New Mercedes-Benz CLS official brochure leaked!

Up till now, all we’ve seen of the upcoming Mercedes Benz CLS were renderings and maybe spy shots. All that has changed as the official form of the CLS has been revealed to the world via leaked brochures.

As you can see, the exterior still features the coupe-like design with styling cues from the Shooting Break Concept, which was first previewed in April. The interior will use a four-seat format (full length centre console acts like a spine in the cabin) and the dash layout looks to be quite similar to the Shooting Break’s too, down to the identical steering wheel.

Details are yet to be revealed, but the CLS should be sitting on W212 E-Class mechanics. Engines that have been speculated for use include a 301 bhp 3.5-litre direct-injected V6 (CLS 350 CGI) and a new twin-turbo 429 bhp 4.6-litre V8 (CLS 550 CGI). 350 CDI and 250 CDI models are expected as well, just not for our market. The AMG version will surely have the 5.5-litre twin-turbo V8 that Merc has been putting in the latest AMG cars, with a Performance Pack to further boost output.

More details as they come our way. Till then, have a closer look at the gallery after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1417]

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• Jaybond on Aug 18, 2010 at 10:56 am

Front end looks a bit busy. Would be more elegant with Merc CL front fascia..

• hinder on Aug 18, 2010 at 8:04 pm

dude, it a CLS how simple you want it be, to me benz really turn out something astonishing, jaw drop down if i see in real life. muscles car rolzzz

• a balanced design…..i wud say

• the rear is nice…. guess jaguar will need to prove something to win some sales with their new XJ……. i wonder if the CLS will have a 250CGI…..

• JonLing on Aug 18, 2010 at 12:42 pm

i dun think XJ is the same class with CLS though. And even if they are, I would say that XJ is way more gorgeous and elegant than the new CLS.

• Luqman Rohaizat on Aug 18, 2010 at 11:28 am

Hmmm…first impressions; where the 1st gen cls looks perfectly like an elegant cruiser, new cls looks a bit toyish…too much bold lines on an originally curvy design…

• Jaybond on Aug 18, 2010 at 11:47 am

Ya, I agree. The front end looks a bit brutish for a car that suppose to evoke sensous style.

• Alpha on Aug 18, 2010 at 1:13 pm

yeah,i second(or third) that motion!!The previous CLS looks different in a good way than any other mercs.this one look rather common and dull.

• Aaron Isaac on Aug 18, 2010 at 11:40 am

Ugly. Looks desperate la….

• nonon on Aug 18, 2010 at 12:23 pm

i’m sure your perodua kancil looks better than this hahahahahaha

• Facebook_User on Aug 18, 2010 at 1:49 pm

Desperate?Wira 10 thn bubuh GT Wings n ekzos bising,tampal RECARO la apa la tp uwang pun takda mau pakai RECARO,tp mau perasan they own Malaysia – ITU DESPERATE BRADER – BUT NEVER THIS – elok kau p cuci mata

• naiduz on Aug 18, 2010 at 7:43 pm

how can a design be desperate? mind explainin

• LoveIt on Aug 18, 2010 at 11:44 am

the rear look nicer that the first gen..can’t say the same with front though…need to see the clear view of the interior before commenting on it..

• Mur7hy on Aug 18, 2010 at 11:54 am

such beauty…

• dickybird on Aug 18, 2010 at 12:04 pm

the lights all look like ultramen eyes! lol! HEAAAK!!

• kamal on Aug 18, 2010 at 12:16 pm

the ‘fluidic sculpture’ curve design reminds me of sonata.

• meteoraniac on Aug 18, 2010 at 12:34 pm

this car reminds me a lot of the latest sonata :s

• zambery kader on Aug 18, 2010 at 12:37 pm

previous CLS butt lagi ngancam, solid…depan leh tahan la nyum..nyum..

• Too many dumb and dumbers on Aug 18, 2010 at 12:42 pm

Nothing can beat the old CLS……

• rageaccel2 on Aug 18, 2010 at 12:47 pm

nice nice…

• gangully on Aug 18, 2010 at 1:16 pm

looks like it was designed based on the “shitting bricks” concept… merc sudah takut with all the 4-door coupes coming out and quickly rehashed the design of the current cls…

i would not call the current cls “old” as yet…

althought i do prefer the front lights of this “new” cls…

• Seriously on Aug 18, 2010 at 1:59 pm

Your attempt to throw sarcasm at the words “shooting break” is pretty pathetic… but anyway; What is this about Merc sudah takut with all the 4-door coupes coming out? Dude, it’s been 6 long years since the launch of the 1st gen CLS and it’s only naturally obvious the 2nd gen would have to come out very soon. Uhh… does a car product life cycle ring a bell?

• gangully on Aug 18, 2010 at 4:58 pm

oh yes DUDE, product life cycle does ring a bell. You are so right, 6 years old, should be a 2nd gen coming out… not a facelift… which is almost what this is…

by the way… “product life cycle” is not always 6/7 years… you have some cars which go for longer… usually those which are in the niche markets… which if you don’t understand what “niche” is… the 4 door coupes are…

• Seriously on Aug 19, 2010 at 11:57 am

The facelift of the 1st gen was already out mid-cycle adding a new style front and rear bumpers, front grille and LED brake light. So unless that isn’t a facelift, that would make that version a mid-facelift before the actually facelift huh? Sounds alot like P1/P2

Then again, I could be wrong, but then the current CLS is under the iteration W / C219 where else your “seems to be facelift CLS” is under the iteration C218 (correct me if I’m wrong).

And why would Merc spend so much on teasers at the Detroit Auto show, coming up with a new concept (shooting break) at the Auto China, new brochures… all for a mere facelift? Pretty redundant.

You’d be surprise that the CLS isnt so niche as many would have thought, it does comparatively well, similar to the S-class. Which, I wouldn’t call so niche. Of course, dont compare it to Malaysian standards.

And i agree, CLS has a rather shorter lifecycle, but I believe it’s mainly to sparks interest for the brand, 8+years and above, people would simply have lost interest. And since, Merc was the pioneer of the 4 door coupe, it’s only viable that they lead the race.

• Mention about CLS….First thing in mind: The body work was stunning!

• murcie on Aug 18, 2010 at 1:46 pm

This car looks like absolute shit.

I think my vios looks wayyy better, with GT aero wing and bodykit
    Chicks love it too

• still expensive to buy…

• Seriously on Aug 18, 2010 at 2:05 pm

Saw the english version of the brochure 2-3 weeks ago :D One of thier taglines were: “How are you supposed to find words when you’re breathless?” Haha

And those LED intergrated headlights do make me breathless :)

• taufic on Aug 18, 2010 at 3:16 pm

way better than passat cc!

• JonLing on Aug 18, 2010 at 3:39 pm

Judging by the look alone, and not the real car, the only thing that I like about is the rear design of the car. Other than that, I think the lines are just too busy for my liking. it reminds me of Passat CC for some parts, in a bad way. the lines are just too busy. MB should go for a more clean cut design, just like the current generation of CLS and even the new generation of E-Class (not the square-ish part, but the clean cut part). Maybe it’s time they get some lessons from the designer of Hyundai Sonata YF, on how to make so many lines flow seamlessly and harmoniously on the body, without making them look very messy and busy.

• celica zzt231 on Aug 18, 2010 at 5:26 pm

i agree with jonling’s and Luqman Rohaizat’s comments as well.

i would prefer the previous gen’s CLS with this new model’s rear lights.

this new model just looks ‘busy’ and bold. the old CLS was classy and sex on wheels, this new one just shouts LOOK AT ME like a teenage wannabe.

• niuhje on Aug 18, 2010 at 5:36 pm

das auto rulez….

• hanifhamzah on Aug 18, 2010 at 5:43 pm

the design is a bit messy

• BeemerFreak on Aug 18, 2010 at 8:30 pm

Looks more like a face lift, but nevertheless still breathtaking.

• pomen on Aug 18, 2010 at 9:14 pm

cant wait to drive and ‘belasah’ this car kaw2….hahahaha =)

• mitlanevo on Aug 18, 2010 at 10:13 pm

OMG!!! this is soooo WRONG……

the current CLS is so god-like beautiful and gorgeous, but this new one is like WTF???

• Machi on Aug 18, 2010 at 11:41 pm

for some reasons..i think this car is over-emphasis on the muscular line…perhaps the real car could look better than those in picture…

• Yoong Tofu on Aug 19, 2010 at 1:45 am

At least the steering design is way much better than the current playstation-like steering wheel with silly buttons.

• RYLLLLLL on Aug 19, 2010 at 8:22 am

Mercedes is always look good in real life and makes people slowly accept the “boss” look=P

• nebula87 on Aug 20, 2010 at 1:33 am

only thing i know is….i cant afford to buy it…