Shanghai 2013: W212 Mercedes-Benz E-Class L facelift

Mercedes-Benz at the Auto Shanghai 2013

Mercedes-Benz says the E-Class is the traditional core product for the brand in China, and you might as well say it is the same in Malaysia as well. So it’s very important that Mercedes-Benz gets the E-Class right for the Chinese market, and if the Chinese customer demands more rear legroom, the Chinese customer gets more rear legroom! I’m sure Malaysians who don’t wanna spend on an S-Class would ask for the same.

This is the long wheelbase version of the W212 facelift, aptly called the E-Class L. Built exclusively in China for the Chinese market, it measures 5,019 mm in length with a wheelbase of 3,014 mm. Rear legroom gains are about 140 mm. The front passenger seat can be electrically adjusted from the rear passenger area.

The model shown here is called the Sport Sedan version, with more aggressive front end featuring a big three pointed star on the grille. There’s also a more traditional looking E-Class called the Sedan, which if you recall from our previous feature of the W212 facelift reminds us alot of the W220 S-Class. In China, the low-beam headlamps are powered by LED as standard.

The car on show here is the E 400 L Hybrid, which is joined by it’s siblings the E 400 L, the E 260 L and E 300 L. Yes, there’s two E 400 models here – the E 400 Hybrid is powered by a 3.5 litre normally aspirated V6 mated to an electric motor, but the regular E 400 is pretty interesting as well – under the hood is a new 3.0 litre turbocharged V6 engine producing 333 hp and 480 Nm of torque.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• dugong on Apr 21, 2013 at 12:11 am

The standard e-class does look like lack of rear legroom. But the rear bench is actually quite long/broad, stretching up to under the average person’s knee, giving full support for the thigh. Unlike jap c or d segment cars which have very short bench ( up to 3/4 thigh support) and give an illusion of more legroom.

• Jimmy on Apr 21, 2013 at 10:56 am

Big thanks for pointing it out. I always said buy Merc or equivalent as far as possible.
      BTW, we hope knee airbags will become standard in all Mercedeses, from A to Z if there are. And we hope there are rear side airbags as standard across the ranges in all Mercedes from E-class and above.
      Optional additional airbags should be made available.

If I were the boss of VW M’sia, I will make my brand famous for ‘ESP + 7 airbags in all VW’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
    • mind u, the E class is under E segment category, (executive)…c segment (compact)cars such as vw golf, corolla etc…D segment such as the C class, passat, optima…(entry level luxury or midsize )…found these in wikipedia..

• dugong on Apr 21, 2013 at 10:55 pm

Nah…based on car length,width,wheelbase and interior space, E-class is definitely D-segment.

• alldisc on Apr 22, 2013 at 2:11 pm

at 4,869mm long with a wheelbase of 2,873mm its definely in a different league with japense D segments like

accord 7th gen : wheelbase 2670mm
          accord 9th gen ; wheelbase 2775mm
          mazda 6 2nd gen : wheelbase 2725mm
          camry 5th gen : 2775mm

the merc has like a full 10cm extra in its wheelbase where else the C cegment cars have 10cm less including civic, corolla altis, cruze and forte

• dugong on Apr 22, 2013 at 6:56 pm

You are right,but the longer wheelbase doesn’t necessarily translate fully to more interior space though. Thicker seats and doors panels for germans eat up more space.

• khbing on Apr 21, 2013 at 12:20 am

Yes the rear bench has more legroom but you cannot sit at the centre. It will end up with only 4 people in car.

• Carl Wong on Apr 21, 2013 at 12:54 am

That is the the artist/composer/singer Wanting Qu/曲碗婷 right? I went to her concert here back in January :)!

• JackeyDeck on Apr 21, 2013 at 1:32 am

very “shui” (cantik) (b-e-a-u-tiful) !!!

• VW Fanboi on Apr 21, 2013 at 12:45 pm

Passat CC is much better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 21
    • frenzyaustin on Apr 21, 2013 at 3:51 pm

Typical VW fanboy, thinking their German VW is on par or better than Mercedes or BMW.

• VW CC and the E class r different languages! 1 is simple yet beautiful. other 1 is elegance yet eye catching. much better? i dont think so…but only affordable if compared with the Mercedes.

• zamer on Apr 21, 2013 at 10:40 pm

whatever it is..e class is not drivers car..it can sprint but it doesnt handle good..except the e63..

• tycoon88 on Apr 21, 2013 at 12:59 pm

Looks more attractive that itz predecessor!

I hope I can afford 2 buy one after 05 May 2013…if u noe what I mean!

• Bro, if u cant afford one then u cant even after election. im not saying u cant coz u r poor or what. But d price wont have a drastic change even PR won coz they cant reduce excise duty to 0% overnight. Whole automotive industry will crumble. If u want a fair price like 30% cheaper. Nearest possible future will be like 2 years from now. Well, E200 is also affordable if u think higher series is expensive.

• Black Dog on Apr 21, 2013 at 3:11 pm

With these long wheel-base version, you need two parking space for our extremely small space built for Myvi’s!

• very beautiful……….

i mean the singer haha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • Almost bought the pre-facelift W212 but ended up with F10 m-sport. Was in love with the F10 m-sport until i saw the face-lifted version a month back from overseas website. I was like, man… if i can wait till E-class facelift came out. Ah well, luckily i still can enjoy the last BMW N52 straight six 3litre. massive power and grunt.

• Drive to drive on Aug 17, 2013 at 12:17 pm

I’ll wait for the next C200 version ? Anyone know when that is coming up ?