Kia Carens/Rondo – third-gen MPV to debut in Paris

Kia has revealed the first images of its new Rondo (also known as the Carens), which is set to make its world premiere at the Paris Motor Show in September. The company says that the third-generation compact MPV is a lower, sleeker proposition offering plenty in the way of space.

The new Rondo – conceived around the theme ‘responsive space’ – will feature a completely fresh, sleek, cab-forward design, replete with a lower roofline, longer wheelbase, larger wheels of up to 18-inch sizing as well as a chrome beltline accent among the design cues. No other details as yet, so expect more as Paris gets closer.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Mario Gomez on Jul 25, 2012 at 8:48 pm

Overall shape looks like Ford S-Max

• nazmarms on Jul 26, 2012 at 8:07 am

ya…totally looks like ford s-max

http://www.carpartsford.co.uk/ford_parts_accessories_prices/images/ford_smax_rear.jpg

• Kiasu No Kiasi on Jul 26, 2012 at 9:04 am

No supprise piracy is rampant in korea, so much resemble Ford S Max. But knowing korean car fanboy (most probably most of them work in pirated DVD shop or selling fake branded goods) will denied this.

• AESFAQ on Jul 26, 2012 at 9:35 am

kia copying ford.

• ben yap on Jul 26, 2012 at 10:20 am

Not same la, bro.

Kia looks better.

Most likely the Ford drives better la. But service by Naza & SDAC, both equally sucks.

• haah…as usual for us m’sians, we can only see this car earliest by early 2014, no?

• kelvin on Jul 25, 2012 at 9:26 pm

Hope that the car will debut in Malaysia after GE 13, it will cost only RM 50k. Wishing dream… When can Malaysian get a affortable quality car?

• goguncas71 on Jul 26, 2012 at 8:17 am

Stop dreaming…in the UK the even the current midrange 1.6diesel manual cost GBP 17500 OTR which works out to RM 85800. How to get at RM 50K?

• matlimmutu on Jul 26, 2012 at 9:10 am

in ur dream bro.

• Ha Gnih on Jul 26, 2012 at 9:11 am

Malaysians have always been cheated of our affordability to buy a decent car. I pity us who work so hard and yet when it comes to buy cars, we have to actually WASTE money. Hahaha. Go figure !!

• Black Dog on Jul 25, 2012 at 9:29 pm

It should follow Kia’s very attractive design cues. I don’t think they’ll shod 18″ wheels for MPVs, it will not be comfortable. 16″ – 17″ should be sufficient. 18″ is for show only.

• Hmmm, if it comes here by early next year, spacious enough with good features at the right price, I might just buy one.

• Fark, 1 of these days I gonna buy myself a korean car.

• Ha Gnih on Jul 26, 2012 at 9:14 am

You should just do that buddy. The kimchiis are getting better and better as time goes by. I know surely there will be alot of those Sushi supporters who would always bash koreans and their top excuse would be resale value. Come on guys!!! Once you can afford to buy a car that costs more than 100K, resale value should be the least of your concerns.

• rifle on Jul 25, 2012 at 10:13 pm

it looks like it has a cue of ceed wagon..hmm…but very stylish!yeah…. :D

• if Naza rebadge this it will sell like hot cake.

• Kia Karo on Jul 26, 2012 at 2:10 pm

It will sell like a hot bubur lambok Kg Baru….for a short period only like what happened to the existing model.

• Give the potent diesel, Japanese mPv suck

• Jolly_idiot on Jul 25, 2012 at 11:20 pm

Foresee it’ll look like the new forte

• KIA! Please release it as soon as possible ^__^
    Very very nice design. Move on KIA!

• Ha Gnih on Jul 26, 2012 at 9:17 am

Pity that someone who gave you a thumbs down for this bro. How sad to be that person who gives a thumb down for technology advancement. Anyway, ROCK ON KIA !!!!

• dont bother them bro.. they are using dugong city n bla bla bla..

• U mean tis ?
    http://www.veloster.org/forum/attachments/hyundai-veloster-general-discussion/3919d1331051839-veloster-vs-2013-kia-ceed-forte-418006_2755486215408_1505301570_32053353_409374463_n.jpg

or tis?
    http://www.worldspeedcrewcup.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/08/kia-new-model.jpg

• Ha Gnih on Jul 26, 2012 at 9:20 am

That’s Kia Cee’d. Available only in the international market. A Korean hot hatch

• farghmee on Jul 26, 2012 at 9:26 am

i think it’s different.
      that is C apostrophe D.

may be same family face,
      but different A-pillar says otherwise?

• Steward on Jul 25, 2012 at 11:40 pm

Kia BOLEH! Nice & styling indeed

• look nice. its time for kia rondo to change. current design look cheap. hoho

• That’s fast, but KIA n Hyundai really BOLEH lah….. Design really nice. How about the Kia Carnival/RIa, no new model with a turbo diesel in Malaysia?

• nighttrain on Jul 26, 2012 at 7:18 am

Wonder how they will redesign the full sized MPV like The Grand Carnival..

• confused on Jul 26, 2012 at 7:54 am

It’s a lost cause nowadays in PT to ever mention about the imperfection of Korean cars and to compare it with the Japanese counterpart; surely it attracts lots of thumb downs.

• AbgTutor.com on Jul 26, 2012 at 8:11 am

It is a family look. Rondo also known as Citra back here in malaysia, will be quite handsome and affordable by 2014, once the gila-gila tax go down..

• Pumpkins on Jul 26, 2012 at 8:12 am

Between this new Naza Rondo Citra3 and Exora (if both at RM78K price) which one you folks buy? He He He…

Proton really in deep trouble soon compete against Kia…

Preve vs new Forte…

Exora vs new Rondo Citra3…

Saga vs new Picanto Suria…

Gen2 vs new Rio…

Perdana V6 vs new Optima…

New Sorento, Sportage, Borrego, Amanti, Quoris well nothing from Proton to compete yet…

Only Proton Arena where Kia is lacking but Korean farmers don’t need that so at least Proton win one there…

Two ways Proton can fight this:
    1) Sack the designers to hire Chris Bangle or 2) Use that RM1billion Lotus loan instead lah…

• Ha Gnih on Jul 26, 2012 at 9:21 am

In Proton, money always go to somewhere or ‘someone’. Hahaha

• i see Ford …

• Hyundai De La Junk on Jul 26, 2012 at 9:01 am

Copy Copy Copy this is the only thing Korean Pirate know best, Total rip off from Ford S Max, Junk will alway be junk no mattwer how their disguised it.

• farghmee on Jul 26, 2012 at 9:28 am

y i see the pic like preve’s commercial 1?

the heat sensor thingy..

• biggbro on Jul 26, 2012 at 4:17 pm

I really pity you..it must be torture for you as more kimchi goodies appeared in PT and the junks are really the one that you vouch for. Anyway, I really dont see any points in your bashing everything koreans.
      Anything thats good for the end users surely is a good thing no?

• matlimmutu on Jul 26, 2012 at 9:15 am

quality wise? i still thumbs down to kia.

• cbz price on Jul 26, 2012 at 7:59 pm

I didnt like this design also much .. already there are same design models available in the market ,.. only some tweaks in the design is seen

• I dont like chrome everywhere and that why i luv my current rondo

Agree belakang mcm S-Max + Fiesta

• I like it…

• mantoi on Jul 26, 2012 at 10:18 am

cantek…will persuade my wife to join & take this mpv once she upgrade to grade 44…sharing is caring

• retard on Jul 26, 2012 at 11:00 am

stationwagon

• Pumpkins on Jul 26, 2012 at 11:08 am

Invert the photo and Wow it looks lovely in blue shade lah he he he
    http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/502/kiarondonew1.jpg/

If Naza priced it below RM80K not only Exora in big trouble but also Avanza, Alza, Grand Livina, Ertiga, Orlando, Zafira, Eastar…

• And please lah Naza if you plan to CKD this 3rd gen Rondo dont la replace the 2+1 rear seat with the long bench, unwise move which hinder alot of potential buyers to bought current Rondo.

• alldisc on Jul 27, 2012 at 8:59 am

IMHO dont think naza will rush to bring in this model.

they know citra was selling like hot cakes in 2003-05 because no other competitor other than avanza and unser but after 08, sales slowed down a lot. current rondo is hardly selling at all.

as UMW, naza will not expect big demand for the 3rd gen. besides, no matter how good kia cars these days people will not buy unlike in the year 2002. it is because of the very very poor after sales service.

• Come on, this looks like a sleeker and longer version of Sportage. Ford S-Max looks kinda ugly in comparison!!! Besides, it’s only a drawing. The actual car might look like a MPV version of the new Forte, I believe.