CKD Volvo S60 announced: T4 RM220k, T5 RM255k

For those who have been dreaming of a Volvo S60 but found the current CBU prices a little too rich for their bank accounts, good news for you – locally assembled versions will be launched soon.

Two CKD versions will be on sale – the T4 and the T5. The Volvo S60 T4 will use a 1.6 litre inline-4 turbocharged direct injection engine making 180 horsepower and 270Nm of torque, mated to a 6-speed Powershift gearbox. It is rated to consume only 7 litres per 100km on a combined cycle. The estimated selling price for the CKD Volvo S60 T4 is RM220,000.

For an estimated price tag of RM255,000 you can get the CKD Volvo S60 T5 (down from RM288k for the CBU T5), powered by a 2.0 litre turbocharged direct injection inline-4 engine mated to a 6-speed Powershift gearbox. This engine makes 240 horsepower and 320Nm of torque. The T5 also includes the Pedestrian Detection. feature, which detects pedestrians who walk onto the road in front of the car and will warn the driver, and if necessary, apply full braking power if the driver does not respond in time.

Volvo Car Malaysia also says the first 60 customers who book their CKD S60 T4 and T5 from today will receive a special surprise. According to Volvo Car Malaysia president Goran Larsson, it will make the S60 look more stunning, so we’re guessing some exterior aesthetic enhancements like a bodykit or something.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• azrai on Jul 29, 2011 at 4:27 pm

“Volvo Car Malaysia also says the first 60 customers who book their CKD S60 T4 and T5 from today will receive a special surprise. They’re keeping the surprise a secret.”

The buyer will be surprise on their maintenance cost? Or maybe surprised with their so fast to catch pace of depreciation? Should be suprised the CKD kits come from Geely plant at China? :-)

• BeemerFreak on Jul 29, 2011 at 5:19 pm

Haha Volvo buyers are never surprise about depreciation. The cars never have any value when u sell them. They might be surprise that the s60 could be rather reliable

• BMW Salesman, why so scare about this S60, maybe coz it’s the same class as a BMW 3 series yet cost less?

• Geronimo on Jul 29, 2011 at 6:46 pm

There are new people owning Volvo. They will.

• BeemerFreak on Jul 29, 2011 at 9:54 pm

Haha guys don’t get me wrong, I always like people who buy cars with their heart, not their brain. The brains always tell you toyota or perodua, both of which absurdly miserable.

People who buy cars like Volve or BMW dont really care about depreciation, rather it is fulfilling a life long dream and passion. These are true drivers…….

• Vincent on Jul 30, 2011 at 1:50 pm

You will be surprise taht this S60 will make a different for Volvo branding Malaysia. Depreciation of this S60 will eb as good as BMW 3 series…let see…

• Astronauts on Jul 29, 2011 at 5:56 pm

brother, i bet you stick with proton or perodua. Don’t ever think of drive merc or high cost car, because all car are depreciate in time. Please don’t spoil people passion about , if everyone think like you, so pathetic

• azrai on Aug 01, 2011 at 7:40 am

It seems Malaysian don’t have a good sense of humour anymore, just like TNB suing the Malay Mail editor on his joke about TNB and the Earth Hours. Really pathethic…:-(

• rapidshifter on Jul 29, 2011 at 4:27 pm

saw it on the road… really refreshing and beautiful…. too bad still too expensive for me…

• fulama!…. a 1.6 turbo car is going for Rm220k?

• Peterpj on Jul 29, 2011 at 5:19 pm

Agreed…RM255k for a CKD is kinda expensive. It’s either that or the CBU version must have been sold at a big discount at RM288k (or they must be hiring monkey’s with Phd’s to build the cars hence the huge premium for a CKD)

• anti-malingsia on Jul 29, 2011 at 5:36 pm

The new S60 is still unable to beat Accord and Camry, due to expensive price!!!

• You are saying something like, Merc C Class and BMW 3 Series still unable to beat Accord and Camry due to expensive price.

Dude, wake up! This car is 1 class higher than Toyota and Honda. A comparison with Lexus is more justified.

• greasemonkey on Jul 29, 2011 at 8:56 pm

No,compareble to Skoda is more justified.Volvo in not popular in Europe,they prefer Audis/ VW. And NOW ONLY volvo comes with D.Injection! Always says safety,but years behind in basic engine technology.What majority of people wants volvo cannot deliver,in the end sold to chinese co.Make cars not for the masses, more like ‘jaguh kampung’!

• Bathing fxxxs on Jul 30, 2011 at 10:42 am

I’ll take S40 anyway…

• theanswer on Jul 29, 2011 at 8:23 pm

still cheaper than bmw or merc. price n spec better than lexus.

• kington on Jul 30, 2011 at 12:22 am

Another uneducated Malaysian.

Could you please compare properly?

You mean to say price is all that matters to you?

• kevin62 on Jul 29, 2011 at 10:04 pm

If you talking about 1.6 for RM220k how about mercedes C class 1.8 for RM240k?

You should read about their technology but not price. Volvo 1.6 with 180bhp while Mercedes C class 1.8 only have 184bhp.

• VOLVO LOVER on Jul 29, 2011 at 4:32 pm

savings for the t5 is disappointing

• gracke on Jul 29, 2011 at 4:58 pm

I am really sad that my beautiful S60 T4 cost about RM220k, still can’t afford it! Why don’t they make it around RM170k……so frustrated!

• sonyman on Jul 29, 2011 at 6:04 pm

bro, 170K who is going to buy S40? unless they drop S40 to 140K and S60 at 170K, then make sense. BTW i was told the T4 is a S60 with an engine and 4 wheels, no special safety feature like what you get in the T5. So like rip off also.

• Vince on Jul 29, 2011 at 5:02 pm

Let’s hope that VCM will keep the same CBU lists of the safety features & fancy accessories too.

Marvelous car with much improved built… test drive it.

• Downs on Jul 29, 2011 at 5:03 pm

Paul,
    I’m still a little bit confused with Volvo’s range of models. In terms of segment, is the S60 = 5 Series/E Class? Or does it compete with the 3 Series/C Class? Thanks.

• Timothy Dalton on Jul 29, 2011 at 6:31 pm

Looking at Quality and Price Tag, Volvo cars are made to be equivalent value to Mercedes A-Class to C-Class, Audi A1 to A4, BMW 1-Series to 3-Series only. Top of line S80 performance handling interior design plus quality could never reach benchmark of Mercedes E-Class or Audi A6, but can do for BMW 5-Series anytime.

Check them out at Showrooms wont cost much and you’ll see the difference!

• Downs on Jul 29, 2011 at 10:26 pm

Thanks for the response Timothy,
        The S80 is even more confusing as it’s priced very close to the S60. That’s why I’m asking for further clarification. I’ve been to Volvo’s showrooms but haven’t ever test drove one yet. The S60 is still a beauty though.

• S60 definitely a 3 series/ C-class / A4 competitor. the Length is only 4.62 metres with similar wheelbase.

The 5 series / E-class/ A6 is around 4.9 metres. slightly larger than even the S80 at 4.85m.

the S40 is just half a size/class smaller then the S60.

volvo should price this ckd S60 T4 at 199k if they want to sell in decent numbers.

• hope the surprise is a free R-Design bodykit but without the harder sport suspension! :D

• lol rm90 roadtax,

if every car maker started to go to the turbo charge small engine rule, that special road tax from anything below 1.6 could be abolished

• Littlefire on Jul 29, 2011 at 5:29 pm

“Pedestrian Detection. feature, which detects pedestrians who walk onto the road in front of the car and will warn the driver, and if necessary, apply full braking power if the driver does not respond in time”

This is what i call safety not only to the driver and also pedestrians… I still remember some dude mention that safety technology cannot change people attitude to drive, but with this technology.. You can save this kind of people from hitting others!!!

• Sorchai on Jul 29, 2011 at 6:26 pm

If some guy wants to cross the road and don’t look, or if he wants to commit suicide.

Just fulfill them. Mow them over.

• Carl Wong on Jul 29, 2011 at 6:31 pm

Nice technology :].

• still if the drive sleep..any safety tech cannot do anything unless the car drive itself

• black king on Jul 29, 2011 at 5:42 pm

i dont think the price is expensive due to the car price tag. there are so many taxes and duties that comes with it.

pity malaysians, they only managed to use kancil which aged more that 12 years, rather than buying new cars. thanks to our gov. policy.

• nabill on Jul 29, 2011 at 5:46 pm

actually in singapore thy offer volvo s80 with da 1.6T……

• DonkeyKong on Jul 29, 2011 at 11:04 pm

Citroen’s brilliant C5 is also using a 1.6 turbo engine, and the Peugeot 3008 and 5008 are also using the 1.6 turbo Prince engines. I think it will be a growing trend to propel large vehicles with turbocharged small engines instead of 2-litre and larger engines

• Henry on Jul 29, 2011 at 5:55 pm

The T4 engine would be the same unit found in the Ford Focus MKIII EcoBoost. Probably sharing the same drive-train as well.

But selling at 220k? Good luck to Volvo.

• Ongtk on Jul 29, 2011 at 6:02 pm

At RM220K and RM255k respectively, it is surely “priced to fail!”. For that sum of money, there are many better alternatives out there; BMW, Mercedes and not forgetting VW. Besides, reviews of the car that I read too date is not that glowing too.

• Nice HP and Torque figure…

• Volvo brake test fail!

255k i prefer Passat CC!

• Sparc on Jul 29, 2011 at 10:15 pm

But VW is a cheap brand and Volvo is premium brand.

• Lim Kopi on Jul 29, 2011 at 11:02 pm

In case you haven’t heard ….

PASSAT CC PRICES WILL BE GOING UP BY 30K , WHICH NOW APPLIES TO ALL NEW BOOKINGS …..

So this is actually a good move for Volvo in keeping up with Ze Germans.

• VW is a cheap brand but VW own Audi,Bugatti,Bentley,Porsche,Lambo…so VW can offers the high performance and high technology but affordable!unlike the Volvo act like a premium brand but still is a brake test fail brand.

Passat CC will increase the price but the car is still look x100 trillion times better than the Volvo T4 so smart people will still prefer the Passat CC.

• Dude… wait till u get hit by the ever unreliable DSG 7 speed gearbox.

• Interior on Jul 29, 2011 at 7:32 pm

I wonder why S60 feels smaller than S40 inside the cabin. Legroom is not impressive, much smaller compared to BMW 3 or Merc C. Headroom has very small clearance, my hair touches the roof lining, this is even smaller than Gen2! In Gen2, only when I wear songkok, it touches the roof lining. Interior materials must be made in China plastics.. very cheap looking, easy to scratch, easy to peel off, and flimsy. Only the safety aspects are wonderful, other than that, wtf Volvo?

• deftones on Jul 29, 2011 at 8:09 pm

if u dont like the car, y did u go to the showroom in the first place?
      i sense that u actually like the car very much but u cant afford them bcos u only have gen2 which is might be a better car for u..

anyway,the T4 is actually a nice engine..with 180hp, that is more than enough to get comfortable on highways..volvo is a nice cruiser

• interior on Jul 29, 2011 at 11:39 pm

i went to see the car because attraction from the showcar models/girls =))
        i think the backseats not spacious enough to make out oso..

• ‘i went to see the car because attraction from the showcar models/girls =))’

no wonder…

people like you dont deserve to drive volvo…. models/girls attracted to gen2 with blink blink neon light.. go for it. Install audi running light on you gen2 headlamp..

• Here come the king of depreciation!!!

• tun tansari on Jul 29, 2011 at 8:37 pm

220k for 1.6 turbo is not expensive just bcos it is a volvo? come on laaaaaa, yes new design but cramped inside, for this price range passat cc is much better choice. no wonder volvo resale = harga runtuh, hahahha

• Hi Paul, can you give an objective review comparing s60t5 with c 200

• jolly_idiot on Jul 29, 2011 at 8:55 pm

Engine downsize is good. But 1.6 turbocharged for such a big car? Would it reduce the engine reliability since it put more stress to move the car from a small cc engine.

T5 would be just nice to compete with it’s contender. At least decent 2.0 turbocharged and cost only 35k more.

Buyers that can think of this car won’t consider 35k difference since they opt for drivability.

• TurboMan on Jul 31, 2011 at 6:04 am

Doubt it.

Modern day turbocharged engines are rather hardy, with reinforced components and crankshaft.

As long as its serviced right, it should last as long as a NA engine. Cant vouch for all turbocharged engines though.

• Rosmah on Jul 29, 2011 at 11:10 pm

Good things will cum to those who wait.

So best hold out for F30.

• Expatriate VN on Jul 30, 2011 at 12:00 am

Form another crony company, nego with the Chinese owner, rebadge it to say cap ayam kampong, then the price will free fall for T4 and T5 to RM 120K and RM 155K respectively. This is Bolehland, everything can lor ………..

• Mask Ryder on Jul 30, 2011 at 1:29 am

Like it or not, ownership of Volvo by China company Zhejiang Geely Group have bring down their brand value, meaning their business is bad, their car don’t sell well, & they have no choice but to accept foreign company bail out.
    Almost all the people i know had comment Volvo been ugly, n would never consider them against MB, BMW & Audi.
    Looking at their poor monthy sales figure, i believe the majority Malaysian think the same, people may talk loud here but would they buy one ? I don’t think so.

• I beg to differ that the Chinese co has brought down the image of Volvo. If this is the perception, what abt Jaguar and Hummer which is now under an Indian company. Does all these brands became cheaper and less appealing? No rite? And I bet most of us here don’t buy Jag or Hummer not because its from an Indian company but simply because we can’t afford it. And the same goes with Volvo.

• Mask Ryder on Jul 30, 2011 at 3:38 pm

Most of us don’t buy either Volvo, Jag even Hummer is becoz given the same budget there are too many better choice, you did see plenty of MB & BMW compare to Volvo didn’t you.

The reason why the “Not Salable” marque end up in the Chinese & Indian hand is becoz other car mfg have no need for their technologies except the China & India who desperate need technology input & to upgrade the own brand image.

I wouldn’t be supprise if all this Hummer, Jag & Volvo end up as historical marque in not too far future.

• This is expected from u German brand whores…. Depreciating others brands while upholding the ur own liking….

• Dipak on Jul 30, 2011 at 11:15 am

MB and BMW yes, Audi? I see more Volvo than Audi in Malaysia road.

• Mask Ryder on Jul 30, 2011 at 3:47 pm

I wonder MAA figure include those from Reconditioned Market ? as i know many bought MB & BMW even Audi & Lexus form Recon Grey Market, rather than the Authorised distributor.

Not sure which part of the counrty u live in here in Kl & surrounding newly register Volvo is a rare specis on the road.

• Garfield on Jul 30, 2011 at 6:42 am

I am very very very disgusted with these car companies cashing in our very much distorted ‘luxury’ car market. It was the tax brackets of larger displacement engines that supported the govt policies to push prices sky high for non-national segment. I don’t mind, the govt can take the money back from the rich who wants to show off.

The lower displacement, more efficient turbocharged engines have presented a ‘solution’ towards a more win-win situation. The car companies get to pay lower taxes. But what is their choice? They choose to cash in (the likes of Mercedes and Volvo).
    They choose to sell fewer but make more margin per car (sell one car get 200% profit). I see only Volkswagen uses this advantage to lower their price and it is their choice to have bigger presence in Malaysia (not that VW is a luxury brand anyway).

I would say boycott but it’s not the majority who buy these cars anyway. The car companies have made their choice clear with this kind of pricing so those who choose to be ripped off go ahead.

• Unforgiven on Jul 30, 2011 at 3:35 pm

We need to pay for AP.
      They are the one that we should kill in the first place in order to bring down the car price.
      If we kill those AP king, maybe the sales for super expensive cars will be lower too.

• Garfield on Jul 31, 2011 at 4:51 am

Still don’t get it the most of you? If CBU yes u pay for AP, but since when do you have to pay AP for CKD vehicles? This article is about doing CKD of a vehicle currently CBU. AND I’M TALKING ABOUT LOWER TAX FOR THESE TURBOCHARGED CARS. SO WHERE DO THE SAVINGS GO? PLEASE ANSWER ME.

Please go on living in denial. Or since u word the reply as ‘we’, can I assume u r the one benefitting? Just correct me if I’m wrong, but leave out the word AP if u don’t understand what AP is for.

• RedBeanBun on Jul 31, 2011 at 10:30 am

unless you are the “invisible hand” in the market. you cant control consumer behaviour. the 2 top group Merc and BM are at their category of achievement of branding and quality. Consumer paid for that, however, the price in Msia is even jacked higher due to (we dont want to repeat anymore), so, its a regional/area situation. (Just like SG).
      The only way we can enjoy lower price is ….free the market. Its a nature competition, our market is too much of controlled resources.
      If you think if MEC still survive, you can get LCD/LED tv at this kind of price? Thank god MCA screwed up the business, or Matsushita investment is too big to be screwed then.
      Pensonic/Khid still finding ways to survive, but not the expenses of consumer choice.
      Any business that the Gov/GLC gets in, the consumer choice will be taken away due to high tax pose on import to protect so-called LOCAL interest.
      It is just we use this way under the automotive industries for 25 years, but the manufacturer only do things for their pocket instead of public consumer benefits. Korea do the similar to Hyundai/Kia, but they flies globally. Its to be aim high or aim at own pocket (which Proton is aim for the supplier’s pocket for obvious reason)

• RedBeanBun on Jul 31, 2011 at 9:35 am

IN the 90s, Volvo 850 and 940 is like de-factor company director car. Not Merc or BM. Everyone is known driving a Volvo means high status (then now BMW3 drivers)

Too bad that has been taken away due to market competition. So branding wise, regardless of what you offer, just cant match the Germans now. You paid for the brand most of the time.

I probably wont spend RM220+ to buy a S60 rather than a BMW3.

Their so call surprise marketing strategy does not work in modern days as consumer all wanted to know what is on hand in order to put up RM200K+ into a car. (Why i want to guess what i am going to get, or whether I will get or not)

They should straight price between the H&T and Merc&BM.

• I think Volvo should start placing themselves between Honda/Toyota and MB/BMW gap. Since Volvo could not match up to the upper luxury market yet they are way better off than the Toyota/Honda segment, perhaps thats the way to go. Therefore pricing and maintenance cost should be readjusted for easier ownership. By doing so, eventually they may catch up again like yesteryears, though not on status but popularity.

• dude wtf on Aug 02, 2011 at 8:26 am

volvo is probably the oni NON GERMAN MADE car that could go head to head with MB/BMW.GO SCANDINAVIA.despite of how its placed below MB/BMW here in malaysia,I must say the car still has a big following here.XC-60 is still my choice though.but i checked out this s60.the build quality is excellent.

• not volvo driver on Aug 02, 2011 at 5:19 pm

bmw and mb may “rank” higher in Mal but when it comes to safety, most volvo drivers will have life experience to tell … my cousin’s V was hit twice from behind and suffered minor damages but can’t say the same thing about the radiator and headlamps of other cars. Volvo has high percentage of boron steel in most models, the other is Porsche! How’s that for safety? Be remember to thank Volvo for the seat belts you wear each day. Wish my finance allows me to get one :(

• Those S60 nay-sayer should really check out the specs offered by Volvo in Msia b4 pouring cold water to it.

180bhp TC engine, BLIS assist, City Safety, with PCC at RM220k, that’s what i call bargain for money. U can spend the same amount on the 3 series or C180… None of them give u these specs…