Audi A5 Sportback introduced in Malaysia – RM360k

A5 Sportback-11

The Audi A5 Sportback is finally officially available in Malaysia via Euromobil. It comes in facelifted 2.0 TFSI quattro guise, with the S line package as standard, for RM359,900 OTR. Immediate delivery, they say.

The A5 Sportback is a five-door variation of the A5 Coupe, which is related to the A4 Sedan and Avant underneath. Despite the sloping roof, Audi says that the A5 Sportback runs the A4 close on rear head and leg room. The A5 Coupe’s wheelbase has been increased from 2,751 mm to 2,810 mm here. The boot is capable of 480 litres, expandable to 1,283 litres with the rear seats folded.

The 2.0 TFSI engine churns out 225 hp and 350 Nm of torque between 1,500 to 4,500 rpm, which is good for 0-100 km/h in 6.5 seconds and a top speed of 245 km/h. The direct injection turbo motor is mated to a seven-speed S tronic dual-clutch gearbox. quattro AWD is present. Start/stop equipped, combined fuel consumption is listed as 6.7 litres per 100 km.

A5 Sportback-09

Equipment wise, expect perforated Alcantara leather front sports seats with embossed S line logo (memory for driver), multifunction three-spoke steering wheel with shift paddles and S line logo, acoustic parking sensors and auto headlights/wipers. 18-inch alloys, adaptive xenons, LED daytime running lights and LED rear lights are also in the mix.

In addition, the Sportback comes with three-zone climate control, Driver’s Information System (DIS) and Audi drive select. In the latter, there’s a fourth ‘Efficiency’ mode in addition to the familiar ‘Comfort’, ‘Auto’ and ‘Dynamic’ modes. What it does is self-explanatory.

Also standard is the desirable Bang & Olufsen sound system with 10 channel amplifier, 14 speakers and 505 watts total output, but MMI navigation plus is optional. Five body colours – Brilliant Black, Ibis White, Scuba Blue, Monsoon Grey and Brilliant Red – are on the local menu, although we hear that the latter is very popular and might require some patience on the buyer’s part.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• jolly_idiot on Sep 18, 2013 at 9:42 am

This will kill most recond unit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 7
    • driverz on Sep 18, 2013 at 5:15 pm

Oh so cheap. I can buy each for my mom, dad, son, daughter and maid, wow!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
    • VW Fanboi on Sep 18, 2013 at 5:47 pm

Save 100k and get the Passat CC better. Passat CC will beat this like makan kacang.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 36
  • WOW… damn sexy. but its kinda late though. Nevertheless, Euromobil priced it nicely, so its matter of time when this sexy beauty flood ur street. Was expecting this to cost around RM450K coz coupe is alrdy at RM399k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 52
    • Y thumbdown when i speak the truth. Its really cheaper than expected. Of coz its beyond reach from middle income group. But mid high to high income group gt no prob in obtaining this beauty. Usually 4 door will expensive than coupe but in this case, its cheaper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 28
    • Sam Loo Ori on Sep 18, 2013 at 5:51 pm

Lexus ES 250 much better than this kwai tai conti junk with no RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 25
  • RM360K ?? so cheap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 27
  • BlackJKX on Sep 18, 2013 at 10:39 am

Macho

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • venven81 on Sep 18, 2013 at 10:48 am

wow! at RM360k, it’s a much better buy compared to the earlier A5 coupe at RM399k. this facelifted sportback is packed with slightly higher power and other goodies too including the B&O sound system. nice… but EM, no thanks! i will go for grey import anytime

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 18
    • Hellhole on Sep 18, 2013 at 10:20 pm

Check the review and prices in the UK. It is a lower end car than the a5 coupe

• LOL, so easily fooled by euromobil. A real, high-end B&O system should produced over 1000watts, this produced 505watts only, plus MMI Navigation is a whopping 13k extra. No thanks man.

• 505 watt brah not 1400.

• Danny Tan (Member) on Sep 18, 2013 at 11:39 am

Press release said 1,400 watt, but you’re right, it’s 505. Thanks

• steve on Sep 18, 2013 at 11:13 am

Expensive brand but exterior doesnt really look nice to me. For a RM360k car there are many options out there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
  • Phony’s car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
  • icelaacho on Sep 18, 2013 at 11:33 am

What’s the color variant available?

• Maserati(Official) on Sep 18, 2013 at 12:00 pm

Good car but unfortunately so damn boring to look at. E class coupe so much nicer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 42
    • Maserati(Official) on Sep 18, 2013 at 4:03 pm

Why the thumbs down? You guys can’t swallow the truth?

Even a Mazda 3 is better looking than this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 49
      • tinmilo on Sep 18, 2013 at 5:17 pm

If you want to try to say that Mazda3 is better than Audi then you will fail.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
      • Hellhole on Sep 18, 2013 at 10:23 pm

Comparing a Japanese crap to German engineering? I will not be surprised if you say that the vios is better looking

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • bluebird on Sep 18, 2013 at 12:01 pm

360k price, 100K go to tax, Thanks a lot to government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
  • Still looks the same..A4, A5, A6, A7, A8, A9, A10, A11, A12……A56

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 14
  • Denaihati on Sep 18, 2013 at 12:16 pm

Audi lED daytime lights is always awesome. Very impressive audio system with with 10 channel amplifier and 14 speakers.

• Veneno on Sep 18, 2013 at 12:25 pm

it’s expensive but lovely though

• seancorr on Sep 18, 2013 at 12:51 pm

Audi priced it to match with 328i GT which has lesser spec compared to this.

But they should have made the S-Line optional so the price will be much more tempting to the customers.

• Are they bringing in the A3 sedan?

• kiddo on Sep 18, 2013 at 12:54 pm

Cannot match Pronton Suprina!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 7
  • heybadigol on Sep 18, 2013 at 12:57 pm

Its a nice looking car, a baby A7 sort of. But it kinda fits into a very niche market. Major competition is the 3 Series GT, which is cheaper, as long as you dont have to look at it (its hideous in my eyes). Another competition, though not in the same class, but having a similar price tag is the facelifted E200 CGI.

• I want S-series please!

• Gordon on Sep 18, 2013 at 1:48 pm

It’s worth noting that this car is a derivative of the A5 is derived from the A4, so I think the price is a tad steep, rear legroom appears to be poor. However, the B&O sound system is standard. The interior is also similar to the old Audi A6 (C6).

• This is so Cheap. I preferred BMW 535.

• Matjava on Sep 18, 2013 at 2:34 pm

E200 CGI new = RM366,888, New A5 = RM359,900 OTR, Let see how both car price behave after 60 months on the road.

• gileselambejohn on Sep 18, 2013 at 3:32 pm

how much is the MMI navigation cost?

• nice car but too expensive, contis despite it superior status symbol are totally unreliable. enjoy your workshop visits..

• Richard Foo on Nov 29, 2013 at 11:36 pm

Went to Euromobile showroom in Glenmarie today to see the A5 Sportback. No doubt it is a beauty indeed. With recond units 2012 selling in the market for 320k I would go for the new car. No test drive unit as it was used in an event. So test driven the Audi A4 instead. Fully loaded spec going for 235k and a 4% cash rebate. A very tempting offer. Keep my options open untill I try the A5 Sportback.

• Sam LOL on Dec 03, 2013 at 10:57 pm

MR Sam still insist on his toyota and now slightly upgrade to lexus.