Kia Rio Sedan makes NYC debut, styling different from K2

Last week, we showed you the Kia K2 sedan from the Shanghai show. That B-segment sedan has a China specific design and will be produced domestically for Chinese consumption. Here’s the K2’s sister car, the Rio Sedan, which was unwrapped at the New York show.

Sitting on the same platform as the Rio hatchback that was shown in Geneva (and the K2), the 2012 Rio Sedan will compete in America’s sub compact segment, which would be the Vios/City class in our market. Like the K2, this car is 4.37 metres long and has a 2.57m wheelbase, which is about par for the class – 25 mm shorter than a Honda City, with a 20 mm longer wheelbase. Boot volume is 390 litres.

Penned at Kia’s design studios in Irvine, California, the Rio Sedan looks more like its hatchback sibling than the K2. It has more rounded edges and features compared to the K2, which is more or less like a baby K5 (Optima). Still, the Rio Sedan won’t be mistaken for anything but a modern Kia.

Not noticeable at a glance, but the booted Rio has a different front end from the hatchback – the grille is unique and there’s a single air intake below, instead of three. Like the Rio hatch, and most hatch derived sedans today, this car has a rising shoulder line and a tall boot.

The car pictured here is in the highest possible SX trim, which includes 17-inch wheels with 205/45 tyres, fog lamps, LED daytime running and rear combinations lamps plus dual chrome tip exhaust, things that are rare in this class.

In the US, the Rio comes with a 138 hp 1.6L GDI engine paired to either a six-speed manual or six-speed auto. An Eco Package offers Idle Stop and Go (ISG) technology and an Active Eco System to boost fuel economy.

Gallery after the jump. You can view the China market K2 by clicking here. Which look do you prefer?

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2204]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• if naza price it @ 60k -70k…..even fiesta oso cant fight

• Unforgiven on Apr 25, 2011 at 4:35 pm

This car should be the Saga/Persona range, just sell it at 35-50k… let’s have the same tax as Proton…

• Unforgiven on Apr 26, 2011 at 11:44 am

Somehow so many cheap cars are available now… in India/Indonesia/Thailand, etc….

I think Proton is ready to have a fair fight with VW, T & H, etc…. with LT warranty on the PW….

Is the Kia Rio supposed to be one of the cheapest sedan?
        Then the price should be affordable for most M’sian?

Go Proton, go Gov, let’s do that, right now, right here…

• ForteLover on Apr 26, 2011 at 1:34 am

price it at rm80-90k also will sell like hot cake…this is Kia man!!!!!I must buy!!!!

• rifle on Apr 25, 2011 at 2:19 pm

i rather pick this than vios/city

• The one comming into Malaysia would be “Cost Down” Version for Sure.

Why still using “Old Fashion Gear Shift” and Not “Gated Shift”

All those Hatchback derived sedan (Pug 207 Sedan, Ford Fiesta) have the same issue “Butt Ugly” this Rio is not spared.

Front design copy cat from VW Sirocco.

Just like P1 Kia too like to copy VW (What a shame).

• sixtythree on Apr 25, 2011 at 4:20 pm

its a six speeder sir! and since when “gated shit” is so not old fashion?? Merc has been used it since 80’s!

• sonyman on Apr 25, 2011 at 7:55 pm

sorry pals, if you realize, the hottest is gear is no more gated, it is straight and also knob type like jaguar, and merc s class., Hehe, gated is old old fashion.

• another handsome car by kia..

• karpal sinking on Apr 25, 2011 at 5:40 pm

handsome? are u high? that’s the ugliest car I’ve seen from kia. even that ugly duckling mazda2 is better looking than this

• endre on Apr 25, 2011 at 2:30 pm

“An Eco Package offers Idle Stop and Go (ISG) technology ” you mean, during idle the engine will stop and restart itself then you step on the paddle?

• Danny Tan (Member) on Apr 25, 2011 at 3:18 pm

Yup, when you step on the clutch (manual) or when you lift you foot off the brakes (auto), just like other Stop/Start systems

• Russia guy on Apr 25, 2011 at 2:40 pm

This is way better than its Japanese same segment rivals!

• Kia’s cars are getting better! But i’m wondering that when Malaysia will bring it in and the price sold in that time…

• Critique on Apr 25, 2011 at 2:58 pm

Thank you for not downsizing the Optima, again.
    Quite a good looking car imho :)

Cheers :)

• MengQ on Apr 25, 2011 at 2:58 pm

Looks yummy.

• Black Dog on Apr 25, 2011 at 3:00 pm

This is many notches better than the old Rio. IMHO it beats the City/Vios hands down.

• clutch basah on Apr 25, 2011 at 3:06 pm

What can I say.. it is great lookin car!!
    A friend in the US told me that Kia is a new craze there. Especially the Optima, it sell like hot cakes, literally off the truck. Factory in Korea just can’t made enough of them to meet the demand.. hahaha!!
    That car is flying out of showrooms and off lots. He said in some state the first SX model sold 3 hours after being unloaded!! LX and EX models turn over quickly as well. Optima inventory moves rapidly there. Demand is so high Kia can’t keep up with US demand of that car, much less worldwide and the best selling Kia in the US (by far) is the Sorento – which OUTSOLD the Honda Pilot last year.
    They’re so popular, all models, that dealers can’t keep anything on the lots.

• Look like the US economy has not recover from the last financial crisis.

The American is getting poorer, had to opt for “Cheap” car

Soon China Car would sell well there too.

• 4g63tdsm on Apr 25, 2011 at 4:27 pm

not buying cheaper. They are buying smarter.

Cars at this level there is basically an appliance. So its refreshing that it actually looks good. When the first Kia Rio (wagon) was launched, it listed something like a $7999 MSRP.

Sure this would be more expensive, but for slightly more than $10K, its still damn good value for money.

• Look at the top 20 best selling car model in US (March 2011)

All low priced car (By US standard)

The American are really getting poorer.

Anyway Rio cost approx $15K now (current model not the one above).

• 4g63tdsm on Apr 26, 2011 at 1:58 pm

While it is true the general standard of the american public has dwindled in the past few years, that has really little bearing on the car consumer public.
            This movement of small and efficient is better started waaaay back in ca. 2005… and only begining to gain momentum after the high petroleum prices

What is wrong with you?. Its often common sense that cheaper cars sell more….EVERYWHERE… except maybe in Dubai….

you are just twisting the facts to suit your hypothesis.

even your poor definition is way better off than many middle income class earners here.

FYI, the Rio starts from just over 12k. If the dollar was on par, what would you expect for 12k? it has 6 airbags, ABS, tire pressure monitoring system, seat tethers as standard even on the cheapest one. On top of that 10years warranty. try beating that. Thats damn good value for money…”cheap” or not.

• Kumar san on Apr 27, 2011 at 8:37 am

4g63tdsm,this dude simply likes to bash..it’s pointless,leave him be.Cheers

• clutch basah on Apr 25, 2011 at 4:29 pm

Agree with you there dude.. well at least they are being practical and learning from mistakes. Unlike Malaysians who are dreaming to buy BMW and Mercs.
        LOL when my friend sells his Navigator to get a smaller ones, USD4 per gallon is just too much for him to fill-up the tank. Hahaha!!

• If I can afford it, I really won’t mind a nice 318 F30 blue efficiency, it should get much better fc than this 1.6l car, don’t you think? You are discussing fc, right?

• Fuel Cell Phone on Apr 27, 2011 at 7:25 am

IMHO, it shows KIA can be sold cheap in US but not in our Bolehland huuuu

• Kumar san on Apr 26, 2011 at 11:44 am

Agreed Clutch Basah.Cheers.

• justice on Apr 25, 2011 at 3:56 pm

WoW..!!..

• kiamyfoot on Apr 25, 2011 at 4:09 pm

boring and ugly…

• redboy on Apr 25, 2011 at 5:07 pm

wow! I want to see what will happen to the market when the 2 Kia models, Optima and Rio hits the road! wow!! We have already seen the Sonata taking on Klang Valley roads now..

• SoMeOnE on Apr 25, 2011 at 5:44 pm

the chinese version looks more masculine while this looks like its meant to please the fairer sex as well…..the chinese version just edges it IMO….maybe the looks will be switched come face lift time as the japs are fond of doing when they have a dual model…..

• donno on Apr 26, 2011 at 9:11 am

for once IMHO, the china market one (K2) is more nicer to look than the US/general market (Rio sedan) ones…

Well maybe coz im an asian huhuhu…

• Kumar san on Apr 25, 2011 at 5:52 pm

The Koreans are here and here to stay.They are not slowing down one bit in their pursuit of global automotive dominance,which given time,i know they will.They are topping the sales charts in North America now where i was for 12 years.At that time,the people’s perception of Kia/Hyundai Motor Corp was lukewarm to say the least.

NOBODY bought a Kia/Hyundai back then in the U.S.Cars were rotting away at dealer’s lots.NOT anymore.It’s a complete 360 Degrees paradigm shift of pure progress.

My buddy who’s still in the U.S says that now,KIA/HYUNDAI is all the craze.Both the factories in Korea and the U.S simply cannot cope up with the huge,if not stageering demand,for all models,exactly like what Clutch Basah said.The dealers simply cannot cope with the demand.You will not find a ride in the dealer’s lots.I kid you not.It’s That good,if not excellent demand.

While the Japanese had monopolized the auto industry by a large margin previously,there is a whole different “tsunami” of change.This time it’s a “Korean car tsunami”.They are flooding markets everywhere.The Japanese are not enjoying this monopoly any longer.I’m a neutral party,but i have to give respect to the Koreans for having improved by leaps and bounds,learning from their past mistakes and moving on forward.

The newly launched Kia Optima just bagged another award in the U.S just yesterday for the best interior,design and spec in class.We can joke and critisize them for all they are worth for,but the fact remains that thay are getting stronger and stronger,year on year global market share.Double digit improvement in ALL markets where their production facillity is present .

Such results was unheard of in my time,even now.The Japanese never acheived this when they were KIA/HYUNDAI Motor Corps age in the last 25 years i have been in the automotive industry as far as i can remember.They are about the age of Proton.Their first effort into the U.S market when i was there was an absolute and total failure.Fast forward 2012,look at Kia/Hyundai,then look at Proton..see the difference mates?

An astounding effort nonetheless.Cheers.

• This is typical “talk a lot but meant nothing”

Kia start producing car in 1974 & Hyundai in 1968

9 & 15 years ahead of Proton, infact 9-15 years ago Hyundai & Kia produce absolute craps car & become laughting stock.

The only reason Hyundai/Kia sell better is becoz the American is getting poorer, so anything cheap go. just like those china made electrical appliances.

• sonyman on Apr 25, 2011 at 7:58 pm

does this mean we Malaysian’s are very rich. we drive japanese cars.

• David on Apr 25, 2011 at 11:37 pm

dude, i think you are the one who’s narrow-minded and arrogant. He’s just stating the facts, and you keep on telling everyone that it’s all bullshi*. Man, WTF is wrong with you? Can’t you get a life and learn how to appreciate all cars, be it Japanese or Korean?

• Kumar san on Apr 26, 2011 at 9:51 am

Thanks David for your timely and wise point of view.I guess some people have got issues in accepting defeat.They must input their 2 cents just to prove a point.They also simply can’t fathom to see an vehicle manufacturing entity,in this case Kia/Hyundai which was a failure before doing so very well now.I appreciate all cars,it’s what gives us choices as a consumer within your affordability range.

Leave the bashers be David,we will own and drive what we choose to.Nobody sits over it.Cheers.

• David on Apr 27, 2011 at 9:29 pm

well, i have to Kumar-san, as i should know better, because i have both Japanese and Korean makes in my home. Each with its pros and cons, so that i can grow up loving all cars, except the really awful ones of course.

• And why Proton refuse to enter U.S market 20 years ago? Kia, Hyundai did that much earlier, faced the craps by U.S carbuyers and today become what it is.

Missed opportunity to achieve economics of scale or simply make-believe into that boycott the evil USA?

What, you’ll say UK market is good enough? How big is the UK pensioners car market to justify Proton’s economics of scale?

Oh, Proton Youngman now in China you argue next. And India too.

But still export volume simply laughable and minute scale.

Why?

I tell you why lah – Proton is putting cart before the horse. Eg.Total quality improvement and local served best first. Then you can talk about world invasion.

Or else, “To Kill Proton Is To Buy Perodua!”

• squawk on Apr 26, 2011 at 12:14 pm

When Hyundai started, they were rebadging Japanese cars like Mitsubishis. :-)

• pakka on Apr 26, 2011 at 5:08 am

maybe we should talk about proton in a proton related post?

• autojohndoe on Apr 26, 2011 at 1:25 pm

When Kia and Hyundai fails and putting the effort… korean support it…

Else in malaysia, when Proton fails and putting the effort… its malaysian who kills it…

that’s the different which obviously seen….

• waimak on Apr 26, 2011 at 2:34 pm

Kia/ Hyundai is doing well in the states, no doubt. Our market and US market are different though. Tastes and preference are also not the same, so not a good compariosn. But I guess the success of KIA/ Hyundai is contributed by many factors not only the car. They’ve gone through tremendous effort to build the brand and marketing strategies, which work well.

• ForteLover on Apr 25, 2011 at 6:35 pm

first time I think Kia is ugly….=.=’
    my forte looks 100x better!!!

• SteveK on Apr 26, 2011 at 8:32 am

agreed. i’d take the forte over this!

• autojohndoe on Apr 26, 2011 at 1:21 pm

earlier generation of Kias i think ugly…

the current generation… handsome…

and this Kia, i think of ugly again…

• kelah on Apr 25, 2011 at 6:46 pm

the front grill is killing the look of the car
    kinda creepy…hahaha

• Car Driver on Apr 25, 2011 at 7:19 pm

Wow! Size slightly bigger than Honda City but a whopping 138hp for 1.6GDI engine is really impressive. I am impress. Another car to look forward to. Any statistics on the fuel consumption and torque?

• There are 2 things that spoiled the car.
    1st: the dashboard looked like its from old Honda Civic, look at the vents and the coin slot!
    2nd: The rear lamp, it would be looking alot better if they design it more complex rather than this simple and plain design, everyone wants LED!

• shawal on Apr 25, 2011 at 7:44 pm

A VW-esque interior, a mazda 2 profile , but quite a scary front…, its like an angry car , they better tone it down a bit before entering the Malaysian market…

everything looks good except the front , and the front is whut you see everytime you step out of the house…..

• Ash Menon on Apr 25, 2011 at 10:42 pm

Way too much black trim going on at the front, but otherwise I love the look of this car. It’s like the angry kabuki version of the Polo. Please, Kia, bring it here! I love the Forte but I don’t want a big car!

• We are DAMN RICH dispite Super Heavy TAX, we malaysian can affort Lexus, GTR, 370Z.

We use Sonata & Optima as Taxi.

• Sleepy on Apr 26, 2011 at 2:15 am

God am i the only one who hate the headlight?

• Proton better sold off and let Kia group utilise the excess capacity.

“The Day Proton Close Shop = 2nd Merdeka Day!”

• autojohndoe on Apr 26, 2011 at 1:18 pm

what makes you so sure the price will be cheaper when Naza and Perodua still around…

• for the first time i actually see the resemblance of a tiger on peter’s ‘tiger grill’… man this car looks fierce. and awkward.

• ong chin aun on Apr 26, 2011 at 9:23 am

Well, Be honest, if the price is resonable ,between rm60k-70k including all tax. I will buy this nice car. provided with manual gear. Loooking forward to it

• Why cars nowadays getting uglier …..

• Contemporary looks, quick motor, well at least can beat 7 speed fiesta, city and vios. Priced right, we might have a winner. BUT, can it beat the european 207 sedan, I ask you…..

• Halem on Apr 26, 2011 at 12:42 pm

Beat Fiesta – No Way

Beat Vios & City – Impossible

Beat 207 Sedan – Sure Can (Ops! that from Naza as well right :-) )

• blue ocean on Apr 26, 2011 at 12:11 pm

luv the interior not the exterior..

• zukruff on Apr 26, 2011 at 2:50 pm

this car’s butt looks nice…

• Jonathan on Apr 29, 2011 at 12:35 pm

First impression of exterior: Suzuki SX4 sedan mashed with Mazda2 sedan.
    First impression of interior: The Koreans have done it again (with Peter’s help)!

Keep ’em coming!