KLIMS bound Hyundai Avante caught on camera!

As revealed earlier this month, Hyundai’s stand at KLIMS 2010 will feature three showstars – the ix-Metro concept car, the facelifted Santa Fe SUV with new engines and the latest Hyundai Avante. Here, a grey unit of the C-segment saloon was spotted on a trailer by reader CKF, and since it’s the only car on the truck, we presume it’s the same model you’re going to see at KLIMS.

The Avante gets Hyundai’s latest “fluidic sculpture” design language as per the Sonata YF. We can see from these small images that the dominant profile line starts from the long rear lights, spearing through the door handles and ending at the front wheel arch. Another more subtle line joins both wheel arches.

The car shown here is a Korean domestic model as production for export markets will only start at the end of first quarter 2011. There won’t be much delay in making right-hand drive versions, and Malaysia will be among the first markets to get the RHD car. Add in the red tape and approvals and we’re looking at a second half of 2011 launch.

Unlike rivals, there won’t be a 2.0L model but an all-new 1.8L engine called ‘Nu’ powering the Avante. This 148 hp/178 Nm 1.8 is a smaller, lighter and more frugal replacement for the 2.0L Beta engine used in the previous gen car. It has Dual CVVT, two-stage Variable Intake System (VIS) and runs on a timing chain. Hyundai will also use double-pipe plumbing for the Nu engine to improve cooling, which means they can get away with using a smaller compressor, which aids fuel consumption.

The other engine is a 1.6L Gamma and the gearbox for both is Hyundai’s in-house 6-speed auto. It’s not decided yet if we will get Gamma, Nu or both engines although the bigger mill will be needed to impress the capacity obsessed regular Malaysian carbuyer.

Look out for it at KLIMS!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• squawk on Nov 27, 2010 at 12:07 pm

Cool looking car. Makes Civic look so dated. The wheels look a little tiny though. Maybe it’s the pic angle.

So Hyundai also starting to downsize engines?

• it looks cool because of the fluidic design so-called.

• RON97 on Nov 29, 2010 at 1:40 pm

I don’t know but this so call new design car look boring, lack of details, etc. you guys (lower income) may fight each other civic vs altis..bla..bla. bottom line all these cars are sucks. just buy w124

• Downsizing yet the horse power quite high for 1.6

• @Haha
        Yea,which also means cheaper road tax. Same horse power as Perdana 2.0 V6.

• Goproton on Nov 27, 2010 at 3:09 pm

that is a 1.8 bro…Danny never state the power for the 1.6….

• From the Hyundai Korea website seem like this engine produce 132ps. The gdi more higher 140ps hope hsdm can bring in this variant

• Eamat on Dec 09, 2010 at 12:32 pm

“Haha”…u’r so CUTE.
        Just like the 1.6L engine, CUTE engine..but POWERFULL,hehehe

• Goproton on Nov 27, 2010 at 3:22 pm

how old is civic n how old is this?don’t talk something stupid…

• squawk on Nov 27, 2010 at 10:45 pm

Is this rendering is anything to go by, the 2012 Civic doesn’t look too exciting.

http://www.tuningtruck.com/wp-content/uploads/images/e6c28_2012_civic_rendering.jpg

• Road Thunder on Nov 28, 2010 at 4:56 pm

Squawk, let’s compare same time period to same time period. The 8th Gen Civic had the market in a orgasm when it was first launched. It’s been 5 years since so the looks are starting to become mundane. Let’s see the 9th Gen first before we start comparing it with this sleek oh so sexy Avante.

• squawk on Nov 28, 2010 at 5:43 pm

I did post pics of the 9th gen Civic. Please take a look and compare. :-)

• 8th gen civic is nicer, 9th civic looks like weird city. i rather buy city.

• handsome*dude on Nov 28, 2010 at 2:28 pm

dude, your civic indeed look damn old~

• rim look bad… agree…

• 2011 is the year for the car buyers ;)

i think slowly the car market is opening.

• I guess you misspelled it as CIVIC though you meant COROLLA ALTIS. Do you realized Altis is 2000 design? Merely a facelift in “old” automobile language.

Be realistic dude.

• squawk on Nov 28, 2010 at 1:12 pm

No, I meant CIVIC. Specifically the 2012 model. :-)

• Then l can’t help you since you already blindfolded and blindfooled yourself with the partial fact that never serve anyone justice, especially Honda since you spare Toyota from any criticism. Civic FD only launched in very late 2005 (MY2006) BUT cult-status Corolla much-much earlier, 2000 to be exact.

No changes in dimension except body width as well as front and rear redesigns (off course interior). The rest Altis and score of Toyota totally similar product with new touch up.

Perhaps, some Toyota fans too boring with overwhelming Civic that forced UMWT to offer CVT to make it their Altis buyers/prospects justified?

I’m no Honda salesperson BUT really tired and sick people are bias.

• squawk on Nov 28, 2010 at 10:40 pm

Dude, I didn’t mention Toyota because it’s a given that when it comes to looks (even specs), there’s nothing to compare. Toyota stopped making good looking cars somewhere in the early to mid 90s. I mentioned Civic because there’s still some dynamism in their design (8th gen) but the 2012 model is a bit of a disappointment.

Are you a Honda owner or fan, Karl? :-)

• Tauke on Dec 08, 2010 at 9:34 am

Honda no doubt is getting worst and worst, proton no doubt is getting better and better, this is the fact. go out from malaysia la, we don’t need this stupid rubbish car maker.

• its like mazda2 from the side!

• Renault Power on Nov 27, 2010 at 12:14 pm

pretty. but still not impressed by the interior.

• Maserati on Nov 27, 2010 at 12:17 pm

Haih another Korean car with good looks but performance will definately not match the looks.

Look at Forte,good looks but performance is horrible.Test drove and it just felt so unstable .Steering is so so uninspiring.Engine feels weak and no uumpphh at all.Now my friends 7 month Forte 1.6 has squeaks and weird sounds coming from his absorbers.His mileage is only 20000++.What a lousy car.No wonder there are so few units on the road.

Sonata has nice looks but my goodness the engine performance is like 10 years ago technology.So underpowered even the 2.4

Korean car manufacturers still have a long way to go to catch up with the rest of the big players in the market.

• You sure?
      What I know is Sonata 2.4L has more hp than Camry 2.4V.
      178hp VS 167hp and yet you still consider it as UNDERPOWER?
      I really have not idea how you judge the figure.

• kye3n on Nov 27, 2010 at 2:05 pm

Sometimes paper power doesnt really transfer into actual on the road power i guess

• Even if this car were selling at RM99K,I would a thousand times chose this over Inspira. The quality is just way way better than any Proton. What we really want is reliability performance next.

• inspira gives the enjoyful driving , for me that’s what i want, i’d go for inspira

• If a HIGH paper power doesnt not translate into actual power on the road, then LOW paper power translate ZERO power on the road?

• Maybe power also have to be divided by weight of the vehicle.
            What is the power to weight ratio for Sonata and Camry?

• 6 speed in ten years back?
      Mind to share what car u using now. Sure a lot omhp lo

• Notakosong.com on Nov 27, 2010 at 3:20 pm

haha, u really dont know what ure talking about aint u?

talks about power, yet u doesnt even know the real figure.
      dude, all those power figure if u really want to look at it as on paper, u can get by simply use google

• BeemerFreak on Nov 27, 2010 at 4:30 pm

Old man really dun grow up. Personally the only Japanese car that i would really want is a Mazda. It is the only brand baring the Honda Civic that says Japan is in the right century. Korean cars have already proven reliability and performance in places like China and USA. they outshone Japanese rivals and even some european rivals.

When u tested the Forte u are already biased, hence all the rubbish u are saying.

• Are you a lorry driver? Hyundai Sonata and Kia Forte power not enough? Maybe Kia Forte and Sonata felt underpower compared to your lorry.

• bystander on Nov 27, 2010 at 5:44 pm

u sound like a caveman….. dude! u no civic have been discontinued in japan bcoz can’t sell? they also postpone and redesign the civic replacement due to this avante. stop worshiping jap like god, u urself is made in Malaysia, tt is if u r a Malaysian, or maybe tt explain y ur brain is so underpower n ur mental is still ten yrs behind the rest of the world, bcoz u r not made in japan?

• relax,,,,

• bystander on Nov 27, 2010 at 11:17 pm

i’m not angry at all, i’m not even taking any sides (korean or japan) or trying to offend anyone, i’m just a bystander after all…..maybe my comments sound very aggressive only, frankly, not all my comments passed the moderation but i still support paultan! i just dun like jokers preaching cult in this open space. in fact, i really think paultan should consider banning his guy, he’s treating this site like his toilet, i beg ur pardon, mr paul n the rest…..

• road runner on Nov 29, 2010 at 3:57 pm

Not a racer but fast yet alert driver
      r u maserati? maserati? if u r pls what H@Kor to MC12
      forte 1.6 to Inspira 2.0/1.8 – still a copy (direct) to Lans
      Y not forte 2.0 then

• nolan on Nov 27, 2010 at 12:18 pm

wow………. other carmakers need to respect Hyundai now……. they have improved a lot thesedays…..i might consider buying this car….

• Even better than some Toyota and Honda models with Dual CVVT and two stage VIS.

• At Korea now, had a ride on these new Hyundai, the Sonata and Avante…I think the rear suspensions are still not too comfortable compared to a Mazda 6 but I think almost the same as a Honda Civic..just an opinion

• oh no ~ my dream car is comming ~
    definetely catch it at KLIMS !!!

• Avante on Nov 27, 2010 at 12:54 pm

Wow! So happy when looking at it in m’sia! Really looking forward fr the klims!
    Been waiting fr months to see it….
    So beautiful in every angle!

• banko on Nov 27, 2010 at 12:56 pm

cool..i really want to see this car

• i dun think this NU engine have any CVVL
    its purely a dual cvvt unit

• If it using back the same engine like which is used in current avante.. I’ll buy.. If below 90k.. Hehe

• May i know how good are the korean engines compared to jap engines at present?? I would consider korean car if the engine and parts are on par. Btw, this car is nice.

• Hyundai Kia.. Is top selling way better then the Toyota in Europe .. So u Judge urself lo.. (source: scroll back few days back by paultan)

• Gavin on Nov 27, 2010 at 2:47 pm

I have no doubt korean makes will bring in their best engines for malaysia if they could. But too bad the gov is more interested in bloody hybrids instead of higher fuel quality for petrol and diesel.

• The Loner on Nov 27, 2010 at 5:21 pm

Not the Korean makers, it is the authorised distributors who are deciding the models to be brought in here. Korean makers will not mind allowing other countries’ distributors to sell their best engines around the world.

• High5 on Nov 28, 2010 at 5:42 am

nowadays they cant bring diesel… diesel are more decent…
        the quality of diesel in malaysia… still by far their standard i think…

same goes for petrol…. so many of the players are bring which suitable for malaysia standard…

High5 guys

• Nasai on Nov 29, 2010 at 8:17 am

Yes blood sucking authorised dealers like Naza, HSDM, that offer very ”GOOD” after sales service especially Naza that announced they’re offerinf 5 years warranty now.

• cyberspace on Nov 29, 2010 at 9:54 am

To all Jap fan boy, be ready to trade in for this car…lol

• Look for good value car on Nov 27, 2010 at 3:23 pm

Yes!!!! This is the one I’m looking for……….

• Lappy on Nov 27, 2010 at 3:30 pm

Actually I’m pretty impress how Korea car maker improve over the years, at least they r much better than our country.
    The outlook of the car makes big different, coz I still see ppl in Malaysia choose their car purely dependant on the outlook.

• Unlike in Boleh land, with all the help and protection still cannot make it in the real world. Korean car industry started just a few years earlier than Boleh land right?

• mitlanevo on Nov 27, 2010 at 3:37 pm

hello Mercedes Benz!!! wake up!!! take a look on how other companies utilized the elements of 1st-gen CLS and make it look PERFECT on other cars, not step backward and make it UGLY!!!

• Maserati on Nov 27, 2010 at 3:47 pm

Sqwuak, it makes the civic look dated? Of cuz lah.. Civic how many years already. Pls think before you comment. And sonata hving more hp than camry doesnt mean its more powerful thn camry lah. Korean tech doesnt allow alot of the hp to be transferred to the wheels unlike jap tech. Even though less hp but more hp is going thru to the wheels.

• http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=INBnV2kZx34
      watch this video..even 2.4 can beat the 2.5 camry..

• Actually the next gen civic also look dated compared to this Avante. It looks very much like current Honda City.

• squawk on Nov 27, 2010 at 10:52 pm

If you think this one looks better, I have no objections to that.

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_3Nq7CKYaRdQ/TLN2YrlQngI/AAAAAAAAW3Y/__QyYgO1Yf0/s1600/2011+2012+new+Honda+Civic+sedan-1.jpg

• squawk on Nov 27, 2010 at 11:01 pm

And here’s the Civic’s rear.

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_3Nq7CKYaRdQ/TLN2XdGG3yI/AAAAAAAAW3Q/CEjGOIsoI5Q/s1600/2011+2012+new+Honda+Civic+sedan.jpg

• squawk on Nov 27, 2010 at 11:05 pm

And the interior.

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_3Nq7CKYaRdQ/TJootToBMDI/AAAAAAAAUvE/PUA85yGUShY/s1600/2012%20Honda%20Civic-interior.jpg

• What i know is HP is measure on the wheel???

• Ah Tee on Nov 27, 2010 at 4:27 pm

If this car selling close to Proton Inspira, then as Malaysian, we will and over our new launched Inspira into Museum for tourist fo knew our country national car embarrassssssssss heritage. Lets celebrate for welcoming Avante to beat our Inspira. Those who like Inspira, after read my comment sure put me thump up. If you out thump down, then you are the group of ” Not smart” guy but you get Inspira lah!

• Mata2 on Nov 28, 2010 at 9:08 am

You just see from photo and can judge this car is bloody good, emm pity such baseless remark

• bobdbilder on Nov 28, 2010 at 9:09 am

Ah Tee you must leave the country and denounce your Malaysian right. Welcoming a foreign entity to win over one of our very own is treachery. This is what happened when the English landed in Kedah. Bye bye, we will not miss you.

• Question on Nov 29, 2010 at 11:56 am

To bobbilder:

Don’t you own anything that is not Made In Malaysia? Applying your argument, aren’t you being treacherous for owning it? For example, what handphone do you own? Malaysia brand such as CSL?

Spending one’s hard earned money on a product that one’s valued as better is basic consumer choice. There’s nothing wrong with spending your money on Made In Malaysia product if you think it is a value. Same argument goes to those who prefer non Malaysia made product.

• scgtimk1 on Nov 30, 2010 at 12:06 pm

Most of Inspira parts are made in Jepun la…..platform R&D also in Jepun la…

the only thing good about Inspira is that it will be accepted well by the Japs wannabe, and all the money generated will be channeled to make a truly Malaysian car.

Let them Jap wannabe buy the Inspira…..

• road runner on Nov 30, 2010 at 4:12 pm

Whistle Blowing…
      Inspira…? A copy from Mit Mo Coo…?
      Read comment in Top Gear Dec 2010…
      Avante…? Sonata…?

• Ah Tee on Nov 27, 2010 at 4:28 pm

May put bedise Inspira to let Buyer compare if sell at 80~90k!!heeeee

• Mliven on Nov 27, 2010 at 4:40 pm

i am proud to be Avante (HD) owner. and yet, hyundai kia is the world top5 motor manufacturer according to 2009 statistic.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Automotive_industry

Underpowered or not, i have no comment but I think other brand “H”, or “T” is over-priced.

• hazri on Nov 27, 2010 at 6:18 pm

agreed..no regret to buy avante..worth for money…

• High5 on Nov 28, 2010 at 5:47 am

proton outplayed volvo… nice!!!…. we can be better…. for about 1000 years proton will be major player in car industry….hahaha

• avante_garde on Nov 27, 2010 at 4:44 pm

can’t wait to see this car and also honda insight at the KLIMS!

• hazri on Nov 27, 2010 at 5:17 pm

any idea how much this new avante?

• jigmaster on Nov 27, 2010 at 5:50 pm

bla bla bla here
    bla bla bla there

at the end, those who support korean car here, still driving 1st gen vios…

so many supporters in this blog, but outside in the real world, it’s still rare. even the cheapest hyundai, I10, not many on the road.

• nabill on Nov 27, 2010 at 6:27 pm

agree , when applying the bank loan , minds change sudenly !

• Fret not. Long term trends take time to change. Korean cars that have matched or bettered the Japanese cars with good design have only just reached out shores. We had the Forte, then the Sonata, and soon many more like the Avante, Optima and Sportage. I think it will take another two years before the general public will start shifting in substanstial volume from the Japanese to the Koreans. But the time will come, no doubt about it.

• jigmaster on Nov 28, 2010 at 12:15 pm

look at ford fiesta

it got really good comments from you people here, but in reality, in kuantan, up until yesterday, only 1 fiesta being sold to a close friend of mine.
        he is the 1st person in kuantan to own Fofi.

so where are u people?

still with that wait n see attitude but talk cock here.

lame hypocrite……

at least i’m on the right track, selling my car and buy something that is not T n H or N……

brave me

• Joker The Great on Nov 27, 2010 at 6:26 pm

Look at yourself ………
    Whats going for passed 10 years in between Hyundai, Kia Vs Toyota…?

Toyota = Still the same chasis of Altis since, 2001 until now
    Still the same chasis for VIos since 2003 until now

What happen tp Hyundai? Ppls keep improve and improve and develop a new product
    Come on la…. Toyota, your VVTi and Dual VVTI being on the road too many years.
    Outdated ready……

As long as you can produce a new product every 3-5 years, your company consider outdate…………

Do you all agree?

• transformer on Nov 27, 2010 at 7:13 pm

though these new Hyundai looks one/two generation ahead of its Japanese competitors but for Bolehland, its may need another generation or two for rakyat to part their money on these cars…

eventhough Hyundai has already established in US and EU market, korean still had to try few more attempt in bolehland…. just like how Samsung, LG did it!

• Notakosong.com on Nov 27, 2010 at 8:58 pm

totally true,

the HSD need to learn how to establish the brand here, not just making money,
      we talks about the after sales services, after market support here.

keep it coming koreans,

• Maserati on Nov 27, 2010 at 7:13 pm

Yeap ur absolutely right jigmaster.All KONON support Hyundai lah,Kia lah,but when ask to buy that time,all wait and see.See got other ppl buy anot.If other ppl buy,then onie they will buy.

It shows u guys no confidence in Korean car lah.No need to worship Korean cars here just to HURT THE FEELINGS OF JAP FANBOYS.Cause you are not hurting us in any way.

Not even a bit.

All these Korean cars doing well in USA and europe stories are all marketing strategies.Make you believe the car is doing so well.

In Malaysia,Korean cars are still way back .In terms of tech,Japs are still leading the way.You dont see it,because Japs dont really advertise about it unlike Koreans.

I will worship Japs until the day I drive a Korean car,and I feel its good enough to be compared to Japs.

Up until today,I have not driven a Korean car that I would drive over and over again.

Forte-driven once,feel it looks good but has terrible technology.Feel like dumping it away.

Sonata-2.4 feels like driving a 2.0 car.Again from outside,looks good but once inside,everything feels so CHEAPskate.Typical kOREAN crap.Rubbish car.

The OLD Elantra- my goodness,one of the worst car I have ever driven and will not set foot in it again.Engine feels worst than a 10 year old Honda civic car.

The current Hyundai Accent-rough high FC engine.Feels horrible being in this car.Bland,boring and dated interior.

• Why need to test drive all these cars when you already got your Maserati? Oh wait, you still riding kap chai.

• BeemerFreak on Nov 27, 2010 at 10:23 pm

Hmm in that case Maserati must be behind japs in technology, cause they break down all the time………. Sometimes people with big cars and big name has small brains. A case in point here.

• David on Nov 28, 2010 at 12:06 am

Talked like a truely ignorant idiot who talks as if he knows everything about cars. So, i should fight this fire with facts.

First of all, I’m the proud owner of the current Accent on sale in Malaysia right now, the MC model. And you know what? It’s way, way better than i thought, being a Toyota owner myself, i’m extremely impressed with how far they’ve come. Fun to drive, surprisingly refined, and supple over bumps. Yes, it may have higher fuel consumption than expected, but i understand it very well as it weighs quite a lot, at 1.2 tonnes, which also helps with stability.

What about a boring, bland and dated interior? Obviously you haven’t tried living with a Korean car for at least a month, or just plain ignorant. It’s a very easy to use car, thanks to simple yet attractive controls and dials. And guess what? My dad, who was also with me when i bought the car, said that the fit and finish is surprisingly very good, even giving the Japs and also some Conti cars a good lession in quality fit & finish!!

What about the Sonata? Hey, it’s no firecracker when it comes to performance, but its a very, very competitive car in its class. Try it out again, and again, then you’ll appreciate the finer qualities of the car.

And, try not to talk rubbish or lies about the Forte. I was trying out a Forte test unit at the NST-COTY2U Carnival last week, which was almost a year old, and surprisingly, it still feels tight despite being thrashed by potential customers. Yes, i could use more performance, but for everyday driving, the 1.6 EX i drove is more then adequate for the everyday driving. Besides, what can i argue more for just 75k? Plus, the steering is quite responsive, just that it isn’t in the Focus or Golf leagues.

Elantra? Yes, it’s not very good to drive, but bear in mind that a replacement is already here.

Also, you think that only Japs do intensive R & D? My goodness, you really are pathetic. All car companies, whether Japanese, Korean, French, any car company, (with the exception of the Chinese though) make good cars, just that this time, the Koreans get their share of glory now. Sooner or later, it would be the Germans’ turn, and for that, think Volkswagen.

Not to forget, all cars are workable, so don’t try to be a smart alec and say they’re not workable. If they’re not workable, wouldn’t i be driving a Hyundai as of this moment? Please, don’t just make sweeping statements without even doing proper research.

In short, just be more open, and learn to appreciate every car that comes aknocking to our market. All comes with its own merits and demerits.

• saki77 on Nov 28, 2010 at 10:30 pm

politely…wheres the facts?…all r just a testimonial from your experience….i read ur long comment and hope to find a facts..but…hmm….just testimonials versus testimonials…im also looking for a korean car now…,,,

• what facts do you want? isn’t an owner’s experience enough? maybe you can list down the facts you want to see.

• road runner on Nov 29, 2010 at 4:37 pm

FACT???
          Perhaps u hav more time to spend on Sonata 2.4 vs Camry 2.5 vs Accord 2.4 vs Mazda6 2.5 vs Mondeo 2.3 from all aspects n advice us rather than condemning others w/o strong evidences
          More I ve watch test drive of d sonata n camry via Yahoo Vdeo – DRIVEN BY AUTHORIZED RACER – I think this cud b a benchmark 4 ur research
          ALLDBEST

• I am glad there are still people like you in Malaysia. Makes my life much easier :)

Keep up the good work and continue to bash Korean cars.

Everywhere I go, people are singing praises about the current Korean car models. Which cave do you live in?

• pity u…my korean just spent 2 years with me and i think its enuff.
        ….overheat la…battery kong…rusty parts…expensive parts…..no stock laa….the japs brand not earned trust overnite.
        Maybe another 2 years we’ll see how it goes, but now KOREAN CAR no way!
        KOREAN AMOI ok :D

• cyberspace on Nov 29, 2010 at 11:12 am

for your information “Maserati wannabe”, sonata have already won malaysia car of the year 2010…i dont think those porfessional would have come and chose the sonata without basis fact…and its already proven you are totally wrong..hahaha…so please for god sake change your 3rd world country mentality

• Maserati on Nov 27, 2010 at 7:18 pm

You see JOKERTHEGREAT,you have not worked in a Jap company before.You dont know how they work.

Japs work like this- They do intensive R&D.Really 1000% make sure the technology is viable and workable then only they release it to the public.If its not perfect,they will not put it in their cars.

Koreans work like this- They do R&D ,they found a new tech.They do SOME test.If it pass,ok they let it out to the public.

Thats why Japs always take years to change their tech,but once they come out with something new,its a DAMN good thing!

But for Koreans always new thing every year,but 99% of it are not workable.And most of it the Japs have thought of it long ago.Just that the Japs knew that it wont benefit the buyers.

Hope you go read up more before commenting.

• reuben how on Nov 27, 2010 at 7:55 pm

Koreans are indeed a little faster at new tech, but Hyundai is not the 5th largest carmaker for nothing. Hope you read the reliability surveys, eg JD Power before commenting, they are up there with the Japanese. And what the hell do you think the Koreans are doing ? Don’t you think they would buy a competitor’s car and take it apart to see how it’s made? Thank god they don’t employ someone as stupid as you. No wonder you live in Malaysia.

• berombon on Nov 27, 2010 at 10:39 pm

So, you are saying everyone living in Malaysia is stupid la? Hmm..you are also included la Paul…BTW, where do you live?

• BOXINGMAN on Nov 27, 2010 at 11:42 pm

aii..aii….im working outside of Malaysia…but Im live malaysia. Am i still considering stupid too according to MR/MRS reuben? ooh..what are cheap words reuben…

• If this is true, Toyota would not have recalled so many of its cars all over the world, including Prius.

The same with Honda.

This is Japanese QC.

• Phillip Zak on Nov 27, 2010 at 9:53 pm

Yup you are so right … and yet they still come to a point where they have a design flaw in their accelerators .. so the japs must be having sake every night while they do testing till the wee hours in the morning before they roll out the design defective accelerators…..

And even when it was made known to the co. of the flaw, they find a solution only not to implement the fix which would take 30 mins to bring a car in to rectify.

Not to mention only 5 mins to perform in the production line.

Wonder if that’s the responsible thing to do.

• Joker The Great on Nov 27, 2010 at 9:59 pm

Brother, looks like you still stay in year 2000 or 2001.
      10 years behind.

Nothing related to whether your work in Japanese firm or not.
      May be, u don’t know my background.. Sigh no point to explain further at this

Honestly Japanese is the most hardworking country, but work hard also need to work smart…

Today, you dare to day Korean not working hard? Look at them, in 1997 when they was hited by the economic crisis which was worst than Malaysia. They got KIA and Hyundai, we also got Proton.

After 13 years, which country is much advance in this ASIA and International?
      Brother, in ASIA got 4 Dragon country, South Korea is one of the 4 Dragon.

Still got a lot of things we need to learn from them.. I cant deny that Proton is doing pretty under DSZ, but still need more effort to even better.

Is just mind set you can accept ppls better than you or you keep on sitting inside your ” tempurung” proud with your history record…..

Yesterday is HISTORY, Tomorrow is the Future………. Future need improvement…..

So you Still feel proud with Camry and Prius incident in America…? Think about it….. Is it TOYOTA still the best…..?

Cheers……………

• reader on Nov 27, 2010 at 11:31 pm

How come turn into working in Jap or Korea industry topic? But I believe Mr maserati might forgot the story of how so called ‘not workable’ Samsung climb to the top among so many ‘hard working’ Jap company…

• BeemerFreak on Nov 28, 2010 at 1:05 am

Nah bias and arrogant people cannot be taught. Too self rightous, cannot be influenced. Korean cars are already the best sellers in Europe for Asian cars, and they are not far behind toyota in usa( due to Toyota higher amount of commecial vehicles sold).

• squawk on Nov 28, 2010 at 1:28 pm

Some people don’t know that the Koreans supply a lot of components to the Japanese and Europeans, even if the Japanese and Europeans don’t admit it and you don’t see it.

You think Electrolux design and make their own white goods?

• MoFaz on Nov 28, 2010 at 11:40 pm

stop worshipping Japanese. it’s fine to admire their tech and hardworking culture, but you must also know that their society also has among the highest suicide rate. that’s not healthy. I’ve worked in korean firm for 1 year before, and i see they put a lot of efforst to get things done, sometimes too much.
          I love how European works. they’re also hard-working. I have several British colleague in my office and I never saw them on facebook in office, even though they’re the ‘bosses’. and they would finish the job quickly rather than waiting for last minutes like Malaysian are known for. their pace is more relaxed and flexible, not under constant pressure like japanese.
          japanese are known to produce reliable cars, but in my opinion, their cars are quickly become ‘boring’ compared to european / continental cars. japanese tend to focus more on engine tech, while we can see lots of safety features being introduced to the world in us / european cars.

• If toyota is still not coming out with new technology or implement more VVT-i in other models other than Altis and Prius they will be certainly overtaken by Korean Car.

• Wisdom on Nov 28, 2010 at 12:51 am

I agree with Maserati.

Honda City last gen CVT belt slips (a few cases), New City crash and burned (due to wide fuel tank + under floor design), Altis & Camry last gen headlights become yellowish and fade consider DAMN good.

Or should we put it DAMN only?

• poppypoppy on Nov 28, 2010 at 2:00 am

Oblivious much? All car manufacturers make mistakes, Toyota and Honda recalled so many cars. Perfect? I drive a Honda Civic and it is famous for several issues.

Korean car makers are improving and they are obviously trying to outdo the major Japanese car makers. In fact, check the stats, they have already done so in few places around the world.

• Why is Maserati keep on coming out with so-called COMMENT even though his comment keep on thrashed by others?haha~
      But I have to admit that, Korean cars like the new SONATA has advanced technology more than Camry 2.4V .
      One has one VVT-i and the other one has dual CVVT and two VIS, two is better than one .
      Did you hear any saying that “One is better than two”??

• TallPan on Nov 29, 2010 at 10:53 am

hehe spoken like true fanboi ;-)

• Eeerrr… does camry has dual vvti or normal vvti? i thought dual vvti only came into malaysia recently in altis. this avante 1.8 power omos on par wit 2.0 camry yet lighter.

• tokmoh on Nov 27, 2010 at 8:44 pm

AFAIK, Camry normal vvti. The Prius is the first dual vvti officially brought in by UMW, then the current Altis facelift

• JK Motors on Nov 27, 2010 at 8:24 pm

The Avante that will be at the KLIMS would be a LHD car. Confirm on that.

• 110ss on Nov 27, 2010 at 8:41 pm

1 yr ago at toyata showroom:
    Me : y so many manufacturer has change their transmission to cvt or 5speed?
    toyota SA: bcos our 4 speed transmission is most efficiency, no other car brand at the same category can beat us

1 yr later:
    Me: y altis change to cvt? izit follow other manufacturer path?
    Toyota SA: no.. but our cvt is the best in class…

LOL…!

• Hahah.. I guess the next one would be the turbo story.

Toyota just started turbo development on small displacement engine.

Toyota SA: Turbo easy rosak, no good in car. Maintenance expensive.

1 yr later, Toyota turbo cheap to maintain only…

• edward on Nov 30, 2010 at 10:46 am

nah… it might be like this..

1 yr later, Turbo still high maintainance but Toyota’s da best in class

• ITS CUTE! haha. Although i would still be considering with Korean cars, as im not the buy car and sell car easily type.. would keep my car for a long long time and still have the chance to sell it at a higher price when the time comes for a new set of wheels.

• y the rims don hav any screw nut?

• jigmaster on Nov 28, 2010 at 12:47 pm

becos they use super glue.

you dont know ka? it is the latest technology from NASA adapted by koreans….

• MoFaz on Nov 28, 2010 at 4:38 pm

ayo.. jgn la main2 kan dia.. kesian dia, honest question tu.
        there’s a cap on every rims for this avante, which cover all the nuts from direct view. you can open the cap by using a screwdriver, like how you open milo tin. i think, Perdana is also using the rim cap as well.

• verge on Nov 27, 2010 at 9:04 pm

interior wise korean car is not that bad, if not on par, is just a tad behind jap cars. can see same plastic dashboard, nothing to shout about, look old by scratches, same cheapo look dials

price wise some jap cars are overpriced, some will say that it’s due to tax, but some prices are crazily higher, certainly not worth the value, just for the sake of make up purpose, add some bodykit here and there and tada, give it new version name but with same old performance

handling wise proton does better now, Lotus rnh is not a joke, it’s as good as its name, while it has marketing value, it does functioning and working well

• namerku on Nov 27, 2010 at 9:21 pm

like sonata je..cuma sonata 2.0..

• stupidHonda on Nov 27, 2010 at 9:30 pm

the engine,the tech,the design maybe koreans are as good if not better than the japs..but whats more important is the build quality & ride comfort…try compare NVH of kia forte & altis…you’ll get the answer…and dont give me forte is not same segment as altis crap!..but i must admit,korean cars definitely value for money!

• BeemerFreak on Nov 27, 2010 at 10:38 pm

Too bad not every Malaysia is as open minded as you……… With openess like this our country might be a much better place.

• Joker The Great on Nov 27, 2010 at 10:34 pm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NiH9tmMUQbs

good sharing….. view it….

• Yes, Design is updated & pretty, but not my taste. dunno why, Japan design more suit my taste.

• alpha999 on Nov 27, 2010 at 11:05 pm

cant wait to test out its handling……

• maserati is toyota salesman in sri petaling, don’t argue with him.

always talking loads of crap and bashing korean and conti cars only.

refer to 110ss

• MoFaz on Nov 28, 2010 at 1:38 am

and he drive a vios. i don’t know why he use maserati as his name when he have toyota as his religion. why not supra?.. then we can call him supraman.. nice name for him, right?

• whatever on Nov 28, 2010 at 12:49 am

maserati obviously cant get enuff of jap’s presence in bolehland from 1942-45. All the japs took was 3 miserable years to shape his thinking. No wonder why the korean cars get poor response from msians no matter how good their products…they never invaded us. That’s their biggest mistake.

• Maserati on Nov 28, 2010 at 1:21 am

Hello David,You test drive Forte for how many kms? Did you test drive more than 100kms?
    I doubt so.You test drive at low speed around the area.Did you test drive it at 150km/h?
    I doubt you did so.So dont come and talk to me like you did a full test drive where you actually did a pathetic 5 minute test drive and come to tell great stories about the car.

I test drove it all the way to ipoh.Was my frens car.This forte is an OK car at speeds below 100km/h.Above 100km/h then you will feel the rubbish steering and all.

And pls,I am not asking for a superb steering wheel ,but when you pay RM 80k for a Forte and the steering wheel feels worst than a Myvi,how do you react? Even Myvi steering wheel feels nicer to drive compared to Forte.

And of course I know other ppl do R&D too retard.ITs just that the Japs dont simply release something when they are not fully sure it is something that will benefit everyone.

Cant you read properly?

And pls lah,if you tell me driving an Accent is a nice driving experience,then i think your “STANDARD” is very very very low…well,if you want to maintain that kind of standard ,by all means go ahead.I dont care.

And like I said before,all those awards are nothing but nonsense marketing tactics.You dont know right? Everything can be settled by $$.

Koreans are desperate now,Its now or never for them.If they dont make it this time,they will never ever make it.

And to JokerTHEGREAT,yes Koreans work hard but like you said,they dont work smart.Thats why all their products are subpar quality.

And finally I am very open,if the car is good,i will say its good just like how i said the PUG308 Turbo is a fantastic car,the Inspira is an awesome drive -better than Forte by a mile.

If the car is crap,I will say the car is crap,and Forte,Cheverolet Cruze,Sonata,Pug207 all fall in this category.

And if you dont like my thoughts,feel free to thumbs down it.They dont hurt me one bit!

• Scabek on Nov 28, 2010 at 8:51 am

Thupms down then
      Hyundai don’t suddently start selling more cars the Toyota in uk for
      no reason, and here in uk people do appreciate quality cars, thts why
      3 series has always been a better seller than the great Mondeo
      even it’s much more expensive

as for the Hyundai their achievements world wide is no mean feat
      just be a little more reasonable, don’t speak like a “know it all” there’s
      too many of them around trying to tell us what to believe

at the end of the day, the car one likes the most within ones budget is
      to him/her the best car

• BeemerFreak on Nov 28, 2010 at 9:32 am

since you are so against Korean and other country made cars, why bother to even post here knowing that you will have lots of disagreement. Keep it to yourself, to be an empty vessel. You know the phrase, an empty vessel makes the most noice, guess who here post the most. hahahaha.

BTW yet and again i state from other post i bring on, i own a VW Scirocco and a Kia Forte, both are just over a year old. And my Forte is 45000km in, still doing about 12km/L in urban driving and no noise or sound or whatsoever you mentioned. Best still the Electrical driven steering weights up during fast driving, giving a similar feel to my scirocco. Tell me thats not better than a Myvi, Tell me that !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• squawk on Nov 28, 2010 at 1:35 pm

If that’s the case, you got conned on the Roc where steering feel is concerned. :-P

• BeemerFreak on Nov 28, 2010 at 1:45 pm

Nah just prooving a point that Korean car are as good as Japanese if not better….. The rocs dcc was in comfort mode then FYI.Haha……

• David on Nov 29, 2010 at 12:17 am

Hey BeemerFreak, are you having the 2.0 SX model? How’s the driving experience like compared to the 1.6 SX?

Cheers!!

• BeemerFreak on Dec 01, 2010 at 2:17 pm

Hey David, I am having the 1.6SX model as I already have a 2.0 Scirroco, no need another 2.0L car…. However mine is a SG registered Cerato Forte bought in April last year. Drive in town a little sluggish but on Highway it is very quiet and stable. Powerful enough but u have to give it the revs. Swap my 45 series tires with a 50 series cause the ride a bit too bumpy, but overall the car is excellent, never regretted my choice.

• David on Dec 09, 2010 at 1:05 am

Well, all i have to say is definitely a good choice you’ve made, just like what i did when i settled for the current Accent on sale now. Pretty good to drive, to be honest, although the fuel consumption isn’t to my liking. But hey, i’m using 55 series tires, which definitely hurts fuel consumption, but give me the satisfaction when taking corners.

And it just amazes me on how Maserati calls me a guy with low standards when i said my Accent is surprisingly very good to drive.

• alpha999 on Nov 28, 2010 at 11:25 am

really that smart ha? funny…..the japs worked so smart that….years…later…..their models are bound to be re-called back…….

• suckerbelonginzoo on Nov 28, 2010 at 12:07 pm

meserati, i dont quite understand what rubbish steering about forte all about. I have one forte.. And i am loving it always. For rubbish steering, i presume you must be having some darn fxcking good car to drive perhaps meserati? You either a made in japan arms or drove only one car in life. But reading those comment, you either driving a happy tail swinger VIOS or recall prone CITY.. Mind you, you are comparing to a C segment car!!! Forte is way much better and ride much better and corner much better and best of all value so MUCH better than the damn VIOS… So to speak for now, if you’re working with T, i shall advise you start sending your resume to korean car company to ride with the money coming in for many SA in hyundai and Kia. In term of R&D, how much do you know? Why are T and H introducing cars that second grade to many countries? Because Japs know we malaysian are suckers!! And see what happen to Singapore for the sales for FORTE.. Can you claim Singapore Kiasu now?? Or Malaysia Kiasu and Kiasi! Brand loyal and we are taken for a “poor” RIDE and money!

Value buy go for the korean… Korean cars is the leader in next 5 years…

• handsome*dude on Nov 28, 2010 at 5:02 pm

KOREAN VS JAPS..

round 1 fight!

• BeemerFreak on Nov 28, 2010 at 9:46 pm

Forte all the way. I would only trade it for my scirocco. However Singapore has just launched the 6 speed forte with the new gamma engine producing 166bhp. Damn that will be nice………..

• Of course you wont be hurt,how can stubborn ppl can get hurt? XD

• David on Nov 29, 2010 at 12:06 am

Maserati, let me rebut some of your allegations with facts:-

Fact 1-I didn’t drive the Forte for just 5 minutes. A typical test drive takes at least 15 minutes, and yes, it took me that sort of time to drive the Forte according to my own whims and fancies. The route i took was around the Jalan Duta area, combined with the really bumpy roads that were shoddily built. Furthermore, yes, i did 90 km/h, and although i couldn’t get to the 100km/h mark, it was decent, considering the fact it’s really bumpy out on the particular road i used, combined with a rather steep slope that tested it’s engine. Not too bad, just it doesn’t have the zing of a Golf, and the suppleness of a Corolla Altis.

Rebuttal 1-Just because i like my Accent driving experience, you call me low class standards? I think you’re the one who should be chewing your words, as whatever you say these days are viewed by fellow commenters in Paul Tan as ridiculous, arrogant, and idiotic. I never said owning a Vios or City was a bad experience right? And at this point, you choose to act childish by calling people such things!!

Fact 2-The Koreans aren’t stupid or crap, or even desperate. Only the people who arent’ willing to accept change will say such sweeping and derogatary statements. In the past, the Japs had their share of dominance, so now it’s the Korean’s turn, and sooner or later, the Europeans.

In short, once again, people like you are the reason why non T & H products will not be able to expand and enable people to enjoy their products.

P.S-Whoever that agrees with whatever i said, like this post. Show arrogant, selfish and childish people that there’s no space for them unless they engage in constructive, healthy debate, not just make sweeping, biased statements.

• maserati,

if you can sincerely say a myvi’s steering feel is better than a forte’s, you seriously can’t drive. what you do is commute and perhaps, for you, a good commuter car is the best ; nothing with flair or feel or handling because you obviously don’t know what you are talking about.

• edward on Nov 30, 2010 at 10:56 am

AE…. totally agreed with u… either he is just a pure hardcore korean basher or a blind brand supporter.

His post just to make u past ur boring time, lol.

I will choose korean, conti over a striped down T & H anytime.

• Maserati on Nov 28, 2010 at 1:31 am

Squawk,you dare to 100% confirm that is the NEW civic we are getting in Msia?

Or you are just Claiming it to be?

Even the Honda Malaysia top management dont even have a clue,and here you are posting some image you found from the internet here.

• As u you claimed @maserati, for sure there must be ton of 2nd forte in mudah.com..
      Terrible handling >100km/h.. Haha.. My Waja only shaking more than 150km/h, forte is way better then Waja for sure.. Yet, vios for me juz piece of crap.. Using like dunno 8years back technology.. What a shame.. Go and praise ur vios like god.. Lol

• Oh you mean the new Civic? There is basically 2 types of civic in the market:
      1. JDM (The one we are always getting)
      2. Rest of the world (The one US is having now)
      And lets clarify this, The JDM Civic is actually an Acura CSX. Acura takes the “Rest of the world” UGLY shit Civic Si and make front and rear treatments to produce the Acura CSX. And since Japan reviewed both models and feel that the CSX is a better looking Civic, they decide to JDM it with Honda badge. Basically, HM is also doing the same thing.

So, afterall the ugly pictures of the future civic (yes the one linked up there) IS actually the Civic..it’s ugly but the Acura model is still unknown as Acura will also make one CSX out from it. But they will do front and rear treatments only thats for sure. The ugly future Civic look might still be there.

And mr. Maserati, internet news often go very fast and accurate. Basically how the heck could HM know? I think they might only know if Honda unveils the model which (i think) those who regularly surfs internet might know a few months ago.

• squawk on Nov 28, 2010 at 1:40 pm

No, I can’t confirm it coz I don’t work for Honda. But that’s the US model and that’s what we’ll get with minimal changes to the looks, as historically, we’ve never ever gotten a Euro model. No?

• squawk on Nov 28, 2010 at 1:56 pm

Clicked submit by accident.

Anyway, I never mentioned this is the new Malaysian Civic. But the photos of the US model being tested is very similar to the rendering in the Japanese mag I posted further up above so that should give a good indication.

And here’s the JDM for kicks. http://img60.echo.cx/img60/3636/06civic9um.jpg

• raybrig on Nov 28, 2010 at 1:46 pm

dude,

what kind of car did u own and what is your standard then???care to share with us???

if u put hyundai same standard as maserati,duhhhh…i dont know what kind of person are u…

oklah…im the owner of alfa,audi and murano….still when i test drove the forte,i will nt put it in the same standard of the cars i own…

when i tested my uncle’s forte…which is almost a year old, for me when u drove at 160km/h…still for that kind of car..still acceptable for me..i dont know la u..

just put up this way la..i will not argue about ur fren’s car fault..just think that he’s not lucky…i would say that it is not only hyundai have this kind of problem..even other carmaker did…but it is only 1 in a 10…even MASERATi has this kind of prob..so do audi,alfa,murano..its just that its depends on your luck..if u’re not lucky..u will get a problem like ur fren’s did with his forte…

about the new honda civic..dey…google upla..its just around the corner..and thats basically the design..still when u put the new civic beside this car,still hyundai will be winning by a mile…

relax la bro..taula bawak maserati..janganla letak standard kete lain macam kete maserati kau…

• bobdbilder on Nov 28, 2010 at 9:24 am

Wonder if Sime Darby still going to maintain doing auto business. They have lost a lot of money in the Power and Oil and Gas sector. A lot of analysts are saying they should stick to do plantations and property.

Granted, Hyundai is one of the better franchise, but you have Land Rover, Alfa Romeo, and Ford in the same Business Unit.

Being a big conglomerate they should shave off business activities that forks out money out of the country. The Oil and Gas and Auto biz should be sold off.

• junaidi on Nov 28, 2010 at 11:50 pm

then it wont be a conglomerate. Theres only so much oil palm you can produce. And only so many houses you can make in a year.

• junaidi on Nov 28, 2010 at 11:56 pm

I know what you are getting at. But I think their main problem is lack of marketing effort. They promote BMW, Ford, and Hyundai like nobody’s business.

But they have Alfa Romeo, Land Rover in some obsure and hard to get at location such as Jalan Ipoh and PJ SS14.

• Tiadaid on Nov 29, 2010 at 10:36 am

They lost RM 6 billion now, but before this they made RM 60 billion in profits, so the temporary blip doesn’t faze the Sime Darby people, according to a friend who works in SD. The problemakers have been rooted out so I doubt there will be any more problem.

• tooyoottt on Nov 28, 2010 at 1:31 pm

I can see now theres alot korean car in singapore compare to toyota,, even vios lesser than Gen-2,, lol

• feisal on Nov 28, 2010 at 3:43 pm

“capacity obsessed regular Malaysian carbuyer”

Haha. Good one.

• nice looking car …. in fact better looking than Forte

let’s see what is the pricing of this car …… should priced it similar to Forte to stand a chance in selling better as compared to current Avante…. only a handful on the road.

The current segment is dominated by the Honda & Toyotas, for Hyundai and Kia …pricing is the only way to catch up on sales in Malaysia.

• Maserati,

for all your ‘i – m so right’ talk, tell us what car do you drive?
    and how many KMs did you drive the Forte, Cheverolet Cruze, Sonata, Pug207?

come on tell us..

• Maserati on Nov 28, 2010 at 5:03 pm

I drive a Cayenne 4.8 Turbo. so what now?

• BeemerFreak on Nov 28, 2010 at 6:50 pm

why not a Toyota or Honda? Since u adored them so much???? Or people would have thought, a Maserati….

• Scabek on Nov 28, 2010 at 7:37 pm

I drive a bugatti veyron super sport
        dude if you want to lie, might as well be ambitious. Too much negativity crap coming out of your comment, this is a forum for everyone to have their fair input, I suggest if you still want to carry on in this fashion, maybe koreancarbashing.com or omgjapanesecarholishit.com will be the more suitable platform for you to express your super expert opinions, after all you did say “I don’t care….” yes we don’t. Got it??!!

• Maserati,

how many KMs did you drive the Forte, Cheverolet Cruze, Sonata, Pug207?

since you are owner of a Cayenne 4.8 Turbo, what is the second switch from the right below the gear lever for?

• Apala on Nov 28, 2010 at 9:34 pm

Who is this maserati prick? Yeah, you drive a Porsche. And I drive a Veyron.
        Jokes aside, some cars are entry level models, some are performance oriented. I won’t go into details as to how you design the steering rack with parameters such as steering feel, turning radius, pump load, response value..etc.
        It us people like you that gives negative view based on your assumptions. If someone like the car, enjoys the drive, who the hell are you to comment. As to your driving experiences, I drive more cars than you, spun more cars than regular divers like you, and if you’re really capable, I tune cars for pricks like you just to make it fast. Then again, you can’t handle the power cause you drive (if you really own one) a f’king soccer mom suv. Get a life, what are the turbos for? Can you plunge into any corner without feeding the brakes? I doubt so. Get a proper race car.

People drive a myvi, forte etc for their own reason/s. Some like Korean, some Japanese, some even pro Malaysian. It is up to them to decide.

WTF!

• civicman on Nov 28, 2010 at 9:43 pm

hahaha….Cayenne 4.8 Turbo….that’s your neighbour car. person who got this car got no time to post comment here…..you’re king of bluffing boy…

• Mozilla Chrome on Nov 28, 2010 at 11:59 pm

Maserati a boy? really?
          In my mind always got ah beng or closed-minded pakcik picture all this while..lol!

• tooyoott on Nov 28, 2010 at 11:18 pm

you must be Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamed??? haha,, keep dreaming kid! porche driver dont even have time to comment in korean b-segmen car topic.. haha

• or Motorbike?

• BOXINGMAN on Nov 29, 2010 at 12:28 am

U might drive beautiful car, For some reason u might be have damage brain or physical injury .The way u speak out was very impress to say very Cheap comment!
        Big car..small brain….hmm..

• TallPan on Nov 29, 2010 at 10:59 am

i drive a veron. a big mean juan sebastian veron…

• cyberspace on Nov 29, 2010 at 2:33 pm

i drive ferrari F430, so what…i still like forte..lol

• edward on Nov 30, 2010 at 11:10 am

your comment had been chosen for the “joke-of-the-day” award however there is no prize given.

LMAO,ROFL… if Porsche found out a prick like u owns a cayenne turbo, oh gosh i can foresee how their image had been seriously tarnished.

Even though i had a AM DB9 vantage sitting in my porch, i still use LRT to work

• tooyoottt on Nov 28, 2010 at 5:35 pm

atleast Pug207 sell quit good in europe.. Vios? they never heard that name.. haha,, avanza? innova?

• no need to ask him coz he has all cars that available on the earth now and in the future and he has driven it all, everyday!

• kozos on Nov 28, 2010 at 5:07 pm

design avante boleh dijadikan inspirasi oleh proton utk menghasilkan model baharu pada masa akan datang. Azlano- chief designer proton takkan nak tengok jer… buatlah sesuatu…

• Neutral on Nov 28, 2010 at 6:15 pm

Mmm pity my fren who just bought Avante last month price RM99K

• Neutral on Nov 28, 2010 at 6:22 pm

Dear Paul, is Avante same with Elantra? The photos show latest facelift Elantra, not Avante as per the link statement. Sorry if my comment was wrong.

• MoFaz on Nov 28, 2010 at 10:46 pm

in previous article, Danny wrote:
      “Hyundai will use the Elantra nameplate for this C-segment sedan in North America, but it will be called Avante in our market.”

• squawk on Nov 28, 2010 at 10:48 pm

In some markets it’s called Elantra, in others it’s Avante. I think M’sia is streamlining with others and calling it Avante too, like the current one on sale.

• Park Du Bor on Nov 28, 2010 at 6:48 pm

fluidic sculpture ~~ twisted metal

• lazyf on Nov 28, 2010 at 7:02 pm

Hyundai/Kia is gettin better n better day by day…

• Mliven on Nov 28, 2010 at 11:19 pm

LOL… still remembered a vessel was hijacked. Comon~ ~ ! ! Even pirates cant resist to the “Hunt-Daei” (USA accent/pronouce). Somali pirates interested to “Hunt-Daei” motors nowadays, who is the bunch of outdated here I guess . . . hm ..hm.. (OK, just joking relax :>)

http://paultan.org/2010/01/07/somali-pirates-hijack-ship-with-hyundai-and-kia-cars/

• junaidi on Nov 28, 2010 at 11:46 pm

they have strong support over in US. Huge markets.

• sukasuki on Nov 28, 2010 at 7:46 pm

if i want to buy a car, i would consider a car that cheap to maintain, easy to get spare parts, FC just good, reliability proven and roadtax+insurance with low price. hurmmm…. only proton saga lama/saga iswara just fit all this requirement…

• thebugbud on Nov 28, 2010 at 8:57 pm

i’m once a hypocrite of korean cars till i tried the forte. The initial impression, the korean has came a long way and to be honest, the quality is rather good. Since i have interest with the new sonata, i have done some research and it seems that the general feedbacks are good. That’s add another point for sonata against camry and accord. So far, the only one that i have not tried is the new nissan with cvt. On paper, specs to specs, sonata wins. Warranty, sonata wins. I can’t remember where i read about toyota bought a sonata to take apart in order to workout how the korean managed to build such a car and remain profitable. Toyota is getting worried.

• Hunter on Nov 29, 2010 at 4:53 am

Adding to your info bro,

Regarding Toyota ‘buying’ other brands car and disassemble, its a standard practice even for our local UMW Toyotsu / Toyota. In Malaysia, they have a special R&D div in Shah Alam where they buy competitors cars and study them closely… its their effort to know what the competitors have and ‘somehow’ improve? sumore this helps with their homologation process of newer models. I think most car manufacturers practice this, like proton, etc (remember the toyota wish test mule proton used for exora?). Its not a sign of fear, but a sign that they are doing their jobs to TRY and improve.

……but still they come out with sub-par cars anyways.. dunno why eih?

• thebugbud on Dec 01, 2010 at 4:11 pm

I agree with you. :) I just went to check out the new sonata last monday. As far as it goes, the design is great but the material is not… sadly

Tried to workout the weight and the dimension, it’s difficult not to judge how much they have cut in materials.

Mits lancer is around 1350kg.. sonata is 1400 (2.0) and 1411 (for 2.4).

In anyway.. I must say, they did a pretty good job but still need to catch up further.

I was thinking of getting the sonata but now.. shopping for others…

• bobdbilder on Nov 28, 2010 at 9:03 pm

Better go buy before they blow each other up. I didn’t know that Seol was so close to the DMZ. All they need to score is a couple of 155mm Howitzers. Where does Hyundai make these cars anyway?

• Will they be asking inokom to assemble the new avante? Then rebadge it to inokom avante?

• MoFaz on Nov 28, 2010 at 11:26 pm

the article is about Hyundai, yet we see lots of people here bash ‘maserati’ instead.
    if you’re a pro, talk professionally. don’t give us biased review or doing the ‘review’ the car based on your assumptions only.

• To pay 100k for a korean metal is downright obscene.

• David on Nov 29, 2010 at 12:28 am

Obscene? Maybe paying 93k for a all-show-but-no-go Vios TRD Sportivo would be even more obscene. This car is in a different class, hence the 100k upstart price.

• squawk says:
    28/11/2010 at 10:40 pm
    Dude, I didn’t mention Toyota because it’s a given that when it comes to looks (even specs), there’s nothing to compare. Toyota stopped making good looking cars somewhere in the early to mid 90s. I mentioned Civic because there’s still some dynamism in their design (8th gen) but the 2012 model is a bit of a disappointment.

Are you a Honda owner or fan, Karl?

Neither. But as a sensible buyer you can’t dismiss the fact that these brand became default choice because of their credentials. So, l understand why people buy their cars though has less value than most rivals.

Having said that, stop buying these brands will them aware that they really only thinking about money, money and money. I not really into Korean brands due to their franchise holder, NAZAK and Sime Darby seemingly less reputable when it comes to post purchase behavior. In short easier to maintain these Japanese brand than Korean’s brands as many service centers for Honda and Toyota than any brands.

I’ll buy a Korean brand if they have right product with right pricing like latest KIA OPTIMA or Hyundai Santa Fe or i20 with potent diesel. Starex should be default choice for anyone instead of low class yet no safety Hiace or Urvan. Corolla or Civic still better bet than Avante unless they’re potent Hyundai diesel.

• captain_gaban on Nov 29, 2010 at 8:45 am

errr..can anybody advise if there will be any probability that Hyundai will revise/upgrade their Starex?? Mr. Paul perhaps??

• Sumpit on Nov 29, 2010 at 3:40 pm

Where’s the Maserati that drives a Cheyenne 4.8 Turbo? Still try to find a Cheyenne ti find out what was the switch meant for? Come to my parent’s house at Johore, we had few Cheyenne to show

kahkahkah, u play at other blogslah, bikin kacau aje kat sini. We are talking about HD Avantelah…

• car_lover on Nov 29, 2010 at 3:42 pm

just spotted this car at federal highway near sunway, with trade plate heading shah alam..

• road runner on Nov 29, 2010 at 4:54 pm

Wonder Y Auto ConneXion only bring in d 2.4 with ALL BLACK interior while others with more exec look – beige – PAULTAN, do u mind need ur advise… Tx.

• Maserati on Nov 29, 2010 at 7:19 pm

Didnt realise my name was so popular that someone used it to say that I drove a “Porsche Cayenne 4.8 Turbo”.

I dont drive a Cayenne

My goodness,i have three cars at home.A Honda City for my wife cause my wife is afraid of driving expensive cars,a Merc CLK,and a Merc CLS.I used MASERATI as my name cause I might be booking a recon one next year.

And if you say rich ppl have no time to comment in blogs,I think you have made a biggg mistake.Cause rich ppl dont work for thier money,their money work for them.Thats why we have loads of free time.

And I am 30 years old this year and not some old uncle you think I am.

I drive my wifeys Honda City and it is a million miles better than Forte lah.
    Ok let me explain to you how Forte steering wheel feels like.It feels rubberish.Not the material that its made of,the feeling of it when u drive at around 140km/h.It doesnt feel solid at all like the Honda City at all.If you dont believe,go test drive a City and Forte and lemme know the difference.

You all can say whatever you want,but I still think that Korean cars are not gonna touch the Japs in the coming decades.Not even close! Who dares to bet with me? In 10 years time ,you guys will know that I was right.Pls remember my name,will ya

• You can share your opinion here, but in kind of good attitude. show your maturity as 30 years man pls..

• your car pictures please , lol
      i can also say i have 4 cars, my wife drives polo , me rr ghost, audi a4 and a picasso c4
      what say you?

• He got tone of car in His Need For Speed games…. that’s where got chance drive what ever top range car? Maserati, if u really think u so rich, go donate some to Old Folk Home or School at kampung kampung area…..

• civicman on Nov 30, 2010 at 12:55 pm

maybe the first car is correct…the other two still in showroom….hehehe

• stephen on Nov 30, 2010 at 10:19 pm

To me, u sound more like daddy left u a fortune :p

• BeemerFreak on Dec 01, 2010 at 2:24 pm

I will bet with you. Let see ur wifes City or my Forte will last longer… chances are mine will last longer……….. Oh yeah btw in sg the recommended service interval for a synthetic oiled forte by Cycle and Carriage Singapore is 15000km so i also save more on maintenance. 45000km maintenance sgd 245, i demanded for Mobil One that shoot up to sgd 290. Can ur honda be cheaper than that.

One full tank petrol 53L milleage in town 560km…. try that honda city….u cant even reach 500. My neighbours city always finish before 500, he regreted not buying the forte cause he needed a car urgently but forte needed wait……

• Wisdom on Dec 01, 2010 at 3:07 pm

This is another good one from you maserati bro….
      keep up the good laugh… i bet you can be a good entertainer.

• Babygrand on Nov 30, 2010 at 10:43 am

I never test forte yet but new honda city if speed more than 100 is very very uncomfortable

• on paper, this Hyundai 1.6L can easily Dau Bao Ur Honda City anytime….

• yewch on Nov 30, 2010 at 9:42 pm

aku rasa mamat Maserati ni nak sangat award the most thumb downed poster kat blog nih, hahaha, oh lagi satu the most hilarious poster award, kah kah lah

kalau nak tipu pun agak-agak la sikit..