Budget 2012: Other motoring and transport-related news

Budget 2012: Other motoring and transport-related newsIt has certainly been a rather comprehensive budget. Aside from the announcements regarding the assistance for individual budget taxi owners and the continuation of incentives for hybrid cars until December 31, 2013, there were other items in Budget 2012 related to transport.

Among these are the projects of the Second Rolling Plan (RP2) under the Tenth Malaysia Plan; 2012 will see the first year of implementation of these. The RP2 will be allocated RM98.4 billion, with RM49.2 billion each for 2012 and 2013.

Under the RP2, the main projects to be implemented are the Gemas-Johor Bahru double tracking rail project, as well as a number of new expressways, these being the Lebuhraya Pantai Timur Jabor-Kuala Terengganu, Lebuhraya Pantai Barat Banting-Taiping, Lebuhraya Segamat-Tangkak and Lebuhraya Central Spine. Other core projects include the construction of the Kota Marudu-Ranau road and the redevelopment of the Sungai Besi KL air base.

On the Rural Transformation Programme front, an allocation of RM5 billion will be provided in 2012 to strengthen the development of rural basic infrastructure – of this, RM1.8 billion is set to be spent on the Rural Road Programme and Village-Link Road Project, which will build a 2,479 km-long road network which will benefit 1.76 million people in rural areas.

Meanwhile, the Pudu Raya Terminal, which is used by 80,000 people at any one time, has been renamed Pudu Sentral, following its complete facelift, which was carried out at a cost of RM40 million.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• stupid double tracking project again…

even we have new track but still using outdated 1000mm rail instead of 1400mm..train just can’t go faster than 100kmh…

then we have monopoly of train operator by ktmb lousy train and service…

what shall we expect? a government project for crony

• which is stupid…just leave behind already in development rail with billion already spent then spent many more billion for new rail system or finish up the remaining unfinished rail?

• hetfield85 on Oct 07, 2011 at 10:38 pm

are you stupid or what.. double track project basically is to lay down another line of track.

Currently there are only single track and it sound stupid if one track is 1000mm and another track beside it is 1400mm. Then, you need to different type of train to run on them. Unless we just dismantle the old track and change to 1400mm one and for all. However, the cost would be double.

• squall_shinoda on Oct 08, 2011 at 7:05 am

I agree. Changing the entire train network to standard gauge is very expensive because we have to dismantle the entire network and lay back the new dual gauge tracks to support both standard-gauge and the existing metre-gauge trains. Plus, the entire rolling stock will need to be overhauled by changing their wheels to standard gauge type. Worst of all, Thailand will have to do the same thing as well, since we do have a train service running from Singapore (Woodlands) to Bangkok.

• Put aside the old 1000mm track and built 2 new 1400mm track next to it.

Even our LRT using 1400mm track, only Penang Hill rail using 1000mm same as our national track!

Guess what? soon perhaps a decade to come, government upgrade the 1000mm into 1400mm. yet another new railway tracking project!

• this is plain stupid

ets can manage to travel 140

• take a ride with ETS with your GPS please, the speed on board is not even 110kmh!

• hantu on Oct 07, 2011 at 11:15 pm

then you use riverlahhhhhhhhhh..stupid monkey

• tricycle on Oct 08, 2011 at 8:22 am

let’s calm down, I think what Bing had in mind is, if in before they even started on the Double Track, do proper analysis, research and etc.

if it is feasible to have 1400mm then use that rather than 1000mm

now i think it would be costly since if change to 1400mm they need to dismantle and reassemble the track again.

if i’m not mistaken the KL-IPOH Double Track 1000mm is already started or already used.

i don’t use train, so I have no clue on KL-IPOH route.

• bobdbilder on Oct 08, 2011 at 10:04 am

Sounds like you lost the tender. Hehehe. Or shall I say, you spent some time rubbing up the wrong guy who says he can influence outcome but totally ignored the technical aspects of the job.

You want a train that travels fast, yet you dont know that a 40% hike in train speed means more than 100% in total project cost. Not to mention how much payout you give to that wrong guy you lobied.

Hehehe. Mangaku ajelah.

• Use your brain please friend, and wikipedia search how many country still using this aged 1000mm track for their national railway.

• kolejeon on Oct 10, 2011 at 9:21 am

just bash for the sake of bashing … typical human behavior

• ohtdpg7w on Oct 07, 2011 at 9:58 pm

and still no highway from bentong to kelantan? another years of traffic nightmare during raya :(

• Goooottttt, who says don’t have. That Central Spine Road project runs from Kuala Pilah to Kota Bharu. It cuts through the Karak Highway. It runs along the Titiwangsa mountains. Alternatively, the 3rd phase of LPT also runs from Kuala Terengganu to Kelantan. Then, there are 2 more east-west highways in the pipeline.

• I welcome the central spine project though I would prefer a proper highway. I feel loads safer though I have to pay more for it.

• The Central Spine Road IS a highway, with toll collection. Though from what I understand, MAYBE the stretch covering the state of Kelantan is not tolled. This I cannot verify. But the project already got the green light from cabinet, and expected to be fully completed perhaps around 2018. Maybe some stretches will be open first, we will never know.

• bobdbilder on Oct 08, 2011 at 10:13 am

Why don’t you do not migrate that far. Stay in Kelantan and develop the state? Yeah you earn less pay there but the total life cycle cost of staying away from your birthplace is so much higher. Socially, having family support reduces more cost than can be seen. Plus, if there were economic advantages that you could bring, Kelantan would lose out. Not to mention your own survivability. Every continuous hour you drive on a road increases the chances of accidents or worse. Multiply that with the qty of passengers in the car.

• CrabStick on Oct 07, 2011 at 10:14 pm

Ah! Boss… can look into KTM ah? never run on time… METRO bus got no standard.. noise pollution so high flying crow also drop dead sometimes! :P

• bulletmaniac on Oct 07, 2011 at 11:52 pm

no bullet train project to camera highland or langkawi ?? ipoh airport not going to re-develop??

• Masked Ryder on Oct 08, 2011 at 12:45 am

Benefit crony & 6P new citizen, can’t see a thing good in this budget.
    Fast forward PRU we need Ubah.

• NOT EVEN 1% DEDUCTION IN CAR TAXES!
    TIME TO VOTE THIS FATSO OUT OF OFFICE.
    SO MUCH HYPE ABOUT MAKING LIVES EASIER,….IN THE END , HE JUST THROWS PEANUTS AROUND WHILE ADORNING FAT MOMMA WITH 70 MILLION DOLLAR RINGS

• Calvin Klein on Oct 08, 2011 at 7:15 pm

its USD8 million la… not 70 million!!! u didnt see the captured PC screen ek?

• We spent substantial on double tracks. My question: do we utilize it or merely for the sake of “infrastructure projects”. Without clear and sincere direction and action, we’ll simply deplete our resources. What happen to Ipoh double track? Do you thing got adequate commuter wanna take train from Ipoh to Klang Valley based on their current salary? Is the current salary structure especially among private sector will guarantee the projects were FEASIBLE and VIABLE?

2. Most Kelantanese prefer to travel, weekend or festive seasons. Why not offer them solution for their traffic woes? Economically, it’s viale to give Kelantanese Bentong-KB stretch of expressway.

3. How about East Malaysians right of proper roads? Do they entitled or promised with better roads under new Budget?

• bobdbilder on Oct 08, 2011 at 10:20 am

Economically Migration causes problems. Stay where you are. If you have talent, that talent is better made when it develops your own community.

Why does it sound economical to have a multi million project for people who travel occasionally? Whereas that money spent does not bring value adders to the rest of the 20 million other people?

This is the Federal Budget. FEDERAL.

• xxWWWxxx on Oct 08, 2011 at 8:41 am

nothing grand from the 2011 bdgt, i hv just google the crude oil price, it is abt USD82.87. Gomen claim that time when the crude price was USD97, actual retail should be RM2.75, with subsidy of RM0.80/l. Today when oil price is USD82.87, gomen still claim our retail price shud be also RM2.75, now with a subsidy of RM0.85/l. There world price already drop over 14%, simple mathematics. How come our actual retail still remains at 2.75? Why simple mathematics the gomen cannot calculate? This is totally bullshit, trying to hide facts n figures from us, the motorists. oledi tax the car ridiculously high, tax even the air inside the petrol tank, tax the number of nuts used in the car, tax the number of times u brake per hour, also tax the number of time u fart inside the car…. now come n tell us the subsidy is still o.85/l…. just wat the FU*K r u talking man…..

• lion meoww on Oct 08, 2011 at 3:36 pm

they’ll revise every 6 month, not every month/week..

• payne on Oct 08, 2011 at 7:23 pm

6 months? oh common!!! i thought they said they will “float” it according to world crude oil price. if 6 months, this will no way to benefit us. what if the crude oil drop to rm60 per barrel today and by the time the “6 months” come, the price of crude oil already climb up to rm100 per barrel. imagine of the crude oil price for the past month maintan at rm60/barrel. manyak lugi owh… sepatutnya bulananla… apa punya najis.

• Your quoted price is based on a single day, or averaged out over 6 months or 1 year? Plus, different source of oil gives different price. Like the North Brent is more expensive than our Pak Arab oil. Maybe you should provide more detailed info, than providing a generalized comment. Sometimes we are so easily taken for a ride by somebody’s propaganda.

• tokmoh on Oct 09, 2011 at 11:05 am

IMHO, it’s derivatives at play. It’s probably something similar to what airlines do.

What they do is make a forward agreement for a fixed amount of time (eg 3 months or whatever), with the seller to buy fuel at a fixed price. Irregardless of spot price ie market price that u see ie USD82 or whatever, they will still have to buy at the agreed price at start of agreement.

• TFazuin on Oct 10, 2011 at 11:17 am

You may think revising every day is a good idea, but in our imperfect economy we only have recorded rising prices instread of lowering of prices. So if we lower the prices today by 10%, does it mean that your food and essentials will drop as well? They don’t. But when it rises by 5% these manufacturer will round it up to the nearest dollar.

The prices you see are the offical prices at the pump and no where near where people in the interiors of Malaysia are paying, so stop whining like a kid. People in the interiors of Borneo are paying double for everything with less than what you earn in the city and they have no options.

You want people to feel sorry and pity, I don’t think you deserve that when other people’s basic necessity like food and shelter costs double with half the salary. In Semenangjung you have options, nak lebih duit kerja rajin sikit, go to classes etc. Please stop whining…

• asmat on Oct 08, 2011 at 9:06 am

What a highway-oriented country….never mindlah there are so many accident and jammed everywhere…stupid

There should be more railway lines…faster, safer, greeen and cheaper…

• Calvin Klein on Oct 08, 2011 at 7:18 pm

kah kah kah n railway supporter in a car blog??? go away la man… u are in the wrong place!

• tokmoh on Oct 09, 2011 at 11:15 am

YOU’RE the one that need to go away.

What’s wrong having good railway? I think it’s awesome so that lousy drivers can gtfo from driving and what remains on the road are drivers who are truly passionate and respectful about cars.

I think anyone who barfs directly on me is more respectful to me than those Toyotard arseholes who never give fucking signal, cut queues, don’t give way, lousy parkers, and still show a smug face as if they’re God or something. I’m seriously pissed, I hate driving in Malaysia so much despite I love cars.

• As a SME operator it has been hard managing rising cost. Labour has always been our biggest expense and now increasing employer contribution by 1% will hurt our bottom line even more. Good for employees….but if employers decide to close down, will be bad for them. Need to give a tax break to SME to offset the increase in contribution.

• buskerhatesTnH on Oct 08, 2011 at 4:13 pm

who have the phone number of that chick behind najib…. i think, i fall in love oledi….

• that is because u take the one that stop for every station. the silver one

take the platinum package

it will ride 140. get your fact straight before u bashing something

bash with your brain, not with your knee

• MoFaz on Oct 09, 2011 at 9:02 am

revised monthly for ron97, and every 6 month for ron95. real world price change quite drastic, some countries use weekly, and some even use daily price.
    real price of ron95 isn’t far from ron97. only few cents. but this few cents is big amount to gov if you consider thousands of litre sold every day. i’ve read some articles, which mentioned that reduction on crude oil price doesn’t always reflected to lower pump price. price will drop only if the low crude price remain the same for days or weeks. it’s a complicated issue, mainly because it take days or weeks to import the oil, process it and deliver to end consumers.
    to change the price every month would make people happy if the price is decreasing, but what if it increase? you’ll have to adjust to a new price of teh tarik and schoolbus fare every month too.

• THINKER on Oct 09, 2011 at 1:25 pm

40 Mil for Puduraya. Thanks for the info mate

• MoFaz on Oct 10, 2011 at 12:29 am

yes mr thinker, RM40mil for puduraya upgrade. now, before anyone bashing, pls go and see with your own eyes first. if you have old photo of puduraya, bring it and compare. go inside the toilet too! notice that floors and walls are completely changed. nothing like the old puduraya.
      now, i donno if the cost is really that high, but u can see major improvement on it. if gov want to be transparent, they should reveal the itemised cost for everything to us.
      but i don’t like it to hear that they going to spend hundreds of millions to repair parliament. we as normal citizen doesn’t get ‘direct’ benefit from that. and it hurts even more to see the MPs sleeping in parliament.

• tattoo sleeves shop on Oct 10, 2011 at 5:50 pm

they hv done a very good job on the new Pudu Sentral! Syabas!

• tattoo sleeves shop on Oct 10, 2011 at 5:53 pm

Pudu Sentral great job! Luv it! but i still a bit kecewa.. car price will not go down huhu..

• fortminor on Oct 11, 2011 at 11:33 am

what if the government abolish all the tax for cars, but at the same time introduce tax exemptions for individuals/ companies who buy local cars. the tax also should be bracketed so that people who buy a more expensive car will get higher tax exemptions. but for this to work, i think local car manufacturers will need to have a very good middle to high end product so as to entice buyers who are in the higher tax bracket. maybe the economist out there can study the feasibility and it’s pros and cons.