W205 Mercedes C-Class interior and details revealed

W205_Mercedes_C-Class_interior_02

Teased earlier and set to debut at the Detroit Auto Show this coming January, Daimler has released the first official details along with revealing interior pictures of the W205 Mercedes C-Class sedan. The next-generation BMW 3 Series fighter is looking good both in pictures and on paper, to say the least.

The fourth-generation C-Class’ interior takes styling cues from the latest flagship S-Class and sporty CLA-Class models, employing a swoopy yet luxurious dashboard that looks to be a big step-up from the current model’s business-like cabin.

It will debut Mercedes’ new touch-sensitive pod – placed over the S-Class-style COMAND dial – that’s linked to the free-standing colour display mounted above the circular central air con vents. A 7.0-inch monitor comes standard, while a larger 8.4-inch unit will be available as an option.

Mechanically, the new compact executive sedan will be underpinned by Mercedes’ new modular MRA architecture. A lightweight aluminium/steel hybrid construction will bring weight savings of up to 100 kg over the current W204, and the German company claims to have a best-in-class weight figure and structural integrity.

Even the suspension bits will feature more aluminium for both weight and dynamic benefits. New four-link front and five-link rear suspension arrangement will come in three different configurations: Comfort, Direct Control and Sport (15 mm lower). Airmatic air suspension will also debut on the C-Class with selected engines.

The standard sedan will be unveiled at the start of 2014, possibly followed by a BMW 3 Series GT-rivalling C-Class SportCoupe some time later. Audi will join the party with its own next-generation A4 sedan and A4 Vario later in the year too.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• hakimR on Oct 21, 2013 at 7:31 pm

Wow, can outclassed any other Germans!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 67
    • Yea right outclassed any other Germans but beaten badly by Lexus IS.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 85
      • hakimR on Oct 21, 2013 at 8:34 pm

I did mentioned Germans only, noob.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 66
        • Ya start to name calling and personal attack, very immature Merc salesman.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 16
          • Sam Loo on Oct 22, 2013 at 4:48 pm

Don’t bother with all these trash. Mercedes RV drops by RM140,000 the first year alone. You can get a 2012 E250 now for RM260,000. A brand new E250 is RM405,000. In one year, you can lose RM140,000. Mercedes and BMW got terrible RV in Malaysia. You want good RV, go for Toyota. A Toyota Camry is more prestigious than any BMw or Mercedes. Arrive in a Camry in a hotel lobby and everybody respects you. Hotel bell boy treat Camry even higher in status than Bentley Flying Spur. Buy a Toyota for good RV and great status!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 53
          • hakimR on Oct 22, 2013 at 5:55 pm

if im a merc salesman then u must be Lexus salesman, lol. keyboard warrior, tsk tsk. step out bro.

• hakimR on Oct 22, 2013 at 5:56 pm

calling people noob is personal attack? lol. u grow up son.

• hakimR's father on Oct 22, 2013 at 6:07 pm

Stop surfing the net, go and finish your homework son.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 4
    • That LCD like dangling there, if not careful, that thing will fall down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 6
      • seancorr on Oct 22, 2013 at 11:19 am

Interior looks very modern and luxurious but the LCD monitor placement is off for a car of this class….this free standing method should only be used in their cheaper variants like the A, B, etc classes but from C class onwards the display should have followed the E & S class style.

• drrif on Oct 23, 2013 at 1:02 am

I have said it before, and I will say it again, I hate cars that have the screen sticking out like that. Audi started it, and now Merc and BMW doing it too.

Its really laziness in terms of design, spoils the curve of the dashboard….

• Kevintkk on Oct 21, 2013 at 7:32 pm

Looking good!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 17
    • drrif on Oct 21, 2013 at 8:24 pm

The aircon vents….YUCK, like a cheap Kimchi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 14
      • Jilbaber on Oct 22, 2013 at 6:40 am

So what, the Kimchi’s lead the design standard nowadays.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
      • tomyumm on Oct 22, 2013 at 9:55 am

so what…u still can’t afford it ..:)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
        • drrif on Oct 22, 2013 at 12:42 pm

Come on start a 198k, C class is the cheapest among IS, 3 series and A4.
          By the way I own and drive a Porsche Panamera, recon one of course.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
          • Its ok even its a recon. still more expansive than this c-class.

• The one on Apr 22, 2014 at 2:28 pm

I smell bullshit ! Hahaha I owned a rolls royce phantom coupe drop head ! Hahaha panamera recon my ass ! Bullshit everywhere :)

• Hiroshi on Oct 22, 2013 at 12:02 am

WOW X 100000
      that only word when saw the pic

• Hondaman on Oct 21, 2013 at 7:34 pm

The nexus 7 clone looks like a thieves magnet…

• Continental on Oct 21, 2013 at 7:36 pm

Merc C-Class vs BMW 3-series vs Lexus IS…all have nice sporty design…but for me the best front end design still Lexus IS esecially the headlamps…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 34
  • heybadigol on Oct 21, 2013 at 7:36 pm

Definitely more exciting looking dash than the F30, but maybe loses out a bit to the Lexus IS, which looks more plush. But whats up with the clock at the bottom of the dash centre?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 18
  • frenzyaustin on Oct 21, 2013 at 7:53 pm

The interior is really WOW! Come close with Lexus IS F-sport model but outclassed BMW and Audi. It can better than Lexus if they redesign that stupid bolt on Nexus 7 design. It’s ugly, stupid and looks cheap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • yup, at the moment, best interiors:
      1st 2013Lexus IS
      2nd 2014 Merc C class

• itammanis on Oct 22, 2013 at 2:11 pm

I still don’t get why u guys said the best interior is 2013 Lexus IS? Seriously or just being sarcastic?

• niltrams on Oct 21, 2013 at 7:55 pm

Excited! Can’t wait for the C45 AMG, if they plan on building one heck of a RWD monster!

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Oct 22, 2013 at 12:53 am

C45 AMG…? You think they will plough a diminutive 2-litre engine for a C-class…?

I bet they go further with a C55 AMG, sad to say for you it’s bye bye even for road tax alone…

• sudonano on Oct 21, 2013 at 8:04 pm

*standsup*

*slowclaps*

Well done Mercedes. BMW went for the sporty way. This one has gone for the oozing luxury from every corner. It looks gorgeous.

*claps*

• downsys on Oct 21, 2013 at 8:27 pm

Agree with the other comments, floating screen makes it look cheap. I believe the A-class has it as well. Much prefer built-in screens.

• mirror mirror on Oct 21, 2013 at 8:33 pm

hm…this is the right kind of German swagger.

• John mat on Oct 21, 2013 at 8:37 pm

What a beast ! This will definetely be a competitor to 3 series and A 4. Get ready to fork out your money next year.

• Well done mercedes!

• Can’t wait for the government to reduce car prices by 20% as they mention in their manifesto. Or that’s only for political promises as usual.

• PauKaya on Oct 21, 2013 at 9:15 pm

sorry…not a fan of the floating display screen…looks like i put my ipad on the dashboard

• D.I.Y on Oct 21, 2013 at 9:39 pm

Good looking.. nothing to compare, just like it or don’t like it.. Aim for next year change new toys..

• Jimmy on Oct 21, 2013 at 9:44 pm

Driver’s legroom may be a question.
    Luxurious for luxury brand freshees.
    IS in Malaysia is good for its V6 and 10-airbags, and perhaps the transformer-like ah-beng’s face for youngsters.
    Push start button is good if we don’t add additional key locks eg steering locks.

And, please add one speed bump 5 metres just before each BERHENTI sign. Many people just don’t want to stop in a T junction despite the BERHENTI and solid big white strip.

• yuppie on Oct 21, 2013 at 10:26 pm

Mercedes, take my money. This will be my next upgrade. Bye bye bmw.

• najib on Oct 21, 2013 at 10:37 pm

Where is the gear knob???

• Jilbaber on Oct 24, 2013 at 4:17 pm

Most brand new mercedes benz model has their gear knob behind the wheel like signal indicator

• daniel on Oct 21, 2013 at 10:48 pm

If you see carefully at the interior pic, there is a spot I find curious about it… the centre console (slope) comes down like a waterfall and has no Gearbox lever but when you see the spyshots of the interior, there is a gear lever there. Any answers for this?

• Wesley W on Oct 22, 2013 at 7:30 am

I believe the model got spied has a manual transmission. Well, that’s my observation after all.

• Ryryry on Oct 22, 2013 at 1:26 pm

Newer merc doesn’t come with centre gear knob..E..A..CLA..

• Interior really look nice compared to bmw 3 series. I hope that they also update the handling and the engine at least as good as 3 series. currently c250 engine is not that powerful compared to 328i.

• You’re dreaming, comparing 1.8 litre engine vs 2.0 litre engine of course the 2.0 is more powerful

• No, i am not dreaming. even though displacement cannot be replaced, but it also highly depend on the tuning, if 2.0 turbo has potential tuned up to 350hp, of course 1.8 turbo can be tuned to 245hp which is 328i having now.

• andrewk on Oct 22, 2013 at 3:09 pm

I believe it should come with the 2.0ltr engine and not the 1.8ltr ones as the facelifted E class has already moved from the 1.8ltr to 2.0ltr engines for the E200 and E250.

• Car_enthusiast on Oct 22, 2013 at 12:11 am

Why do u guys see Lexus as a competitor to the A grade Germans is beyond my understanding. Lexus is just a high grade Toyota.

Just look at how old fashioned their engines are and you would know they are second class compared to the premium Europeans.

Even Volvo has better technology than Lexus. Have a look at the performance figures and you know what I mean.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 13
    • frenzyaustin on Oct 22, 2013 at 4:49 pm

I might agree that Lexus has outdated engine compare to others. But technology isn’t on par in totally jokes. Lexus has tons of technology in their car which might outfight the German. And recently, Lexus IS350 F-Sport are chosen by EverydayDriver as the best driver’s car in the segment which means sport sedan king, 3-Series is going to be replaced soon, by Eastern Luxury brand. And using Toyota parts, leather wrapped Toyota etc… so what? Isn’t premium car usually wrapped by tons of leather They have engine, brakes and tailpipes, not like having CF body panel, Titanium Pipr or Carbon Ceramic brakes. And I don’t understand why sharing parts with Toyota is a bad choice, in case your car break down, you still can access parts bin from Toyota and Toyota are known for parts best availability.

• Jilbaber on Oct 22, 2013 at 6:42 am

Look contemporary and at the same time majestic!

• Jaybond on Oct 22, 2013 at 7:52 am

The dashboard architecture is nothing short of stunning which looks more three dimensional and has emotional appeal than what found in the current generation C-Class.The display monitor however is a bit of an eyesore.Unless it could be retracted into the dashboard, that display monitor concept could be a flaw for the new Mercedes C-Class, design-wise.

• weird query,

has anybody used Petronas Durance products before?

• Lexus is for luxury and comfort, and at the same time, good looking.

• Richter on Oct 22, 2013 at 11:53 am

Lexus s not worthy to compete with the euro big guns in Malaysia. Look at Lexus Malaysia’s poor sales figures and you will realize they only sell about 10% of either BMW or Merc’s annual sales.

They have simply overpriced their products in this country.

Why would anyone in their sane mind pay more for a Lexus IS250 F sport than a BMW 328i M sport?

• frenzyaustin on Oct 22, 2013 at 4:36 pm

I would actually. I pay so much money for a car that build in Malaysia? Hell no. I rather buy a CBU fromm Japan, IF I GOT THE MONEY!

• Magician on Oct 22, 2013 at 11:56 am

Lexus are for people who doesn’t know much on the technical aspects of a car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • drrif on Oct 22, 2013 at 1:15 pm

Well that is your opinion, for me I will take the V6 anytime to a lame 1.8l inline 4.
      And Lexus IS comfort and sound prove is way higher than C class.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 15
      • guest on Oct 22, 2013 at 1:57 pm

At least that lame 1.8l turbo has better output than the “fantastic” v6 not to mention that you can easily chip it for more power

Btw, I do admire your ability to time travel into the future to do a test drive on the W205. The car havent even been launched, but you already know the comfort and sound proofing of it is worse than the Lexus.

Kudos to time travellers !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
        • drrif on Oct 22, 2013 at 4:57 pm

Of course we compare with what we have now. From all Merc model I have sit inside before all have terrible sound prove.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
          • jeremy on Oct 22, 2013 at 10:41 pm

Next time, try to spell soundproof correctly before making a complete idiot of yourself…

• drrif on Oct 22, 2013 at 5:31 pm

And for a luxury car, you need at least 6 cylinder to feel its smooth and luxuriousness, the 1.8l inline 4 really just spoil the whole thing, it just like hard fu*k with a small prick.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
          • guest on Oct 22, 2013 at 7:57 pm

Hahaha. Seriously? All european luxury marque has been downsizing their engine for better emission and consumption. Audi, BMW, Merc all went with smaller engines with turbo.

Besides turbo engines offer better torque at lower rev making it more practical, especially when going up hill.

• drrif on Oct 22, 2013 at 10:12 pm

Agree with you on the better emission and consumption but this is luxury car not a mass production car. And my friend 5 year old E200 really sound like a tractor, I think small engine can not last long or because of the turbo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
          • guest on Oct 23, 2013 at 9:28 am

Dude, this car IS a mass production car. Do you even understand the term mass production? Damn.

This is the bread and butter model for mercedes, not some top of the line model like maybach or something

• Rooney on Oct 22, 2013 at 3:35 pm

not only jap cars got lousier engines, their handling is normally lousier. btw what type of gearbox does lexus IS use ah? 6 speed is considered high tec to toyota.

people who thinks japanese car is better than german car is called budak kampung.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • Lexus Enthusiast on Oct 22, 2013 at 11:12 pm

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P2JlBVnBfvU
      Lexus launched 8-speed transmission in year 2007, it’s so outdated to have 8-speed in year 2007.

• Mr_boombastic on Oct 22, 2013 at 3:41 pm

Lexus is actually toyota guys.
    They come from same factory and owned by same people.
    infact the true meaning of lexus = Luxury EXports to US!

• Linderoth on Oct 22, 2013 at 3:59 pm

First choice- BMW
    Second choice-Audi
    Third choice-Merc
    Fourth choice-Volvo
    Last choice- lexus or infiniti (these two has no brand heritage)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
    • K-Pop on Oct 22, 2013 at 4:37 pm

You go buy Vios la, so much brand heritage in Malaysia compare to other car.

• ..and thieves will think the centre screen is a docked tablet…then they end up pulling the whole dashboard and wire harness…

lol.

• Rajagopal on Oct 22, 2013 at 8:06 pm

I think Vios has no relevance in this topic. It’s like comparing an elephant to a mouse.

For me it’s c class or 3 series anytime over Lexus. Jap cars seem to be falling behind further and further.

Take for example the ES250. It carries a premium price tag but performs only like a Camry.

Sales figures speak for itself, and it is the Bimmer which is outselling everyone else in the premium segment.

• K-Pop on Oct 22, 2013 at 11:08 pm

Sales matter, Vios are tons better car compare to Fiesta because number matter.

• Murulingam on Oct 22, 2013 at 9:11 pm

The 3 series has, is and will always be the best sport sedan.
    The c class is always the pretender trying to steal sales away from bmw

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
  • Rooney on Oct 23, 2013 at 12:25 am

Lexus Enthusiast: Lexus May have launched the 8speed auto back in 07, but today how many of their models are using it?

Bmw on the other hand has their entire lineup from the 7 series to X1 using an 8 speed auto.

• Zimmerman on Oct 23, 2013 at 12:28 am

For me, 3 series any day. C class second choice. Lexus, no thanks.

Germans are superior!

• Anton Sevidov on Oct 24, 2013 at 1:57 pm

I take any german cars any day! Who wants to own that gay ass Lexass.

• Ryryry on Oct 25, 2013 at 4:58 pm

In this world, there are mercs and the rest are cars.

• farizY on Nov 19, 2013 at 12:15 pm

Nice interiors, great baby S-Class exterior.