Petron Malaysia launches ‘Passion for Porsche’ promo

Petron Porsche Promo-10

Petron Malaysia launched its ‘Passion for Porsche’ promotion at 1Utama yesterday, assisted by local stars Fizo Omar and Scha Alyahya. In this campaign, car enthusiasts and 1.5 million Smiles loyalty card members can collect five Porsche toy cars.

The Passion for Porsche cars are pull-back 1:32 scale models of the Cayenne, 911 Carrera S, 911 GT3, Cayman S and Panamera. The metal die cast cars boast a sound chip for engine, alarm and horn sounds. The doors can be opened, and doing so will trigger the alarm sound as well as flashing LED head and tail lamps.

The cars can be bought with Smiles points or a combination of points and cash. One car will cost you 20 Smiles points + RM19.90 or 1,000 Smiles points + RM9.90. Alternatively, redeem one for 2,000 points. Available at all Petron, Esso and Mobil stations, the promo is from now till December 31, or while stocks last.

Petron Porsche Promo-2

Petron is also inviting all Smiles card members to participate in its #macamreal contest. To do this, take a photo with your Passion for Porsche toy car and upload it onto www.macamreal.com. Once uploaded, the contest photo must be shared with your friends on Facebook or Twitter with the hashtag #macamreal.

Five photos that garner the most FB likes will be rewarded with Smiles points and a ride in a real Porsche. The contest runs from now till November 30.

By the way, the 1:1 scale “die cast model” you see below is part of Petron’s roadshow at 1Utama’s New Wing. It will be there the entire weekend, so do drop by to check out both real and toy Porsches.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• benzs on Nov 08, 2013 at 10:04 am

No hope for Sarawak area…

• Dr M and Cronies on Nov 09, 2013 at 3:46 pm

Obviously, TUN PORSCHE and his Son – who owns Petron and whom are privileged to have driven a real Porsche would give such a pointless and stupid to the masses.

• What if i dont have a smiles card or any smiles points?

• Its a nice toy, u can keep it until 20-30 years and sell back at minimum rm150.

• What is RM150 in 20-30 years time?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • dude, you see to much Pawn Star, people not gonna buy it.. i sure it will ended giving it to your nephew..hehe

• haha correct! but in pawn star old toy without original boxes still can sell at 500% higher than original price

• Its a collection. Of course peoples will buy it if you keep it well

• Totally agree with ioma. RM150 in 20-30 years time will probably worth 15sen… hehe. Btw, got two cars – Cayenne and GT3 RSR – today after I redeemed my points. Good built quality and love the engine sound and lights. Definitely can last 20-30 years if take good care of.

• Just A Nobody on Nov 08, 2013 at 10:33 am

For a moment there I actually thought Petron will be giving a real Porsche, silly me. Still, would be great though if they offer at least driving the real deal through that #macamreal photo contest instead of just a joy ride.

• kenot on Nov 08, 2013 at 10:45 am

i need to register smiles card to get this cool stuff.

• MycarMylife on Nov 08, 2013 at 11:09 am

Give me San Miguel and I will pump Petron !!

• Troller on Nov 08, 2013 at 11:17 am

Mannn, the blow up doll in the first photo is damn urglyyyy

• i hate petron.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
  • azhar on Nov 08, 2013 at 11:34 am

yesss!!!..will buy it after work

• Option 1, 2000 smiles points = RM30 fuel = RM30

Option 2, 1000 smiles points + RM9.90 = RM15 fuel + RM9.90 = RM24.90

Option 3, 20 smiles points + RM20 = RM0.30 fuel + RM20 = RM20.30

Conclusion, redeem via method 3.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
  • I don’t understand how you arrived at that calculations. Thot you only get 1 pt for every RM1 spent. Meaning to earn 1,000 and 2,000 pts you must purchase RM1,000 and RM2,000 (in total) respectively. Common, if as u said, then why not choose method 1 instead of 3 — bcoz no matter what (amount) you still need to fuel up, and getting a model car for free by doing so is definitely a BONUS!!

• cuz 3000 smiles points can redeem u RM45 worth of fuel, thus 1 smiles points worth RM0.015.

• another way, you can also redeem 3000 point for RM45 fuel, if im not mistaken.

• Denaihati on Nov 08, 2013 at 3:56 pm

interesting and good collection like shell ferrari car.

• CRuiser on Nov 08, 2013 at 4:19 pm

U guys are so dummy to let Mahatir son to be richer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • 1MALAYSIA BOLEH on Nov 08, 2013 at 4:27 pm

Isn’t it Petron owned by Mahathir’s son???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • Please understand the entire story of Petron.

This company has nothing to do with Mahathir’s empire.

• In fact on some Petron station you can buy full set of 5 at RM99. I just purchased the Porsche and I filled patrol elsewhere :D

• porschefan on Nov 08, 2013 at 5:34 pm

How about for people who dont have smiles point or cards?Can they but it too?

• porschefan on Nov 08, 2013 at 5:36 pm

I meant buy

• Petron, if u reading this, I tried yur brand and ok, the chicken rice in yur stations oso delicious, but the level of services by the staff were below par, very slow, I want to buy a bottle of engine oil, they said no stock, I asked wat about the one chained on the racks, she sounded clueless, I just left and get from Shell (oso cheaper)

• Petmiguel on Nov 09, 2013 at 12:22 am

I bought it 3 times. 1st i bought gt3 rsr @ RM20.. 2nd phase.. Bought another 2 unit carrera S & cayenne @ 19.90/car.. Still worth to buy.. 3rd time i bought last 2 unit cayman S & panamera also @ 19.90/car – 20 point deduction from my smile card.. Earlier i was shocked when cashier of this petrol pump asked me to pay RM25/car.. Mean buy it without smile card..

• lazyf on Nov 11, 2013 at 8:05 pm

Ive bought my Panamera

• zulie on Nov 13, 2013 at 1:27 am

Baaah..some dealers dont mind if you got the smiles card or not..they just sell yer the 19.90 price without the smiles cards. If you can haggle with them, you can get all 5 cars @ RM 95. Just gotta find the right place.

• zulie supporter on Jan 06, 2014 at 11:19 pm

Yes Zulie…u r right,i bought 4 model right now for Rm20 each..PAWN SHOP? i’m happy to see those people who gave a negative critics cry someday…google about MILO van..and you will know the answer.Make sure you keep it tight in the box unopen..sure the price will rise up..cheers.10 years earlier Yamaha RX-S price is RM400,nowaday its price is Rm 4K..its about human being sentimental value,today you dont feel anything about some thing because it’s infront of your eye,after 10 years that ‘ some thing ‘ disappear,that time you will feel jealous when saw some body have that ‘ some thing ‘..remember Motorola 8700 international…i dare you cant find it on mudah.my…but i got 1 in my glass wardrobe…and i’m sure if you born in early 70s,you will familiar with Morris Marina taxi,Morris Oxford,Austin Cambridge..how much those car price right now?? dont speak a Bullsh@$% if you dont know anything,how much scrap yard in our country now? countless..why? anybody rubbish would be somebody goldmine..

• Suzana on Nov 14, 2013 at 7:15 pm

Porsche macam real tu betul macam real, tapi display case yang sedang jual di Petron Station tu macam tahi!