Toyota Corolla Altis – a minor upgrade for 2011

Some news away from IIMS, then. UMW Toyota teases that a change is coming for the Corolla Altis, so, interest piqued, we checked with the company to see what was on the cards. It looks like it’s just a very minor upgrade, primarily with the colour of the interior.

From now, the Corolla Altis gets a new shade for its leather seats – dark grey replaces the beige that was introduced with the car, and this is available on both 2.0V and 1.8G variants. The new shade brings things closer to the all-black interior seen on the Thai-spec 2.0V at the model’s preview drive last year, and the dark shade should work well for the car.

Elsewhere, a new option has also come about for the vehicle – a DVD-based multimedia system with navigation. The 2-DIN head unit comes with a 6.1-inch colour LCD touchscreen, and features MP3, USB and iPod compatibility as well as an Aux jack.

The DVD-AVN package, as it’s called, also features Bluetooth connectivity and a reverse camera, and ticking the option adds RM2,990 to the final price.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• oec88 on Jul 22, 2011 at 2:05 pm

Not really worth it especially the DVD player which only 6.1 inch. Aftermarket already offering 8 inch size of screen for Corolla Altis.

• Different look,same SHIT! Give consumers better engine,6 speed auto,6 airbags with the same price..in short we want value for money,not just paying for the badge.

• better engine – already update to dual VVT-i
      6 speed auto – you want to downgrade from 7 speed CVT?

• razid on Jul 22, 2011 at 4:33 pm

stupid arrr u Sam

that one better then Honda Civic with OLD sucks Soch Vtec engin hahahaha

Honda Civic also dont have Drive with wire either.

• …CVT..after 3year warranty …you will see the problem…

• Paul Tan on Jul 22, 2011 at 3:19 pm

The whole engine bay has already been updated with this latest facelift. New engine and new gearbox.

http://paultan.org/2010/09/22/test-drive-malaysian-spec-toyota-corolla-altis-2-0v/

http://paultan.org/2010/09/02/facelifted-dual-vvt-i-toyota-corolla-altis-tested-at-sepang/

• damn, why they didn’t get this right (black interior) the first time?

• razid on Jul 22, 2011 at 5:13 pm

better then Honda Civic that still using old sucks SOCH VTECH hahaha
        No Drive with wire also ahahah
        Toyota more advance

Toyota Wish also with new engine….Honda Stream sucks with SOCH VTECH hahaha

• desmond on Jul 22, 2011 at 7:35 pm

razid, get your facts right. Civic 1.8 is SOHC i admit. But the 2.0 and Type R are DOHC K20 i-VTEC. And all of them with DBW. and why so many hahah? you can’t even spell i-VTEC correctly. and the SOHC unit is newer, more fuel efficient, quieter too. Why not for Honda. SOHC or DOHC doesn’ t make much difference. City i-DSI despite a SOHC unit, is well praised for its efficiency and torque.

• razid on Jul 23, 2011 at 12:44 am

the think is desmond…only honda give Sohc.
            mazda give doch, tyota dohc, mitsubishi already DUAL CVVT engine.
            only 2.0 Civic get dohc, but every toyota car with dohc heHEHhe.
            honda is chitting for cut cost arr

New Toyota Wish with Valvematic Engine already, but honda stream still with the old sucks ivtec engin hahahaaha
            very funny honda

Honda insight also chitting, not a full hybrid,,,FC is not much diff.
            Only toyota Prius with full hybrid.

U can compare Altis Dual VVTi spec with honda civic spec
            i think Altis is more ahead.

• the old toyota are better and new toyota…..

• cvt …. suck ..

• Ck Tan on Dec 16, 2011 at 3:57 pm

Hi! Paul Tan. I need some advise. Planing to buy a family car. Really facing big issue on choosing between Nissan Sylphy 2.0 and Toyota Altis d-vvti 1.8G. My greatest concern will be on the quality and performance both of this cars. I really like Toyota Altis but lack of all the gadget offer by Nissan…my wife was interest with Sylphy…So? How?

• Kiddo on Jul 22, 2011 at 4:06 pm

Sam, have you been living in the cave for the past few years?

Compare the specs of the pre-facelift and facelifted Altis before making this particular comment that makes you look extremely stupid please.

And KS, well said!

• razid on Jul 22, 2011 at 4:43 pm

better then Honda Civic that still using old sucks SOCH VTECH hahaha
      no Drive with wire also ahahaha

• worst comment i have ever seen. DVVT-i and S-CVTi ..ask for more?

• wayangkulit on Jul 23, 2011 at 12:17 am

you are a good example of typical malaysian so called car enthusiast; every iteration of a model must mean better engine in terms of power ,spec and at a lower price if not no changes in price. if a good car is defined by its on paper specs or all the 3/4 letter acronym e.g. ABS, EBD, BAS, CVT there’d be not much car to review and we’d be all driving the same car

i guess our automotive scene would really be considered matured or desirable when those so called car enthusiast like yourself to stop expecting cars models that are meant to be a daily commuter to perform like a top of the spec luxury or top of the spec sports car.

put your feet into the manufacturer’s shoes; better engine, better specs and accessories = higher cost to produce and also higher cost to R&D so how can they sell it at a cheaper price?
      unless they are selling enough volume and thus can be sold at a cheaper price but by then you’d be complaining that its boring as every where you look its the same car model. myvi, viva, vios, saga ring any bells?

if u want all the bells and whistles the newly launched mercedes s500 has got all the bells and whistles that most enthusiast like yourself can boast of at mamak, can you afford one or willing to buy one?

• mentari-o-korea on Jul 22, 2011 at 3:17 pm

Hi overpriced altis, u r too long in the market, exactly like uncle wearing short jeans with bandana!!!

• boringgg

• if you have to buy a jap , mazda 3 is better than dis overpriced old crap anyday!! alot cheaper too!

• JustAThought on Oct 03, 2011 at 12:30 pm

erm…I euggest you double-check the specs and price of the Mazda 3 2.0 again :)

• uncle design for uncles. Maybe can include Auntie also..

Right, all uncle & auntie ??

• Civic Driver on Aug 26, 2011 at 11:04 pm

One fine day you will arrive at the same age group……… does this mean your taste will suddenly change and mellow??

I drive a Civic, in my mid thirties and don’t

• all uncle must really love this cards

• Jolly_idiot on Jul 22, 2011 at 4:57 pm

What to do. Only uncle can afford this car

• correction, only poor & tasteless uncle will buy this car. Rich uncle won’t even look at this ugly car.

• Mr.VW on Jul 22, 2011 at 6:49 pm

Im an altis owner. Can I upgrade my cd player to the dvd LCD player?

• mkhor on Jul 22, 2011 at 7:19 pm

You can directly import 8″ unit from China for about USD430+ (half price if pay local guys).
      Google DVD with GPS for your car model, and you may find a unit that fit your car.

• desmond on Jul 22, 2011 at 7:39 pm

azid, get your facts right. Civic 1.8 is SOHC i admit. But the 2.0 and Type R are DOHC K20 i-VTEC. And all of them with DBW. and why so many hahah? you can’t even spell i-VTEC correctly. and the SOHC unit is newer, more fuel efficient, quieter too. Why not for Honda. SOHC or DOHC doesn’ t make much difference. City i-DSI despite a SOHC unit, is well praised for its efficiency and torque.

• quattro on Jul 22, 2011 at 9:29 pm

DEAR MR PAUL > WHEN THE ALL NEW VIOS WILL BE REPLACE WITH THE ALL NEW VIOS??

• quattro on Jul 22, 2011 at 9:29 pm

DEAR MR PAUL > WHEN THE ALL NEW VIOS WILL BE LAUNCH??

• BERSIH 2.0 on Jul 23, 2011 at 10:01 am

Why other countries always get new version or car model.
    M’sia like to facelift that & this!!!!
    Can’t there just follow other country like what they driving same range of car rite now:)
    I jus hate facelift model!!!

• pokyah on Jul 26, 2011 at 12:00 am

i drive this new altis 1.8 dual vvti from kedah to kl 3 time for this month… i think.. this car not really good for racing…

• any one can comment on the consumption for the new 1.8 Altis?

• sindrella on Aug 22, 2011 at 7:41 pm

ya man it has a decent fuel economy of 18 mpg.

• Although the Altis is CBU from Thailand, UMW Toyota ain’t want to include the Push Start Stop Engine which is available in Thailand. Hence this minor upgrade is equivalent to ‘no difference’ actually. Sad to hear Toyota’s development today.