SEMA 01: ARK Performance 210 hp Hyundai Veloster turbo

This mean looking machine is team effort by Hyundai and ARK Performance, to be shown at the 2011 SEMA show in November. The ARK Performance Veloster comes with a custom twin-scroll turbocharger increasing the stock 1.6-litre engine’s horsepower to 210 hp (from 138 hp) and matching aesthetics.

Many other goodies have gone into the coupe, including custom intercooler system with piping, custom oil cooler, turbo manifold, lightweight pulley system, six-pot brake kit, eight-point Chromoly rally style roll cage, DTP track coilover system and GRIP dual exhausts as well as RSEPC downpipes and test pipes.

“The Hyundai Veloster is an ideal car for enthusiasts with its distinctive design and dynamic architecture. At SEMA, our ARK Performance Veloster will bridge the realm between an affordable sports car and an extreme motor sports vehicle. From the first Tiburon, to the Genesis Coupe, and now with the Veloster, ARK Performance continues to uphold the torch as the pioneer of aftermarket performance manufacturing for Hyundai,” said Ted Lee, owner of ARK.

The ARK Performance Veloster will also showcase interior and exterior mods including an open wheel concept with aggressive fenders and Nitto tires. ARK will also develop Veloster specific parts to showcase the tunability of the car to the American Import Tuner crowd. The Veloster was unveiled at this year’s Detroit show. Read all about it here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• nazir on Sep 30, 2011 at 12:44 pm

hmmmm sumhow its remind me about neo with supercharge~~
    its about timr proton replace neo with global spec
    for brand awareness like hyundai did…

• Anti-vios on Sep 30, 2011 at 2:11 pm

good looking car…. =)

• MoFaz on Sep 30, 2011 at 2:22 pm

go go korea, goo!
    and proton pls build something mean like this for satria neo replacement. many people out there would feel young again :)

• Unforgiven on Sep 30, 2011 at 3:10 pm

If VW bought over Proton, the protectionism will still be there in M’sia.
      The Satria Neo owner will get special discount to upgrade to Proton Golf GTi/Polo GTi.

• MoFaz on Sep 30, 2011 at 5:07 pm

enough with Proton – VW laa.. it’s already pass, go on with your life.
        they already sit and discuss many times and they know they’re not compatible… who are you to question that now? do you like it if someone pressure your mom to marry him? for sure you’ll object and protest, right?

• Unforgiven on Sep 30, 2011 at 2:57 pm

Looks like the Advan Racing rims…

• Looks kinda like Mini Coupe.

• yamcha on Nov 08, 2011 at 3:52 pm

Holy potato man that IS COMPLETELY OBVIOUSLY UNDOUBTLY VEGETABLY NOT LIKE A MINI COUPE AT ALL! Not a single bit!!! Oh my god.. can I introduce you a good spectacle shop?

• Masked Ryder on Sep 30, 2011 at 9:47 pm

Honda will showcase a 500hp Civic Coupe in SEMA 2011

• AllHailProton on Oct 01, 2011 at 6:39 pm

What a Shitty korean car,my it will smell my satria r3 smoke.

• kuching on Oct 03, 2011 at 9:25 am

what? satria r3? go to the hell with your local “sport car”. hehehehehe

• budak sarawak on Oct 03, 2011 at 12:05 pm

yalah..mcm la satria tu best…
        local music & food is better than local shitty car..
        i repeat again only local car i dont support…maklumla nak tukar selera..jeng3…

• RaceNut on Oct 02, 2011 at 2:33 pm

looks really garang!! .. perhaps front-grille looks a little like Nissan GTR, which is cool!! .. :-)

• good looking..hell lot better than those japs~