Peugeot 208 – pics of Malaysian spec car surface!

s4-4606-IMG20130315WA0026

Two days ago, we told you that order books for the Peugeot 208 has opened, meaning you can put your name down for the B-segment supermini, which will be officially launched in Malaysia next month by Nasim.

That post included info from a sales flyer, giving us a hint of what to expect in terms of spec. Apparently, the hatch – which was spotted in both three- and five-door forms undergoing type approval at JPJ Putrajaya recently – will come with a 120 hp/160 Nm 1.6 VTi normally-aspirated engine.

Specs will include an interactive HD touchscreen and an Arkamys-equipped audio system, and for safety kit, ESP and six airbags among other things. Five body colours are on the palette – Bianca White, Vera Black, Rouge Red, Virtual Blue and Blossom Red. The latter is a pinkish hue that should find favour with the ladies.

Here’s a gallery of pics of the Malaysian-spec Peugeot 208 (could be an internal preview, spot the Fiesta!) lifted from an ad on oto.my. Ads on our sister site mention RM90k and RM100k, so we might be looking at that price range, with a fully-stuffed three-door (glass roof, 17-inch alloys, chrome mirror caps) as the range topper.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• kingston on Mar 21, 2013 at 3:18 pm

Yes Please!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 8
    • Beautycontestant on Mar 21, 2013 at 4:34 pm

In an Ugly Contest, this car can potentially win over the CRZ, the face of it is remarkable!! God is definitely a better creator than mankind.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 99 Thumb down 83
      • the CRZ is easily one of the best looking cars for the money, you must be astonishingly stupid. i’m not surprised if you’re “ToyoyatoVos”
        lol, vios, what a shitbox

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 33
        • theanswer on Mar 21, 2013 at 11:32 pm

wonder..where’s the ugly part on crz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
          • Sam Loo on Mar 22, 2013 at 2:57 am

The whole thing looks like an abomination.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
        • Sam Loo on Mar 22, 2013 at 1:48 pm

So overpriced. I might as well buy a VW Polo. Infact the VW Polo Pre Reg 2012 models are being sold for about RM86,000. So much more bigger and German quality. The French are starting to overprice their cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
          • Espresso! Quick! on Mar 22, 2013 at 7:33 pm

Actually, the Polo has a smaller interior. Please get your facts right. As you said, it is pre-reg vs new. Go ahead if you don’t mind buying a used car pretending to be new. By the way, aren’t you supposed to recommend the Yaris instead? Oh, forgot! That is already dead in this market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
      • truman6 on Mar 21, 2013 at 7:13 pm

if its not toyota or honda, its ugly right? go back to your proton iswara

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 9
  • Green on Mar 21, 2013 at 3:39 pm

17″ rims? woa.
    a size to challeng VW Polo.
    1.6vti high performance with the 160Nm and 120hp too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
    • theanswer on Mar 21, 2013 at 11:33 pm

hopefully will give good pwr to weight ratio..308 is heavy with 1.6vti.

• ToyoyatoVos on Mar 21, 2013 at 3:41 pm

My 2013 VIOS GT F Spec can smoke this car like how i smoke sardine in a cup

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 143 Thumb down 138
    • your vios can smoke this when the 208 is in “P” then yes.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 4
    • Just Another Dude.. on Mar 21, 2013 at 5:53 pm

you smoke sardine in a cup using your exhaust??

daaammmmnnn son..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
    • truman6 on Mar 21, 2013 at 7:16 pm

no wonder malaysia is getting polluted…brainless people like you should go africa…thy’re trying to sell a “CAR”..not a “RACE CAR”..i bet my honda civic can smoke you vios tin can like how your ass being smoked on the exhaust of your vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
      • Mat Global on Mar 22, 2013 at 1:16 am

My Preve cfe can smoke your N/A Civic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
        • Mat Rempit on Mar 22, 2013 at 2:55 am

My EX5 can smoke your preve.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
          • Mat Gila on Mar 22, 2013 at 10:06 am

My Ducati can smoke all of you in 3 seconds.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
        • My uncle said, my neighbour said to him that i-vtec is powerful engine, is that right?

newbie here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
          • It was a powerful engine to the standards of yesteryears. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
          • Alpha on Mar 22, 2013 at 11:57 am

Depends on which engine you’re talking about. The K-series Type R is still among the best and most powerful NA engine out there.

Even the old B-series Type R engine are seriously powerful in the light body of those EK/EG/EF.

And Honda’s F20C engine from the S2000 has the world’s highest horsepower per liter ratio in the world for NA engine for 10 years until it was beaten by the Ferrari 458 Italia.

But it’s true that these engines are no longer in production, that makes them engines of the yesteryears.

But the power are still high in today’s standard for NA engine. Especially since every carmaker’s going the forced induction route now.

Cheers from a Honda of the yesteryear’s fanboy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
        • YOURNAMEHERE on Mar 22, 2013 at 7:46 am

My Ferrari can smoke both of you… IF I HAD ONE!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
  • wajaowner on Mar 21, 2013 at 3:41 pm

At 90k the price will kill the sales perhaps want to challenge pol 1.2 tsi?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
    • kentji on Mar 21, 2013 at 6:18 pm

its a peugeot anyway, you cant expect this touchscreen, sound system, 17 inch equipped 208 to sell at the price range similar like 207 right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
    • Its a French… it cant challenge anything anyway..
      VGM dont even care bout it.. lolzz

Polo TSI is a B-segment selling >110k, obviously their target buyers are at different league and not those Vios City Almera 208 Fiesta kinna buyers..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 22
      • Tamarind on Mar 21, 2013 at 10:25 pm

VW wont care because they will throw discounts and sell the car cheaper than ViosCityAlmeira208Fiesta

VW Malaysia = The Discount Car

VW Drivers are just plain suckers.

Paultan, how about a rundown with Fiesta vs Rio vs SWift vs 208 vs Fiesta. We wanna know which is the best Compact Car now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
        • Hey! VW drivers r not suckers! even thought their cars r faster and overtaking if compared to those Vios,City,Almeira,208 and Fiesta…also VW don’t bother coz it’s 208.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
  • shuk rocco on Mar 21, 2013 at 3:41 pm

smart!…>_<

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • David on Mar 21, 2013 at 3:43 pm

Overpriced car again. low resale value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 54
  • I saw a fiesta at pic 8. overprice for such a nice hot hatch

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 10
  • gOOsh on Mar 21, 2013 at 4:02 pm

hhmmmm… makin habis la proton…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 7
  • breyton on Mar 21, 2013 at 4:04 pm

wow !!!

• Ridiculous on Mar 21, 2013 at 4:06 pm

Ridiculous pricing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 22
    • jongkok on Mar 22, 2013 at 11:08 pm

ape lak ridiculous, ni harga murah giler
      sok ako book 20 bijik utk maid ako

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • seancorr on Mar 21, 2013 at 4:11 pm

Uh the price isn’t exciting. The 208 was supposed to compete with the Fiesta and Rio so how are they going to compete @ RM90-100k? It should be between RM70-80k in order to compete and maybe offer a RM90k top spec with GPS, HID lights and all the other goodies for people who like all those creature comforts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 9
    • Mazlo on Mar 21, 2013 at 5:57 pm

even the 207 sedan which was lower spec than this car was sold at 72k and 76k with b’kit. don’t think this car with a newer engine and much higher spec will be close to the 207 price. since it is an all new model, the principal will surely sell it way higher than the old 207 sedan. competing doesn’t always mean at a lower price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 7
  • otobott on Mar 21, 2013 at 4:39 pm

wish Naza bring in also Pug 208 GTi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • beatnik on Mar 22, 2013 at 9:12 am

Ya.. bring the 208 GTI and spoil the market for Polo GTI(which is already cold).. lol

• renault clio…walaowei…

• jflee169 on Mar 21, 2013 at 4:54 pm

208 is an interesting car. However, when to come to pricing, few factors to be considered. (i) The current 207 is to be continue selling along the 208? If no, then it should be priced at the range of 207 and discontinue the 207. (ii) From Nasim strategy, it has to be lower than the Fiesta and Polo.
    The above just my 2 cents.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
  • @wilsonrock95 on Mar 21, 2013 at 4:55 pm

The pipe looks good & big…mmmmm

• @wilsonrock95 on Mar 21, 2013 at 5:33 pm

K….mmmmmm…yum

• Peugeot 208 on Mar 22, 2013 at 1:16 pm

If you like pipes so much go to the back alley and sell yourself.

• VWFan on Mar 21, 2013 at 5:45 pm

VW Polo will be a better choice at least they have not laid off 8,000 workers. Also for top notch safety features, extra RM10k, why not.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 30
    • off tangent on Mar 21, 2013 at 6:12 pm

the 208 has euroncap 5 star rating, for malaysia, it has 6 airbags and esp, what else is there to need for safety? there are isofix points as well and even 3-point seat belts for all rear occupants. and it is 10k less than the polo. isn’t it smart savings there?

http://www.euroncap.com/results/peugeot/208.aspx

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 5
    • truman6 on Mar 21, 2013 at 7:20 pm

VW polo is really expensive..same goes polo sedan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 4
      • Tamarind on Mar 21, 2013 at 10:29 pm

I said d

VW Malaysia = The Discount Car

Who say expensive? Only stupid banks are gullible to give loan. After get massive loan, you sell la after 6 month at mudah.com.

So Truman, go buy a
        VW = The Bantuan Rakyat Car

• Chaos on Mar 22, 2013 at 8:31 am

Tamarind. You must be VW no 1 fan.

VW = The Bantuan Rakyat Car

• This car will compete with Myvi Extreme 1.5. The new Peugeot 208 seem midget car and out of proportion shape. Really disappointed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 33
    • retro on Mar 21, 2013 at 7:23 pm

Myvi Extreme? LOL! Why not you see the car live first lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
    • If you’re comparing this to the Myvi, you’re clearly not in this ‘league’. Stay where you are for the better of everyone.

• Liono on Mar 21, 2013 at 6:31 pm

AL4 gearbox?

• RM90k-RM100k? What the hell has happened to our country?!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
  • Khir Toyota on Mar 21, 2013 at 8:08 pm

Lately there are so many delicious cars coming to our country. But a big let down when it comes to price :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 0
  • niceone on Mar 21, 2013 at 9:08 pm

review the pricing you greedy bastard AP crony

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 13
    • if you can’t afford to buy it, perhaps you can’t afford to maintain it as well. just stick with what you can afford not to just buy but maintain as well. no point grumbling.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 8
  • nones on Mar 21, 2013 at 9:39 pm

.,greedy dealershit think they able to control car market here but they don’t..ppl are smart enough

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
    • Tamarind on Mar 21, 2013 at 10:33 pm

What you on about.

Peugeot, Ford, Chevrolet all trying to help the market giving good cars

Honda, Toyota and yes VW is the one ripping your stupid pants and spanking you to your bank.

PLease refer to the car price oversea.
      Golf = Focus = 308

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 4
      • Rocket on Mar 22, 2013 at 3:33 am

No, it’s your beloved G that is ripping your pants and spanking your @$$. VW at least make some quality cars.

Car price Malaysia =/= Car price oversea

Grow up and vote for PR

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 14
        • KDRM No 1 on Mar 22, 2013 at 2:27 pm

Rocket,

You really think G dont read this thread then you are dumb. Kita tahu la sapa marjin tinggi dan siapa cukai rendah.

Cube tanya VW bonus dia berapa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
      • nones on Mar 22, 2013 at 12:51 pm

Why relates it with pants. Loss choice of words?
        Be pro bro! If you wish to express your opinion do it properly. Shame on you!

• This is a CBU model. Selling at less than RM90k is likely unavoidable. Buyers want cheaper price will have to wait for the CKD version. Possibly with some omissions;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • 90k car CBU from France. Better then 90k car CBU from Thailand. At least a proud thing to own. Well, LV also French, those french really know how to design beautiful things….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 6
  • Ah Beng on Mar 22, 2013 at 2:35 am

Better buy french fries than this!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 19
  • No to Japanese Car on Mar 22, 2013 at 8:45 am

Where is Sam Loo ? Waiting for your feedback about P.208.

• ongkoss on Mar 22, 2013 at 11:10 pm

He will say better buy 2nd hand camry or settle down for a cheap property. This samdol RV is very poor.

• _xXx_ on Mar 22, 2013 at 10:16 am

hey wats the white car next to this red 208 in the top/big photo?

• badrulez on Mar 22, 2013 at 10:31 am

Fors fiesta

• hey i think it’s a Fiesta. Very great competition we gonna see from these two :-)

• laluan sehala on Apr 16, 2013 at 11:49 am

yup. the sales race will be interesting to see. best thing is, at least malaysians have more choices to choose from.

• Mr not affordable on Mar 22, 2013 at 10:24 am

this is a good car but sadly the car price in Malaysia become more ridiculous… now B segment and some compact car already reach RM100k… pffffttttt!!!

• Bongcs on Mar 22, 2013 at 12:32 pm

RM 98,888,00 OTR with Insurance

• Compare this to Fiesta and Rio. Fiesta do not have four wheel disc brake, no touch screen for controls, no more that 2 air bags, less power for the engine. It is in the market for 2 years now. Rio is a very nice car if we look at the equipment, it has 17 inch alloys, it has 6 air bags, it has keyless entry and start. But it is slightly smaller, it has a 1.4 litre engine, less power and the brand is placed slightly lower. Given all this, 208 is well placed to sell, as it is more equipped than any B segment in the market, it is a new model, it has earned lot of applause in Europe. I see that this car will sell very well. For young this three door will be very attractive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • The Fiesta is Thai CBU and not EU spec. The current new Rio is EU spec. Same goes to the new 208. I’ve yet to get into the 208 but I believe both Rio and 208 has comparable cabin space. The sad thing about the Rio is they only brought in a 1.4 with 4AT. No choice of a 1.6(GDI) with 6AT:(

• Having being in both 208 and fiesta, the 208 scores in the interior looks and quality, but still the Fiesta tops in handling…

• Seen the UK review in YouTube, the compartment too small, because the fuse box remained after coverted from original right hand drive. And no more CD player, only via USB. The video is the guy with green shirt. Hope this is not the model going to sell here.

• mentari-o-korea on Mar 25, 2013 at 12:36 pm

So ugly tall gear lever. This is like uncle soon to be car !! Uninteresting!

• kongkam on Mar 25, 2013 at 9:07 pm

Shame,…good car fall into the hand of hopeless dealership…only good at selling cars, but never provide satisfactory after sales service. …

• FairPrice on Mar 26, 2013 at 1:06 pm

If they sell 208 at 90-100k let them suffer like before for 206, take years to clear their stocks. Dropping the price every few months or so. Those who bought earlier will be banging their heads. So we as consumers, don’t buy now. They ( Nasim ) will get the message, eventually the price drops.
    207 is also not selling well, you know. They don’t know how to take care of the resale value of Peugeot. They have to learn from T and H brands. Please sell at reasonable price and you got a winner.

• Mazlo on Mar 27, 2013 at 12:39 pm

207 is sold out by the way. just fyi in case you didn’t know. the 206 bestari is history and history has taught them how not to do things. maybe they really don’t want those who can’t afford to buy the new 207.

• fadale' on Mar 26, 2013 at 4:05 pm

wy not peugeot produce some ‘rakyat’ car?

• Phantom on Apr 11, 2013 at 10:56 pm

Wah!!! Suddenly u all become expert & egoes….

• Toyol Vios -your car will probably end up in smoke trying to outperform the 208!