smart fortwo lightshine edition – tarting up tiny, again!

You’d figure that something already as cute as a button doesn’t really need to be transmogrified, but why deprive good marketing when the opportunity presents itself? Case in point – the smart fortwo cdi, which now comes in a special limited run called the lightshine edition.

It’s based on the passion coupé model, and exterior-wise, the lightshine edition gets a combination of light green matte body panels, LED daytime running lights, colour coded headlamp bezels, ‘lightshine’ badging and new pulse three-double spoke alloys in an exclusive paint finish.

As for the interior, the lightshine gets new upper dashboard and glovebox designs along with improved materials and new fabric pattern. The passion model’s high line navigation system is to be found here, with a new larger touchscreen, CD/DVD/SD functionality and iPod interface in the mix.

Other dress up items include a sporty three-spoke steering wheel with paddle shifters and floor mats with the ‘lightshine’ logo. Just 86 of these cars are destined for the UK market, all equipped with the 54 hp cdi engine and softip transmission of the pulse version.

Gallery after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1871]

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Black Dog on Jan 13, 2011 at 12:41 pm

This is a failed project, nobody wants it esp in USA.

Unless they make an electric version and sells it for Rm40K, then can use for runabout to the market, ….oops can’t even do that cos no space to put veges!

• mohsin on Jan 13, 2011 at 12:44 pm

more UGLY than before!
    equation: FU***** UGLIER!

• racotua on Jan 13, 2011 at 1:49 pm

maybe it is time for a new smarter fortwo. this is already past its prime. no point rehashing an old, leftover dish.

• kramz on Jan 13, 2011 at 3:08 pm

looks like a bubble, not nice at all

• ahBeng on Jan 13, 2011 at 3:12 pm

wahh so interesting, got face-lift (FL) model now :-)

• a car that size is decent for a short-trip to town or market.

agree that they should come out with an Electric version.

i like the design of the rim thou. =)

• justin bieber looks bigger

• racotua on Jan 13, 2011 at 5:46 pm

they should have killed this and kept the coupe and roadster models.

• Disgusting!

• BuRaIaN on Jan 13, 2011 at 7:01 pm

Horrendous and completely undesirable.

• shah rukh khan on Jan 13, 2011 at 8:35 pm

stupid for two!

• civic_conscious on Jan 13, 2011 at 8:37 pm

why they produce this car by the way?

• Goodtimes on Jan 13, 2011 at 10:11 pm

omg why r u guys hating smarts? lol

Malaysia should have ppl like me who loves this lil run-about vehicle so we would actually get the car CBU/CKD into Malaysia.

1,000 KM on a full single tank of gas (RM50ish), Stupid traffic jams in the peninsula, Fuel hike AGAIN, this is a smart choice, for student or 2nd cars, if only they can be sold here in Bolehland for under RM60K.

Yes there will b ppl comparing it with near-similarly priced vehicles, Myvi, Picanto, Vios etc, bcoz they have more than 2 seats, but lets face it, do you need a 4-7 seater bulk when driving alone or with your girl to work, Bukit Bintang, to uni or to Lepak?

Its a 2 seater sub-merc, its eye-catching, its unique, its safe, its efficient than most sub-compacts that you can think of. I had personally drove the 2nd Gen, its freaking spacious, although i don’t carry around 3 check-in bags, a bike and a casket everywhere i go…

• Goproton on Jan 13, 2011 at 10:38 pm

they never see the real car nor drove one before…they just want to bash…that’s all…
      this is a very good car to drive….
      oh ya and in US….Americans love big cars la….
      and Malaysian know nothing bout city car bla bla bla…because cannot afford….so they buy city car for racing,long journey,drag race….

• Chris on Jan 14, 2011 at 12:11 am

Agree bro. I think this car should be sold tax free.

How many of us here drive to work in our B/C segment car alone everyday? Not everyone get to car pool.. and the Smart is the perfect commute-to-work car.

Two lane road can be used as 3 lane, 2 normal car length can fit 3 Smart. So a spot normally that fits 4 cars will be able to fit 9 cars! Solves parking issues too…

Bah… I’m just dreaming.. better go to sleep..

• Gajen on Jan 14, 2011 at 5:08 pm

IQ is somuch better