Ford Escape gets another minor facelift and new 4X2 model

It’s been just over a year since the Ford Escape got its last refresh in June 2009 which saw the SUV getting a trademark Ford three-bar chrome grille.

With this latest refresh (latest in a list of many!), Ford has replaced the chrome grille with a black mesh grille together with a new front bumper design.

There are now two variants of the Ford Escape. The 4X4 model continues to be priced at RM139,888 OTR with insurance but there is now a new Ford Escape 2.3L 2WD XLS model priced at just RM118,888 OTR with insurance – that’s an SUV with a price that’s cheaper than a Ford Focus TDCi.

Other than the 4X4 system being omitted in the XLS model, it also comes with only two front airbags instead of four airbags in the 4X4 Escape XLT. It is also missing the cruise control found in the 4X4. The sound system in the 4X2 is also less specced – only 4 speakers versus 6 speakers and a single CD slot instead of a 6-CD changer. Seats are fabric in the 4X2 compared to leather in the 4X4.

Both models use a 2.3 litre inline-4 engine making 157 PS at 6,000rpm and 200Nm of torque at 4,000rpm – this is up from the 146 PS and 196Nm found in the 2009 model. But it’s still rather weak numbers for a 2.3 litre engine, must be a very non-aggressive tune.

Both models are CBU from the Philippines and come with a 3 year warranty as well as a 3 year free maintenance package. Look after the jump for an embedded PDF brochure.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• looks tempting.

hmm.. fiesta? escape? fiesta? escape? life’s tough man..

• pororo on Aug 06, 2010 at 5:35 pm

is it a 5 speeder?

• pororo on Aug 06, 2010 at 5:37 pm

nope… it’s a 4 speeder…. why don’t they offer 5 speed like the everest or rangers?

• very very cheap

• new Ford Escape 2.3L 2WD XLS model priced at just RM118,888 OTR with insurance – that’s an SUV with a price that’s cheaper than a Ford Focus TDCi.
    Both models use a 2.3 liter inline-4 engine making 157 PS at 6,000rpm and 200Nm of torque at 4,000rpm

———————————————————————————————————————-

Great …but how bout putting the Focus 2.0TDCI engine ….the 2.3 is weak for a SUV ..just 200NM at high 4k rpm vs 320-340nm at 2k rpm

• jolly_idiot on Aug 06, 2010 at 7:05 pm

Is Ford still owning Mazda? I saw somehow the new Ford Fiesta looks abit like the Mazda 2 body design cue.

• cordoba1 on Aug 06, 2010 at 7:13 pm

Unfortunately this is still the OLD model-USA is selling the all new Ford Escape 2010. I had rented one in Chicago last June and I might say I was impressed with the built and it was heavier than the typical Japanese SUV like X Trail which I had also rented before.

• C. Lamb on Aug 06, 2010 at 11:03 pm

At that price, it is very tempting and don’t ask for the world when it comes to standard equipment lah. Already so much lower in price than the competition! Have to be realistic.

• Anti Proton on Aug 06, 2010 at 11:46 pm

ew ugly

• Jimmy on Aug 07, 2010 at 12:28 am

TAN CHONG Motor, are you blind????????? Your 2-wheel drive X-Trail price RM148k is sky high compared to this Ford Escape which is more cantiq. However, if this Escape is just 4×2, we might as well buy a Toyota Innova 4×2 with 8 comfortable seats, better than a lot of 7-seater mpv, with the highest resell value. Innova is nearly rm10 000 cheaper than this Escape 4×2 (fake SUV).

• Do agree with your comments on the X-Trail which is quite overpriced compared with the Escape. But to compare an Innova with the Escape, both are at different specs. Innova with rear lateral rod (semi indepent suspension) and rear drum brakes cannot be compared with Escape’s rear multi-link and disc brake. It is very much cheaper to produce a solid axel/torsion beam rear setup and that is why a lot of manufacturers are using this setup nowadays.

When we compare the Proton Exora and Innova, then Innova is even pricier. But then the Innova has a bigger engine (2.0L) whereas the Exora (1.6L) is under-powered although both are 7 seaters and having almost similar specs except the engine. Same logic.

• Gajen on Aug 07, 2010 at 1:48 am

same old car again and again

• skatax on Aug 07, 2010 at 8:11 am

it’s sad to know that Ford Malaysia could only offer us an obsolete model for their entry level SUV. With all those specs, it clearly shows that Sime is trying too hard to keep up with other car makers in this country. Never mind the RM118,888 cheapo price, if it’s an old model, you know its not worth it. Which also reminds me of Naza 208 Bestari.

I bet this model is going to survive until the next Ford Fiesta replacement!

• off tangent on Aug 07, 2010 at 11:17 am

there will still be people looking for value buys… not looking for the latest, most technologically around but with sufficient size and decent reliability with a brand name that it not one of the common ones around. there will still be those buyers.

just like how the sentra is still selling. there is a business case to justify it. people here may criticize tan chong for selling such an old product but if it sells, so what right? perhaps the buyers are not so advanced in their taste of cars but then, they also make up a large portion of the buying public.

• dukenborg on Aug 07, 2010 at 1:02 pm

I dont understand – what has Bestari 208 got to do with the Fiesta? Both are different brands.

• Yoong Tofu on Aug 07, 2010 at 9:22 am

like what tcm did to xtrail, slime babee is flogging a dead horse.

• Dead horse or not, if the price and specifications are right, they will still survive.

• Keroro on Aug 07, 2010 at 6:38 pm

Just saw the car. For the price, it is real good value. The spec sheet isn’t too shabby either. I’m not one who will bicker over small spec differences but at this price, what else is there? I don’t need a 7 seater just something that is not from a Japanese brand. This suits me fine.

• lowprofile on Aug 07, 2010 at 11:19 am

Paul,

Interior and rear section still the same? Any pictures?

• lowprofile on Aug 07, 2010 at 11:52 am

Ok saw the rear and interior in the brochure (couldn’t open the brochure from my tiny phone!). Interior is not bad to me… just not the latest available but for many, it should be good enough for the model to soldier on.

• budleee on Aug 07, 2010 at 3:20 pm

so is honda following ford and nissan and toyota and suzuki and hyundai by offering a two wheel drive CRV

Ford Escape 2wd
    Nissan Xtrail 2wd
    Toyota Rush 2wd
    Suzuki Vitra 2wd
    Hyundai Tuscon 2wd..

Honda CRV 2wd perhaps?

**can we add Peugeot 3008 2wd into the mix?

• CY Yip on Aug 07, 2010 at 4:11 pm

Ppl at this web site only kno how to tok n critic but no money to buy car. pls go n wash your kancils or do someting productif…

• E bEar on Aug 07, 2010 at 8:31 pm

This model hopes to win based on the price factor….could pull it off if they worked on the aesthetics to giv it more class or sporty….a mode outstanding character.

The engine is not with the times, might as well get the Ranger instead.

• ah yat on Aug 07, 2010 at 9:16 pm

Hello Sime Darby,

Ford is a good brand and they have some good cars, Ford is not doing well here because of poor marketing strategy and choice of car available. Why bring in low spec low price and compete with the japs and koreans, always stuck in between the low end and the high end. SD has done no brand building and wrongly postion itself. If you want to be pity then you are deem to be treated that way. Ford follower is getting fewer by the day. SD has not enough 3s around, not able to cater volume market, so please go high end. Bring it the explorer, tourus, fusion and even the F150, Ford will shine again, don’t let people look down on you…

• Agree… Ford doing well worldwide… if not mistaken Top 5, but not in Malaysia…. Why?… the distributer (Sime Darby) not doing well here. Marketing strategy very bad.

• I’m not the one usually criticizing how a car looks, but with those tail lights, this Escape wins the “Ugliest SUV-rear” Award.

• SquarePetrolHead on Aug 07, 2010 at 10:29 pm

Seeing that this car comes from the Philipines do you think that the lazy engine numbers come from the state of tune normal to that country cos they have to deal with poorer quality fuel? Maybe a dealer re-tune could up the numbers to more desireble numbers…. just thought cos I know that engines for cars in Indonesia a little different there as they have to acceptequivalent RON88-type fuel there which translate to lower power / torque figures. Am I right, admin?

• mata katak on Aug 08, 2010 at 10:38 am

U-G-L-Y

and

O-L-D

• kelvin on Aug 08, 2010 at 2:01 pm

Seem’s like they are having financial issues… why keep using same old car??? Reminds me of the proton saga and iswara

• Keroro on Aug 08, 2010 at 6:11 pm

The 3 year free service plan is attractive. With the lower price of the 2WD, should be a good deal. Check the car out if you have not. The quality is quite good too.

• It feels like somebody sent me 10 years back……to year 2000!!!
    hehe…

you can dress up an old dog with new dress but thats all you get…
    Other newer dogs already way ahead with new tricks…
    puke!

• Espresso! Quick! on Aug 09, 2010 at 9:09 am

Yup. Newer dogs with much higher price tags! :) Sime Darby don’t need to worry lah. In less urban locations, there will be a better pick-up of this model where 4WD is not a big deal and cost savings is more important.

Actually, the specs and quality is not bad. Have a look at it lah. Then judge whether or not it is worth the RM118k asking price for the 2WD.

• Rovert on Aug 09, 2010 at 11:51 am

This is a great value for money buy if power is not your priority.

• To be fair to SDAC, Ford is selling the same look (and spec.) of Escape in Aus, Japan and Taiwan.

Just that up until now, I have yet to see one unit on the road.