Nissan to introduce diesel variant March in India

nissan micra

It looks like India will be getting something that we won’t be seeing anytime soon. Nissan is set to introduce the diesel version of its March hatchback in the country next month, and the car, known as the Micra in that market, will be equipped with the Renault-derived 1.5 litre K9K four-pot oil burner.

The Micra Diesel will join the 79bhp HR12DE 1.2 litre petrol version in the market – which started selling in July this year – beginning December 10, in two variant forms, the XV and XV Premium. The common rail direct injection eight-valve block, with 63 hp at 4,000 rpm and 160 Nm at 2,000 rpm, is mated to a five-speed manual tranny, the only gearbox available for the car in the Indian market. Numbers include a 158 kph top speed and an impressive 23.08 km per litre fuel consumption figure.

The K13 diesel will be assembled in Nissan’s factory in Oragadam, Chennai for domestic sales, though it will also be exported to South Africa next year.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Soup69 on Nov 26, 2010 at 6:33 pm

looks like a freaking FIAT 500

• This car looks best in orange i think

• harunIsmail on Nov 26, 2010 at 7:00 pm

When are we ever gonna get Euro-4 grade diesel?
    Implimented in India since April – wonder why
    over here we are dragging our feet w/o any urgency
    and on the other hand we wanna go “green” . :(

• The Loner on Nov 26, 2010 at 9:57 pm

Easy. If the diesel fuel quality is better, more people will buy diesel vehicles for the long run in saving fuel expenses. This will cause middle range salery earners stop buying national cars which have higher fuel consumption rate, plus there is no diesel engines for national cars.

• zimba on Nov 26, 2010 at 11:36 pm

higher fuel consumption rate? If compare to korean and Pug car. P1 n P2 still not loosing.

• 4G63tDSM on Nov 27, 2010 at 8:42 am

seriously…are you even sure what you are talking about?

All things being equal current P1 engines are about 2 generations behind. I don’t fault Proton to be a little backasswards being a small manufacturer afterall, but trying to defend this is ridiculous.

I drove a 2010 Chevy Malibu (accord sized) with a 3.6L V6 engine and it used up the malaysian equivalent of 15s/km (based on our cheapest fuel of 1.85). And thats a “fuel thirsty american car”…..compared to what the Europeans are doing. For your Korean comparison, the OLD NF Sonata 2.4 gets about the same fuel economy, let alone the new YF sonata with the more efficient 2.4 and Turbo 2.0. (yet to drive them). The new Theta engined Hyundai/Kias’ fuel economy is outstanding.

Now what exactly were you comparing P1 to? a 10 year old Korean? Which is precisely my point….not only that it does not make modern emmisions limits, it gets about the same fuel economy of an engine 2 generations behind.

Now that said, not all fuel improvements are due to engines, some are due to drivetrain improvements, the 4 2010/2011 cars I drove last month, 3 had 6 speed auto gearboxes(Toyota Sienna, Chrysler Town and Country, Chevy Malibu), and a CVT (Nissan Altima)

On another hand, you’d get into a Turbo diesel and your fuel consumption drops quite a bit.

I don’t foresee us getting better diesel fuel until Proton can come up with a resonable diesel engine. Thats the harsh reality of it.

• He is definitely not sure what he was talking.Even at Driven.com.my showcast a NEW PROTON PERSONA ELEGANCE 2010 consumes an average of 10km/l of fuel when compared to a 7 years old VIOS.Meaning that a new IAFM engine= 7 years old TOYOTA engine?wake up lar Proton’s engine is still far behind technology,I cant even see any VVT-i/V-TEC/CVT in any of the model.Dont fight back with me with IAFM , is not fuel EFFICIENCT enough!

• strada on Nov 27, 2010 at 6:23 pm

Cmon guys Proton has got very little to do with the diesel quality. The truth is Govt does not want to fork out the extra dough to bring up the diesel quality to sat the ones available in Europe. Why? Because in addition to the development cost (indirectly though in the form of incentives given to oil companies) it does not want to subsidise it just like what Ron 95 and to a lesser extent Ron97 are.

• jtiongwl on Nov 27, 2010 at 10:35 pm

I agree that if Proton cant benefits from the introducing of ULSD into our market, the G wont do it.

Are you sure G is subsidizing the fuel? Or using the tax collected when you purchase your car, then return it back to you slowly? Do you know that for normal person, it is almost impossible to gain back the tax you pay via fuel subsidy? Try to work this out yourself by using the fuel consumption data and compare on how much is your mileage per year. Then project it and see…

• rossi46 on Nov 27, 2010 at 3:06 pm

zimba says:
          26/11/2010 at 11:36 pm
          higher fuel consumption rate? If compare to korean and Pug car. P1 n P2 still not loosing.

———————————————————————————————————-

Bro,

P1 will lose since no diesel alternative…..wt Euro 4 diesel, the korean will bring their excellent and frugal diesel CRDi engine while PUG will bring their frugal diesel HDi FAP …….for Pug especially, their petrol’s are not as good as their diesel, but wt Euro 4…they can show off their diesel tech

• autojohndoe on Nov 27, 2010 at 8:35 am

i am talking about forte only, OK?

its fuel consumption is about 9L /100km, while Persona is average 6.5L/100km…

I think it is good already but still, improvement needed.

• 6.5l/100km is valid for constant speed at 100km/h ok?Many don understand and be fooled by the manufacturer.City driving and Highway is a big DIFFERENCE.
          My friend complained to me , new Persona 10km/l, any difference?

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 27, 2010 at 8:11 pm

In fact, if i had not mistaken, Proton’s highway test is 90Km/h constant. Not even 100. Maybe they changed it later…not sure

You need to compare standard combined cycle. Thats the problem with local marques…they don’t quote standard F/C standards.

• autojohndoe on Nov 28, 2010 at 8:23 am

am not talking about brochures…

I am talking based on my car… I dont about your friend’s car…

If talking about friends… 2 of my friend’s persona abour 7L/100km

• autojohndoe on Nov 28, 2010 at 8:24 am

plus… my driving is city highway drive…

• The Loner on Nov 27, 2010 at 5:33 pm

There are three types of measurements of fuel consumption for a vehicle. First is the urban/city driving, second is highway driving and third is combined.

Countries like UK and Australia will have all measurements listed on their car brochures.

Yeah, I believe that there are people complaining about the Persona’s fuel consumption. Well the fuel consumption for combined driving as per manual transmission is 6.6L/100km, based on the brochures from UK and Australia Proton.

• Gavin on Nov 27, 2010 at 2:28 am

i think can forget about euro diesel, since the gov reduce hybrid tax and now with proton also venturing there, it’s quite clear already which road the gov is taking in terms of going green

• The Loner on Nov 27, 2010 at 6:33 am

If G is serious on going green through, it should including tax exemption on those hybrids which have engine displacement greater than 2 litres not just limited to engines below 2 litres.

• Gavin on Nov 27, 2010 at 2:45 pm

Remember the exora hybrid? it only has a really small engine, protectionism again

• MoFaz on Nov 29, 2010 at 12:27 am

beyond 2 litres is big boy’s toys. if cars like porsche and lotus hybrid could be brought in without tax, only the rich would be very happy. 2011 Porsche Cayenne Hybrid for example is USD70k, or well below RM250k here without import & excise tax.
          and the less fortunate ones would still stuck in their viva or saga. would they be very happy? no, because they still need to pay for excise duty and sales tax for viva & saga, but the rich only pay sales tax..? next, oppositions will twist this fact and use it against the gov…

• Wisdom on Nov 26, 2010 at 7:03 pm

Does that mean the diesel qulity in India is better than us? Low sulphur?

• rossi46 on Nov 29, 2010 at 6:34 am

India are as advance as Europe nowadays……while we are still a 3rd world country wt polluting euro 2 fuel ….

• india is better than us?

• squawk on Nov 27, 2010 at 12:14 pm

Isn’t it funny that countries with less ‘world-class’ infrastructure is more advanced than us?

• jtiongwl on Nov 27, 2010 at 10:39 pm

At least they have improvement. Let say China, 30 years back it is worse than Malaysia..But go and have a look at it now by yourself.

Today, why so many world class professional choose to work in city such as Shanghai? Even foreigner to them, such as Malaysian who are graduated from Western Country and can master English communication well…

• squawk on Nov 28, 2010 at 2:17 pm

Don’t talk about China la. They are a different league. Even their so-called small towns are as big and modern as KL.

There are many Asian and African cities that have a better standard of living compared to KL even without as many skyscrapers.

• rossi46 on Nov 29, 2010 at 6:37 am

less world class infra but maybe they have world class mentality, (cares abt environment, hence the better quality fuel)…but here, 1st class infra but….u know ler

• MoFaz on Nov 29, 2010 at 12:40 am

they have tata and mahindra, some of the biggest vehicles manufacturer in the world. they’re not only making cars, but also 4WD, trucks and busses. they’ve been exporting diesel trucks to all over the world, including europe so they need to follow european standard.
        diesel price is no longer ‘much cheaper’ than petrol like years ago because gov reducing the subsidy on diesel from time to time. if we use higher grade diesel now, gov need to spend more on subsidy to keep the price at current level, otherwise there will be diesel price hike, which lead to a hike on everything else.
        else, gov could ask stations to provide 2 grades of diesel like petrol too. one is subsidies for lorries & busses, and other unsubsidised iigher grade one for private cars.

• TIGER - Esso, Maybank, (deduct) Proton on Nov 26, 2010 at 7:53 pm

Thailand made March very popular for this new generation…receive global high demand & strong sales…when we going to get this March as soon as possible??

• you must be crazy to bring this baby here with all the kancil runing around, it will surely hit micra head on. its not tc style they are doing up market going for the top guns

• Even Vietnam, Philippines in 2012 will ahead us in diesel quality. Fishy, huh? Or moronic?

http://pecj.webdrop.net/japanese/overseas/conference/pdf/1-2_Ms.Lucky_Nurafiatin.pdf

• zijun on Nov 26, 2010 at 8:31 pm

when we can get nissan march in malaysia lol

• jtiongwl on Nov 27, 2010 at 10:41 pm

Unless G remove NAP. Otherwise this particular model wont be here as it appearance in Msian market will cause a damage to Stupid and Mouse market share in the market. Especially to Savvy ( Slavery ) and MyVi ( Myslave )

• learner on Nov 28, 2010 at 12:14 pm

savvy is excluded since its sales is not that good. its more like viva and myvi. or simply said P2 business lah….

• Jimmy on Nov 26, 2010 at 9:52 pm

Cute in this colour.
    Can be excused and understandable if this one has no telescopic steering.

• transformer on Nov 26, 2010 at 10:13 pm

wait until 2020 la… thks to NAP!

• Shinji on Nov 26, 2010 at 11:00 pm

looks cute.

• tc. pls bring this car to malaysia! great car for city and kampung.

• yeah rite on Nov 27, 2010 at 1:33 am

i want micra, don’t want viva lunchbox…
    someone plz set up a perotiga to CKD this and sell as our national pride Malaysian made car!

• jtiongwl on Nov 27, 2010 at 10:42 pm

Unless you can get the permission from G, to CKD such thing in Msia. I am sure at no cost, investor will compete to invest in such project..

• alldisc on Nov 27, 2010 at 8:35 am

in india, diesel is the way to go since petrol price is about RM5 per litre and being a floating price, it keeps changing every month.

i think if our petrol price is also high, our people will also adopt to diesel since it is more economical, with powerful torque and better exhaust emission (diesel has no lead)

• Maybe the car u can see at KLIM.
    I heard next year they might bring in Micra but not confirm yet.

• _xXx_ on Nov 27, 2010 at 9:40 am

it looks way better than the special exclusive limited edition junk though dated…

• sukuk on Nov 27, 2010 at 10:34 pm

You want P1 come out with diesel engine? Ask la P2, not P1. P1 already come out with their home built engine which many people likes condemn, comparing with old manufacturer T, H and N. Why not ask P2 because we know that P2 in more quality, low fc comparing P1.

• I love diesels… even replaced all the company cars with diesel trucks, van and a lorry. Only left a rotting Proton Saga 1.5I.

For my lightly modded Triton auto, average combine cycle is 8.5L/100km and in 1 month, I covered 2500km and diesel cost around RM 450/month.

My bro’s Navara manual can do better at 7.0L/100km due to a better gearbox. He spends around RM 450 but covers longer distances. This is one damn good truck! Aggressive and powerful.

The best is my Kangoo 1.5 turbo diesel manual avg at 6.5L/100km (but speed is capped at 85-90kph due to its commercial nature. A full tank will cover 655km (with 5 workers and 300kg of tools). Even more if it is just 1 worker and no load.

Worse is my Inokom lorry which uses an older generation diesel engine. A full tank of RM 80 goes for 450km max. And that is with subsidized diesel at RM 1.48/L.