Nissan GT-R gets upgraded for 2012 – power up to 550 PS

Nissan has announced the introduction of the 2012 model year GT-R – the car goes on sale in global markets beginning January next year. In a nutshell, the 2012 revisions have brought about more power to the VR38DETT block, to 550 PS at 6,400 rpm, with torque at 632 Nm from 3,200 to 5,800 rpm (up from 612 Nm previously), as well as improved economy and lower emissions.

As well as more power, the 2012 GT-R has a newly-developed asymmetric suspension which compensates for greater weight on the driver’s side in RHD models, enhanced transmission ‘feel’ and a stronger body for extra rigidity and better handling.

The engine response and torque at mid- and low-speeds, and power at high revolutions, has been significantly improved, primarily from improved intake efficiency as well as exhaust emissions efficiency and increased exhaust valve cooling performance. The car also has reduced air flow resistance, thanks to a more compact under floor catalyser which improves emissions efficiency and reduces weight.

As for the transmission, the shift ‘feel’ and quietness has been refined thanks to a strengthened design of the shift fork arm and a firmer fixing bearing for the flywheel housing. Also, a special differential oil – namely the R35 Competition Type 2189E, in a 75W-140 viscosity – that was developed for competition is now used in every GT-R version.

As well as greater power and torque, the reinforcing of certain areas around the rear part of the engine compartment and dash panel delivers more responsive handling, and Nissan says a greater sense of the vehicle’s grip on the road is transmitted to the driver.

At the same time, more precise production methods, accompanied by advancements made in the vehicle body, have improved the inter-vehicle detection capability. This has been achieved by a more rigid, highly-damped vehicle body and changes in the positioning of the sensor. Additionally, a more accurate acceleration sensor has been placed in areas with higher sensitivity in the vibration testing of each vehicle body.

Meanwhile, accounting for the added weight of the driver in a right-hand drive vehicle, coupled to the fact that the propeller shaft for the front wheels is located on the right side of the vehicle, the GT-R’s suspension in RHD versions has now been set asymmetrically.

For the front suspension, there’s a harder spring rate on the left side, while at the rear, the suspension arm has been installed upwards on the left side and downwards on the right. This means an imbalanced wheel load when the car is stationary, but which is equalised during driving, providing improved responsiveness, smoothness and steering feel, as well as enhanced cornering stability and riding comfort.

Elsewhere, the interior gets minor tweaks – the instruments placed in front of the driver have been enhanced by the addition of blue lighting inside the tachometer ring to match the shift position indicator light, and the Bose audio system’s woofers have been changed to Bose Precision Sound System woofers developed for the Egoist grade, for improved sound quality. Also, a rear view camera is now standard on all models.

There’s also a Track Pack custom option, available for the Pure Edition. Jointly developed with NordRing company in Japan, it features a suspension, air guide for both front and rear brake cooling and aluminium-alloy wheels made by Rays (the last with a black quartz chrome shade coating).

The front spoiler – with a carbon air duct – has been exclusively made for this edition, and is installed as a set. To reduce the vehicle’s weight, the edition features a two-seat configuration (without rear seats, with quilted fabric mats), though one can opt for combination seats made with genuine leather and high-grip fabric that have been newly developed for the “For Track Pack” option.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• LuCaz on Nov 08, 2011 at 12:43 pm

I’m lovin it !

• Alpha on Nov 08, 2011 at 4:17 pm

No women can give the same orgasmic feeling as this car to a man~

• zack kurick on Nov 13, 2011 at 10:20 am

I agree, just hearing news about GT-R was giving me cargasim for the last 6 years, imagine drinving 2013…

• Nissan is super coz they’r making high quality and high performance cars ! German = Luxury. Italian = Cool looking. Japanese = faster. M’siass = ?

• m’sias…lifetime warranty ma…

• vyseus on Nov 15, 2011 at 10:04 pm

Yeah say that when you are staying in Malaysia, and you just like slap your face with your own hand. Bravo dude bravo..

• love or hate it…i must admit gtr is the beast…f**king awesome!

• added weight for left and right, tune so specific.

next generation, need to do single seater or 3 seater like mclaren f1, lol

• peeps on Nov 08, 2011 at 12:55 pm

those japs are good! smack those germans and italian right on their face..

• Future Husband on Nov 08, 2011 at 1:01 pm

My nose is bleeding when looking at the car. AWESOME!

• Wow!

• nissan fans on Nov 08, 2011 at 1:13 pm

left right unbalaced..once move on, its balaced

• Things get better and better. The current one is already awesome, and this is…awesomer! haha!

• zaff1984 on Nov 08, 2011 at 1:24 pm

this is madness !!

• JeremyNg on Nov 08, 2011 at 1:28 pm

The Godzilla is just getting better and better !!!

• chong on Nov 08, 2011 at 1:34 pm

The best among all japanese Racer

• This best Japanese racer is actually owned by Renault. Just wonder if it shares the same platform and engine with Megane Sports.

• don^don on Nov 08, 2011 at 3:58 pm

u must be retarded. Nissan owned by Renault? They’re only a partnership, and how on earth can a sports coupe share a platform with a hot hatch? I don’t know how your brain works.

• everybody thank ghosn now, if he not around, nissan maybe already become “batu nissan’

• torque on Nov 08, 2011 at 8:15 pm

Renault owns the largest share in Nissan la bro…that’s makes them the boss!

• sapik on Nov 08, 2011 at 11:57 pm

dude,nissan is owned by renault-peugeot spa.in fact that is why they share the same space at the french motorshow

• sapik on Nov 09, 2011 at 12:02 am

Renault has a 44.3% stake in Nissan, and Nissan holds a 15% stake (with no voting rights) in Renault. Renault has a 50% stake in the joint venture Renault-Nissan b.v., which was established to manage synergies in the Renault-Nissan alliance. The company is responsible for the management of two joint companies, RNPO (Renault Nissan Purchasing Organization) and RNIS (Renault-Nissan Information Services)

• anyone can tell why Tan Chong Motors didn’t bring this GT-R in Malaysia.. If buy from grey importers are likely to be cheated as some of them tempted the car’s mileage..

• Wallstreet on Nov 08, 2011 at 2:51 pm

I think they sell as I remember reading somewhere Tan Chong even have a test unit when they first launched the GTR and the CBU Teana few years back. Of course for a car like this, I don’t think they will keep any stock.

• you mean tempered the mileage?

• anthony u forgot to mention it’s super acceleration 2.9 sec 0-60!=D

• Black Dog on Nov 08, 2011 at 2:04 pm

The 2013 model will have wings added!

• Steve Wong on Nov 08, 2011 at 2:45 pm

How much it costs?

• Wallstreet on Nov 08, 2011 at 2:48 pm

Damn awesome…super fierce. I will chose this over Porsche anytime…soon!

• Nissan is forced to bring out this model because their current one can easily be beaten by the 911 Turbo S.

• this is we call an upgrade!! no SE or Elite bullshit edition

• its pretty cheap for a supercar as well…..RM800k+ for a new 1

a recon model is selling for around RM400K+/- now

• izzat on Nov 08, 2011 at 3:00 pm

How about in 2013 they come up with “GILA version” which they add carbon ceramic brake, magnesium wheels, CF body panel, massive rear wings, front splitter, >650BHP engine and 7speed gearbox..380kmh Godzilla..damn! that’s awesome!!! =D

• thats called the spec v.fast… without the 650bhp… and probably 380kph…

• Angrybirds on Nov 08, 2011 at 3:52 pm

kejam nye keta niee haha

• Ah Chong, what are you waiting for?

• ayamxxx on Nov 08, 2011 at 4:33 pm

this car is drink fuel like no tomorrow.
    In one Japanese Auto TV Show, which show racing between Supercar, the GTR is the one which stop 1st because it ran out of fuel.

The other supercar that race are include 2 Lambo, a Porche Turbo.
    Imagine this car drink more fuel than those lambo

• Masked Ryder on Nov 08, 2011 at 6:44 pm

Do you think u still bother about fuel consumption if u can afford to drive a supercar ?
      If yes then u better stick with kereta cap ayamxx

• Citroen ZX on Nov 08, 2011 at 8:36 pm

Yes, fuel consumption is still a consideration factor even for the rich. Look no further than BMW Efficient Dynamic, VW BlueMotion and Mercedes Blue Efficiency. Your statement portray you are the struggling middle class, thinking RICH people will spend money like no tomorrow. In actual fact, the opposite is true.

• TurboMan on Nov 08, 2011 at 10:19 pm

Rich ppl are generally more calculative compared to most ppl.

Thats why they are rich.

• they don’t care about the fuel one la. If they care then they won’t buy this car already because after 1-2years this car depreciate RM100k-RM200k.

• You can’t possibly compare the buyer of a GTR to that of a european executive brand like BMW. They’re buying for different reasons. The GTR buyer won’t bother about fuel consumption just like how a Porsche, Ferrari or Lambo owner won’t bother. They’re buying out of emotion, not buying a company car.

Sorry to say those buyers of run of the mill Bimmers and Mercs are not really rich. They are just highly paid Salaried Employees with high Expenses and liabilities to match. They are certainly stuck in the ratrace and do not have the same freedoms of people who can afford the fast exotics.

If the exotic car owner is calculative, they are doing so for the sake of VALUE, a subjective issue. They are certainly not ‘penny wise, pound foolish’ like the masses.

• Masked Ryder on Nov 09, 2011 at 1:56 pm

Citroen ZX
          Obviously u don’t know anoybody who own “Supercar”, those are “Toy” for them to drive once a while, those Lambo, Posh, Ferrari, Aston Martin & GTR are not meant for daily commuter, do u think they would hang out with their friend & say ” Hey guess what my GTR can do 12km/ltr if i drove it below 100km, while on my way to clubbing i spend RM 5 on fuel so today we can pop a bottle of Dom Perignon to celebrate !

Buying a 800K car to save fuel ? might as well buy a Viva.

Yes i am a middle income group, but not struggling, my ride cost quite a few Citroen ZX :-p

• johndol on Nov 09, 2011 at 4:43 pm

i doubt that. those very rich people buys this thing for their own satisfaction. buying those supercars and taking them out for some adrenaline rush on weekend or for a spin early in the morning. Your assumption on merc, bmw and vw is for rich people do portrays you as a middle income people. people with 4k salary can afford a merc/ bmw and in KL that kinda salary been considered as a low income people.

• Nazrul on Nov 08, 2011 at 4:58 pm

Godzilla never die! XD

• brandon phua on Nov 08, 2011 at 5:20 pm

no need this car actually.. if use in town i think my neo can easily beat this one. size more or less sum more.. plus better buy evo. evo 8 or 9 can kick this godzilla ass.. can also smoke it sum more! go evo!!!! go neo!!!! neo if put evo engine can beat even fereri or lamborgini

• TurboMan on Nov 08, 2011 at 5:36 pm

Eh small kid.

Go play your computer in the room

• Simon Ng on Nov 08, 2011 at 5:53 pm

Aiya, also no need to buy evo 8 or 9. If is really in town, a honda C70 can smoke you as well. Go honda C70!

• Masked Ryder on Nov 08, 2011 at 6:53 pm

This Brandon is really a “Nincompoop”

0-100km in 3 sec !! Satria Neo can’t even smell GTR Smoke.

Maybe u need to put some lube inside ur rusted brain to run faster.

• I can accepting that u say the Evo is a little bit better but NEO beat the GTR LOLX childish brain and cheap lolx go neo go evo wtf wow ur Neo is super for poor man thinking lah hahaha i hope GTR never park near with ur car coz the GTR will make ur car looks like a real gay car.

• Belancan Midin on Nov 08, 2011 at 11:16 pm

Boy, go inside in your room and play NFS…….
      pffffttttt GET A LIFE DUDE!!!!!!

• I had no idea where on earth did you get the idea that a Satria Neo with a campro engine can possibly outperform a Nissan GT-R with a VR38DETT engine. Even if you do own a Satria Neo R3 Lotus Racing, it can only generates 145bhp/147PS compared to this 2012 Nissan GT-R that produces 540bhp/550PS. By the way, the Satria Neo R3 Lotus Racing achieves a 0-100kmh sprint in 9.2 seconds while the 2012 Nissan GT-R takes only 2.8 seconds.

• as usual lah on Nov 09, 2011 at 8:09 am

dia ckp kalau satria ‘ehem-ehem’ neo tu swap enjin evo,sure bole tapau gtr..
        tp sure handling blm tntu best lah…hahha…buang duit je beli satria neo lepastu swap evo…beli je evo7 ade awd…hahahaha

• hayya..buat malu owner neo aje..shuhhh..go play ps3 in your room

• Too many young wankers here.

Hey budak, nah here’s 20 sen, now go play far far.

• cars4life on Nov 23, 2011 at 1:10 am

bro, i test-drove the car IN TOWN. AND THIS CAR SMOKES EVERY OTHER CAR except the veyron and the likes. even a small tap on the accelerator and u will cum in your pants. so please go f**k yourself.

• armandd on Nov 08, 2011 at 7:16 pm

The asymmetric suspension is really a great feature, it makes sure the car is balanced all the time. Genius! I think all manufacturer should make it standard on performance cars. It shouldn’t cost much I think.

• Nissan did this because of constraints caused by their AWD system. The shaft to the front of the car is on the right side and its fixed. Otherwise any manufacturer can just rebalance the car for the driver by shifting weight around.

I don’t think they would have used an assymmetric solution if it weren’t for the AWD system creating a challenge. And certainly a costly solution if you don’t have the economies of scale

• g-mey on Nov 08, 2011 at 8:34 pm

fuel tank GTR, lambo and ferrari.. boleh isi berapa liter yaa.. and dont forget that GTR can carry 4 person dude.. its suit me as a family man.. hahaha… but for now.. i still cant afford it.. hahaha…

• BeemerFreak on Nov 08, 2011 at 8:50 pm

Tan Chong…. bring this here. That is an order!!!!!!!!!!!

• its here, dont talk, go buy recon, its cheaper, and if you can afford it,. lol.

• wow…0-100 in less than 3 seconds is really neck breaking speed!!

however i s saw some big time clowns in u-tube video trying to race with godzilla in their souped up myvi /passo.

• nebula87 on Nov 08, 2011 at 10:44 pm

Dato Lee, change ur car into this…XD

• he already have one, the pre facelift and its tuned by i forgot what company

now he driving a F430

• Naji$ Bin Tun RosMah Lazat on Nov 09, 2011 at 12:42 am

Is expensive and unaffordable for most even if Grey market selling at RM400++++K

Anyway to exempt from the Crazy Boleh TAX!!? Is the way such as store a car in Labuan or Langkawi, and bring out the car after one year will works? Any hidden charges there? Need strong connection in order to do that???

• well, i think that potential buyers should wait one more year for the 2nd generation of Nissan GT-R to come out on 2013. I can’t wait to see how the 2nd generation Nissan GT-R will compete with the new Porsche 991 Turbo. Hopefully both cars won’t disappoint us.

• Jaybond80 on Nov 09, 2011 at 8:54 am

This will make the GT-R even tougher for the competition. It will be intriguing to see how the upgraded GT-R will perform againts the Ferrari 458 Italia , Mercedes SLS AMG & Mclaren MP4-12C.

• casio-edifice on Nov 09, 2011 at 9:32 am

GTR drink fuel faster due to its weight [1700+kg] and all wheel drive system. It is among the heaviest supercar, due to AWD system n rear passenger compartment. Lighter sportcar with rear wheel drive tend to have lower fuel consumption , but sacrifce corner exit acceleration, especially in high horsepower engine, which GTR AWD system perform well. But still wonder how GTR, while heavier than Lambo n Porche, can match or outperform those exotic on track……

• Nizam80 on Nov 09, 2011 at 1:18 pm

Yes, that’s what I thought all this while. Its heavy. When the first (R35) GTR came out in 2007, it’s able to beat the 911 turbo lap time around the Nordschleife. That original variant has around 470hp and weighs roughly 1700kg. That left me quite surprised considering its weight. The 911 turbo was lighter, btw.

• diablo on Nov 09, 2011 at 1:54 pm

It’s traction, not weight that gives the car an advantage through corners. General rule of thumb is always.. the lighter, the better. In GTR’s case it’s 4WD system is very clever and coupled with its suspension its really good at maximizing traction

• Maserati on Nov 09, 2011 at 10:35 am

The best car that japan has ever produced. Korean rising my foot! Name me one, just one korean sportscar tht you guys worship like the gtr?

It will take the koreans decades to be on level par with the japs. As for now, kimchincars still suck

• Sgt Scoop on Nov 09, 2011 at 2:15 pm

Hyundai is about to launch the Veloster in Malaysia.

They are claiming it to be unique. It is if you ignore the VW Socorrococorooro which they have blatantly copied.

• koreans only can beat the japs when it comes to normal consumer cars

they will fail to produce legends like GTR

• areoulz on Nov 09, 2011 at 5:54 pm

my kelisa will head to head with this godgilla in traffic jam..

• nighttrain on Nov 09, 2011 at 6:11 pm

Such beautiful sportscar but butt ugly sedans and hatches coming from the same company.. Hopefully they can send the GTR design team down to sedan drawing room and help out a bit laa.. please laa..

• areoulz on Nov 10, 2011 at 3:50 pm

i don’t need my car to be view dude. anyway, u own one? no?

• zack kurick on Nov 13, 2011 at 10:34 am

GT-R is a car you enjoy and gives you cargasim and euphoria drinving it … It’s not for everyone….. Some girls are dead hot but does not mean they wil be good in bed,.. for normal guy will have no chance getting even to bed with them… but some will give you a real orgasim, even to a normal budget guy… that’s GT-R …

• Khairul on Jan 19, 2012 at 4:14 pm

I owned The R32 Type-M last time and this GT-R is always my dream..now working hard to buy this :)

• Richard Lim on Feb 18, 2012 at 4:27 pm

it’s just too sad to read what some of u guys wrote here. they’re just too materialistic some would bleed to death or die just to have this car. life isn’t about what car u drive, what u own or how rich you are. it’s about how well u treat ppl around u, how generous ur when comes to charity, how compassionate & down to earth you are in this life not what u own. think about it. u won’t be able to take this car to the underworld when you’re terminated. can u? sigh…imagine kids nowadays would only be nice to you when u get them a GTR for birthday present. ????????????