CKD Volvo XC60 T5 Powershift replaces 2.0T – RM290k

vw-xc60-t5-2

In November 2010, Volvo Car Malaysia introduced the first locally assembled XC60, the 2.0T Powershift.

Now Volvo has replaced the 2.0T with a more powerful variant with more features, the XC60 T5 Powershift, priced at RM289,950 OTR without insurance, which is RM8,000 costlier than the 2.0T. For that, one gets more power and more kit.

The ‘T5’ moniker may lead many to believe that it’s powered by a five-cylinder turbo, but these days the number in the name no longer denotes the cylinder count. So the XC60 T5 comes with a turbocharged four-pot from Volvo’s GTDI (Gasoline Turbocharged Direct Injection) range. It makes 240 hp and 320 Nm of torque, which is quite a jump from the 2.0T’s 203 hp/300 Nm.

It’s also good enough to haul the XC60 from 0-100 km/h in 8.1 seconds, eight tenths faster than the 2.0T. The engine is mated to a six-speed dual-clutch Powershift gearbox.

The equipment that the T5 gets over the 2.0T include Pedestrian Detection, Collision Warning now with Full Auto Brake, Adaptive Cruise Control with Queue Assist and a new Volvo Sensus infotainment system with a 7-inch colour screen.

The 2.0T’s CD player is upgraded to a DVD player with a MP3 decoder here, while the Bluetooth hands-free system now comes with audio streaming. This is in addition to City Safety, Blind Spot Information System (BLIS) and Roll Stability Control.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• wasting of money !

• mini cooper freak on May 10, 2011 at 8:24 pm

But when compare this to Audi, it is not wasting of money.

• jalan54 on May 10, 2011 at 3:09 pm

Seems like a pretty nice package for such price.

• vw_fan on May 10, 2011 at 3:59 pm

seems too be expensive still.

its too near to the Q5 in price, and the audi is a CBU Germany car which takes 7.3s to hit 100km. i suspect that the volvo will come with more accessories where its probably catered to those who want more creature comfort.

not sure but it seems that the XC60 is not selling well here because of the price.

• deftones on May 10, 2011 at 10:10 pm

i actually see a lot of xc60 around klang valley..
      in fact, when i see Q5, i will not turn twice to look at it..
      but this xc60, i can stare for a long time

• mazda fan on May 11, 2011 at 11:19 am

True,the xc60 has a very nice profile.audi q5 has high performance,but xc60 rides on a different package,its for family+recreation+sporty drive+safety

• Speed Racer on May 10, 2011 at 4:21 pm

this is worth it =)

• worth the 8k for so much things you get. but the photo above looks a bit fake with those front silver trim. Btw, how much more we have to add to get the R Design package?

• Downs on May 10, 2011 at 5:20 pm

I wonder how Volvo can make CKD cars. I don’t think they sell very well here, do they? (as compared to Audi perhaps?)

• mini cooper freak on May 10, 2011 at 8:26 pm

This show that Volvo is versatile, beware Audi, you will be eaten alive.

• Carmaker on May 12, 2011 at 1:18 am

Hi bro, is becoz of Volvo is selling so good,
      Therefore they CKD the car, not like Audi’s…
      Not enough quota to local assemble here.
      Read more news, you must be sleeping…LOL

• Machi on May 10, 2011 at 6:45 pm

1 Nice and safe car…

Will earn more to get this car…^_^

But after fuel cost increase, heavy income tax and almost everything price increase including the weather temperature except my saving figure in the bank…i think I may have just to drop this dream…sad! @_@…..

• BeemerFreak on May 10, 2011 at 8:54 pm

Does it come with AWD or the same FWD layout as the 2.0T. Great buy this car with all the specs thrown in. Will always prefer this to the Q5 as the waiting list is only about a month compared to 9 months. The Dynaudio sound system is also much better than the audi’s.

• ilovesmallcar on May 10, 2011 at 9:57 pm

ever since the frequent increase of petrol price, i hv given up hope on high power cars…. when will volvo hybrid or EV avail? to me volvo’s safety still No. 1.

• The XC60 T5 offered in Malaysia will most likely be a FWD just like the 2.0T.
    The XC60 over here has quite a breath of variants. You can choose between a D5 AWD(turbo diesel) with 151kW/205hp & 420Nm, T5 of course with 171kW/240hp & 320Nm, 3.2 AWD with 3.2L 6cyl producing 179kW/243hp & finally the T6 with twin scroll turbocharger with a nice 224kW/305hp & 440Nm. Only the T5 is FWD here. Furthermore the D5 & T6 can be had with R-Design. Prices staring from $59,218 for the T5 on the road. For the same amount in RM, you will probably get a Proton Gen 2. Top of the range T6 AWD R-Design is a reasonably $78,903 on the road.
    Petrol is a very reasonable $1.70/L for Shell V-Power and RON95 and regular unleaded are cheaper still.

• Will it get a diesel like the XC90?

• _xXx_ on May 11, 2011 at 10:45 am

there goes at least 30k more resale value for the 2.0T

• azrul sari on Dec 05, 2011 at 11:38 am

volvo should stay & produce this instead (the original concept) !

http://paultan.org/2006/12/20/volvo-xc60-concept-in-detail/

• KACIMARA on Oct 29, 2013 at 4:03 pm

rumah bergerak.
    tak mampu beli, naik moto ajelah org yg mcm ak ni…