Peugeot 508 looking good at JPJ’s Putrajaya office

Looks like local players Nasim is about to launch the Peugeot 508 sedan in Malaysia real soon. A reader by the name of Akmal has managed to snap some photos of the gorgeous-looking French sedan at JPJ Putrajaya where it is likely undergoing type approval for our local consumption.

I am not sure what is under the hood of this car but if I were a betting man, I would put my money on the 1.6 litre turbocharged BMW-PSA Prince powerplant which should offer enough kick for the 508 and at the same time keep fuel consumption low :)

The 508 sits on the platform that underpins the Citroen C5 and it replaces both the 407 and 607 models. According to our previous report, the sedan should have made its local debut earlier this month.

Although it is almost halfway through the month, the launch should be just around the corner. October perhaps? In terms of pricing, we reckon that the 508 could be priced close the Ford Mondeo’s price range.

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• Hope they bring the touring version too, its more handsome in my opinion.

• I love diesels on Sep 14, 2011 at 5:04 am

Hope they bring the HDi diesel version too, because HDi means High-performance Diesel Intercooler, which means this diesel engine has higher power than regular diesels.

• nice

• taboogen on Sep 13, 2011 at 4:26 pm

rear end look like camry to me

• ben yap on Sep 13, 2011 at 4:30 pm

i think it will be priced somewhere around RM160K.

the car is gorgeous, though!

• Unforgiven on Sep 13, 2011 at 4:34 pm

Ford Mondeo’s price range is not easily reachable…

• Mark-x zio face!

• Alpha on Sep 13, 2011 at 6:14 pm

I wonder why this comment gt so many thumbs down when it’s really true.Do any of you know how a Toyota Mark X Zio even looks like??Google it.It looks really similar to the front end of this Peugeot.

• I think most of Peugeot fans thumb u down….bcos they dont like Toyota.

• Alpha on Sep 14, 2011 at 12:44 am

I know,right.A lot of Malaysians are like this la.I knw they hate UMW Toyota and such.But come on,people.Lets facts,be facts.The front is just too similar to the Mark-X Zio.Even the curves and the “smile”.

Come on,Malaysians.You guys hate being called dumb,but yet refused to accept facts and let your feelings and emotions gets the best of you.

• idaho on Sep 14, 2011 at 10:31 am

You must be a toyota no. 1 fan la brother. The 508 looks nicer than the crappy toyota la.

• Alpha on Sep 14, 2011 at 2:04 pm

Please.I hate Toyota,dude.I’m a Honda fanboy.You can see some of my other comments.I do not think the Mark X Zio looks good nor is this 508.Both r fugly to me.But there’s no denying the looks is really similar.

• @alpha….its ok la bro…..let it be la…we dont ague with fans…..

• haha…fans….I’m a fan of those fans….

• Nice!!

• Kevin Lee on Sep 13, 2011 at 4:43 pm

looks like honda accord and bmw 5 series previous gen mish-mash

• 1.6l prince..

its 308 with sedan body..

• kenso on Sep 13, 2011 at 4:51 pm

That would be the upcoming CKD 408, which is still within the C segment category.

The 508, on the other hand is a full fledged D segment

• Anti-shanzhai on Sep 14, 2011 at 5:06 am

I prefer 508 over 408 because the 408 is not available in Europe…

• that is because europe doesn’t like mid-range sedans. hatchbacks sell more over there. it is purely a business decision and nothing to do with location it is made. if europe consumes more sedans than hatchbacks, then the 408 will be sold there. as for d-segment, there is still a sizeable sedan market hence the introduction of the 508 into europe. even the focus sedan sells in small numbers compared to the hatch. think of the forte and cruze over in europe as well. they had to introduce hatchbacks just because europeans simply prefer hatchbacks over sedans in the mid-range segment. so for the 408 to be sold in mid-east, south america, china and asia pacific (perhaps even australia), it is because the motoring trend in these places simply prefer sedans over hatchbacks.

• tikus on Sep 14, 2011 at 6:22 pm

Yeah lor…Honda Civic also hatchback…wonder why ah?

• riderxdesign on Sep 13, 2011 at 4:53 pm

why cant they make the rear light design to go with a much better design flow from the shoulder lines? why they had to slashed it because of the bumper parting line.. it kills the whole car lines as it is already good and nice..

• the mondeo is a 2l turbo delivering 203ps/149kw of power. 508’s 1.6l turbo yields 156ps/115kw. if 508 sells at mondeo’s price range,i reckon nasim can syiok sendiri .. :P

• BSLee on Sep 13, 2011 at 5:12 pm

The looks is not exciting like the other Peugeot.

• sonyman on Sep 13, 2011 at 6:31 pm

bro this is the most exciting car in peugeot range

• Alpha on Sep 13, 2011 at 9:47 pm

Seriously bro??More exciting than the RCZ??Man,u hav old man’s taste.

• slick shifts on Sep 14, 2011 at 9:46 am

what he meant is probably the most exciting peugeot saloon car?

• sonyman on Sep 15, 2011 at 6:42 pm

yes thats what i meant, RCZ, exciting but not the everyday car. Why not Peugeot SR1, even more exciting. Or even the EX-1, that one also very exciting.

RCZ, lovely, But it is RCZ, its a different taste. 508 here is to allow buyers to let themselves experience another well designed car.

• HirumaKecil on Sep 16, 2011 at 11:34 am

rcz is a nice looking car but for me 308 cc is twice more exciting… And this 508 also more exciting than rcz.. Hope the 508 is a better car than 405… Of coz it was better than 405 but Puegeot owner always compare all new car with the old 405… They like the look and the technology in new car but always hoping that they can drive it like the old 405…..

• takin on Sep 13, 2011 at 5:12 pm

very nice indeed!

• carazy on Sep 13, 2011 at 5:17 pm

Where to put the rear number plate??

• uncle sam on Sep 13, 2011 at 5:17 pm

sonata design still kill this french fries…

• Zulkarnain on Sep 13, 2011 at 5:43 pm

The pictures don’t do much justice, should see it in person, very elegant and classy, yet somewhat still quite French, although I personally prefer the C5. There’re quite a number of them on the roads here in Singapore, and also the first two shipments are already sold out. We get the 1.6-litre Prince engined version with 156Bhp, 240Nm paired to a 6-speed automatic gearbox.

• nighttrain on Sep 13, 2011 at 5:45 pm

1.6l turbo D segment, interesting.. is there anything else in the same engine capacity slotted in D segment as well?

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Sep 13, 2011 at 5:46 pm

Nice….until the gearbox kaputs a day after warranty ends :P Seriously, this is the problem with french brands, easy on the eyes, even easier to afford with their super SKD prices, but not easy to maintain and even harder to re-sell later on…

• Tony Oldman on Sep 14, 2011 at 10:13 am

You mean the aisin sourced gearbox? It’s not french at all and it’s supposed to be quite good.

• HirumaKecil on Sep 16, 2011 at 11:56 am

Hey.. Guess what… i drive 2 peugeot.. and the maintenance cost is almost the same with other cars… even cheaper than Japanese car.. u just need to join our forum or fb
      ( just search for peugeot club malaysia or pcm in fb.. Citroen also have their own forum and fb) then we can help u find the good workshop with affordable price… If u just send ur car to an ordinary workshop, yes it will cost u a lot of money… because they charge u more than what the already expensive service center price… One of my peugeot are the 16 yr 405 with odometer almost 420k km already… and what i do is just only spend for less then 1k per year(normal service)…. The car is still in a very good condition… I even drive it from kl-kedah 4-5 time every year(since 405 is has a better handling than my 406)…

i’m not try to tell u which car is good or not or which car u should buy.. i just wanna with share u my experience and how to save budget when u ALREADY buy a Peugeot or Citroen…

• but driving this will show the korean kimchi a thing or two

• nighttrain on Sep 13, 2011 at 5:56 pm

is there a GT insignia on that front grille?

• cantik. clean design.

• tun tansari on Sep 13, 2011 at 5:57 pm

looks good but should have bring in the estate version, looks much better.
    Paul, why we bolehland always no estate version sold here?

• jaa_dat on Sep 13, 2011 at 6:07 pm

very modern looks…hopefully it will come with diesel varian also.

• Masked Ryder on Sep 13, 2011 at 6:09 pm

Bye Bye Peugeot 508 !!

1.6 ltr engine, same price range as Mondeo, not attractive look, questionable build quality.

• shanzhai on Sep 14, 2011 at 5:11 am

207 sedan and 408 has questionable build quality, but 508 doesn’t have, because 207 sedan and 408 are Chinese-made cars, while 508 is a French-made car.

• slick shifts on Sep 14, 2011 at 9:45 am

bro u have no proof at all of what you are saying. check lah first and don’t just slam a product just because it comes from another country other than france.

• ko malu saje... on Sep 13, 2011 at 6:17 pm

I guess we have too many keyboard warriors here, see the car in metal first baru comment la deng…

• puterakupang84 on Sep 13, 2011 at 6:24 pm

i saw it to yesterday..I saw it when they take it down from the truck..but i saw two model..the sedan model excatly like the one in the picture and another one is touring model..I try to upload the picture very soon..

• i still won’t buy from AP king.

• Apalalu on Sep 13, 2011 at 6:32 pm

Although the 1.6 turbo is a nice engine, a car of this size n weight should be powered by at least a 2.0 turbo.

• owenlim on Sep 14, 2011 at 12:08 am

totally agree. Own a 308 turbo. This 1.6l turbo engine not doing its best job. Sometimes engine jerks when pedal slammed down quick.

• puterakupang84 on Sep 13, 2011 at 7:21 pm

anyway peugeot always known as a brand with small engine but with great power..

• ketopijot on Sep 13, 2011 at 7:56 pm

Awesome…… that is what pijot is all about. PUG lover take it as it is.I wonder if all comment were taken, how would thw car looklike…. worst . You all need to think like the french to appreciate the product… if still talk/compare about/with the T, H or any other brand it show you are all basher and not sincere in comenting. Go and drive one you will know which one on the ground and which one fly high…… Pijot dulu kini dan selamanya…

• HirumaKecil on Sep 16, 2011 at 12:12 pm

once u drive it, u will always compare the other car with it… When my first time look my friend drive his father 405 i’m very3 not interested in it… Even i admire Ari vatanen with his peugeot i never imagine that i will owned a pug.. One day my friend ask me to drive that car because he was sleepy.. u know what.. 3 month later i already have my owned 405(second hand je) under my name… And now i have 405 and 406 and i planning to trade in my 406 with a citroen c5….

• Very nice interior. Picture alone unable to display 508 beauty. Having said that, RM150k or above will be a deterrence to this sedan.

• murad on Sep 13, 2011 at 9:07 pm

Pug has good a nice cars, but the support side and the backend like service according to many of friends who owns Pug, they vomit blood each time their car is sent in for servicing. I think this is something that NZ should look at “customer service”, according to my friends they are super far behind from Japanese makes for car servicing, taking into account that this is continental European make.

• Jimmy on Sep 13, 2011 at 10:29 pm

Oh no! There is no panoramic sunroof. At RM180k, pray God it has 12 airbags in order to sell reasonably well. 1.6L turbo — zzzzz.
    Better to get a Passat, isn’t it?

• slick shifts on Sep 14, 2011 at 9:52 am

if you can live with the passat’s ‘uncle’ looks then by all means go get it!

• K-Man on Oct 14, 2011 at 5:09 pm

passat is a 1.8t with 158bhp. the 508 is a 1.6t with 156bhp. i remember a vw sales person saying how efficient their cars were when comparing to the camry 2.4. the passat is kinda letting the vw brand now isn’t it, with the 200cc less 508 having almost the same amount of power. and, i don’t think the passat has 12 airbags either.

• slick shifts on Oct 15, 2011 at 12:05 am

What lah, Passat against this? Looks more like a government car than a prestige car. At least the 508 looks classy and has some thought to its design. Plus, the Passat only has 158bhp from a 1.8 turbo? Should be at least 190bhp if the 508’s 1.6 turbo can already get 156bhp with 240nm of torque.

Maybe the Passat will need 20 airbags and a panoramic roof to sell against this 508.

• apalalu,

why don’t send ur resume to Peugeot ?

• RedBeanBun on Sep 13, 2011 at 11:12 pm

i hope it will meet at Accord 2.0 price range. if at RM180K?…see how the market respond then…i doubted seriously.

anyhow, i wont be a AP King supporter regardless what car they bring in, or how low they sell their car, cos they are part of the root of bolehland automotive axis of evils.

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Sep 15, 2011 at 11:26 am

RBB, you are a man of morals, I applaud that…

Think about it guys, Kia, Peugeot cars are declared as CKD when EVERYONE in the world know they are brought in as CBU. Is there a definition of SKD in the National Auto Policy? Nope. Naza gets free APs handed out by the government in their parallel import business, then make another crap-load selling these overpriced grey imported cars to the rakyat, then they are also allowed to import new cars wholesale and sell them as CKD, can you imagine the daylight robbery from the rakyat?? Buying Kia and Peugeot cars is simply equivalent to contributing to the Barisan Najis’ coffers, simple.

• tishaban on Sep 13, 2011 at 11:19 pm

I certainly hope Nasim can price this far lower than a Mondeo, looking at previous models (308, 407, 3008) and their very attractive prices.

• If they can manage to be patient at taking profit by offering the car at 160k++ surely they can eat more of the Pie of D segment.

• Maserati on Sep 14, 2011 at 7:23 am

how can this car sell well here when its gonna be priced near Mondeo kinda price with only a puny 1.6 turbo engine inside.

Yes i have test driven the RCZ with the 1.6 turbo Prince engine and its ok around town ,but once on the highway,it severely lacks any power.I would just go get a GOLF GTI anytime for that kinda price.

And furthermore these French cars are hopelessly unreliable.This includes their aftersales service.And to those who wish to sell ur FRENCH car later on,hopefully u can find your buyer,as I see tons of people selling off their once cherished Kia Forte.But just check out their prices,dirt cheap! Cause nobody wants to buy rubbish.

Stick to Japanese cars,and you will be saving a ton load more money!

• idaho on Sep 14, 2011 at 10:27 am

You made the right choice! we don’t too many people driving these beuties here…

• megamind on Sep 14, 2011 at 12:55 pm

these people, test drive on highway for 2 minutes then make their premature assumption

• idaho on Sep 14, 2011 at 2:39 pm

I bet he test drove the RCZ auto!

• could he really get an appointment to test drive the rcz in the first place? ;)

• anti-first on Sep 14, 2011 at 12:07 pm

maserati oh maserati….we have been waiting for you so that we can conduct a “friendly exchange” of thoughts.

but hold on a minute here, what thoughts? all you ever ‘contributed’ here are pure gibberish, ALL THE TIME.

why is that?

this rubbish of a commentator ALWAYS drivelled whenever Peugeot or Kia/Hyundai launches their product. it is interesting to note that this cyclical pattern of drivelling and his ‘holy preference’ for Japanese cars and a particular German marque is anything but a consistent exercise of incoherent gibberish.

funnily though, he rarely posts on Japanese recalls or unfavorable news on his ‘holy japanese’ cars.

hey….this seems dodgy, don’t you think?

so it seems here that maserati doesn’t do coincidental but definitely likes to dish out misleading drivels – hallmarks of a desperate, employed salesman going all out to kill his competitors!

would any potential buyer take his flawed drivels seriously?

i certainly hope not because buyers would be insulting their own intelligence in the process.

but i’ll take his flawed drivels as pure entertainment to pass time and you guys should do too! :)

enjoy your day, guys!

• Zulkarnain on Sep 14, 2011 at 2:26 pm

I don’t think French cars are unreliable, I own a C4 hatchback, hasn’t given me any problems whatsoever. I used to own a Japanese car, a Latio to be exact, but I traded that in for the C4. Yes, the Latio was very comfortable, but also dreary to drive.

Talking about the 508’s so called questionable build quality, people should really go down to the showroom and actually sit inside the 508. It feels very solid and very well put together with plenty of soft-touch materials. Down here in Singapore where the high COE prices and high yen do the Jap cars no favor, more and more people are starting to see what the european brands have to offer. Honda has stopped selling the 2.0 Accord here, and the 2.4-litre version costs as much as a 2.0 Ecoboost Ford Mondeo Titanium. That’s why it’s not surprising that brands such as Citroen and Peugeot are out-selling favorites such as Mitsubishi, Subaru and Mazda by a considerable margin here, and also not surprising that you’ll find Volvo, Porsche, Audi, BMW, Mercedes & Volkswagen making the bulk of the top 10 sales charts here.

• tikus on Sep 14, 2011 at 6:47 pm

Ha ha VW also same …service sucks. And my Scirocco back light masuk air like bloody PI.

• sonyman on Sep 15, 2011 at 6:56 pm

sorry bro maserati, this 508, will not sell well here in malaysia. But im sure it is a well made car. especially when you place Mondeo, Camry, Accord, Mazda 6 and Teana,
      i’m very sure there are many young malaysian would like to think that it is different, and it looks so sexy. Camry conservative. Accord, dont know what to say, Teana try to look stylish nor sexy, Mazda 6 and mondeo they look great most buyers are young buyers, And 508, probably be in the group of mondeo and Mazda 6,

If you do a demographic on those cars, Camry, Accord, and Teana, Cluster 1, Uncle category.

Mondeo, Mazda6, and Peugeot, cluster 2, category, successful young chap probably age between 35 to 45 years.

I’am very sure this is what you may be thinking. But then again, this is malaysia, let Naza King Of AP, wow us with the price of these. Either the wow, darn expensive car, or Wow what a great price.

till then lets all have a wait, and when it comes we shall see what it is all about.

• Prashnan on Sep 14, 2011 at 9:09 am

Dear All,

FYI’ PUG 508 comes with three 3 engines actually, anyway this model should be 1.6 turbo, the rest not applicable in Malaysian Land, due to high grade deisel 2.0HDI and 1.6 N/A Engine, so buyers just get ready on 2.0 turbo(petrol engine soon)

well’ you may ask( how the hell i know this?) my cousin is very close to PSA-BMW(FRANCH-GERMAN Connection) BMW release the latest version 2.0turbo engine for their 3series and X series…so meanwhile PSA is transfering the technology from BMW, but UNDERSTAND THIS!…the power will be not as BMW2.0 TURBOCHARGED.

PSA having some complication on the D-SEGMENT models such as 508 and C5 Base on engine, so’ inorder to compete FORD,AUDI,BMW. they have no choice rather then using 2.0turbo Unit soon, Well’ buyers be more safe on selecting the 508 or C5…because the price wont be reaching 200,000 for a 508 except C5.

• Derrick C on Sep 14, 2011 at 10:24 am

If it is going to be priced like the Ford Mondeo, at least the 2012 Camry will still stand a chance…. If it is priced slightly below the Camry/Accord….. ehmmmm…. Good luck to Toyota/Honda.

• megamind on Sep 14, 2011 at 12:57 pm

no need to worry…thanks to people like “maserati” (japanese ass licker)…toyota and honda will survive

• Prashnan on Sep 14, 2011 at 2:56 pm

Well guys, this info could be something out of mind,, but could be rite aswell!

Toyota and Honda having lots of problem since tsunami attack, their production and sales gone lower than they expected…anyway there will be some changes soon on their models due to lots of recall….and with no mistakes, Koreans took this space to a strategic corner to bring out all their best model to compete world market., indeed good sales and service with perfect warranty scheme….5 years warranty for asia, 10 years warranty for europe and america……well thumbs up korea! but thumbs down Jap’!

Korean’s are smart in design work with european help like (PETER) with KIA…
    but using (HYUNDAI-MITSUBISHI-DAIMLER COMBO)engines….so’ they make good profit and great name….. ….

To be honest, PUG and Citroen…are doing the same….they use Japanese GearBox Aisin and BMW engine…except Bodywork……so’ now you call globalize…cheaper compare to previous models…….No more Porsche gear box tricks!…..let we see what NAZA can bring to PUBLIC…..

• Prashnan on Sep 14, 2011 at 3:26 pm

Guys,

One more thing, this is what we learned, and following since 1957,

Toyota came in 1951 in boleh land,
    Honda came in 1959,
    Datsun(NIssan) came 1971
    Mitsubishi came in 1972

!!!!!!But!!!!

Peugeot Came in 1947
    Holden came in 1935
    Mercedes came 1940

!!!!But!!!!!

We malaysian always back up last comer…

!!!!SO!!!!!

How the first comer to live….in this land…..

!!!!SO!!!!

Use your modern mind and Handphone to Message all your friends…Today,
    lets we make difference in one day, in one month the first comers cars will be cheaper then second comer….TRUST ME….just get your family…to nearest showroom and get PUG/CITROEN/MERCEDES/ each one with satisfaction….buy just paying less then RM100K.

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Sep 14, 2011 at 3:43 pm

fantastic

• Prashnan on Sep 14, 2011 at 4:07 pm

Registration Plate at Rear?

Can you see the difuser in black colour….2″inch left and right…just STICK IT!!!!
    Simple………

• nasimfan on Sep 14, 2011 at 10:17 pm

Don’t ask any question.
    It will priced below RM160k for sedan and RM170k for SW

• nasimfan on Sep 14, 2011 at 10:44 pm

Don’t ask any question.
    The sedan will be below RM160k and SW for RM170k

• anti-first on Sep 15, 2011 at 9:11 am

if this info is true, the lion WILL definitely ‘eat’ up D-segment offerings of H/T and maybe mess up the numbers of Kia/Hyundai a little.

what a way to put the brand back in the saddle……swweeeetttt!

• slick shifts on Sep 15, 2011 at 11:00 am

SW coming?

• Prashnan on Sep 15, 2011 at 3:20 pm

Well,

SW508…should be upon request, like Evente 407….little expensive…but….Nasim PUG have better choice like 3008,5008….anyway this should be decide by NZ Peugeot…..

• intermilan on Sep 16, 2011 at 11:49 am

The 508 SW design is very nice.
    Nicer and with a bit more characters then the 508 sedan.
    Sale of the SW won’t be substantial, if it is price ‘normally’, nevertheless it will assist in topping up the overall sales figure of 508.
    At best, SW might account for 15-20% of 508 sale. Translate to less than 15 units per month? Hopefully double than that.

Price target:
    508 sedan – RM155K OTR (same as Camry 2.0G) (RM5K more than Accord 2.0 VTi-L)
    508 SW – RM170K OTR (RM10K more than Stream RSZ)

Quite normal / slightly lower for Euro CBU, but since the CKD 407 is much cheaper (and still won’t sell freely), the 508, with this price target, might not sell any better.

With the anticipation of CKD VW Passat (normal Passat don’t look that nice actually, but Malaysians seem quite crazy over the badge, build quality should be top notch), 508 sales will be further suppressed if the 508 price turned out as targeted above.

Why? By looking at VW Golf TSi sales figure, it seems that some people are willing to spend the extra RM40K(!) in choosing it over similarly-specs 308Turbo sold at ~RM120K. Some people even choose the barren-specs B-segment Polo TSi over the richly-specs C-segment 308Turbo just because of the badge (the Polo is also cheaper by ~RM10K). The recently launched Polo GTi might worsen the situation.

And the recently concluded VW ‘Auto Show’ at Bukit Jalil is another strong proof of this obsession. Just look at the long queue! Amazing! VW will replace / strongly challenged Toyota as the most desirable /trusted brand/top selling non-national people car/brand if they play it out right.

Back to 508.. Nasim Peugeot might find the launch timing and the market situation isn’t so favourable to the 508. They might have to offer free services, extended warranty, free accessories etc right away to soften the price further (as reducing the selling price is normally out of the question).

Be bold guys!

On another note,I think Peugeot should offer the 508 with the 200hp-tuned Prince engine + 6-speed auto (as an equivalent to competitors’ 2.4L petrol offering). I hope they have this is plan already. This should be the 508GT (of the petrol offering). Limiting the 508GT in diesel variants is not smart when globally, petrol variants market is still big.

• sometimes, the french only think of europe. but these days they are thinking of global expansion. hope they see more of the world first when developing their cars.

• seancorr on Sep 21, 2011 at 10:31 am

Good comment intermilan. VW is indeed going to be a big brand here if VWM plan properly. Currently their sales & service got prob but ppl still buy it prolly its cheaper than owning say…a BMW or an Audi. I was one of the ppl who went for the Das Auto show and heck it was packed like crap. My wife loves the Polo GTI and so do I and the Scirocco looks good but since we’re in the market for a big car so the 508 or the 3008 would be a better option than the not so good looking Passat. As for the Jetta….maybe it will appeal to me but the looks is just so-so.

Ur right to say that Nasim should have some kind of counter plan…and if they could match up with the 5 year warranty it would help plenty and those free service plans sounds like a nice option too. Else I think VW would sapu Peugeot easily in this local market.

• It has taken so many years for peugeot to reach this level. They started with small models in Malaysia and now they are offering a complete range. Look at the Peugeot number of showrooms and models now. When you go there, you can find a car of your taste, starting from budget 207 to RCZ or now 508. 408 will be there soon. For marks like VW, it will take time. It takes time to build a network and to make cars which people want to buy. For the moment VW sells cars in Malaysia for only 0.1% of Malaysians. This is not enough.

• Dislike the rim.. prefer the one in video..

• They said 20th Oct will be launch, price below 160k. with 1.6cc engine, turbo, 156hp… do you think its will be ok, looks like big car, the salesman said will be as big as 5 series.

• Went to one of Naza’s showroom last Saturday to inquire and informed by the sales staff the indicative price is about RM170K. Hope it is not the case – my budget for a new car is RM150K only & really look forward to owing this car.

• birdman on Oct 04, 2011 at 11:52 am

This is my 50th birthday present to myself ! More likely the 508SW! Traditionally been a Pug driver/owner since the 70’s. Low profile, good driver’s car at reasonable cost!