Toyota Corolla gets updated – Altis facelift coming soon?

Toyota has quietly facelifted the Toyota Corolla (sold here as the Corolla Altis) around the end of last month. This comes shortly after the hatchback version of car known as the Auris was launched. Obvious changes include a new grille up front and a new design for the tail lamps at the rear.

The 2.0 litre engine that is already available in Thailand in the pre-facelift model will also be making its way into models all around the world. At least one country – Australia is confirmed to get the 2.0 litre other than Thailand. What Thailand got is the Dual VVT-i 3ZR-FE but some countries could get the Valvematic 3ZR-FAE 2.0 litre that can produce 156 horses.

The photos of the European spec here is more upmarket compared to the ones we get here in ASEAN – their instrument cluster has a higher end multi-info display integrated into the center of each meter face for example. There is also start/stop functions.

Look after the jump for a full gallery of the new facelifted Corolla.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1094]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Thomanic on May 05, 2010 at 12:42 am

red line at 5K? is that a diesel?…..

• I was wondering the same too.

• Its Euro spec…most prob those D2D excellent diesel….we only get those fuel guzzler VVTi (compared to the diesel)here due to our diesel standard

• stewpid (Member) on May 05, 2010 at 11:51 am

maybe.. this Corolla 2010 engine line-up includes 1.33-liter Dual VVT-i and 1.6-liter Valvematic petrol engines, and 1.4-liter and 2.0-liter D-4D diesel units

• its weird corolla are bread n butter cars in Europe but they get higher end stuff, here Corolla is a luxury car but its basically cheapskate…haha

• Agreed. But then again, there are so many alternatives in Europe, so toyota has to put their best forward to compete. Here, tunnel vision makes Malaysian sees T&H brand almost exclusively, the result, less real competition, and Toyota knows, they can give a basic spec, last gen technology (engine, drivetrain, at even higher profit margin (not comparing prices here, but margin, and Malaysian will still buy this sorry excuse of a car and count themselves getting a good deal. Sigh, sad……

• That is the symptom of the difference between a high income economy and a middle income one….

• Alpha on May 05, 2010 at 12:51 am

the grille made it looks kinda dated and old.the pre fc was nicer.

• Tengokaje.. on May 05, 2010 at 11:48 am

The look of this new facelift like kind da old version of toyota

• Apernie on May 05, 2010 at 3:47 pm

Agreed…
      Rear end kinda boring…front end ok but dont like that bulging emblem grill (dugong style) again :-)

• Kington on May 05, 2010 at 12:52 am

And i just booked the current Altis!

Well at least the rear lamps look better than the current mk 1.

• shawal on May 05, 2010 at 12:59 am

The Current altis in silverish-blue ic nicer,
    this facelift looks like ah beng handywork
    makes it look like a poorman’s camry , unacceptable

• This is really a good news…

For people who is thinking of buying a new car but Altis.

• External changes of grill, bumper and front lights bring total harmonious visual effect to this Altis. Curvy yet slimmer headlamps, larger yet airy grill, and rugged yet appealing bumper have brought the Altis a favourite choice for its avid purchasers again. The rear are less fussy now. It has the shadow of its predecessor somehow. Could be better if the ring-shaped corner and brake lamps be tweaked into a more conventional design. In total, thumps up for this Altis and It’s the best looking Corolla ever exists in this universe so far.

Whether or not the Altis can regain its top position is rather a vague prediction, afterall its popularity has dropped and lost to much appealing Civic 1.8 and 2.0 ever since the introduction of this E140 Altis. It reminds me the seventh-generation’s Civic (EP3, year 2001) – the most unseccessful Civic. Also, the lengthy lawsuit and problematic mechanicals have tarnished Toyota’s reputation. Could these be an ill omen to this Altis?

• apeng on May 05, 2010 at 1:17 am

altis gen10 much more nicer than this fcelft…

• May I know how many facelift would the current Altis going to have?

I got a feeling Toyota is tuning this Altis into Proton Saga- Gen 1.

• tokmoh on May 05, 2010 at 10:41 am

THIS altis already feels nothing more than the previous gen’s facelift.

• Abraham Tawi on May 05, 2010 at 10:54 am

Normally its once but like you said they may just facelift it if there is still a demand for this model :)

• looks like an optima to me
    i mean its becoming like previous korean car style
    eeeeuuww but its still a toyota

• Marcus on May 05, 2010 at 1:52 am

omg. not again? come out with a new design please..

• Sucram on May 05, 2010 at 2:37 am

Toyotas now no money to do new design, maybe 5 years later it’ll come out new design.

• Alex Yoong on May 05, 2010 at 8:17 am

how many times want to facelift the same old model? time for an all-new model oledi before the new CIvic come out !!!

• LOL

• omahabojan on May 05, 2010 at 10:54 am

Yeah, i guess there’s a cycle before a new model is released. At the mean time, just embrace the latest offering. I didn’t like it though

• i am waiting for dual vvti..can jimat minyak some more..got 2.0 will give xtra power! anyone know about the price and when this facelift will come to bolehland??

• johnny on May 05, 2010 at 8:03 am

new sonata coming soon also dual vvti. 6 speed gearbox some more. just wait and test later.

• The Loner on May 05, 2010 at 11:57 am

Don’t even hope UMW will bring 2.0L Altis here. Those pesky sales people will say this and that kind of reasons not bringing it in.

• Gruv Docta on May 12, 2010 at 12:31 pm

Dunno anything, thn dun say anything. Launching in Q4 2010. Eat ur own words, Loner….oh….no wonder la.

• perkasa on May 05, 2010 at 1:24 pm

tak payahlah beli toyota dah..harga mengarut..barang macam tu juga..nama je gah..design tetap tak berubah

• VW_fan on May 05, 2010 at 2:07 am

I think is time Altis intro 2.0 since 1.6 is close to Vios!!! but price almost extra 20K, yeah! in terms of size, equipment lllaa but just leave 1.5 alone will ya Mr.Toyoda?

• 4G63tDSM on May 05, 2010 at 6:31 am

For different markets.
      You can’t just view this car in Malaysian perspectives…its all out of whack.

The Altis has always had a 1.8L engine as standard, and a limited optional 2.4L engine. I think the new 2.0L is to replace the 2.4 since the 2.4 is rather long in the tooth and not that efficient.

But then again, in established markets, the Corolla has always hovered in the under 20k USD price range. Base trim cars can be had for 16k USD. So its never a “luxury” car…..

When the Yaris based Echo (possibly the first gen Vios – that makes the Dugong the 3rd Gen), was used to tackle the sub compact market, they were starting from 12-13K….when they were launched in ’97.

• tHe^CuLpRit on May 05, 2010 at 2:31 am

funny how the rear light’s facelift is exactly how the previous generation was facelifted.

and if you squint, the front looks like a Nissan Primera

• iskett on May 05, 2010 at 2:59 am

Haish, still ugly..
    Was expecting better.

• lkf0512 on May 05, 2010 at 9:12 am

Totally agree with you…

And I do expect a slight price hike as well.
      Look at what happened to Vios!

To be honest, I would rather buy a Forte though it may consume more petrol and you know what they say about old Kia model.

• Ronaldo on May 05, 2010 at 9:28 am

yeah………still fugly as usual…….especially the rear lamp

• Na'ah suckers on May 05, 2010 at 1:05 pm

I second that

• selekohboi on May 05, 2010 at 6:29 am

Paul, I thought Taiwan alsi got DVVT-i Z 2.0 ??? Well it will definately be good if Altis move to 1.8-2.0, meantime move Vios to Axio 1.6 (as in Singapore). I think this facelift not bad. Later will see some guy say: brp facelift da…
    Cheerio !!!

• Better hire new designer…

• A330-300 on May 05, 2010 at 7:29 am

European spec means mostly diesel variants. Redline 4500-5000 RPM confirms this.

• lance on May 05, 2010 at 7:29 am

wow..got manual transmission & can u see the car booth can be open using car remote…

• carlocaraddict on May 05, 2010 at 7:44 am

the philippines has the 2.0V variant already. It was launched early last year.

• Ugly.. but I think Hondas are uglier. Buekk!!

• raja hakim on May 05, 2010 at 4:41 pm

honda are uglier…?? what are you blind….
      look at this car… its very hidious and ugly….

• BMW M-Problem on May 05, 2010 at 5:23 pm

agree… civic looks funny… is it a sedan or mpv… the worse is interior…looks like mpv…
      The wiper are like MPV….
      I am waiting for a next generation I hope they drop the MPV design.

• abcde12345 on May 10, 2010 at 11:50 am

no no no
        i prefer to buy civic rather than buy this dugong’s father

• jolly_idiot on May 05, 2010 at 8:05 am

Typical toy-ota’s tactic to rip more money from buyer. they wanna recover their losses on their US case.

• still looks ugly as ever to me…

• Toyota drivers are idiots on May 05, 2010 at 8:19 am

Why would anyone would pick this over a Civic, Lancer, Mazda3, 308, Forte or even the Sylphy?

• civic is the best!!!
      no offence coz i am driving civic.
      memang bias..
      coz when you buy your own car, you have to be bias…
      agree?!

• Rassan on May 05, 2010 at 8:22 am

Recycle design.

• HirumaKecil on May 05, 2010 at 8:23 am

current altis is better…

• over priced model in Malaysia mkt……

• OMG..it looks ugly . The design is way dated. Its time for total make over for H and T

• MyCarMyLife on May 05, 2010 at 8:56 am

From tomyamland, what happens if the left side of the car is assembled by a red shirted worker and the right by a yellow one?? becareful these next months.

• M6forlive on May 05, 2010 at 11:50 pm

need not worry on that, coz it is made in the bolehland…….ckd bro. during the sales talk, they will tell u about tomyamland. when u wanna sell the car and ask for the AP (imported car mah) then they will tell u it is made in barisan rakyat territory and u dont need an AP to sell. well, i’m selling both my altis and vios, enuf of all the nonsense with toyota.

• Ugly car with the nice VVTi engine

• Czarly on May 05, 2010 at 9:01 am

It is certainly look dated to me, maybe the main styling already quite sometime in the market. More fresher styling from the competitor such as Kia and Hyundai. I think Proton does it better in this facelifted sort of things.

• Not good…..
    I don’t like the new looking, juz kinda boring….
    except the internal design…

• AE86 (Member) on May 05, 2010 at 9:07 am

well we’ve getting quite a number of the facelifted corolla Altis on the road in SG, it would be nice if they give us 2.0 litre version as it is good for those uncle who have many children…
    For young man we no need facelifted uncle car, we want something like Toyota FT-86 !!
    when is it launching?! or do Mr. Toyota even want to launch that in SEA region?

• Shaycoat on May 05, 2010 at 9:08 am

Dear all,

The new (facelift) looks good from exterior. Now you get very refreshing grille, updated back lamp and gosh! you have a remote boot opener! However, the interior is neither interesting nor elegant to me…

• keep on bashing on May 06, 2010 at 8:40 am

Shaycoat,

Persona also have remote boot opener lo, what so surprice when seeing Altis having this feature? Something to be proud of?
      Btw, what’s you sales target for this Altis FL?

• nabill on May 05, 2010 at 9:08 am

looks too ” uncle-y”…its one of those few cars that has zero sportiness….jus looks boring….

• cam.shaft on May 05, 2010 at 9:14 am

wow….its the same car all over again..yawn~

• haiz, toyota is moving backward & koreans are raging forward with their superd designs!
    if toyota carry on like this ,the korean makers will benefit in future. but then again in m’sia very sad case and bad taste as usual & stick with toyota & honda. very sad indeed, most of the ppl need to open up their mind more for technologies,design,safety n not solely on brand only. oh ya n resale value :P

• Moses on May 05, 2010 at 9:25 am

no wonder now UMW is throwing lots of goodies for the current batch of Altis…free Garmin GPS and attractive downpayment rebates.

One thing that really irked me with 10th gen Altis is the stereo unit, no AUX and USB jacks. Hopefully this will be rectified with the upcoming facelift model.

• Kambing Gurun on May 05, 2010 at 9:25 am

Despite “kutuk-kutuk”ing T at all time, I kind of like the black interior + manual transmission + steering. Nice. No point condemning when it’s nice. When it comes to Malaysia… only auto transmission. So sad.

• cybermaster98 on May 05, 2010 at 9:33 am

Toyota must come up with a totally new model for the Altis and the Vios. They need to get sportier and throw in more features. Anybody know when the new generation Altis and Vios is targetted for launch?

• i think i will just wait 4 sources from thailand to judge…… at least the rear light look kinda….erm…OK OK like that..

• Seriously on May 05, 2010 at 9:42 am

It’s too late for this car.

• Maserati on May 05, 2010 at 10:05 am

prem says:
    5/5/2010 at 12:43 am
    its weird corolla are bread n butter cars in Europe but they get higher end stuff, here Corolla is a luxury car but its basically cheapskate…haha

Altis Is a luxury car in msia? R u sure? I don’t think so. It’s just a normal jap car.BMW n merc is considered luxury here la

• Marcus on May 05, 2010 at 10:12 am

Hardly any excitement in the way it looks. . .

• Why so ulgy one……..yet the price doesnt make any sense if compare to the rest of the car.

• scooter on May 05, 2010 at 10:56 am

Still an outdated look if compare to honda civic. If check on the monthly sales volume, it’s far behind honda civic. What it need is not just a simple ordinary grille + rear lamp facelift. It reminds me on yr 1998 – 2000 corolla, it’s ugly look almost kill them until yr 2001 Altis launched.

• subhero on May 05, 2010 at 11:19 am

it was expected new facelift for altis. after camry and vios.. altis was not so famouse here compare to US market. is it maybe vios not to entered in US?

• lazyf on May 05, 2010 at 11:21 am

a “botox” Altis…hehehe
    current Altis looks much better than this FL…

• coolguru on May 05, 2010 at 11:22 am

Doesn’t look Corolla anymore – the design or rather lifted areas are very patchy. It has a little bit of everything and when sums up, it’s no longer the language of Corolla with a rich heritage…

perhaps because of the curren t global issues with Toyota, they’ve lost touch of their heritage – just roll out new things so the world can leave the past behind.

• Anonymous on May 05, 2010 at 11:29 am

Another boring facelift =.=!! Previous front grille and rear lamps definitely looks better to me XD

• niuhje on May 05, 2010 at 11:39 am

depan ok, belakang mcm tak kena… moving fwd? hmmmm…..

• ong chin aun on May 05, 2010 at 11:39 am

Well, the interesting thing is that the tramission is manual as can be seen in the pic.. But , not available in Malaysia. what are the main reasons ?

• mat korea on May 05, 2010 at 11:44 am

very ordinary & outdated design. Because of ‘T’ badge….everything is ok.

• how to fight with avante interm of design and style???

• jiliv on May 05, 2010 at 11:47 am

***YAWWWNNNNN***
    Fugly looking car then and even fuglier looking car now…sack those bunch of lazy “silverliners” (Audi term for old men) designers out of Toyota…get someone with fresh ideas into the company…

You can sell the “reliability” tag for certain period of time only…you’ll be loosing out to other competitors and need to bank in on other tags like “Up to date design”, “Latest Engine”, “Latest six speed gearbox” etc…

Wake Up Toyota…we are in 2010 and people are getting smarter…or most of us!

• Peter on May 05, 2010 at 11:54 am

Corolla is no longer the model i am looking for anymore…..

• celica zzt231 on May 05, 2010 at 12:00 pm

it has a shade of mercedes in front for me. ^_^

• BoringMOOMOO on May 05, 2010 at 12:23 pm

guys~ just compare this NEW ALTIS design with those KOREAN’s new design~~

sure u know who is doing a better job!

• Squawk on May 05, 2010 at 12:51 pm

At least it doesn’t look like a bug. Looks like a car from the 90s. How retro.

And yeah, why does a Vios-class car in Europe have better equipment and features than a local executive-class car?

• King Samurai on May 05, 2010 at 1:00 pm

Booorrrrrriiiiinnngggg….no need mid-life face lift laa…do nothing also still can sell in bolehland..

• Na'ah suckers on May 05, 2010 at 1:07 pm

A lacklusture performance……………………….ALTIS

• Front morphing slowly into bigger Vios. Back looks like previous model Sentra.

• E bEar on May 05, 2010 at 1:31 pm

Hope the Malaysia version better nose and body kit…..tuned for more power.

• Derrick C on May 05, 2010 at 2:33 pm

I’m currently driving the new Altis which I bought in 2009 and honestly, I think the new uplifted model looks quite cool as compared to the current one.

• honeey on Jun 11, 2010 at 2:03 pm

hi, just to get some info from u,…. about the fuel consumption, ur ALTIS is 1.8 or 1.6?? what’s ur comment on this matter??? i’m looking forward 4 d 1.6 altis….THNX.

• michaelk on May 05, 2010 at 2:36 pm

corolla altis has lost its shine…just look at the dashboard..outdated lor..new bumper doesn’t add any advantage to its look….engine nothing impressive….those who opted for altis at this age & moment where we hv so many more better choices must be ‘kuku’ somewhere..reliability? you be the judge!

• K-belGuy on May 05, 2010 at 2:42 pm

Another face-lift? Again? This must be a joke, right? Oh no, it’s true. Naaah, yawn! Boring. Next!!!!!!!!

• ^(oo)^ on May 05, 2010 at 3:21 pm

better than the prefacelit.. looks better and nicer

• selekohboi on May 05, 2010 at 3:33 pm

hey hw come my komen ard 7am was not there anymore !?
    Paul, i thought Taiwan also got DVVT-i Z 2.0? Well its sure is good if Altis had 1.8-2.0 whil;e Viosmove to Axio 1.6 (model in SG).
    Hey, look again = it does look retro. Cheerio !!!

• azrai on May 05, 2010 at 3:39 pm

Still looking ugly..

• JasJos on May 05, 2010 at 3:55 pm

Totally rubbish. I would buy an avante/forte especially the new avante than this piece of junk. No real update of specs and technology for almost 10 years now. Buck up toyota.

• Vincent on May 05, 2010 at 4:49 pm

Korean new model is coming very aggresively on design. Toyota still continue with uncle look?

Siang….

• For the front, i prefer the pre-facelift version.

• ^(oo)^ on May 05, 2010 at 5:52 pm

stop complaining wei.. this car is nice wat??

• out dated design.

• altis suck,fugly……

• think on May 05, 2010 at 8:25 pm

whatever the facelift,,toyota must think to the ways of upgrasding the altis’s useless engine and also the transmission which is out of place..toyota,if you save your money from research,at lesat have a 5 speeder from the camry 2.4 with some tweaks and have set 5speeder as the base ratios in transmisssion for automatic and manual guise..

• Toyota should sell the Altis bifuel petrol & CNG like they have in India & Thailand, with full warranty, more ppl will buy.

• i sitll love my 2003 Altis, still going strong after all this years!

• facelift or not… Malaysia market only would get back the old 1ZZ-FE for 1.8 version. still the single VVTi.

• estima778 on May 06, 2010 at 2:10 am

FRONT bumber ugly…. REAR light so badgly..i think use TAIWAN LED light full RED….tokong.

• Rizal on May 06, 2010 at 9:19 am

Same old boring design…. just push this model aside…and make new brand model… :)

• HirumaKecil on May 06, 2010 at 9:36 am

like forte design…

• wochomi on May 06, 2010 at 12:09 pm

Elsewhere…. it should be better. But here in our beloved country and thanx to dumbass UMW, we’ll be getting 10-year old engines. Malaysia is dumping ground for automakers, apparel brands, and govt-paid-bloggers.

• hubcap on May 06, 2010 at 12:41 pm

I was using altis 2004-2008. regret buying it. overprice tin can with bad handling and quality issues. now i am driving honda accord 2.0 ivtec latest model bought in 2008. very happy with it’s handling, stability and fuel economy….thumbs up..!!!

• scooter on May 06, 2010 at 6:42 pm

Bro, can u share wat’s the major problem of ur altis?

• honeey on Jun 11, 2010 at 2:12 pm

same here … looking 4ward 4 new altis 2010 … any comments to share …?

• the redesign of rear lamp is a great improvement from the current one.

• Biskut Lexus on May 06, 2010 at 5:38 pm

Ranking number of bashers:
    1) Proton
    2) Perodua
    3) Toyota
    4) Honda
    5) Naza (Kia)
    6) Inokom (Hyuandai)
    7) Cherry
    8) rest of Asian Car (Tata, Mahindra etc)
    9) Rest of Japanese Car (Nissan, Subaru, Mazda ect)
    10) Rest of American and European Car

source : Paultan.org

• Biskut Lexus on May 06, 2010 at 5:44 pm

Ralat :

6) Inokom (Hyundai)
    7) Cherry
    8) Rest of Asian Car (Tata, Mahindra etc)

• quadlights on May 06, 2010 at 9:56 pm

Check out the latest estima bumper design http://toyota.jp/estima/g_edition/
    So now we know how Toyota design their cars ‘cut n paste’!

• txsuprasonic on May 06, 2010 at 11:38 pm

more aggressive look, i like it, cant wait for the new engines

• Tielle on Jun 08, 2010 at 10:45 pm

Should I buy current Altis??? I booked redi, but not sure worth it??? Pls Help..

• clifton on Jun 15, 2010 at 12:42 am

when it will launch in malaysia?

• n madhavan on Aug 24, 2010 at 10:57 pm

hi..i ve been following up the latest altis..launching on end of sept…i ve received the new spec and new price list..officially from toyota malaysia…there will be only…1.6, 1.8e, 1.8g and 2.0…none of the model will be wif aerokit…but 1.8g n 2.0 will be with leather seat….price increase bout 3 – 4k….wann any update email me at [email protected] as i l all the details n price list with me…will forward to those interested….i m getting the 1.8e….placed an order n loan approved……..

• after this facelifted model, when the new model will be coming up? could it be 2012?

• front lamp still same..why toyota not change projector lamp..

• The Titan on Oct 15, 2010 at 4:58 pm

haha.. it a good news i like and fell in love with this latest 7speed Corola altis especially in pearl white colour!
    i was have a test drive and the result is thumbup! no more civic in my mind.

This new altis really difference with new front bumper,wheels,rear lamp,steering wheel,and yeah new engine and new gear box 7speeds really make me shock and diffenately u all will agree too.

check for the price 1.8E(it doesen’t matter without leather&electronic seat) in around RM110k and the latest model just plus RM3k it mean RM113k you can get a lot new goodness