Limited edition ‘Samurai Design’ Suzuki Swift for Italy

Italians tired of the Tricolore on a Fiat can now opt for some Japanese flavour. Suzuki has a limited edition version of its Swift supermini and it’s called Samurai Design. It’s purely a styling package, without any changes under the rounder edged skin of the current Swift, which is still yet to be introduced here.

Based on the five-door Swift, the Samurai Design consists of red paint and a Rising Sun flag on the roof. Like on the MINI, that same design is repeated wing mirror caps. A white stripe runs length of the car’s sides and there are special logos on the C pillar, which is blacked out here.

There’s no extra charge for the Samurai Design, so it’s first come first serve. More pics after the jump.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• klguy on Mar 08, 2011 at 9:36 am

the japs are really running out of ideas

• sagatron on Mar 08, 2011 at 10:14 am

whats the differents anyway???its still the same…..lame japan..

• where got same ?
        blind ar ?
        one got sticker one without .. you go and stick your car, see got same or not .. stupid saga-man

• swifter on Mar 08, 2011 at 12:09 pm

im using swift…i think its just the same…whoever care bout sticker??i also can paste that sticker and called my swift “samurai edition” or whatsoever…

• Goproton on Mar 08, 2011 at 2:14 pm

you ppl just don’t read….
            ‘There’s no extra charge for the Samurai Design, so it’s first come first serve’

• SubbieDoctor on Mar 08, 2011 at 12:25 pm

It’s strange when BMW put the England Flag on the top of Mini Cooper roof n side-mirror the Mini Looks so Cool and nobody really relates it to WWI or WWII or making any noise..When Swift put up an ancient Jap Flag everybody kinda dislike the look of it.

What about the same ancient jap flag design on top of the Mini Cooper? Will anyone like it?

• Will you put you bad memories picture on your lovely car?
        Did you see the pakatan flying the umno flag in they vicinity?

try to figure out the questions and you will find the answer for it

• kaskas_pepper on Mar 08, 2011 at 9:42 am

remind me the world war II

• vw_fan on Mar 08, 2011 at 9:47 am

it seriously looks weird to me.

the chinese characters on the car somehow conjures images of angmohs tattoing chinese characters onto their bodies.

i think its a cheap look coming from a car manufacturer. it it was done at kedai aksesori ABC i can understand.

• Protonkb on Mar 08, 2011 at 9:47 am

Very nice car…i like it..

• kokopai on Mar 08, 2011 at 9:56 am

Wohooo.. that reminds me of Loudness!!!!!!!!

• clutch basah on Mar 08, 2011 at 4:32 pm

haha! about to post same comment.. you beat me to it.. :)
      heavy chain baby!!

• What’s next? Swastika Nazi on Merc and BMW?

Then for Proton it would be Tongkat symbol lah.

• no la, it is RM symbol that says businessmen here will cheat for your money..

• whatever on Mar 08, 2011 at 10:39 am

no wrong ….. proton will use SILAT concept

• dartz on Mar 08, 2011 at 2:55 pm

malaysian already in front when doing flag for cars….just wait come 31 August

• learner on Mar 08, 2011 at 10:09 am

samurai design!!! sound funny for me. swift is nice but i wouldn’t want to be seen driving under those rising sun flag.

• vincent on Mar 08, 2011 at 10:13 am

Try to sell this car in China and see? During revolt, for sure first one to kena.

• not only in china, but also in korea.

• Lem0n on Mar 08, 2011 at 8:07 pm

I think any places that were invaded by Japan will happen too. I can imagine a burn down car already (like how they burnt flag).

• kitman on Mar 08, 2011 at 10:34 am

this is so offensive ……..suzuki should not have done this. how would the Europeans feel if merc, bmw, vw and audi dorn swastikas and nazi flag on the roof of their cars?

• buzuu on Mar 08, 2011 at 11:18 am

very soon the ah beng and ah lian who owns/drive swift would wanna do this to their car.
    bwahahahahaha losers

• seriously ugly..big time.
    how come….arghh…

• chidori on Mar 08, 2011 at 11:35 am

nothing special

• would be nicer on a white car

• peeps on Mar 08, 2011 at 12:02 pm

seeking for more sales. so call limited so ppl that bought feel special.

• ezracopters on Mar 08, 2011 at 12:24 pm

my God..

limited edition.. only add stripes.. why not call it Loudness Edition @ So Lonely Edition @ “i wanna make believe my stripes as good as British Union Jack” Edition on our Super Mini cars.. hahaha.. well, in the spirit of Dasar Pandang ke Timur, why not Malaysia did Viva in Jalur Gemilang edition hahahaha..

whilst the car was great, the marketing strategy was super lame.. Japs truly run out of idea.. even local accessories shops in Malaysia can do it better.. i think at least adding different ICE and bodykits can be acceptable to call it Limited edition.

• Waterproof Camera Fanatic on Mar 08, 2011 at 4:34 pm

I agree.

While other carmakers change the skirtings and internal layouts, plastering the top of the car with samurai theme and selling it like a limited edition model is a bad idea.

• anti Imperialist Japan on Mar 08, 2011 at 12:58 pm

We shall complain to the Japanese embassy becoz Suzuki is actually using the Imperial Japan flag during WW2 as the motif for this car!

• Julian Lee on Mar 08, 2011 at 1:45 pm

BMW Better

• vw_fan on Mar 08, 2011 at 2:17 pm

this could very well be conceptualized by an angmoh who knows nothing about what the rising sun flag represents. just like many people in malaysia who doesn’t know what the swastika represents.

• don’t bring back the war bring back the sweet memories

• dartz on Mar 08, 2011 at 2:58 pm

already many jalur gemilang on proton when come 31st august

• With the flag painted on the side mirrors, this Swift look like some kind of fish :-)

• jong84 on Mar 08, 2011 at 6:29 pm

Try put ‘1’ symbol on Myvi rooftop to become ‘1 Malaysia Edition’

• Ahh pls put the banana split on the top :)

• BMW-More Problem on Mar 08, 2011 at 8:59 pm

ppl grow up….

• The 1st thing i’ll do if i buy this car is to PEEL OFF those damn stickers!

• nolan on Mar 08, 2011 at 9:49 pm

I’m a fan of japanese product b ut not to this extend laaaaaa…

• legs2tyres on Mar 08, 2011 at 11:44 pm

I think its not the ‘best’ first effort, but it does deserve praise for attempting to be creative and different, and maybe even a hint of ‘interesting’.
    Give these guys at Suzuki a chance, their not used to being creative u know.
    Look at how conservative all these manufacturers are and I can appreciate Suzuki trying to break out of the mould, no pun intended.

• harry on Mar 09, 2011 at 2:02 am

Wow this look like a Geisha!

luv the car not luving the stripes…

• ismazri on Mar 09, 2011 at 9:51 am

The day of kamikaze come again, neither sky nor sea but road.

• If they think this could move the italians heart, their marketing crews should be fired.

I would says, a very very tiny small no. of people in Italy will buy this car. Worst part, when it comes to selling, it will be as hard as trying to sell off your peugeot, citroen, or skoda to buyer as compared to T&H in Malaysia.

Jap car is as rare as skoda in Malaysia.