Hyundai Veloster Turbo now in Thailand, Msia next?

veloster-turbo

The Hyundai Veloster reached Thailand recently, imported from Korea in two forms – naturally aspirated and Turbo. The former is powered by a 1.6 litre Gamma MPI engine, just like the Veloster that was launched in Malaysia last November. The Turbo is a more interesting proposition.

Powered by a Gamma 1.6 T-GDI engine, the Thai-market Veloster Turbo makes 186 PS and 265 Nm of torque from 1,500 to 4,500 rpm. Less power than the US-market car with 201 hp, but identical to the one sold in UK. Not quite Golf GTI-fast, but more go to match the racy looks for sure.

Unique to Hyundai’s twin-scroll turbocharger setup is a patent-pending one-piece cast design for the stainless steel exhaust manifold and the twin-scroll turbine housing, as well as a motor-driven electrical controller for the waste-gate. No manual for Thailand, so it’s a six-speed torque converter auto doing transmission duties.

veloster-turbo-front

If the Turbo looks slightly different, it is. There’s a bigger, bolder hexagonal front grille, sculpted side skirts and a new rear bumper with prominent diffuser vents. Those conspicuous twin round central pipes are also unique, as are the 18-inch wheels. The front vented disc brakes are also bigger – 300 vs 280 mm. In Thailand, this Korean is priced at 1.739 million baht (RM182k).

So will the Veloster Turbo make its way to Malaysia? It can’t be ruled out, but some special testing and/or mods might be required – the Thai Veloster Turbo’s T-GDI engine is Euro 5 rated. Might not be that viable for what will be a low-volume seller, but who knows?

Click here for our Veloster local launch report and here to see more of the Veloster Turbo.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• protonsucks on Apr 09, 2013 at 12:51 am

got oso sure not cheap de….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • 182k?! Overpriced! against the A class or a GTI?! i hope they know they r still a Hyundai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 5
      • Jimmy on Apr 09, 2013 at 1:34 pm

Of course, and this little sporty car, not yet a sports car, should not be priced too close to proper sportscars like the Peugeot and Megane RS. Afterall, all sports cars are for niche market and brand 1st, performance 2nd, both of which Hyundai has yet to work hard on.

• Jimmy on Apr 09, 2013 at 1:36 pm

For example Proton GTR(3.5sec) vs Nissan 350Z(5.3sec) both brand new at RM400k, which one will you choose?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • Mozilla Chrome on Apr 09, 2013 at 12:52 am

Wow. It is overpriced even in Thailand.
    In US this costs you under RM75k.
    Hopefully with the decrements of excise tax in Msia, we can enjoy this car with under RM100k pricetag.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 9
    • sepul on Apr 09, 2013 at 9:19 am

Just so you know, the decrement will only affect import tax, not excise tax. So price reduction will note be that dramatic. It is the excise tax that make all cars here expensive. That includes local brands.

And Thai fuel is Euro 4 compliant since early last year.

• well…thai import tax is 80% (non-asean cbu)across the board but cheaper excise similar tax up to 30%

• it is 80% import tax n up to 30% excise similar tax!!!!…u guys cant handle the truth???

• I’m still not sold on the looks, especially not the gaping mouth of the Turbo variant, but It would be awesome for it to be sold in Malaysia, makes more sense than the asthmatic 1.6, It’s still no Hot Hatch, but its much better. No Manual is a real bummer for me, can’t really take advantage of that 184 hp.
    Come to think of it, I haven’t actually seen one on Malaysian tarmac except for some show unit outside the showroom.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • oh, so it wasn’t only me. i also haven’t seen one on the road. at all. have seen a few on a transporter tho. maybe this car (spec n pricing) really does not make sense in our market.

• Gabriel on Apr 09, 2013 at 10:20 am

I haven’t even seen one single model of the Hyundai Veloster on the road. I guess nobody in their right mind would pay RM130K++ for a compact Korean hatchback.

• just seen 1 last night at bangsar village. not that bad, but wonder whos it belong to…

• JackeyDeck on Apr 09, 2013 at 1:35 am

Saw someone drove this car at Penang Juru Toll before, it was an orange (vitamin C) colored premium veloster, as i recognize the bi-colour rim. I have also visited the hyundai showroom at Sungai Petani where the premium Apple Green Veloster was displayed. I was offered to test drive the car, but bcoz of my wife & 6month son, i declined.

Actually, i quite like this weird 1+2 door coupe. Especially the green apple one, damn eye-catchy, love it. When i sit inside, and yeap, the build quality is like what one can feel in an Elantra. The two-tone seat does enhanced the interior of the vehicle a lot. Someone who love this car… should consider getting the manuel version & upgrade the seat to two-tone seat and the rim to bi-colour alloy wheel.

The rear seat ain’t bad. I am typical malaysian with 172cm height. No complaint on the leg room n head room. But, who ever seated behind, prepare yourself with a cap to cover ur head to avoid being heat-up by the sunlight which penetrate through the back screen glass.

However, only those who concern about a vehicle spec definately won’t be considering this car at all. I mean, WTF… a 1.6 engine that is similar to a 89k elantra and cost at 116k minimum ? Almost 30k more !!! For what !? and dude… one could easily get a honda civic 1.8 @ 115k la (although Honda M’sia are presently being heavily bashed by the public due to Alvin Lim cases)…

AND now… a turbo version @ thai to cost @ RM 182k, one can easily expect turbo version @ msia would probably be around RM195k ? Tiu………

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 5
    • JackeyDeck on Apr 09, 2013 at 1:39 am

sorry… shouldn’t had said “saw someone drove this car” … the turbo ain’t here yet, isn’t it ?? dah tua dah…. dah tua dah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • sudonano on Apr 09, 2013 at 9:56 am

Well, I was at Hyundai in Glenmarie, and the SA offered a test drive for the lobster so I also took the mid spec one in Vitamin C orange for a sin. I can tell you one thing, IT IS SLOW. REALLY LIKE A SNAIL. For that price and looks I expected way better. And rear visibility is …. So yea, not surprised no one is buying. I’d rather get the Focus in that range since it is faster, and better kit and not as sloppy as this.

• David D on Apr 09, 2013 at 12:39 pm

As a Hyundai owner, Sime Darby has shot themselves big time in the foot. By pricing it at least 10k cheaper, the Veloster would have a shot. But no. Pricing it at the point where a CR-Z looks like fantastic value at which point, it’s a no-go for me. Besides, although handling is good, the engine was a complete tractor especially when coupled to the 6-speed slush box. If I were to buy a Veloster it would have to be the manual ‘box, full stop. Even that, you lose a lot of niceties, and one important thing:- ESP.

• BeemerFreak on Apr 09, 2013 at 6:16 am

I don’t blame hsdm for not bringing the turbo car here…for god sake how difficult it is to implement euro 4 diesel and petrol nation wide? Why are we still waiting for it?
    Totally useless and incompetent government

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • koochai on Apr 09, 2013 at 9:24 am

it’s not in the manifesto?!

• Euro 4 diesel is not even in PR manifesto..

• can not maa..coz later cannot reduce fuel price after election maa..

• it take thai almost 4 yrs to implement euro4….bolehland start since second half of 2011 if not mistaken..we should get at Euro4 grade fuel either in 2014 or 2015

• tishaban on Apr 09, 2013 at 1:50 pm

Yeah unfortunately it looks like Euro 4/5/6 fuel isn’t in either manifesto. I guess it doesn’t buy enough votes so the rakyat especially in major cities will continue to choke under unclean air :(

• BeemerFreak: for god sake how difficult it is to implement euro 4 diesel and petrol nation wide?

1) turn on pc/laptop
      2) open ms outlook
      3) create new mail
      4) recipient: all oil and gas company president
      5) cc: media rep
      6) subject: please implement latest grade petrol/diesel available latest by end of 2013
      7) message: above subject refers. please comply. subject not open for objection/discussion. tak suka keluar. regards, boss
      8) click send button
      9) pergi rehat minum teh

• Davinnci on Apr 09, 2013 at 6:37 am

I take A180 anyday, similar pricing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • droll on Apr 09, 2013 at 7:16 am

have you checked the engine retardation when burning thai fuel vs msian fuel? simple test you can do and then you will know why this car is in thailand but unlikely to come to msia :(

• how to check thai fuel in kl?…up to euro4 petrol standard can be ignore….but diesel different story

• hindo on Apr 09, 2013 at 7:43 am

nonsense price for Kimchi,and awful design

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • beatnik on Apr 09, 2013 at 8:14 am

Knowing Sime Darby, they will put this price sky-high.. good luck.. lol

• kaizen on Apr 09, 2013 at 8:39 am

RM 182k for a 3 door turbo ? thanx hyundai, u just made prius even more wanted…..

• Abg Long on Apr 09, 2013 at 9:26 am

damn ugly & so expensive! come on, this is only a hyundai la..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • ss427 on Apr 09, 2013 at 9:28 am

Yes our SG market Veloster Turbo is exactly like this Euro spec model, 186hp etc…and Euro 5 compliant as well

But over here in SG, both our Hyundai and Kia dealers have slipped warning notes into each GDI powered vehicles at the time of new car delivery. Specifically new car customers have been advised to refrain from using Malaysian fuel on consecutive, prolonged basis.

Euro 5 GDI engines can’t work on high sulphur content Euro 2 fuel. Prolong usage of high sulphur fuel in GDI engines will result in clogged fuel injectors and a fouled cat converter.

Should there be a need to use such fuel in GDI engines, owners of such cars are strongly advised to use a bottle of concentrated fuel injector cleaner immediately in the next tankful of gas to clear off any sulphur soot and carbon that would have accumlated in the injectors.

Please note that the fuel injector cleaner is not a magic portion. Severe engine damage will still occur if owners ignore the advisory note and continue to use high sulphur fuel in GDI engines

As such, unless your gov mandate Euro 5 compliance fuel from all gsoline companies, there’s little chance of seeing any Hyundai/Kia GDI engines in Bolehland

• _xXx_ on Apr 09, 2013 at 12:26 pm

gd…plz suggest to LTA that all SG cars muz be Euro5 compliant so that I can reach home faster on Saturdays…

• ss427 on Apr 09, 2013 at 3:40 pm

Actually bro, it is already in the making. Our diesel are already Euro 5 from this year onwards.

Gasoline emission standards will be tightened to Euro 5 in 2014. Mews cars sold in 2014 will need to be Euro 5 as well.

But bro, you dont need Direct Injection engines to meet Euro 5. Conventional port FI can still be made to meet Euro 5 as per normal, and it is not true that conventional port FI engines will loose power as a result.

Conventional Euro5 port FI engines can still use Bolehland fuel. Yes these owners risk clogging up their cat converters… but the damage is not so quick nor catastrophic as compared to high sulphur fuel damaging Direct Injection heads

• _xXx_ on Apr 09, 2013 at 4:35 pm

sh…dun let too many ppl know that u guys got the euro5 diesel there else Bolehans driving diesel turbo car will flock the causeway and I will be reaching home late again!

• Is there currently third party importer for this? I once see this car on the road at melaka.

• theanswer on Apr 09, 2013 at 10:04 am

na veloster maybe? the car is nice..but the price a bit steep even for na veloster.

• jilbaber on Apr 09, 2013 at 10:22 am

I see once as well in Bangi, can’t make it on the plate num but is sorta white greyish color, maybe same car..

• 4G63T DSM on Apr 09, 2013 at 9:41 am

Few things wrong with this car….

lack of a proper engine to back up its looks. And it isn’t likely to see the GDI Turbo engines here either. The K5, Sonata could also use a shot in the arm with the 2.0T GDI.

Price. On paper the CRZ seems to be a lot better deal.

That said, I’ve seen 2 units on the road….not sure if they are dealer pre-reg units though.

• Confused on Apr 09, 2013 at 9:58 am

Sime darby fler say wont come in. Judging already how high the price of the normal veloster is, this version would be mad. And its not a better car in any way.

• theanswer on Apr 09, 2013 at 10:08 am

in oz, price between turbo n na veloster not much diff. extra not more than 20k. hopefully they put the price around 150k.

• charming ng on Apr 09, 2013 at 10:39 am

i think the price must be around RM 160k. If the price really goes to 180k, why not you get the Mazda 3 MPS. at least you get 1 door extra and 255ps.

• Painter on Apr 09, 2013 at 10:41 am

Love the matte paint job. No love for the price though.

• If the price is around RM200k with only automatic transmission, people in the know would probably take the Ford Focus ST instead. Focus ST cost RM209k with 6 speed manual and produces 250PS power with 340Nm of torque compared to this which only had 186PS with 265Nm of torque. No offence to Hyundai or Veloster fans out there. Peace.

• Even at RM150k I think is expensive, RM180k? Get a Continental car for sure.

• ae101 on Apr 09, 2013 at 12:16 pm

Ah beng favourite racy car. With that price, you can opt for st or mps.

• Mazda 3 MPS pwn this car upside down.

• Ah Beng on Apr 09, 2013 at 2:05 pm

Scirocco still a better car.

• _xXx_ on Apr 10, 2013 at 9:04 am

haha, roc…got the look only. Mostly x brani lari coz takut DSG kaput hehe….

• Sam Loo on Apr 09, 2013 at 2:22 pm

Kia Pro’ceed GT better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • Sam Loo on Apr 09, 2013 at 5:23 pm

Please do not imitate my name. I have no interest to say other car brands are good.
      Only Toyota 86 is the best. Best in style, performance, and the most important is resale value!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • rajahGlobal on Apr 09, 2013 at 3:14 pm

CRZ miles better!!! woo hooo!!!!!

• Why is it that cars don’t look so great on malaysian roads? They always look good in photos or on TV.

Also, the price should be below RM100k. Why are car prices sky high in Malaysia?

• Tak suka B.N. and Inspira on Apr 09, 2013 at 4:48 pm

Got or no got Turbo, the car exterior is Fugly!!!

• felimond kahin on Apr 09, 2013 at 4:50 pm

hope the current veloster turun harga

• KIA = killed in accident on Apr 09, 2013 at 6:03 pm

182k conversion from Thai price..

Expect an additional 20-25k for Malaysian price

• MrPoppyplants on Apr 09, 2013 at 8:07 pm

Who on earth in their right mind would buy this if it is anywhere close to RM150k???

• Polo 1.4 GTI cheaper although losing 25Nm Torque and 6PS, but twincharged and DSG definitely running neck to neck with this kimchi lobster which only using dinosaur torque convertor…

yea… if its 200k+, just go for Golf GTI…

• samlok on Apr 10, 2013 at 5:39 pm

since when hyundai became on par with VW?