2012 Nissan GT-R updated – pictures and details leaked

Nissan has released an updated version of the GT-R for 2012 and we’ve got leaked pictures and details of the upcoming model. Revisions on the 2012 model include a new front bumper with LED daytime running lights, a new rear diffuser with a rear diffuser light.

This is said to have increased aerodynamics efficiency, with a drag coefficient of just 0.288. Downforce has also increased by 10 percent. The car can be had in two new body colours, which is either black or blue.

The GT-R will sit on Rays forged aluminum wheels which are said to be 12 kilograms lighter than before, available in either Hyper Blue Black or Hyper Titanium.

According to the source, revisions have also been made on the interior, chassis and engine, but didn’t go into much detail. We will thus keep you updated if anything pops up.

Look after the jump for more pictures and a graph denoting the 2012 Nissan GT-R Cd against other cars – some very interesting details there.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1444]

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• Hassel on Aug 29, 2010 at 6:36 pm

My dream supercar……

• MK-47 on Aug 29, 2010 at 6:52 pm

Nice!!

• GTR mc… =D

• Thomanic on Aug 29, 2010 at 7:08 pm

Godzilla~!!

• i want one !!!! i want one !!!!!! i want one !!!!!!!!! ……….. T.T

• Autocrat on Aug 30, 2010 at 9:12 am

Can…600k++ or else buy the hotwheel, maisto or bburago version.

• The Ultimate Weapon!

• qozh moreno on Aug 29, 2010 at 7:21 pm

drool…… habba habba….

• Perfect!

• i dont really understand something.
    most of the car manufacture are heading to getting zero-lifiting, like the carrera GT3, F430 etc .

whilst the nissan sort of like heading towards negative lifting which is into downforce ?
    are there any reason why the rest of the market are heading to zero lifting?

• Mozilla Chrome on Aug 29, 2010 at 7:58 pm

When u drive at high speed..then u will know why u need the ‘downforce’..

• armandd on Aug 29, 2010 at 8:08 pm

are u sure about the zero-lifting thing? as far as i know, downforce is always appreciated as it helps maintain stability at high speed and enables the tyres to provide more grip during high speed cornering.

• “Zero lift” doesn’t mean that no downforce is generated…

“zero lift” aerodynamics: The car creates only aerodynamic downforce but no “lift”, which pulls upwards and away from the road surface and affects overall grip.

“No lift” -> “lesser downforce necessary” -> “lesser motorpower necessary” -> “higher speed & better fuel economy”

The up- & downforce is not generated “for free”, you need engine power for that… ;)

• the thing i am not so clear is that, why the other manufactures are going towards the zero-lifiting region. i might be wrong, but there should be reason for it right ?

• I think there’s a misunderstanding with the term ‘zero lift’…

Again:

Sum of downforce=downforce generated by the spoiler MINUS upforce (lift) generated by the car body.

When there’s no upforce (‘zero lift’), then the downforce with the same spoiler is bigger, or the back spoiler can be smaller for the same sum of downforce, okay?

Smaller back spoiler -> faster car (F1 cars have smaller back spoilers on fast tracks)

That’s why other manufacturers go ‘zero lift’ (zero ‘lift’, not zero ‘downforce”) ;)

• I wonder how many pony this new zila has?

• TAR35 on Aug 29, 2010 at 8:17 pm

Aiyoyo.. Need to trade in my 2008 R35 lar like this.. Very beautiful and good upgrade package.

• Alpha on Aug 29, 2010 at 8:41 pm

i’d sell my wife for one of this!!

• torque on Aug 29, 2010 at 9:20 pm

Hahahaha…to that extend ka?

• RadzLee on Aug 29, 2010 at 9:27 pm

lets just hope ur ‘wife’ is a car. pemerdagangan orang is a hot issue now! lol~

• if your “wife” hear that, tomorrow you’ll going to work with bus..she refuse to start up~

• Korean on Aug 30, 2010 at 12:18 pm

How much? please put up a figure so we can consider.

• torque on Aug 29, 2010 at 9:18 pm

At last, the GTR trademark colour is now available! I’m f**kin love this car. Shit, gonna work hard to own one….then one day…

Hmmm…I think I liked this rims than the previous one, looks good.

• Jaguar fan! on Aug 29, 2010 at 9:31 pm

It’s a bloody beast

• autojohndoe on Aug 29, 2010 at 9:44 pm

why got some ppl call this car as Skyline R35, where in fact, Skyline R35 is the 4-door… Yes, they have similar looks, but they are not same..

Nissan mentioned this car is a new breed which is not a predecessor of the Skyline line up… correct me if i’m wrong…

i got this info from newspaper…

• that is because those people are ill-informed, considering the correct information is widely available in the Internet all these years. It has never been a Skyline R35. It has been a GT-R R35 all along.

Try getting more info from the Internet.

• Tiadaid on Aug 30, 2010 at 12:43 pm

Nope, you’re definitely right. This is not a Skyline, which is why it’s marketed as the Nissan GT-R. People often thought that since the previous R34 was a Skyline that they’d continue with this one. This is a bespoke chassis if I’m not mistaken.

• yes ur right…the R35 was never known as the skyline. but i believe what ur talkin about is the skyline V35…dont think there’s a skyline R35 4 door…

• Haidir on Sep 01, 2010 at 12:12 pm

R34 Chasis and lower have so many model based on Nissan Skyline model for instance; Skyline, Skyline GT, Skyline GTT, the most *** is Skyline GT-R.

for R35 is only GT-R doesn’t has any connection to Nissan Skyline model anymore whatsoever.

like Mit Lancer Evo is based on Mit lancer. maybe Mit will / already come up Mit Evo not based on lancer tho

• This supercar scares the shit out of Porsche 911 Turbos.

• aryll8257 on Aug 30, 2010 at 11:55 am

is it?

I thought that porsche have move way forward than this…

or maybe i’m a bit confused here.. because almost all porsche looks same to me

• shawn on Aug 30, 2010 at 2:35 pm

This car car beat many supercars around the track because it cornering is so fast. Top Gear said it was faster than a Bugatti Veyron around the Nuremberg track . Of course not in a drag race .

• yes, you are confused.

• We’re in 2011, not 2010… :)

Actual Nurburgring lap times:

Porsche 911 GT2 RS: 7:18

Nissan GT-R: 7:26.70

• Oi, read properly.

ask yourself if the Porshe 911 Turbo and Porshe 911 GT2 RS is the same bloody car. Any true car enthusiast knows these are two separate cars lah.

Also, were not in 2011, go check your calendar.

• Haidir on Sep 02, 2010 at 11:18 am

back to the future tho

• Aalloonngg on Sep 06, 2010 at 9:43 pm

I almost getting confused what year am i in now? Hello there, what is the current stardate?

• wooooh sexay!!!!

• will-kill-for-exclusivity on Aug 30, 2010 at 9:52 am

Raw power.

lets hope it gets more “useful” interiors

• mr. wiseGuy on Aug 30, 2010 at 5:44 pm

raw power ?? it got turbo meh..
      HEMI is raw power to let u know

• shawal on Aug 30, 2010 at 10:16 am

Are they bringing back Launch Control for the GT-R..?
    If they do, then it will be great news…

• shawal on Aug 30, 2010 at 10:22 am

http://jalopnik.com/5061221/gt+r-owner-busts-tranny-using-launch-control-nissan-claims-issue-not-covered-under-warranty

• mitlanevo on Aug 30, 2010 at 3:46 pm

ok, looks dated already…

any r36 coming up next?

• jolly_idiot on Aug 30, 2010 at 3:52 pm

Too big. Not eco-friendly at all. Will they come out a hybrid version of this?

• fatcat on Aug 30, 2010 at 5:35 pm

Actually, how much does this car cost here in m’sia ? anyone ?

• Size as in dimensions has nothing to do with eco friendliness, emission does. Anyway owning a fancy sports car does not directly relate to environmental problems, its what u use the car for that matters: drifts/donuts/burnouts 12 hour endurance race are what u call wasting resources, and therefore harming the environment.

• Teoh Wei Yang on Jun 11, 2015 at 3:23 pm

Well, I think this car cost here in m’sia is RM 428,000.

• Mpower on Sep 06, 2010 at 2:44 pm

the asian version of ultimate driving machine ^^