Nissan Pathfinder spotted in Gardens Mall parking lot

We managed to sight this Nissan Pathfinder in the Gardens Mall parking lot earlier today. For those who don’t know what the Pathfinder is – it’s essentially a ladder frame chassis SUV based on the Nissan Navara, much like how the Pajero Sport and the Fortuner are derived from the Triton and the Hilux respectively.

This is most likely a grey car – we’ve seen the Pathfinder advertised by grey importers before for about RM130k. An official Edaran Tan Chong Motor (ETCM) imported Pathfinder with the same powerful engine you’ll find in the Navara would be a very interesting alternative to the Pajero Sport/Fortuner, but the volume of that segment might be too small to interest ETCM.

We haven’t seen a car in this class from ETCM since the Terrano.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• hanifhamzah on Nov 19, 2011 at 9:54 pm

bold-looking

• Kemikfinder on Nov 20, 2011 at 4:50 pm

Dah kemik dah pun… see the 1st picture, near the rear lamp, right hand side…

• Nissan should bring in the X-terra to rival the pajero sport in terms of off-roading

• you got it all on Nov 19, 2011 at 10:13 pm

and how will they do that when the the xterra is a left hand drive car?

• Rodney T. on Nov 23, 2011 at 1:15 pm

I used to sell Nissans in the USA. The interesting thing about the Pathfinder is that everything in the interior from the B pillar forward is about 95% common with the Xterra, and the Frontier/Navara. There are some minor differences, but at first glance you wouldn’t notice them. From the A pillar forward, the 3 vehicles are again about 90% common. As for the ladder frame, well they share that with the Nissan Titan & Armada, as well as the Infiniti QX56.
        The main difference is that on the Pathfinder, the rear suspension is coil springs, whereas the Navara/Frontier & the Xterra have leaf springs on the rear. The idea is to provide a more comfortable/non-utilitarian ride to the vehicle. US Spec versions have 6 airgbags standard, Disc brakes all around, ABS with EBD, as well as 4X4 options of either part time or full-time. The other nice option on the top of the line versions was a rear view camera that would be displayed when placed in reverse in the center radio display. This would be where the optional Nav would be displayed too.
        In 2009, you could get a baseline model Pathfinder, with cloth interior, 2 wheel drive for approximately US$30K. The price of the top of the line, LE model was about US$45K. For comparison, the US Spec Murano had roughly the same price range. And that’s the latest new body style Murano with the 3.5L V6.

• psychotic bionic on Nov 19, 2011 at 9:59 pm

looks solid to me…

• Hadi75 on Nov 19, 2011 at 9:59 pm

ETCM should bring this….with navara engine…please…

• Protonmahai on Nov 19, 2011 at 10:19 pm

Woooow!! My dream one. Never thought to see it here. Please tell me how to get this Pathfinder.

• nabill on Nov 19, 2011 at 10:28 pm

in dubai this comes with a 4.5 v8 US spec !

• Alpha on Nov 20, 2011 at 2:45 am

In my dream,it comes with 18.5 v40 MY spec !

• Nope, in dubai its 4.0 v6

• Rodney T. on Nov 23, 2011 at 12:31 pm

Actually the US Spec V8 is a 5.6L engine from the Titan/Armada. The V6 is a 4.0L VQ engine, same as the Xterra, & US Spec Frontier.

• GrrrG on Nov 19, 2011 at 11:01 pm

Looks mucho. Like it!

• theforgotten911 on Nov 19, 2011 at 11:16 pm

hmm…will be nice etcm bring it in….btw looks like the facelifted pathfinder since the gearbox look like a sequential type….

• balloon on Nov 19, 2011 at 11:43 pm

besides the car .. this guy sure has a DAMN good parking skill ! its just a few cm from the wall .. haha cool !

• Downsys on Nov 20, 2011 at 12:02 am

Wow, this person really knows how to park. Sooo close to the wall.

• eeeriz on Nov 20, 2011 at 12:21 am

This is one fantastic SUV. Very famous in middle east, especiallly in dubai and oman. Had a pleasure taken a ride and i fell in love with it instantaneously. It was 4.0 litre V6 but sound like a V8. The third row also quite big & can fill 2 adults with ease. With the big engine i’m not sure whether it’s wise to bring it here officially.

• theforgotten911 on Nov 20, 2011 at 1:05 am

hmmm…the engine option do include 2.5L and maybe 3.0L turbodiesel if my memory serves right….will be the real mothertrucker if it is available here…too bad it havent yet…

• MOdify make it HUMMER!

• policeman on Nov 20, 2011 at 12:43 am

WTJ 888

• nebula87 on Nov 20, 2011 at 12:58 am

Not necessary to buy this…bcox i got my own GPS…XD

• g-mey on Nov 20, 2011 at 1:21 am

to me.. Pathfinder much more macho compared to fortuner and pajero sport.. more power too.. I hope i can afford it..

• too me this car no doubt is the alternative choice beside the fortuner and pajero sport VGT. problem is at what price this car should be pricing??? current x-trial cost 150k++, hence this car will mostly price at 170k or more maybe 180k. But remember, this car is the 2008 model, and bring in Malaysia maybe 2012, a 4 year model out there…..

• likehondanotsomuch on Nov 20, 2011 at 2:02 am

Improves our diesel quality FIRST !!!!!

• ttooyyoottt on Nov 20, 2011 at 2:19 am

Grey importer sell rm130k ,,, a lot more cheaper than overpriced umw Toyota Fortune Hilat..!

• Melvin on Nov 20, 2011 at 2:47 am

The Pathfinder look big! I have Patrol.. and I know, Patrol is bigger and a whole different class, but this is big enough for me. Patrol is too big sometimes.

• This car will be a challenge to do parking. Require skill man….

• Look Hugh in size and awesome car

• subhero on Nov 20, 2011 at 8:21 am

nissan terano replacement.

• ouldmenaz on Nov 20, 2011 at 11:14 am

Wow…. nice truck and nice parking skill….

• William on Nov 20, 2011 at 12:24 pm

Anyone notice there is a dent at the boot ??>.<

• Expatriate VN on Nov 20, 2011 at 12:48 pm

ETCM is crap, never bring in the latest models!

• auto lover on Nov 20, 2011 at 1:43 pm

small size niss armada..

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Nov 20, 2011 at 2:00 pm

i say tan chong, bring it here, price it well, pair it to a sensible engine (nobody is going to buy a 3.7 litre engine like what you guys did with the murano), make a successful marketing campaign and people will buy it. it was really a pity the x-trail they bought in failed. the x-trail with 4wd is probably one of the most capable suv off-road. well then again you don’t expect a very tough looking suv with two wheel drive to sell well. and the rims wasn’t really very attractive too.

• pelams on Nov 20, 2011 at 2:38 pm

whow…heavily tinted

• 2009 limited edition UK Spec – 2.5L diesel

• 2009 Limited Edition UK Spec. 2.5L diesel

• Han!h on Nov 20, 2011 at 5:48 pm

long time since the Terrano…

• Rodney T. on Nov 23, 2011 at 12:39 pm

Oddly enough the US Spec Terrano was sold as the Pathfinder in the US, although with a 3.0L V6 engine only.

• Astroguy on Nov 20, 2011 at 6:35 pm

direct competitors to T. Fortune in middle east
    very powerful offroad especially in deserts

smaller rear seat leg rooms compared to fortuner

T.Fortuner is still the leading 4WD in middle east (and also imported from Indonesia)

• Jimmy on Nov 20, 2011 at 9:38 pm

Big size car is for 2 reasons: roominess and safety. Must be as big or bigger than Ninja King, and solid + >/ 6 airbags; at Toureg price also ok (but Toureg is smaller than Ninja King, too bad).

• Ahmed on Nov 20, 2011 at 9:49 pm

Boxy design . Adui……. No curve at alll… Where are all the good designer…….. What a design ? Pitiful …… Adui

• Obviously you don’t know anything about good design. What about product semantic, ever heard of this? This is basically a Navara without the truck. This SUV is tough and it should look tough. Curve lines will make this car look like sissy, like the Harrier.

• Is the Nissan Pathfinder the same vehicle as a Nissan Armada. They looked almost the same but i just thought that the Armada is so much bigger than this Pathfinder. Or could it be its just different name for different region.

• eeeriz on Nov 21, 2011 at 4:10 pm

Rolo, nissan armada is a lot bigger than pathfinder. In middle east they offered 5.6 litre V8 engine, with high equipment facilities such as Bose speaker etc etc. I like Armada better but engine wise will be too taxing on road tax. Its placed behind nissan patrol. This is based on my experience in Oman.

• SparC on Nov 21, 2011 at 6:51 pm

No, Nissan Pathfinder is not the same car compare to Nissan Armada.

Is like, comparing the size

Nissan Pathfinder similar to Ford Explorer

Nissan Armada similar to Ford Expedition.

• X-Trailer on Nov 21, 2011 at 9:50 am

Keyless engine start like the Latio.. cool for a car like this lol..

• artworkz on Nov 21, 2011 at 11:11 am

hv front parking sensor lah bro! pajero sport oso hv front parking sensor too

• mirror mirror on Nov 22, 2011 at 1:00 am

Lovely seats, must be really comfortable. Speaking about seats, I’ve just discovered how fantastic those seats in the Mazda CX-9 are, even better than the Volvo’s.

• lihwoei on Nov 22, 2011 at 9:52 am

Pajero sport or part finder…for me is pathFinder….!!!

• hi..got dealers or importers sell this pathfinder?where can i find them

• I berani sbb I kerani on Feb 09, 2012 at 3:22 am

I drive 4.0 SE model over here in the middle east. Its suits me when off road in desert rocky areas, going for camping/fishing with family, this car really suits me for its powerful engine and comfort. It offers BOSE sound system plus some other electronic gadget. Can complaint much about this car.

Shock pulak coz I found out Malaysia dah ada org pakai. I’m sure the owner smiling away bila driving masuk hutan/kebun.

Hmm… where to find new steering rack+right hand dashboard??

• Hi Guys

Am thinking of selling the Pathfinder as it’s not being used as it should.

Let me know if anyone is interested.

Thanks