Hyundai i10 given a minor facelift for Paris 2010

The Hyundai i10 has been given a little facelift – it now features the new hexa-trapezoidal grille that it has been putting on all its new cars in certain markets, as an alternate to the ‘angry crab grille’.

We only have the front three quarter view at the moment. The new grille also comes with new foglamps and new headlamps. The new front end has a lot more detail compared to the pre-facelift but one wonders if it will make the front end too fussy compared to the rest of the car. We’ll post the interior and rear photos as soon as they are released.

UPDATE: We now have interior and rear photos after the jump. They’ve not professionally shot though, looking more like camera phone photos snapped of a car in storage. The rear end looks like it has new tail lamps and a reworked rear bumper.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• skatax on Sep 14, 2010 at 1:53 pm

how i wish if they facelifted proton sawi to be as good-looking as this…

• thank gudness its not proton minor facelift its hyundai >50yrs old car maker……sure bash kaw-kaw if proton minor facelift ….

• hyundai so advance…coz put new bumper, new foglamp, new tail lamp n sent to paris show…..proton not so advance…coz change new bumper, new tail lamp, new..etc…….?????

malaysian r so bias……sori skatax not kutuk u but wan my comment at top…sorry peace

• Proton Sawi is too old and outdated already.

• SayTakNakBN on Sep 14, 2010 at 1:56 pm

i was thinking to buy 1.

this facelift, will put me on hold.

this 1 look much better than the current model

• savvy bonnet

• mamat on Sep 14, 2010 at 2:02 pm

Hyundai also tried the “penutup jampan” design (last seen on the fugly runner up holder; Savvy)
    Somehow, the Korean jampan look better LOL….

• LoveIt on Sep 14, 2010 at 2:30 pm

any pics on the rear? is it facelifted too?

• wolfsburg on Sep 14, 2010 at 2:39 pm

The tail light of the car has been given a redesign. Other place remain the same.

• nazri on Sep 14, 2010 at 2:55 pm

trend savvy bonnet spotted

• Roxas on Sep 14, 2010 at 3:03 pm

this bonnet is same as the current version…~
    will be able to convert mine easily after its launch here~

• Aris Tee on Sep 14, 2010 at 3:10 pm

Paul, actually there are rear and interior photos already…

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_D52XcATHzos/TIuCopOvzMI/AAAAAAAAH9k/pf9NThWHcAw/s800/i10-3.jpg

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_D52XcATHzos/TIuCoSoryRI/AAAAAAAAH9c/T48QPLoQolY/s800/i10-4.jpg

• Simon Har on Sep 14, 2010 at 3:21 pm

ooh… it’s not cute now :(

• Paul Tan on Sep 14, 2010 at 3:41 pm

yeah it’s kinda lost its cuteness because of the techno-ish design eh?

• bystander on Sep 15, 2010 at 12:11 am

SD still offer the 1.1 engine now, high spec during raya promotion with 3k discount is selling at RM45k only, tt’s almost 7k diff fr its old price tt 1.2kappa high spec is now selling at, isn’t tt suck or wat? i hope they offer this facelifted along with prefacelifted at discounted price, then i’ll buy the prefacelifted one!

btw, the head lamp got the same design as elantra, does it has tt LED angry eyeliner as well? if u no wat i mean….

• Simon Har on Sep 15, 2010 at 9:37 am

ya… they are trying to make it looks like Sonata and Elantra but unfortunately, the new design language doesn’t not make the i10 look as nice as they are hoping for.

• campro on Sep 14, 2010 at 3:25 pm

hyundai now almost all range of model share same Family face like Mazda, bmw…this trend vr popular in this century…anyway hyundai design luckily nice looking….for i10 current face look cute…

• shawal on Sep 14, 2010 at 3:59 pm

a big face on a small car, sometimes the transition is not well executed…
    nampak cam kereta potong pun ade….

• JonLing on Sep 14, 2010 at 4:38 pm

prefer the cleaner look of the current i10. the original look is cuter as well. they should have left the fluidic sculpture thingy to the next generation i10, instead of the facelift model.

• bystander on Sep 15, 2010 at 12:01 am

wow, there u r reading my mind again! how nice it is if the ix20 is the new i10 design….

• nebula87 on Sep 14, 2010 at 6:38 pm

LOL…mini Tucson??

• acerman on Sep 14, 2010 at 8:40 pm

Squint headlamps.

• ihmatrix on Sep 14, 2010 at 9:45 pm

Front looks very2 nice compared to other super minis.. INTERIOR sooo dull boring looking. Rear is OK.
    I would wait for this new facelift. HYundai ROCKS!

• arroncyl on Sep 14, 2010 at 11:04 pm

Like No Radio Unit :)

• MouMouMou on Sep 14, 2010 at 11:43 pm

don’t like the bonnet design, really look like penutup jamban lo

• chico on Sep 15, 2010 at 1:25 am

That’s good…u can use the bonnet in case one day your ‘penutup jamban’ rosak looo. And i bet it’s one fine ‘penutup jamban’ you got there.

• the new facelift doesn’t really impress me, it look just like a mini version of Hyundai Avante 2011

• jackson on Sep 15, 2010 at 1:45 am

i just dont understand ppl with the ‘penutup jamban’ comments. Its clamshell design, u idiots. Land Rover has it, other manufacturers also have it. Emulating LR by having these clamshell designs. Idiots.

• will-kill-for-exclusivity on Sep 15, 2010 at 2:55 am

just smoothen up those surfaces

or may be not

from a FIAT fan i am surely becoming a hyundai fan now

spy pics of the new elantra, the i3x soft roader, then the new sonata

and then the spy pics of the verna and ultimately the car concept shown in russia

my goodness

hyundai u are making me fall in love with the styling

and after reading reviews about the sonata

it seems you have upped the ante in quality, which were not bad in the first place

besides I am never interested in billion dollar exotics.

its the mass production cars that attract me the most.

cuz this where all the engineering comes to play.

it is easy to make a science project with a zillion dollars for a few pieces

but something for mass production requires genius

kudos hyundai

• Aris Tee on Sep 15, 2010 at 6:21 am

Yeah man, I really dun get all these ‘Jamban’ comments… one of the most famous examples of clamshell bonnet is the new MINI. noone says dat bout them…

• Hyundai Lover on Sep 15, 2010 at 10:09 am

When will the facelift come to malaysia? Initially i am planning to change my myvi to i10 but i think i will wait for the i10.
    Test drive the 1.25 Kappa at show room. it really feels like european supermini cause i go to the showroom with my Myvi and you can feel the DIFFERENCE!

Thanks HYundai.:)

• missdizzy80 on Apr 12, 2011 at 11:59 am

June 2011. They’re already receiving bookings (going to do mine this week!). Ask your nearest Hyundai/Inokom dealership.

• If this facelifted version comes with the VTVT as the one tested at Mumbai roads last month, it’ll be a killer compact car. Sadly if the dash and interior for the one sold here comes in this colour, it’ll not work well as the complaints I read in Indian automotive blogs [ English ones liao ], is the glare from these same – coloured dash.

By the way, what I read oso was : 3 pot turbo for the smaller 1 litre, and the current 1.2 lt Kappa engines comes with VTVT [ some sort of valve timing technology ].

• Nice!

• Hp Tan on Apr 28, 2011 at 10:52 pm

When this facelifted model will arrive our shore?? ><
    Someone please tell me…i need your help… x(

• fendy on May 30, 2011 at 5:14 pm

i saw an ad at mudah today… title New Hyundai i10 FL -11… might be the one

• Yes, heard from the sales person last Sunday, there will be a facelift with cvvt engine is coming this July if no mistaken.
        There will be some changes on the meter and interior color too. New exterior design is cool, especially the front.