Wald’s take on how a Toyota Prius should look like

No car is truly safe from the hungry predators out there called tuners! Even “pure and innocent” cars like the Toyota Prius aren’t spared from their dirty thoughts and grubby hands – here’s what Japan’s Wald International did to the world’s most famous hybrid.

After a previous effort called the Exclusive Line, Wald has released the first images of its Sports Line job that will be available in the market soon. Their mean looking third-gen Prius comes with a new front bumper, side skirts, a rear apron that integrates a diffuser and Lexus style exhaust tips finished in chrome, and aero covers for the side windows. The exterior parts are shaped from fibre reinforced plastic.

And to give it a stance to match the kit, Wald slammed the Prius with a sports suspension kit along with big wheels and tyres. With the new footwear and altered aerodynamics, I wonder what’s the km/l reading on Wald’s Prius.

After a few looks, it doesn’t look too bad, does it? Perhaps this will inspire some local Prius owners to do the dirty with their hybrid – I’ve seen some Mugen kitted Insights running around but not one Prius so far.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Kevin on Jul 10, 2012 at 12:02 pm

Pretty sure Kedai Abang will have these bodykits for Prius on sale soon…

• xavier lert on Jul 10, 2012 at 12:02 pm

somebody gonna get a hurt real bad!

• hafiz on Jul 10, 2012 at 12:15 pm

wow..nice mod

• Zizou on Jul 10, 2012 at 12:20 pm

I think it is uglier than honda insight mugen..

• Kumar san on Jul 10, 2012 at 12:20 pm

Not a bad rendition on Wald’s take as to how a Prius should be modded.I don’t think this version will be available here,even if it does,i reckon it will be brought in via the grey importers.

My youngest sister just got her Prius last week,i drove it,it’s kinda nice but i’m not a hybrid car fan.It serves a particular purpose for folks who drive at a leisurely pace and are really into the “green technology” bandwagon like my sis.

But this Wald version pretty striking i must say.Nice.

Cheers.

• Kiasu No Kiasi on Jul 10, 2012 at 12:49 pm

Those bodykit would end up in pieces if use on Malaysia road.

• i’ll call it the kim kadashian mod….front nice, backside uglieee. :P

• Looks like vios..

• student on Jul 10, 2012 at 4:12 pm

nice but not suitable due to huge bonggol jalan malaysia

• Jimmy on Jul 10, 2012 at 5:44 pm

The original exterior design itself is a major fault, nothing can help.

• Somehow IMO, the butt looks nicer in the photo, unlike the original version.. But have to see in real live 1st b4 commenting further…

• make a prius to be a race car? hey, prius is made to be a eco car and both cannot move in parallel. this is so gay.

• paparadzi on Jul 10, 2012 at 11:55 pm

“I’ve seen some Mugen kitted Insights running around but not one Prius so far.”

My guess is that some Insight owners are quite clueless on why they wanted a hybrid in the first place. Prius owners are more focused, I think

• Halo ! How about fuel efficiency after mod ? bigger rim means compromise on fuel….
    btw, tis one can’t clear most road humps….

• ABTguy on Jul 11, 2012 at 9:18 am

What’s the point ? Boring car afterall, only to carry people from point A to B economically….

Get the act on 86 instead lah…

• bonbon on Jul 11, 2012 at 12:52 pm

EX5 also can carry people from point A to B, so no need to read paultan laa

• amonrei on Jul 11, 2012 at 2:36 pm

I like it. Smoke the tail lamp it’ll be perfect.

You guys think too much.

• whatever the makeup is, it is still a puny boring car..

• All that plastic will ruin the cd, and the fuel consumption will go up, defeating the purpose of the hybrid drive train. What a waste of time. :)

• HeyDude on Jul 24, 2012 at 12:14 am

pretty than golf

• Sam Loo on Sep 30, 2012 at 10:20 pm

Mods on Jap makes are usually very well done