

Why some people trying to act smart and be funny?

Buy Mugen?……Mugen specializing in honda products……Honda will never work with Proton nor Perodua……….

Buy Ralliart?…..Funny,..Cant possible happen…….Why allow external party to develop 3rd party spare parts for them?

Alliance the boughtover Ralliart with Lotus……..????

Com'on…….Proton do have some stakes……..But they dont control Lotus……They buy Lotus so that Lotus can help them and not control them.Proton also no rights with what Lotus should do what………………..Get it?????

• jacky chann on Mar 12, 2010 at 8:16 am

The Spirit of Competition

• Dai Nippon on Mar 12, 2010 at 9:40 am

R.I.P hahahahahahahaha

• hiruma kecil on Mar 12, 2010 at 11:44 am

world can live without hummer!! but in this case is Ralliart!!! How can this happen.. no ralliart is like nisssan without nismo!!! my gosh!!!

• alxand@mitsubishi@ss on Mar 12, 2010 at 2:58 pm

buy lotus kali house lar…

do remember this doesn't mean RA will stop completely… they just scale down…

too many basher wanna act funny…

• Does that mean the end of the Evo ?

• Rhys Millen on Mar 12, 2010 at 3:59 pm

Maybe Hyundai will buy them over … afterall they are already selling to them their EVOLUTION engines

• p4k4bu on Mar 12, 2010 at 5:20 pm

Darn !

I've just put a nice Ralliart sticker and decals on my 10-year-old Kancil.

Now have to peel it off…. :(

;) ;) ;)

• my neighbor used to be in ralliart works team, he'll be very sad to hear of this

• Annoynimal on Mar 12, 2010 at 6:25 pm

Ralliart was a giant in motorsport. Many people here are car enthusiasts and the normal reaction was to think that our local motorsport might benefit from their vast experience, hence the suggestion that Proton should buy etc. If decisions were made based on motorsports point of view alone, then it would be a good idea. But thats just wishful thinking since we also know that Proton has also got bussiness to think about.

So, why bring up the boring issues on tax money etc. Thats so lame… Cheer up dude…

• Mayonaise (Member) on Mar 12, 2010 at 7:09 pm

Peter said, "Com’on…….Proton do have some stakes……..But they dont control Lotus……They buy Lotus so that Lotus can help them and not control them.Proton also no rights with what Lotus should do what………………..Get it?????"

Actually, your info is incorrect, Proton owns 100% of Lotus since 2003.

• wuttaheck on Mar 12, 2010 at 7:19 pm

p4k4bu said,

March 12, 2010 @ 9:20 am

Darn !

I’ve just put a nice Ralliart sticker and decals on my 10-year-old Kancil.

Now have to peel it off…. :(

haha!i bet u bought it at pasar malam, the bundled one n put it at your driver's door…may included on the bundle:mugen power, brembo, trd…pathetic…

• Supertram on Mar 12, 2010 at 7:57 pm

Of course la bungkus, all also bought fake huge ars3 sticker, not the actual original stuff from Ralliart

• donno on Mar 13, 2010 at 12:47 am

RIP to the great RALLIART. Sad to see the once great name go under because most of us does not know what the RALLIART essence was, and the great name was dilluted by fakes, slapped on cars that does not warrant the great name… Last time here in Malaysia there were even 2 ralliart divisions; RALLIART MALAYSIA for mitsu cars and RALLIART EON MALAYSIA (aka PERT) for Protons…

• jamal on Mar 13, 2010 at 1:07 am

some body need to save this ralliart

• P1 hope u tak beli this particular company…. kukuhkan jenama u sendiri cukuplah dgn lotus dahulu.. bina lah kete yang berperibadi proton.. dgn tech yang ada design,keluarkan, spec R3 yang lebih mantap kukuhkan R3 badge baru lah mantap.. bersaing dgn jenama antarabangsa… (bile lah turbo engine nakkuar nih)

• Auto_crat on Mar 13, 2010 at 1:52 am

Such a significant name in motorsport. It is a sad news indeed. It's all economics. To Julian Lee, to say M Sport Division is better would be an overstatement.

• Jimmy on Mar 13, 2010 at 9:03 pm

No more evo with FQ series.

• 2 Jimmy on Mar 14, 2010 at 5:09 am

No more Evos at all, not FQ ;-)