Green monster: Switzer’s 900 hp biofuel drinking GT-R!

Nissan, when releasing the R35 GT-R, stated that it would be both “perfect” and “untunable.” Many see it as the perfect performance tool, but the untunable bit has been disproved by a number of tuning firms, one of them being Ohio-based Switzer Performance which produced 800 hp from the standard GT-R.

However, in tunerworld, no one is ever satisfied with their accomplishments. So Switzer’s P800 GT-R went to the gym for some bulking up, with 900 hp as result! But there is a twist this time, and it comes in the form of its fuel source: ethanol E85.

Yes, this 900 hp monster feeds on biofuel, which produces much less greenhouse gas than gasoline. “With most high-horsepower cars, you can barely breathe after just a few dyno runs. With the E85, we were able to run pull after pull to dial in the tune without feeling any effects of the usual emissions. It’s hardly scientific, but there was a noticeable improvement in the air quality in the shop compared to race gas,” Tym Switzer said.

Switzer modified the fuel system to handle E85 and significantly increased the size of the injectors. 900 hp was deemed too much for the standard gearbox, so a specially developed transmission was crafted by Dodson Motorsports of New Zealand with “more clutch area.”

No price and performance figures were given, except for acceleration from 96 km/h to 209 km/h, which is ridiculously fast at under 6 seconds!

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• Holly F on Jun 24, 2010 at 4:02 pm

Wish I’ll be able to own one in the future.

• (+.+)

• littlefire on Jun 24, 2010 at 4:14 pm

This GT-R is also a monster green machine… Hmm not bad on bio-fuel for 900hp..

We got so much palm oil, but why until now we haven have bio-fuel officially? Should be a leader in Asia for oil palm base bio-fuel or bio-diesel..

• our palm oil sold to other country lor.. more expensive.. government can earn a lot of income.. bla.. bla.. bla…. (pathetic…)
      (=.=)

• Palm oil can only make bio-diesel lerr…

you’ll need some super large corn/paddy/sugarcane fields to make bio-ethanol. (similar to petrol)

you want food or fuel?

• BMALOI on Jun 24, 2010 at 4:30 pm

“GREEN” MONSTER… GOZILLA!!!

• Seriously on Jun 24, 2010 at 4:42 pm

OMG

• Built this kinda monsters for those 25 hours gold-spoon-fed lads… who has nothing else left to do in this world…

• likehondanotsomuch on Jun 24, 2010 at 5:19 pm

aaaa,,,,battery only version when,,,we wait no

• nothing is impossible………

• FLIZZARDO on Jun 24, 2010 at 7:22 pm

too bad i crashed mine last year, the black one from singapore.

• The rims look like the car is photo shopped!

• I cant stop drooling rite now ….

• Apernie on Jun 25, 2010 at 2:32 am

Switzer P800 is quite a monster fighting against the likes of Koenigsegg CCR and 9FF BF2 Porche. Check em out drag racin on YouTube…

• gavin on Jun 25, 2010 at 4:03 am

simple fact that ethanol has a super high octane number allowing for much more aggressive tuning

• T H C on Jun 25, 2010 at 8:21 am

acceleration from 96 km/h to 209 km/h = under 6 seconds

WOW !

• corolla_KE70 on Jun 25, 2010 at 10:04 am

this is a godzilla that hugs trees !!

• Peter on Jun 25, 2010 at 10:32 am

Wow?

• ezmil75 on Jun 25, 2010 at 11:12 am

want biofuel? malaysia should do research in producing biofuel from tapioca (ubi kayu). It is easy to plant, plentiful and cheap. heck, the brazillian had biofuel since the 80’s by extracting ethanol from sugarcane.

• wow great wish malaysian car maker make also green can n gov try to make a new oil base company focus on ethanol n bio feul v rommmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm yeah im eating bio feul not dirt feul that expensive wahaha …. nice car any way….

• hadi1975 on Jun 25, 2010 at 3:26 pm

green cars are very expensive here in malaysia….only the rich can afford one….
    sometimes i think our government is contradicting itself….on one side they want us to use energy efficiently….to be green..etc….but all those green…efficient tech are only available to those who can afford which is to say just a few percentage of the population….

• mata katak on Jun 25, 2010 at 5:26 pm

I know!! I know!!!

Proton can counter the GTR with their own version of powerful engine that uses minyak from KFC fring……or used oil from frying pisang goreng by makcik…..

Go proton, gooooooooo proton!!

• paultan fan on Jun 29, 2010 at 8:54 am

wahh….. cool :-)