Mitsubishi Pajero launch confirmed, open for booking now

Readers of this blog would already know that the Mitsubishi Pajero is coming back to Malaysia, and Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia (MMM) has confirmed that the launch is set for the end of this month. Order books are open as we type.

As revealed in our test drive report, Malaysia will get the highest spec Pajero available with a 3.8-litre V6 MIVEC engine paired to a five-speed automatic with manual mode. The seven seater will feature a 12-speaker, 5.1 channel Rockford Fosgate sound system and all the off-road hardware you’ll ever need, among other kit.

“We at Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia are excited at the prospect of the Pajero returning to this market. It hasn’t been officially available for a long time, but many Malaysians still recognize and have high regard for the Pajero name, which is truly legendary. Today’s Pajero is a complete package blending robustness and go-anywhere ability with luxury and comfort, and it’s a great addition to Mitsubishi range of cars here in Malaysia,” said Tetsuya Oda, the new CEO of MMM.

Click here to see and read more about the Pajero.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Jimmy on Sep 08, 2010 at 5:07 pm

This top specs MP should be priced below ordinary spec Ninja King because of ‘brand’-washed Malaysian.

• raybrig on Sep 08, 2010 at 5:28 pm

Finally..The Return of Real Pajero to our shores..

• The Loner on Sep 08, 2010 at 5:33 pm

My god, Sabahan won’t be pleased by that. Pajero with petrol engine, road tax is very high compared to diesel engine.

• 3008_bought on Sep 08, 2010 at 5:40 pm

proton rebatch this!!!!!!

• Ibrahim on Sep 08, 2010 at 9:10 pm

Why not? After Mitsu Lancer, perhaps Mitsu Pajero?

• wowowww on Sep 08, 2010 at 11:38 pm

actually P should really rebadge the lancer in Taiwan(BMW look) instead of the sportier look lancer here…
        anyway proton should try to come out something like this sure many will get it…

• Tiadaid on Sep 08, 2010 at 11:30 pm

THey already developing SUV using Exora Platform…

• Kington on Sep 08, 2010 at 6:10 pm

Yeah, good to see this fella back again. It was a pretty trusty and reliable worker, though no where near the Landies but it does the job.

I was shocked when they named that full bodied Triton pick up as the PJ Sport. It’s just wrong, i mean would you expect Toyota to name the Fortuner as the Land Crusier Sport?

• The Loner on Sep 08, 2010 at 7:27 pm

It will not be as Toyota has named Land Cruiser and Land Cruiser Prado for its SUV around the world.

• mr.... on Sep 08, 2010 at 7:12 pm

Good ! price ?

• 4x4 Rocks on Sep 08, 2010 at 7:18 pm

Welcome to Land Below the Wind. Great spec but bad look. too bad. It should be the work horse rather than for $ show like Ninja King Kong. Sabahan = Gia Su.

• Aaron Isaac on Sep 08, 2010 at 8:27 pm

Thank goodness for the independant rear suspension! Saw one already

• skatax on Sep 08, 2010 at 9:04 pm

MMM is playing it safe after witnessing Bermaz made a decent success on their CX-7s and CX-9s.

T knows that they can’t make good net profit on selling sub-350k SUVs. heck if not, we’ve would seen a lot of officially distributed Land Cruiser Prados here. even RAV4 is having a hard time getting noticed on our roads. same goes for murano.

but MMM better start introducing more cars soon to top-up their annual sales volume; because once the new P1 Waja opens for booking, Lancer sales would be dead. very dead. (MMC shares with P1 on the Waja rebadged-Lancer has nothing to do with MMM here in malaysia).

good luck dear.

• Jimmy on Sep 08, 2010 at 10:22 pm

I always have an impression that the most prestigeous Japanese large SUV is CX-9, because you really need to have a lot lot of money to spend on this low-resale-value more-expensive-to-maintained SUV, unlike Land Cruiser (which is for people who want to play safe). We are not comparing with X6 ya, which is non-Jap. MP is nowhere, more tahan lasak kah?

• toyoda on Sep 08, 2010 at 10:51 pm

nowadays T only go for numbers, those selling number less than thousands they seldom pay attention, so they dont offer wish, alphard, rav4 matrix etc here. they make vios, and cheaper vios to become number 1 in local market. so lame

they are going after number game.

they bring quality down, to a cost.

• Electric Cars on Sep 08, 2010 at 9:10 pm

Nice to see Mitsubishi comes with a bang it really looks awesome the features looks good. If you would provide interior of this that would be fantastic anyway thanks for lovely share

• jackson on Sep 08, 2010 at 9:31 pm

what of the ASX? any news of it coming into Malaysia? hopefully the price would be less than rm100k.

• shawal on Sep 08, 2010 at 9:57 pm

I remember the days when Jackie Chan was endorsed by all things Mitsubishi and Rally Art , alot of his movies featured Mitsu cars…

This pajero looks old school , will appeal to all pajero fans , unmistakably a pajero

• wowowww on Sep 08, 2010 at 10:48 pm

any final price for this monster?

• peanuts on Sep 09, 2010 at 5:50 am

I read a report on motor trader. The price is going to be around 300k, either plus or minus.

• Deuter_backpack on Sep 08, 2010 at 11:34 pm

Mitsubishi has tricked their Lancer owner, i doubt they can gain anymore loyal customers. lol

• I don’t think this Pajero is of the highest specs because from the pictures shown, it does not have any navigation and DVD screen. Whereas if you go to Japan Mitsubishi official website site, the top specs is “Super Exceed” and it has all these features??? Their “Exceed” only specs, gets exactly the same centre dash as shown by pictures captured of the Pajero arrived in Malaysia.

• Jimmy on Sep 09, 2010 at 8:46 am

Good job TBH. See, one party is trying to cheat people through advertisement. We only can trust 10% of advertisement content in Malaysia, nobody is properly controlling it, just like what happens in HongKong China advertisements. I also can simply claim that my watch can get rid of every single irradiation including gamma ray.

• fatcat on Sep 09, 2010 at 8:12 am

which one should I get, LR Discovery 4 or this Pajero ?
    anyone ?

• It all depends on your budget. If you can afford 450k which is the latest price for the LR4 (3.0L TDi), LR4 would be a better choice in terms of off-road capability and top-notch luxury. Heard that the Pajero will set you back for only 300k.

For me, engine tech in the Pajero is already old age. Mitsubishi can only squeeze 250hp from a 3.8L Petrol whereas Euro technology with 3.6L is already at 300hp (Cayenne). Remember, this Pajero is already 4 years old and I am sure it will be due for facelift soon. Nothing exciting except if you intend to buy recondition Prado then the Pajero would be a better choice. I am sure the 2010 Prado will be brought in by grey importer soon but then again this 2.7L can only deliver 170hp and it still goes back to what exactly you are looking for.

• E Bear on Sep 09, 2010 at 3:08 pm

….Lexus……..yeah, if don’t plan to do heavy off-roading.

The new Sorento looks nice too with VGT turbo diesel.

Subaru Forrester, VW Tiguan….interesting choices.

Pajero is fine if you actually plan to take it for heavy 4WD duties.

• rossi46 on Sep 09, 2010 at 9:48 am

Be eco-green wt the Disco 4 … the diesel engine is more gruntier, economical and less CO2 ; )

• Lolx i thought it’s Proton suv :)

• pajero_owner on Sep 09, 2010 at 11:06 am

I am First !!

lolz….

I am FIRST !!

• E Bear on Sep 09, 2010 at 3:02 pm

Hmmm, u booked the first new Pajero?…..kool.

• Did they give you a price, I just contacted Mitsubishi about it and they said it would be between RM 200K and 300K. Big price range they are realy keeping their options open. Have to wait till 24 Sep for the price

• sick&tired on Sep 09, 2010 at 11:33 am

who knows, in a few more years proton will rebadge it and sell it for 1/2 the price. after the whole waja lancer fiasco, i will never trust mitsubishi.

• E Bear on Sep 09, 2010 at 11:34 am

…….no turbo diesel……what happened?

• Yoong Tofu on Sep 09, 2010 at 9:14 pm

Pajero pun mungkin kena Potong jadi Bagero.

Buyers beware.

• Yes Man on Sep 09, 2010 at 10:11 pm

I think after the wajalancer case, ppl should give mitsubishi a lesson, mitsubishi. does not understand LOYALTY!

• old fashion..its like Prado TZ.. but still look tough n powerfull.. still ok lah..

• Yikes! Using old 6G75 engine from a Mitsubishi 380. It will be a fuel guzzler.