More sketches of the Volkswagen Polo Sedan appear online

These are supposed to be new sketches of the new Volkswagen Polo Sedan, which some people are beginning to refer as the Vento.

It’s not the first time we’ve seen alleged sketches of the new subcompact sedan, but these look more complete compared to the last one we saw. Theophilus has even done an artist rendering of what a new Polo Sedan could look like.

Volkswagen has a history of selling Polo versions of the sedan in a few parts of the world. Even the previous generation Polo had a sedan variant called the Polo Classic, but because of the previous Polo’s more bulbous rounded look, it didn’t really translate into a sedan shape very well. The new Polo has straighter lines and a sedan variant actually looks decent. It doesn’t look stunted because wheelbase and length of the Polo platform has said to be have been increased by about 50mm.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• I thought Polo sedan is called Jetta?

• Toyota drivers are idiots on May 04, 2010 at 6:07 pm

Saga facelift?

• Paul is proton going to re badge the passat as perdana?

• Habib on May 04, 2010 at 7:20 pm

If VW decide to have CKD plant in Malaysia, this is definitely the model they’ll produce!
    Anyway VW haven’t decided yet to partner with who for the Malaysia plant, hopefully it’ll be Proton! If so, maybe we’ll see a rebadge Passat as a Perdana?
    The Tanjung Malim plant is one of the most high-tech in SE Asia, I think VW is looking on Proton for that.

• Tats why the deal is off, because VW only want the benefit from our high tech factory, dont even dream to get global platform Passat to replace Perdana, VW only allow cheap ugly china VW’s model for us to play around

• Pardon me but I thought they’ve already given up on malaysia and went thailand.

Passat as a Perdana, definitely going to buy proton “pasdana”.

• tokmoh on May 04, 2010 at 10:34 pm

In The Star today, there’s a news mentioning Proton’s share among top gainers yesterday as there’s news of possible Proton rebadging Passat. It even said current Passat which is about RM220k if rebadged, can drop to half of that!! RM110k pasdana, anyone?

• Malaysian want to spent 100k for Proton car?I dun think so..Look at Perdana..Only gov dept use that car..

• G dep oso change to Mercedes. They “claim” Mercedes maintenance cheaper…

• Alpha on May 04, 2010 at 8:00 pm

Paul,usually the sedan version of a hatch is cheaper,rite??if VW Msia bring ths in,do u think it’ll be able to be less than 100k??

• think on May 04, 2010 at 8:03 pm

in our sedan market,will it be brought or assembled in malaysia..surely another addition to the line up of honda civic range of vehicles…

• nabill on May 04, 2010 at 9:01 pm

actually no need sketches,kinda pridictable wat polo sedan looks like….

• ZAMANI on May 04, 2010 at 11:15 pm

INGAT SAGA TADI….

• sketch from the side looks similar to the latest proton saga to me….

• please produce this model.. so saga owner have a chance to customize it.. hahahahe

• Jaybond on May 05, 2010 at 8:50 am

Rather have it , as original VW car rather than rebadged Proton.

• mfahd on May 05, 2010 at 11:56 am

the grills make the car looks…
    euwwww..

• Manav on May 06, 2010 at 3:37 am

The Volkswagen is the best car makers and very soon it will be proven…..Taking suzuki global 20% and Taking Porshe max shares world wide are the mile stones.

10 Big brands under one company will take the company and the confidence of the customers to the great hight.

I drive a passat and belive me its one of the best car i have ever driven in my life….

Manav
    India