Mitsubishi Concept G4 previews the Mirage sedan

mitsubishi concept g4

Looks like the sedan form of the Mitsubishi Mirage is on the way, with the shape being previewed by the Mitsubishi Concept G4 compact sedan. The car will be making its premiere at the Bangkok International Motor Show later this month, and ahead of that, a solitary teaser sketch of it has been released.

Not much info on it as yet, save that it’ll be powered by the same 78 PS and 100 Nm 1.2 litre 3A92 three-cylinder MIVEC unit and CVT drivetrain as found on the Mirage hatch, which made its debut at last year’s Bangkok show.

Design cues as revealed by the sketch include a different face to the hatch, with a large front grille and a sizable diamond motif, striking headlamps and large foglamps fronting the car. Also to be found, multi-spoke alloys and a dynamic character line which kicks up towards the rear.

Can’t really glean anything off the rear itself from the pix, but the company says the car will feature rear combination lamps and wear a ‘tail end which leaves a sharp impression as it drives off into the distance’. Guess we’ll find out just how sharp it actually is when Bangkok arrives.

Late last year, Theophilus Chin offered renderings of what the Mirage sedan might look like – obviously, the front has turned out to be different, but it’s the rear that’s the key to it; will it shape up accordingly?

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• That’s pretty!

• vee-oh on Mar 04, 2013 at 3:01 pm

low FC and maintenance plus this look, ok looks like already found the perfect candidate for my rotten kancil replacement..as long as the price doesnt go beyond 80k lor

• i'mNissanCra2y on Mar 04, 2013 at 4:48 pm

RM80k? sure zero sales..

CKD Lancer = Inspira is a better choice..

This should be priced at RM65k (auto) to compete with ALmera.

• Sam Loo on Mar 05, 2013 at 10:01 am

Mitsubishi got bad RV in Malaysia. Cannot compare this Mirage to Vios.

• vee-oh on Mar 05, 2013 at 4:46 pm

but lancer/inspira type of car, maintenance is higher,much higher..i just want a reliable,good looking car, low fc & maintenance..enough for me already..spending the rest of my money for a nice house la..unless im rich which im not so

• MONTY on Mar 04, 2013 at 3:14 pm

so sexy!!!

• MONTY on Mar 04, 2013 at 3:15 pm

i believe this car must be soon in our market, and it’s a must buy!!! no more cheap spec Vios!!

• doohhh on Mar 04, 2013 at 3:23 pm

the design looks too kia for me

• Obviously a model based upon/rebadged Nissan Almera.

• motorhead on Mar 04, 2013 at 4:00 pm

Must be 1.5 at least. 1.2 for a sedan? Come on…

• Fagly on Mar 04, 2013 at 4:06 pm

Proton should let off their ego and rebadge this car as new Saga.

Time is money. Don’t wait too long. RM1 Billion hutang mau ingat juga.

• At first I thought it was a Kia Rion sedan, than I saw the headlines. But anyways, glad to see the fish grill gone.