Proton Lekir Concept to go into production in 2 years?

It looks like the Proton Lekir Concept might just become a reality in two years – according to Proton Corporate Planning GM Dr Badrulhisham Mohd Ghazali. He told Bernama reporters at a Proton Carnival in Kota Baharu that Proton plans to produce a two-seater “Lotus-like” sports car in 2 years time. The car will be unveiled in about a year to a year and a half’s time.

The Proton Lekir Concept was based on the production Lotus Europa. Word is that the Europa was originally destined to have a Proton badge as well, and internally it was known as the Proton Sepang project. It was launched in 2006. Installed in its midship engine bay is a 2.0 litre turbocharged GM engine making 200 PS and 272Nm of torque, and it took the Europa to 100km/h in 5.8 seconds. An Europa SE was launched in 2008 with 225 PS, 300Nm and more creature comforts.

The Europa wasn’t really a huge success for Lotus and the position of a more refined Lotus has been filled by the Evora. The Europa has since been discontinued. Looks like a derivative of the Europa will continue serving as a Proton “people’s sports car”. I’m sure a 1.6 litre Campro CFE engine could be tuned up to match the GM engine’s 200 horsepower if necessary, perhaps lower in the interest of engine longevity. After all, Proton has already showcased a 200 horsepower 250Nm Campro installed in the Satria Neo R3 Concept, although that tune is still under development.

Look after the jump for pix of the Lekir from KLIMS.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1759]
[zenphotopress number=999 album=1760]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• JustUpgrade on Dec 23, 2010 at 5:41 pm

Anyone knows “Thunder Cats”? how similar the logo is? mmh…

• Sagua on Dec 23, 2010 at 7:29 pm

they should just rebadge any Lotus car, slap a RM150000 price tag, even basher will buy it !!

• sagatron on Dec 23, 2010 at 8:47 pm

i hope it will cost 100k..and for sure i will change those thundercats logo with lotus logo…..how brilliant i am,aite???

• Chris on Dec 23, 2010 at 9:35 pm

If it’s 100k, I’d buy one even if it’s in neon pink.

• wait the saman from JPJ sent to your house.. i got my friend who just bought inspira then change the badge to mitsubishi and then caught by JPJ in a road block..

• adlee on Dec 23, 2010 at 11:59 pm

advice your friend dont be so syok sendiri ler…proton use la proton logo..why change…proud to be a proton owner ma…

• Chris on Dec 24, 2010 at 8:24 am

I don’t really understand also… I mean.. the money for the emblem/logo, go buy teh tarik and satay lagi syok.. :P

Here’s how other people might look at you:
            Ori Inspira – “wooo nice.. new car eh?”
            Fake emblem – “woo lanc– wait.. something not right… cheh! cannot afford lancer now become a wannabe…”

^^ that’s how I think at least… Really syok sendiri only, you can’t fool anyone.

• tengkuroque on Dec 24, 2010 at 3:40 pm

did your friend got the JPJ saman’s? so how many wira’s already got JPJ saman’s for change the emblem? that show us that JPJ didn’t have enough money to pay their staff salary..hahaha…
          what if i change the mitsubishi logo with proton? should i get saman?

• Chris on Dec 24, 2010 at 8:03 pm

Identity fraud is a big crime. And I think changing the emblem of a car is such a thing.

One can be as innocent as just want to syok sendiri, or as bad as trying to fool the authority that a getaway car is a mitsubishi, but it’s not. And guess which one the authority will most likely assume?

Yeah, the worse case scenario always comes first… Else I’d already have a pistol to shoot tin cans at my backyard just to syok sendiri, I’m not going to shoot anyone.. I’m a good citizen.. but noooo I can’t have one because there’s a potential I’ll hurt someone..

Same reason lar, as far as I can see.

• retro on Dec 27, 2010 at 10:58 am

it is true. even naza bestari who change back to peugeot 206 logo get saman.

• i have to be honest, this car is ugly and hideous.
    i hope in two years time, they will come with a better design.

p/s: they should change their logo too. make it simpler and get rid of the fauna motif.

• Yes AAK.. agree with you.. looks something is missing.. I support what ever news came Proton. But this bodykit, IS NOT OUR MALAYSIA STYLE!

MUST CHANGE THE BODYKIT!!

:D

• lollipop on Dec 23, 2010 at 8:04 pm

bro you have your point,exterior really need some treatment, the car look like ”LEGO”, i believe proton designer can do better then this, 200hp proton sport car coming lol……

• Ash Menon on Dec 23, 2010 at 11:01 pm

The…fauna motif? As in the tiger? The symbol of Proton, of Malaysia? Our national animal? The animal that’s been on Malaysia’s coat of arms for years now?

Yeah, they’re REALLY going to remove that.

• the juke on Dec 24, 2010 at 9:18 am

I noticed that our country tends to have ‘National’ on everything…

• frossonice on Dec 24, 2010 at 8:15 am

No, keep the tiger but instead of Thundercats look alike, make if simpler and perhaps change it to frontal look of the tiger face. Like one of that logo from Nike’s Malaysian football jersey. Looks simple.

• tiger’s face? it might just turn out looking more like d Jaguar logo den….

• tiger’s face? That might just turn out looking more like d Jaguar logo. What would people say then? P1 copy Jag now???

• Jared Green on Dec 23, 2010 at 5:53 pm

Hey Proton – Get this beast to Australia, and you’ve got a long time fan who’d buy it!

However, Super Charge it instead of a Turbo and you’ve got yourself a deal!

• drMpower on Dec 23, 2010 at 5:54 pm

proton sepang

oh no
    not again
    cut out those crazy naming scheme lah

• Dik Mie on Dec 23, 2010 at 7:13 pm

It just codename la….

• drMpower on Dec 23, 2010 at 9:50 pm

yeah. it could be that
        but come on.
        how many hours and how many biscuits in meetings
        before they came up and say

” hurrmm…sepang is a good project name”

read it with some sarcasm, mate. lolz

proton exivo is another …. silly name.
        gosh this is one reason u dont ask engineers to give something a name
        it would sound terrible
        the same goes to asking engineer to suggest colour scheme to a car
        of which i think some few years ago it did happen in proton

for colour scheme ask artist lah. engineers do the engineering part of the paint ja.
        for naming a car…ask…. ?

• frossonice on Dec 24, 2010 at 8:20 am

Yes, naming a Proton car Sepang may not be a good idea. But mind you that Audi is using Sepagn as on of the automobile paint scheme name, the Sepang Blue which is really quite popular among Audi fans.

• that’s the project name, Sepang. the prototype name is Lekir. and as far as i know, the production car will be called ‘Proton Exivo’.

Exivo. sounds nice to me.

• Cannot.. must put ‘A’ .
        Exiva~

sagA
        personA
        wajA
        InspirA
        bla.. bla.. bla..

• hero86 on Dec 23, 2010 at 9:15 pm

well, for sports car maybe we can make exception.. but to be honest both sound nice.. Exivo or Exiva..

• Jaki Jipang on Dec 24, 2010 at 6:57 am

good point.. but what about gen2 and savvy? 8D

• ProProton on Dec 24, 2010 at 8:38 pm

i noticed proton renamed their model with weird name from Exora..

Exora
        Inspira = Waja
        Espire = persona/wira
        Exivo = proton sports car
        Xactive = proton SUV

saga dont know.. maybe they dont change it.. bcoz saga is their 1st ever model..

emas.. also dont know.. maybe emas just their concept name..

• tikus on Dec 23, 2010 at 11:04 pm

Most all Proton model name will end with “a”.

Example:- Saga,Persona,Wira,Waja,Exora,Perdana,Juara,Tiara,Arena,Inspira,Putera.
      Satria.

So..This sport car model should also end with “a”.Maybe ‘A” is Proton fung sui name.

• 2 years? make it faster please…lotus pun keluar model baru around that time..i mean, this car based on lotus europa right? shouldn’t be a problem for proton I guess..

• tah laa oii on Dec 23, 2010 at 8:03 pm

setahu saya la model ni memang hendak di jadikan proton 1st sport car.. tp that time tengah gawat so proton just bg lotus keluarkan “lotus europa”.. gambar ni http://paultan.org/2005/06/01/proton-sports-car-road-test/.. dalam sekitar tahun 2004-2005.. betulkan jika saya salah..

• Faster on Dec 23, 2010 at 8:38 pm

you want faster? do you know how hard to create a car? even the car based on other model, you should understand how many car to sell and how much malaysian people want to buy a malaysian’s sport car? and price?it cannot expensive like lotus..

you cannot compare with lotus,it’s different between proton and lotus in manufacturing industry, and you should be proud proton owned lotus and success to produce proton’s sport car with malaysian identity…well this is my suggestion…

• tikus on Dec 23, 2010 at 11:09 pm

Rebadge only mah…How hard it that? And about pricing…just sell higher lor.If poor respone,simple..just give discount lor!! Like NAZA!!

• Restructuring the factory and sourcing equipment and machinery, training of production and technical staff, finalizing design, deciding what’s the cheapest way to manufacture parts, to outsource or not.. It’s a complicated process. I think 2 years is a short time to wait. It’s even shorter when considering how to save up the money to afford one!

• Someone on Dec 24, 2010 at 9:21 am

1) “You should be proud proton owned lotus” And why, may I ask?? Proton aquiring Lotus is a simple matter of the highest bidder. Not to mention a lot came from the rakyat’s pockets.

2) “success to produce proton’s sport car with malaysian identity” Oh my. This is what I had feared, that Malaysians, esp those who don’t follow the car industry, who all believe that Malaysia has finally produced their own sports car.

Well, I’m sorry, but this is a REBADGE. And even if it was originally Proton Sepang, don’t tell me that Lotus(and its tech) wasn’t involoved

• bobdbilder on Dec 24, 2010 at 12:19 am

Its trying to take out the Aluminium tub chassis found on all Lotuses after Elise and change that to a monocoque that would be a bit of a hassle. Oh that and replacing all the bonding with welds. Then trying to make the process doable for a production line.

Korang ni memang bukit betul lah

• DICKYBIRD on Dec 26, 2010 at 12:31 pm

why? you got no confidence in the gam gajah that might be used in bonding the car? coz if you start welding the europa, then you are going to add extra weight and you end up with a heavy lotus car (which will make the hantu of colin chapman very angry) which then leads to lousy performance which will need to be remedied with a more powerful engine and thus more weight. all that means more cost in retooling and the final price of the car will be higher.

• you may have a point there. re-engineering it to be a monocoque may be the process that takes 2 years. it will be heavier though but then, i’m pretty sure that even if they monocoque this car, the handling will still be brilliant. monocoque will also make it easier to repair perhaps? just a guess.

• tah laa oii on Dec 23, 2010 at 5:55 pm

wau.. sapa mau beli? 10 unit per month? neo pun susah mau jual.. berbaloi ka?

• who told u neo susah mau jual??? i don’t think so…

• tah laa oii on Dec 23, 2010 at 7:50 pm

100% im say it.. than you are?? this is not the core product.. so just late lotus do they bizz..

• Faster on Dec 23, 2010 at 8:45 pm

Yes! I agree with you syuk, kalau rasa neo ssh nak jual itu saya rasa silap, tak semestinya sesebuah model kereta jarang nampak di jalanan adalah model yang ssh nak jual, Neo adalah 2 pintu, ia lebih fokus kepada sporty, jadi, sudah tentu pembelinya golongan remaja yang masih bujang. kalau orang berkeluarga hendak beli kereta, patut ke beli kereta 2 pintu? kesimpulannya, neo adalah sebuah kereta ala-sporty yang mampu dimiliki oleh golongan muda yang inginkan kelainan.

• bobdbilder on Dec 24, 2010 at 1:11 am

I think webmaster wont let me put a URL link to Motor Trader. Go to News/Market report (the one with the dollar icon). You would see the link to MAA October Sales report.

300 units a month of Satria Neo (all models).

Lain kali kalau nak menipu boleh tak tunggu dah besor, dah cerdik skit?

• Where’s ur fact bro?

• tah laa oii on Dec 23, 2010 at 8:12 pm

Where’s ur fact bro? cukup la setakat senyum mcm ni :)

• the fact is easy..u can see everyday on the road..if u don believe..tomoro morning around 7-8am u go out….if u said proton juara i can agree but neo? if am blind or u blinder

• agreed…there are neo’s everywhere…wondering why syuk mentioned hard to sell

• alf147 on Dec 24, 2010 at 9:36 am

bro…..for this year..car sales for exora is abt 250 units….since it is a malaysian car..we are deefinitely to see a lot of them on the road considering it is affordabel…

i think what is meant to say neo cannot be sell is by comparing a performance from saga,exora and persona..average is 1500 unit a month for each of the car…
            i know it is a different segment..but at the end it comes to profits issue for proton…

i am still in opinion that proton should produce a car for a larger market..org tua,muda,single, all will buy rather than retstrict the scope to org muda like proton…improve the quality of material use, quality of the car, from engine,ride and handling, and rnh, good after sale service…once we get a confident from malaysian..then later we produce the sports car.

this is a reality and a risk for proton to produce sports car….price will be a big issue..bashers are a lot to condemn here and there….drive sports car of proton, fauna logo la ape la…we still have a lot of ppl mentality like this..this is the chalenging part for proton..

• linear_system on Dec 24, 2010 at 5:43 am

senyum is your fact?lol..
          i agree,maybe neo is not as much as pesona,saga,myvi..it is just bcos neo is not for everyone bcos of its sporty design(2doors)..but u cant just simply say that it is hard to sell neo..

• RadzLee on Dec 23, 2010 at 5:58 pm

our own sports car? in 2 yrs time? mcm x percaya….

• nimosy89 on Dec 23, 2010 at 6:01 pm

wow….how bout jebat? im love widebody….

• Why not? From 2000-2005, Lotus build a “people’s sports car” already for GM, the Opel Speedster/Vauxhall VX220/Daewoo Speedster, based on the Lotus Elise:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vauxhall_VX220

This car didn’t damage Lotus’ reputation in any way. So why not a Proton Lekir based on the Lotus Europa?

On the other Hand: The Vauxhall VX220 wasn’t a commercial success for GM and had no successor after production stalled…

• borres on Dec 23, 2010 at 6:16 pm

If this car goes to production, I call dibs!!!

• Ruslikadir on Dec 23, 2010 at 6:17 pm

CamtakPro engine lagi??
    NO !!
    As usual Msian get the leftovers or rejected 2006 stuff from Lotus.
    That also shell only w/o engine.
    Thanks Dany Bahar for your generousity!!

• mystvearn on Dec 23, 2010 at 6:21 pm

Make it then I’ll belive it. Proton has been saying a proton sports car for the people for a long long time now.

• MoFaz on Dec 23, 2010 at 7:48 pm

building a sport car is not their main purpose. the market is very small in Malaysia. unless they market this as global product.

• it is a branding exercise. so it does not matter even if they sell a few units only.

• vw supporter on Dec 23, 2010 at 6:24 pm

wonder how much are they going to sell. They did put a very ridiculous price for satria neo rs. This time don’t know how much they will put in to con people again.

• rally_fan on Dec 23, 2010 at 6:40 pm

got such thing as satria neo rs meh? i thought the only recent launch from proton r3 was the lotus edition car at rm115k.. last i heard, practically sold out already.

• Mikiuk on Dec 23, 2010 at 6:25 pm

Proton can always take other car and rename. Look what they did for M. Lancer.

• rally_fan on Dec 23, 2010 at 6:42 pm

mikuk, the difference is.. these cars were developed by lotus, which proton owns 100%. please get your facts right bro.

• and this car originally supposed to be Proton..
      mesti tak ikut perkembangan Lotus Europa ni..

• Ferruccio on Dec 23, 2010 at 6:26 pm

If my memory serves me right I think this platform was originally intended to be Proton’s first sports car, dubbed M250 also called Project Sepang. The intent was revealed I think about 7-8 years ago when Tg Mahaleel ran Proton. Then used by Group Lotus for the Lotus Europa. The Europa’s composite body parts are already made by CTRM in Malacca

• mrkthxbai on Dec 23, 2010 at 6:47 pm

U mean CTRM composite Engineering issit ? hurm .. from what I heard the quality isn’t up to Lotus standard during the manufacturing year .. lot’s of problems .. CTRM .. sigh …

• so, u mean that almost 50% of Airbus A320 wing components and other aircraft components in service today all over the world, made by CTRM are low quality and lots of problems? are you trolling? lol?

• mrkthxbai on Dec 23, 2010 at 11:33 pm

That’s is CTRM AC .. one that i mentioned is CTRM CE … read properly dude …

• bobdbilder on Dec 24, 2010 at 12:37 am

Different company ah? Lotus being English wants to maintain UK production. English also nationalistic.

• CTRM CE
            -BAE Land Systems UK contract them build a Composites Launch Rails for tactical bridge
            -sub-manufacturer of a range of high-performance catamarans for LeisureCat Australia
            -Approved Composites Repair Centre for Formula BMW Asia Pacific.
            -they build Tactical Unmanned Aerial Vehicle (ALUDRA and INTISAR)

• hotsperm on Dec 24, 2010 at 10:00 am

Get ur fact right dude … Tactical Unmanned Aerial Vehicle wasnt produce by CTRM CE ..

it’s not even certified by DCA and struggling for government contract …

• mystvearn on Dec 23, 2010 at 8:08 pm

I saw on TV3 news more than 10 years back saying that by 2002 proton will have a sports car for its own market. This was way before the M250 concept. In fact TV3 did show that concept car. If I am not mistaken this idea was in 1996 and retold again in 1999. So now 2010 still nothing.

I really don’t mind proton having its own version of Audi R8. The car may not be cheap (read: not more than RM150k) since its a sports car but then if it can be serviced at all Protonedar/EON service centre nationwide that is a huge bonus itself. The only reason why BMW. Audi/VW are not commonplace everywhere like Mercedes is because of the dealership network.

• I don’t get it, why proton needs to rebadge a sports car? Can’t they just let Lotus focus on the sports car segment while proton focus on sedan? and if Proton do merge with Perodua, perodua can focus on small cars like the Emas.

Proton can’t even build a proper sedan, now they are talking about sports car. Focus focus focus! learn to walk before u run.

• like Tony Sparks said:
      “Sometimes you need to run before you walk..”

• hero86 on Dec 23, 2010 at 9:39 pm

nop.. don agree with you.. remember what Tony Stark say in iron man.. sometimes we need to run before we can learn to walk.. its a fantasy movies yes but it aslo can be inspiring..

• shawal on Dec 23, 2010 at 11:58 pm

Yeah…. a sedan is a core model, …
      I believe they got the saga FL right tho….. apart from putting ‘FL’ in the name… (its really2 dumb , you dont see a Merc E-CLASS FL (facelift) do you? , or a KIA PICANTO FL…

When the old Waja came out , i tot proton had finally arrived, until my family bought one and the interior plastics were made from the same material used to make combs, pale, toyogo plastic cupboards , it was that bad, my savvy is even worse! mmg plastik baldi tahap spastik sungguh….

The ‘Tuah’ Concept looks promising, I really hope they get it right with the next persona, a persona with hybrid powertrain will be soo schweet…. (plus all the safety bits comes as standard), and if it scores 5-star euro NCAP, bloody hell, i dont mind paying 75k for it , because its Malaysian Made and its worth it….

• bobdbilder on Dec 24, 2010 at 12:32 am

Us red blooded enthusiast been waiting for a Putra replacement model for too long. Why don’t you Camry drives STFU and just waddle down that road.

• good one there bro!! :D and the lotus europa is a great base for proton to build their putra replacement. it has all the credentials and all it needs now is an acceptable sticker price.

• *saving money mode*

• eisyam on Dec 23, 2010 at 6:48 pm

go proton go…make sure that car is a RWD, and it easily can compete with mazda miata…hopefully it also easily can be converted to ‘my little drift machine’ …hehe

• er, if you don’t know lotus’ cars, they are all RWD lah.

• but up there proton not lotus

• frossonice on Dec 24, 2010 at 8:57 am

Yes, up to Proton. But if they based it on Europa, it should be RWD since the engine is in the middle of the car. It won’t be logical to put the drive on the front.

• think bro! why would proton spend more time and more money to re-engineer this car when it is already good enough? think! think! think! … please, before commenting. it was designed as a MR so, that’s how the fans want it. and pleaselah, don’t ask whether it will be RWD or FWD, just goes to show how shallow your knowledge is.

• alldisc on Dec 23, 2010 at 7:08 pm

this Proton could be called Putra. or maybe Knight!!

• Dak Ajan on Dec 23, 2010 at 7:11 pm

If i not mistaken. CTRM did’t get the job and they never produce it in Malacca. Project Sepang is the code for this project and purposely for Proton. But somehow, Proton mngmt change it for Lotus in Europe. Europa did not perform well in europe market and the production hv to stop to bring Evora alive.  This europa they did rebadge it for Chrysler EV concept and i never hear anything from GM afterwards. Most of european bloggers believe that this Europa will perform well under Proton bonnet to cater Asia market especially M’sia market. And it will bring up a great honour to Proton brand. They call it as a MR2 killer.
    I wanna buy it because it’s a Malaysian 1st ever sportcar.

• greasemonkey on Dec 23, 2010 at 7:17 pm

built it 1st proton,then i think every basher will shut-up. anyway,tell me what makes u think that p1 cant build it?small local car co like Bufori also build 2 seater sport car.

• hero86 on Dec 23, 2010 at 9:44 pm

i dont think they will ever will.. but just take it positive.. just bring in on the road and see how it perform.. light weight body and turbo charged engine yet affordable could be a trigger to p1 for asian market..

• if u read the title carefully u will see “go into production in 2 yrs”..if u know where the title is

• SYeNi69 on Dec 23, 2010 at 7:26 pm

If this thing can go all the way to 240kmh or more … would you entrust ur LIFE with proton’s build quality ? I’m just wondering …

• FYI, There are proton’s on the road capable oh 240kmh and more. For example the GTI can hit 240kmh.

Not mentioning those modded with bigger capacity 1.8 GSR, EVO.

• SYeNi69 on Dec 23, 2010 at 8:08 pm

bro kancil also can hit 200kmh ++ with mods … im talking about stock form … and if they were to send this to a proton factory for assembly … this is a first for proton … but then again 1st batch seems to have problems all the time especially thoose coming out of a proton factory …

• hayden on Dec 23, 2010 at 8:50 pm

proton don’t want you to kill yourself.

• cannot hit 200km/h stock form coz of problems?

oh rly? my cousin’s early batch Neo CPS only tuned his stock ECU at a Proton SC and BAMMM!

he can go 210+km/h. your argument is invalid.

• kecy82afr on Dec 23, 2010 at 10:01 pm

i own one up until this day.99′ SGTI in stock form could never reach 240kmh.

• Diablo on Dec 23, 2010 at 10:57 pm

My Satria GTi topped at 190 and I’ve never met a GTI owner whose car could go to 240kph.. EVER!

• Prismo on Dec 24, 2010 at 8:23 am

Due to speed limiter bro…

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Dec 24, 2010 at 11:34 am

Likewise for mine. Well, 200 could be had, if there was a slight downhill inclination …

• for few sec got 200km/h…. then back to top speed 190km/h?

• JoeGTi on Dec 27, 2010 at 11:23 am

My GTi 1st model, std 215 km/h, with some modded stuff 240 km/h
          WHD 41XX

• tah laa oii on Dec 23, 2010 at 7:45 pm

what wrong with proton build quality?

• ko malu saje... on Dec 23, 2010 at 8:45 pm

stone age

• Kokopai on Dec 23, 2010 at 11:05 pm

So.. are you saying that if you drive a BMW or Merc or Ferarri at 240kmj++ hit teh back of a truck, the car you drive will protect you from harm?

• SYeNi69 on Dec 24, 2010 at 3:01 am

i’m talking about peace of mind … how safe would u fell driving a proton … at thoose speeds ???
        – where the side mirrors vibrate at 120kmh ++ …
        – where power windows get stuck … god knows if u were involved in a minor crash that didnt allow u to open the door but can only open the window as the only form of escape … and guess wut .. it doesnt work …

to my guess … i bet this thing gonna cost around RM150k or more … and guess the line of choices u have when priced around that range …

be rasional … would u buy a proton worth 100k when u can get a honda/toyota/nissan at the same price ???

my opinion if they are gonna make this .. don’t masspro it … make it limited … so that the quality is better and people cannot complain about the price cause of its exclusivity … :)

• kokopai on Dec 24, 2010 at 10:48 am

T, H & N again? for 200K can’t get their sports car. However I do agree making lekir a limited production sports car…

• seriously, u really gonna drive 240kmh here at msia although the car is capable?

• lol this guy is one funny troller.

1) last year i had a high speed accident in my bro’s Iswara. a Corolla rammed my bro’s car directly at the passenger side (where i was sitting) at around 80km/h…and guess wut…

..im still alive, I STILL CAN OPEN THE DOOR AND THE CAR STILL CAN MOVE, BITCHES! guess i’m pretty lucky huh? btw, the window surely doesn’t work coz the window mechanicals would be destroyed in the crash. here’s my tip, if can’t open the door, just smack the windshield with your foot, trust me it MUST work.

2) i guess the Lekir/Exivo will be priced around RM130k-160k.

“be rasional … would u buy a proton worth 100k when u can get a honda/toyota/nissan at the same price ???”

okay let’s see what kind of NEW T/H/N car we can find at that price..Toyota Camry? Nissan Teana? Sylphy? Honda Accord? CR-V? Stream RSZ?

all T/H/N car above can’t even compare with Proton Lekir/Exivo’s performance. once again, your argument is rendered invalid.

• Someone on Dec 24, 2010 at 9:28 am

Basically yes. See their crash test reports.

• kokopai on Dec 24, 2010 at 10:52 am

Lol…. did you read my reply/post properly.. I said 240 kmj.. crash test (frontal) are done at 40mph (which is somewhere around 64kmh+)

• Tiadaid on Dec 24, 2010 at 12:26 pm

Duh, even in a Volvo you’d die if you crash at 240kmh! Even in a BMW you’d die if you crash at 240kmh, as seen a while back in the sad case of the crash of the 7 Series on the Highway at Melaka, killing a family.

There’s a reason why crash tests are done at 40mph.

• theking on Dec 24, 2010 at 8:18 am

u talk nonsense!

• “PROTON OWN LOTUS.” PLEASE UNDERSTAND THIS STATEMENT.A** HOLE

• Suber on Dec 23, 2010 at 8:27 pm

Ok we here you loud n clear……Proton is actually own by our Govt which is as good as saying, all Malaysians ultimately.

Proton n Lotus have separate management team n kpi, so nothing is for free.

Since Proton owns Lotus, this car should already be in production or in a few months right?

• i agree. why the long 2-year wait?

• BadBET on Dec 24, 2010 at 9:21 am

2 years.. maybe because of budget constraint, since now proton is focusing on persona-R and campro turbo project. Maybe need time to adjust the material, engine, suspension and all legal thing that need to be clear before proton can bring it to Malaysia. In my opinion, 2 years is a reasonable waiting figure.

• i agree. and Proton also need to fund those Lotus future supercar projects maa…

• tontin on Dec 29, 2010 at 1:28 am

in order to make new model,they need to set up the production line first. because the platform is different so the production line layout also different.they also need to acquire new tools and mechanical machine such as robot ( to weld, paint and so on). all this need money and time to set up. and if some of you think why not take all the machine from lotus,yes you r right but still they need to prepare the layout, ship the machine all the way here, assemble it back and do the fine tuning.they also need to do test run also before proceed with producton…maybe that;r why need 2 years

• TO PROTON

Please change the bodykit! Look something missing.. X(

• OneManMachine on Dec 23, 2010 at 7:46 pm

If this car going for mass production, i think 2.0 litre should be enuff. Lotus halfcut, anyone?

• mystvearn on Dec 23, 2010 at 8:01 pm

The only reason I can think of why proton might want to make it if they make it is because they need to recoup investment from the Europa development. Since Lotus has moved to the Evora, not sure what to do with the Europa. Give it a go. If manage to sell 20/month that is already a very big plus.

Proton also has to forsee that Malaysia is turning (or will become) from big familes to single well off people who don’t want kids.

• shawal on Dec 23, 2010 at 8:25 pm

Nice Badge~! if only the same can be said about the car…
    The europa is an old car , and it was not a very good one , why bother , what target customer are they aiming? these people must consider the price, maintenance impracticality of a coupe, and also depreciation …

a CKD evora S will be much more appealing

• believe me, there will be a market for this car. only the brits who drive like crazy say it is not hard core enough. but malaysians would prefer a slightly softer car to cope with our bad roads and those who buy this car will not mind the impracticality as it is not bought to be practical in the first place.

• shawal on Dec 23, 2010 at 11:49 pm

usually people who buy sports cars are people who already have other cars, sports cars have to make you feel special since you coughed up some money either on the track or while being gawked at….so , Im not sure who will buy this car cuz, some people will go for a 2nd hand jap/europe/ coupe grey import because even if its old, it makes them feel special (they’re bachelorhood dreamcar maybe) , so…for Proton’s sake, they better get the performance , interior trimmings and the price right….

I do want proton to succeed btw…

• if malaysian don wan..thai is market can be consider since all European car there too costly than us here..lekir has it european heritage can be hit there since the pricing will be proton pricing..there is indon n indian market also

• i always want one, a car that can smoke all 2nd hand car that you mentioned about especially if it is a proton car. muahaaha…

• makeitmine on Dec 23, 2010 at 8:31 pm

Red & Black would be a better color tone. Softer suspension and good sound proofing would be ideal.

What!! You care about bodykit more than safety? If you sit in a sports car, make sure it comes with NCAP 5 star rating. Less than that, Proton, don’t even dream to produce.

• which NCAP rating? there ANCAP(aust), CNCAP(china), LNCAP(latin), Euro NCAP, NCAP(US), JNCAP(jap)..if proton don sell that car in europe, no need for that

• proton da pawahhh on Dec 23, 2010 at 8:50 pm

lambang kepala rimau PROTON tu memang cantik..
    harap maybank kepala rimau join projek ni..

design depan rasanya dah ok.. tapi design tepi dan belakang.. ntah la rasa macam ada kurang “sikit” je

kereta TOYOTA SUPRA CONCEPT tahun 2008 dulu nampak jauh lebih kemas dari kereta di atas ni.

ni gambar dia
    http://www.supracarparts.com/images/2008_Supra_Concept.jpg

komen saya.. warna hitam di tepi kereta konsep proton lekir tu memang kacau habis rupa tepi dia.. ditambah dengan sport rim yang macam tak masuk langsung dengan keretanya.. kalau chrome sepenuhnya rasanya jauh lebih baik.

lampu belakang terlalu tertonjol macam mata tengah amat sakit nak terkeluar dari sarungnya. harap proton dapat perkemaskan design rekabentuknya supaya mata yang memandang nampak indah atau amat mengancam dan garang.. bukannya nampak macam kereta tengah sakit.. kereta konsep mesti falsafahnya berasaskan alam sekitar sebagai guru paling utama.

sekian dari saya yang menyokong projek proton, semoga Malaysia terus berjaya dalam ilmu kejuruteraan automotif moden.

• Faster on Dec 23, 2010 at 11:17 pm

maybe setiap pendapat berbeza dari sudut pandangan masing2… saya rasa design ni dah sangat cantik, lgpun design ni kan baru concept untuk kereta lotus eropa kepada lekir, rasanya proton sedang ubah design untuk memasukkan element (DNA) proton kepada design kereta lotus ini. tapi bg saya mmg sangat cantik, kita tunggu perkembangan seterusnya dari proton.

• Joseph on Dec 24, 2010 at 8:38 am

is this a public statement written by JASA of KPKK staff? Shees.

• thepil0t on Dec 23, 2010 at 9:02 pm

launch now also donno who’ll buy.. somore 2 years later only sell.. can tapau dy..

• makeitmine on Dec 23, 2010 at 10:12 pm

Lotus should help redesign the car/components for low end market. Build small quantity like 10000 units and export all over the world to feel what the market wants.

Even Inspira components will be exported to Mitsubishi Thailand that shows the strength in Proton design.

Even if Proton failed as a full fledge car manufacturer, it still can tap on components and engine market. Proton, keep doing it right until you find your cash cow (car)!!

• thepil0t on Dec 23, 2010 at 9:04 pm

who will buy?? comfirm overprice.. somore 2 years later only sell..

• overpriced means you can’t afford it. don’t assume everyone like you.

• ferum on Dec 23, 2010 at 9:53 pm

good thinking….25 years already with re-badge with many power window rosak, handle cabut, …..

dont compare perodua bcos they are just assembly it, even there are the second ..not like proton 1st….

• Don’t always compare P1 with P2 lah…..Tired….. P1 should not just always compete with P2 or said P2 took away their sales…. The should improve their design like Hyundai/ kia, Then take down Toyota (I heard hyundai Done it??? Rumors?)…. P2 is nothing, just leave it alone…. 1 Malaysia, no point attacking each other…… Saga is good try, I went to the show room, Saga vs Viva, now I will choose Saga. (Last time will choose Viva (Uni student), Saga (Working already need bigger car)……

• Who am I? on Dec 23, 2010 at 9:54 pm

Overprice? Which model you are comparing? perodua viva or other entry level sport car like Mazda RX8 (I mean brand new car not recond, as recond car can be considered as 2nd hand).

• Who am I? on Dec 23, 2010 at 9:59 pm

Overpriced? Which car you are compare to? perodua Viva? or those entry level sports car like RX8? (Don’t say recond is cheap, as recond is a second hand car). I don’t think it should be considered overprice when the car sell at below 120k.

• thepil0t on Dec 24, 2010 at 1:05 am

below RM120k?? lolss.. fakelancer also sell 92k dy.. i guess if it fitted an engine180hp n above.. the otr price would be RM150K n above to 200k.. let wait n see.. hope u’ll still buy no matter wat price it is.. lolss..

• altecs on Dec 23, 2010 at 9:40 pm

I’m not into the looks of this car, but I like direction in which proton is going. More sportier models from our local car companies is something many young malaysians have desired. It doesn’t need to be a supercar lotus, something like a 200hp neo would be more than enough for many. If proton could do such a thing, no longer will I drool over a Integra dc5 or a civic type R. :)

• DaveDiablos on Dec 23, 2010 at 9:47 pm

If only i had the money to buy this…T.T

• idneffa on Dec 23, 2010 at 9:50 pm

good to hear back this sport news.. hope proton will change the look and feel according to current taste and needs by the time they wish to launch this model…

• waimak on Dec 23, 2010 at 10:20 pm

Now I know, this was supposed to be Proton 1st sports car right? But who wants to buy Proton I mean as sports car. Proton is more known for everyday car for me. But if this ever happened, it must look much much much better than the Europa. It’s just fair I guess.. All the best proton!!

• Retaurant Lotus on Dec 23, 2010 at 10:31 pm

someone is caught using extension cords cap ayam @ KLIMS.

http://paultan.org/photo/index.php?album=proton-lekir-live-gallery&image=dsc_0737b.jpg

:P

• Jimmy on Dec 23, 2010 at 10:52 pm

The car is cantiq, but the Thundercat is not — something simpler & symmetrical is better.
    Original engine, or upgrade, is better, but Campro I think cannot match the look of the car yet.
    Rebaged Lotus worth RM150K.
    Campro-hearted one worth RM100K.

• Jimmy on Dec 23, 2010 at 10:57 pm

EXCEEVO.
    Sounds nice?
    Exceed Evo (Sorry ya Mitsu fans).

• seriusSAM on Dec 23, 2010 at 11:05 pm

even if the price around RM100K
    there’ll still people will buy this lekir
    but if does make into production, please keep the rim design don’t change it.. please

only loser and poser will change that proton emblem into lotus emblem

lol

• jtiongwl on Dec 23, 2010 at 11:11 pm

Nevermine, nobody buys means a slap to Proton ( stupid ) and it will help to force them to close down the production and even make a loss.

Hopefully it is big enough to cause the factory to close down, then NAP will be revised as it doesnt make sense until that moment. We shall be happy about that.

Just cant understand, why people still proud of the Pahlawan Series, which infact shall be rebadge as coward series ( Siri Pengecut )…………

• Faster on Dec 23, 2010 at 11:13 pm

That amazing Proton! The logo is nice, bodykit is nice,i wonder what is the name of it…maybe it could be Proton Putra Knight?

• The future thinker on Dec 23, 2010 at 11:33 pm

my thinking was instead of proton making new cars for 2 years, they should be thinking of putting a 2.5L V6 in a persona or a 2.0L turbo 250hp – 300hp in an exora…not another of copycat car

• why u need so much HP & Torque for normal driving? U preparing for Racing at Sepang or Macau?

• autojohndoe on Dec 25, 2010 at 10:12 pm

kahkah…

You name yourself futurethinker, but at the same time car maker are making small displacement engine for future, oppose to your suggestion…

• Jimmy on Dec 23, 2010 at 11:34 pm

People who buy this kind of car will not care about practicality/resale value. It is the look + feel (when we drive) that matters (so, no half-hearted Campro ya)with it.
    As a toy or spare car is quite a good idea, provided that there are mechanics who are familiar with it.

• ^pomen_GTR^ on Dec 24, 2010 at 8:31 am

yeah..bulsh*t resale value myth….

when u buy a car u are sure not to sell it in shortest time possible….especially when u comitted to 5-9years loan tenure….

i wonder how proton SC and authorised proton SC gonna/body repair shop in keeping their mechanics up to date in repairing bonded-aluminium chasis…

• nabill on Dec 24, 2010 at 12:24 am

why does it take two years to build…?
    the car is not a concept…its already manufactured by lotus…putting diferent engine shouldnt take two yrs to sort out…i hope thy change the front headlight…looks ugly

• bobdbilder on Dec 24, 2010 at 12:46 am

We can’t afford to buy a car with Aluminium tub chassis ler. All Lotus cars after the Elise have bonded and extruded aluminium body. If you did a google you’d know. Its ok nobody in this list of comments did it either.

• Whatever on Dec 24, 2010 at 12:43 am

With this hole here hole there. And lousy quality road. You think it is practical ? I don’t think so

• if they make a convertible version, i probably get one..huhu..

• useless suggestion…then we’ll be looking at accident rate in malaysia to increase like 10x…..
    even with the current campro, the exora drivers (some) is driving like they’re driving a gti…and u want 300hp exora..?

and again…the copycat issue….booooooring…

• Notakosong.com on Dec 24, 2010 at 2:23 am

i dont think it will be a rebadge, and not even a new car also.
    hell i dont even care, its a beauty!

what would be interesthing is the engine and of course how reliable it is?

• Hafiz on Dec 24, 2010 at 4:25 am

lol this car is going to be a fail project.. please stop rebadging peoples product and make your own 1!

• exJAVANESE on Dec 24, 2010 at 10:46 am

Hmmm…don’t u get it buddy??
      PROTON own LOTUS!!

• seriusSAM on Dec 24, 2010 at 9:00 pm

I still remember that someone comment on several lotus vs tony articles here in pualtan.org; he said PROTON only majority share holder IN LOTUS and not own LOTUS..

lol

I’d like to see that dude respon to you reply meh

• Thought Proton grew up by staying out of niche markets. Guess I was wrong….

• Jaybond on Dec 24, 2010 at 8:42 am

2 year’s time is quite late, especially for a car which was released 5 years ago. But I think it’s quite understandable given the time taken to build up the local supplier base plus the line set up to produce this car. But I think, Proton should go for a total (but must be attractive) re-design of the front & rear fascia, and of course Proton’s engine, Campro Turbo perhaps. It will give the Proton Lekir it’s own identity rather than just lifting everything straight from the Lotus Europa.

• Aminlife on Dec 24, 2010 at 8:52 am

Lotus = Proton = Get it? (Proton Own Lotus)
    Lexus = Toyota = ( Toyota Own Lexus)

hmm..usually as long as our own (malaysian car). many people do not care. (But the fact is, many of us googling “inspira”.:P When you go to foreign countries and saw the car used by a foreigner,You would feel proud, even En.Basher will feel (proud) too. Critical thinking is good but please dont too emotional.

• frossonice on Dec 24, 2010 at 9:11 am

Great news! Perodua is going to rebadge old Toyota MR2 in 1 1/2 years time to fight this Proton Lekir and they going to call it Perodua Vavi!

Hehehe.

• BadBET on Dec 24, 2010 at 9:30 am

good luck proton

• makeitmine on Dec 24, 2010 at 10:04 am

Lotus Europa wasn’t a huge success and Proton wants to rebadge it. I think it will be a waste of effort.

First, get Lotus to redesign the car for mass production would be the right thing to do. Maybe Kers with 1.6L turbo and hybrid engine will attract better attention. Then sell the engine, technology, platform to car manufacturers/assembly worldwide.

Proton only produce limited quantity and provide support.

• The Europa wasn’t really a huge success for Lotus and the position of a more refined Lotus has been filled by the Evora. The Europa has since been discontinued. Looks like a derivative of the Europa will continue serving as a Proton “people’s sports car”. =.=”

• exJAVANESE on Dec 24, 2010 at 10:42 am

Proton own lotus, so i dont mind if they wanna production this!!!

Yerghh..go..go!! (but not in this sheme color laa…damn ugly!)

• i totally agree with you on this! lotus is owned by proton so it is their right to rebadge it. same way toyota rebadges daihatsu products.

colour is subjective, right now it is just a concept. production will be very different.

• halim on Dec 24, 2010 at 10:43 am

WOW!!!
    Cantik dan bagus !! Maju lah PROTON.

• just change all the black colour body to white.. it will looks better.. and make sure it’s bi-xenon headlight..

• guess who on Dec 24, 2010 at 12:19 pm

sweet car …

• blank on Dec 24, 2010 at 12:25 pm

i wonder will they rebadge the new Elan/Esprit when they are out.

• don’t think they will do the newer models. the europa is discontinued i think (not sure) and that’s probably why proton can continue using the car as a proton. no point wasting a good thing.

but is you say the europa is discontinued and outdated in europe, then i would say, we probably don’t have what it takes to take the europa to its limits yet. for that, maybe you’d need a tengku djan, or tommy lee or oh kah beng or even marcus chye etc. but, for most of us guys on the street, finding out the europa’s limits will be the true joy of owning it. doesn’t matter whether it is badged a lotus or proton. it is the chassis that matters.

• just do it on Dec 24, 2010 at 1:07 pm

if proton rebadge this lotus europa plz change that rear bodykit and tail light..coz look ugly….front just fine similar like gen2 light….maybe can improvised a bit…engine should atleast 220-250hp..and minimum 250torque…weight must be lighter.. turbo, supercharge or superturbo dun care..as long power…and got quality..that will shut up basher mounth…price should be below 180k…minimum 120k….

• ycfoo on Dec 24, 2010 at 3:59 pm

wah nice finally hv a road regal car for track day event. next will see what is the car spec & price loh.

• proton need to produce sports car…they do need it…as they said,they target those young college students and as well,this time they could target the richer people…and we know these people are crazy with sport cars right ??…BUT …proton need to increse their safety on their cars too…i watch topgear,and how the Waja only get 3 stars…hoho…we’ve also seen in tV’s and news paper too that a lot of car accident involve lots of proton cars…the price…erm…not too cheap but yet not to expensive la…’not too cheap’ i mean is that the car must have more quality than the previous cars they made right ?….’not too expensive’ i meant as for example,the proton chancellor…OMG…i only once saw it on the road…i could not compare it with the waja..only the longer wheelbase…yet,so much expensive than the waja…hope they produce this lotus-base sport car…and the proton PM5 concept too !…that concept was a beauty…anyway,just my opinion…=)

• ha…. Proton is going to boom its sales in 2012… Proton Emas, Proton Persona replacement and now… Proton Lekir…. everybody says 2012 is the end of the world but it is not the end of Proton lol….if it really happened all these 3 cars launched in the same year (2012)… then Proton proves to break its own record…

• Hence on Dec 24, 2010 at 8:41 pm

Wow!! This is superb.. I’m proud to he malaysian.. Keep it up proton and make us proud.. I working so hard every year.. If proton need some of my money from my tax for ur R&D, then im happy for u to use it.. If it failed, u should try again.. Just don’t give up.. Make us proud.. Just ignore all those stupid miserable basher.. They like it or not proton will still alive.. Go proton!! One day u will be better than Japanese car.. It’s not impossible..

• Hideous. Pointless.

• retro on Dec 27, 2010 at 10:56 am

why hideous? why pointless? please have some basis for your claim.

• First, Proton give the shivers to Mitsubishi@Evo@Lancer owners and now Lotus exclusive club is about to be challenged.

Don’t laugh, you might be next.

• google guy on Dec 25, 2010 at 4:59 pm

dude, its tony stark
    if in doubt, GOOGLE!

mid engine; not neccesarily fitted with monstrous hp or gigantic V8, its the handling should be focused on.
    i got a mid engine mr2, this lekir should be next mr of mine. 1.6cc either turbo or supercharger please!
    and i dont want the window regulator fitted, manual should be ok
    do it Lotus style please!
    psuedoed MR2 Killer, definitely a wow…

Dear readers, driving an MR is totally different than FF, so stop boasting on 200++ hp coz MR driving is all about handling and corners.
    btw to add grievance, I had a heavily mod GTI driver wetted-pant at corners with my mr2. enough said.

• derek achawong on Dec 25, 2010 at 6:28 pm

this might be in topgear because proton satria neo s2000 will be in new topgear season

• derek achawong on Dec 25, 2010 at 6:36 pm

this can be in topgear because proton satria neo s2000 will be in new topgear season

• derek achawong on Dec 26, 2010 at 1:10 am

just watch the christmas special,got some previews on new season

• Citroen DS3 on Dec 27, 2010 at 11:55 am

ooo.. the long awaited Putra replacement / Satria GTi replacement?? whooo-sssaaahhh… i wouldn’t mind if low power if the power to weight ratio is right and the handling can matched world class standard…

• Citroen DS3 on Dec 27, 2010 at 11:58 am

wait.. i just have an epiphany.. Proton Lekir and the Lekir as in Hang Lekir?? Ok maybe the name please change abit.. but the idea of a putra replacement / Satria GTi replacement… shivers.. woohoo!

• Citroen DS3 on Dec 27, 2010 at 12:00 pm

and just because China Car makers comes out with the most awkward names for their cars.. why can’t proton calls is like Proton S1? or P1600? or even some alphanumberic thingy to make it sound technologically advance.. not LEKIR!

• carbon on Dec 28, 2010 at 9:50 am

proud that Lekir will be production soon…my team the one that built Europa S….made in Malaysia……

• bullshittingpotong on Jan 04, 2011 at 5:50 pm

don dream la… even inspira cost almosts 100k..
    sure proton will potong tengkok lu la…
    proton is full of shit… just waiting to burst!!!

• siti zawiyah on Jan 11, 2011 at 12:42 am

Saya suka!!!

• hey guys common,support our local’s car,proud to be malaysian oke,this car not totally lotus,its got better design with a better performance.even proton got their customer in europe,be proud.

• carbon on Jan 12, 2011 at 4:00 pm

agreed prez

• i m not into cars but my hubby seem to like lekir so much…so i’m saving up to buy him one once its launced. Just wondering…how many people can a lekir fit?..(proves that i know nothing about cars)

• Alson P on May 11, 2013 at 10:20 pm

I hope lekir 1.6/1.8CFE lunch this year with price RM80K below…