Toyota Prius range – free 10,000 km service package

Here’s a carrot for those considering a Toyota hybrid car. UMW Toyota Motor has announced that it will be giving a free service package for the first 10,000 km or six months of ownership to all Toyota Prius variants (Prius c, Prius, Prius Luxury) for the month of September.

A same deal was previously introduced for the Prius c in August. For more information on the “Prius and Prius c September treats” campaign, call Toyota free phone at 1800-8-869682 (1-800-8-TOYOTA).

Toyota hybrids are powered by the company’s Hybrid Synergy Drive system, and can run on battery power alone. Click here for our launch report of the Prius c and here for details of the facelifted Prius that was launched together with its smaller brother.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• What? Just 1 free service? Really disappointed! Does not look like a carrot at all, more like just a scoop only!

• agogo on Sep 05, 2012 at 2:50 pm

test drove this car the other day,

i must say, LEGO has better plastic than this car.

• Mr Cool on Sep 05, 2012 at 2:26 pm

Only first service is free? I’m not interested.

• UMW skali lg membodohkan rakyat Msia….boikot!

• Hukaka on Sep 05, 2012 at 3:33 pm

toyota malaysia always like to do THIS kind of good offer to they customer.
    event they no need to do offer also got long queue waiting list.
    but beware those korean car are growing fast to sharing your kingdom.

• alldisc on Sep 05, 2012 at 3:58 pm

the actual thing is..

UMW already gives free service labour for first 1,000km and 5,000km. but EO and OF must pay. the same thing for all toyota cars in malaysia.

now they extend to the third one at 10,000km and to include labour, EO and OF (package, right?).

that means the first 10,000km all service+parts are free.

• Haiya, nothing new? All maker offer same service package la. Oni the manpower flee ma, oil and filter still we pay, so no diflen lo :P

• pelar on Sep 05, 2012 at 4:30 pm

Regrettably it sounds like the land of the setting sun and this is coming from a T&H supporter.

• Ongtk on Sep 05, 2012 at 4:39 pm

I am an owner of the current Prius 1.8 model. Overall, I am happy with the performance and driveability of the car. Seating position is ideal and the car sits 5 comfortably. It’s not outstanding in outright performance, but suffice to say when the occassional spirited driving hits you especially during one of my outstation journey north or south, it does not disappoint either. As expected, fuel economy is superb! A return trip KL/Penang driven at an average speed of 120Km/hour requires RM30 worth of fuel. Sound proofing is better than the recently replaced Civic model. The Goodyear Excellence tyres from Japan shodded on the car is silent enough not to irritate the driver. The JBL 8 speaker system performs admirably with clarity in the mid to high range but could certainly do with some tweaking to boost the bass output. Hope to pay a visit to Dr Kho soon to remedy this. The radio’s intelligent search feature means you get to listen to your favorite radio stations uninterrupted throughout your journey and destination. There is USB and bluetooth connectivity too. So you are never short of source options to listen to your favorite media. Unfortunately, the Navigation feature although available is not installed on the car. I am disappointed that persistent enquiry with UMW has not yielded any fruitful results except the standard “your comments will be considered for our future launches” reply. I certainly hope Toyota will offer an option to current owner to install the navigation unit.

In summary, I am happy and enjoying my Prius. Notwithstanding, I would have waited for the yet to be launched Ford Focus had the Ford sales people been more forthcoming in regards to my enquiry on the car’s availability at the time I was contemplating my purchase.

• nothing to shout about unfortunately, speakers i can put as many as i want, until the car cabin only left for driver. fc wise, the fuel saving amount cannot justify the overall cost of the car, not all time do the long journey and at 120km/h, it’s not spirited driving, it’s normal on highways

• Sam Loo on Sep 05, 2012 at 9:19 pm

Yes, I heard very good comments about this car especially the low fuel consumption on short start/stop trips.

The hard plastic on dash is a little disappointing, but great quaklity

• Prius can be considered if they can price it circa RM120, 000 Post-Budget 2012. Otherwise, bye.

• ben yap on Sep 05, 2012 at 8:00 pm

only 10K mileage for free?

haiyo, better don’t give la. stupid promo…. not attractive at all!

• Very smart…..whack the price sky high and then give free service.

• Alex Chan on Sep 05, 2012 at 10:20 pm

very nice design..love this TOYOTA hot hatch!!..simply awesome

• Sam Loo on Sep 05, 2012 at 11:47 pm

There is a Toyota Sales Office that gives away 3 services FOC (parts and labour)

• Bimmer on Sep 06, 2012 at 12:19 am

I dont understand malaysians. They complain like hell when the G up the fuel price by only 10 cents and go on proudly ranting abt how fuel efficient and cost saving his overpriced hybrid car is. They still flock the showrooms to buy these POS overpriced cars and even when they hike the price 10k to 30k with silly package. Hello, the fuel price is relatively cheap in msia compared to other countries. You should be looking at lower car prices with more features. Do your math.

• Sam Loo on Sep 06, 2012 at 7:46 pm

Fuel is relatively cheap in Malaysia now, because you have paid for the subsidies up front when you purchase the car with taxes/duties going as high as 300%

• Ok, maybe it’s overpriced BUT consider this:

In langkawi and Labuan, Camry 2.4 is sold at RM10x,xxx (around 180k elsewhere), Prius Luxury is sold at RM13x,xxx (around 145k elsewhere). Which means you are paying 70+k tax upfront for Camry but only about 9k for Prius.

Now, tell me what cheaper car has more features than Prius? 7 airbags? Sorry, not even found in Camry…

Do your maths, boy…

• Silver on Sep 06, 2012 at 5:01 pm

I own a Prius all I can say is everyone has their own need everyone loo for different things in a car and I did that this car suite the current me . I do agree the plastic looks dead cheap but it’s made from recycle material .

• I am now considering to buying either Toyota Hybrid Prius or Honda Civic Navi 2.0. Any advice which one more good?????

• Astroguy on Sep 07, 2012 at 7:59 pm

Those who cannot afford will always complain and complain and complain……

• Sam Loo on Oct 04, 2012 at 10:34 pm

Need to look at the Total Cost of Ownership.

From the Resale value perspective, Toyota and Honda are already winners.

From reliability, durability, dependabilty and built quality, these 2 japs are miles ahead of Beemers, Benz and Audi. Dun even bother comparing kimchis, as they are still rotten cabbages