Schumi on Singapore crash: It was a misunderstanding

Yesterday’s Singapore GP wasn’t the most exciting race we’ve had this season, and I was nodding off in my Esplanade Waterfront seat. As an event, Singapore is unbeatable – the sights, organisation and buzz are all amazing, it’s almost like a big party that happens to have an F1 race running around it – but track action could do with more spice.

There were some “oooh aaah” moments though, and Michael Schumacher going airborne was one. The seven-time champ tried to pass Sauber’s Sergio Perez on lap 28, but clipped the Mexican’s rear tyre and flew straight into the barriers. He was out, but Perez continued racing and picked up points for his efforts. Schumi is shrugging the incident off as a misunderstanding.

“It was a very unfortunate ending to my race in Singapore tonight and obviously I am a bit disappointed. What happened was what I would call a misunderstanding between Sergio Perez and myself,” the Mercedes GP Petronas driver said.

“He was about to go inside and lifted, and I was not expecting him to do that so early, and therefore hit him. It’s probably one of those race incidents which look more impressive from outside than from inside, as I am totally OK and my impact in the end was not too heavy. It was a pity because my car and the tyres worked well, and therefore the pace was very good. I will look ahead to the next races and hope to have better endings there,” he added.

Like he said, pace was good. Perhaps we’ll get to see more of the rejuvenated Schumi in Japan!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• nonce on Sep 27, 2011 at 12:58 am

living legend! If only the pace of the Mercedes was as good as mclaren, we might see schumi fighting for the driver’s title. Just saying.

• Carl Wong on Sep 27, 2011 at 1:04 am

“…but clipped the Mexican’s left rear tyre and flew.” His right rear tyre actually??

• still my favourite..schumi!living legend~

• Schumi, go back your kampung and retire lah, give the place to youngster. Buat malu saje.

• Simon Sez on Sep 28, 2011 at 1:30 am

Well, Shumi is known to crash into opponents car to determined a world title. This accident is pointless.