Peugeot 2008 going to KLIMS13, bookings to open

peugeot-2008-france 070

The yet-to-be-launched Peugeot 2008 will be previewed at the Kuala Lumpur International Motor Show 2013 (KLIMS13) this week, where order books will open for the new B-segment crossover. Additionally, freebies will be given out for any Peugeot bookings made at the show.

On the equipment list are Smart Park Assist, a panoramic roof with mood lighting, a colour touch-screen with USB and Bluetooth connectivity, a Smart One-Touch Foldable rear seat and a six-speaker Arkamys 3D sound system. Safety kit includes six airbags and ESP. That’s all the info we’re given for now, but more details are sure to trickle in very soon – including of its powertrain.

The Peugeot 2008 crossover made its debut in February in Geneva. At 4,160 mm long, 1,740 mm wide and 1,550 mm tall, with a wheelbase of 2,540 mm, the 1,045-kg crossover is 96 mm taller and 200 mm longer than the 208 supermini on which it’s based, with a 25-mm higher ground clearance. The interior is largely similar to the 208’s, but the 2008 gets an interesting-looking aircraft-style handbrake.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• kacimara on Nov 11, 2013 at 1:21 pm

nice look but is it true the power only 96hp?

• Borris on Nov 11, 2013 at 2:32 pm

It’ll probably use the same 120bhp engine as the hatch.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 12, 2013 at 11:30 am

Peugeot got bad RV. Buy a Peugeot only if you are very rich. Many PUG owners cry to me because their cars become half price in just few months. Then don’t know what to do with paying off their loans when they trade in.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 15
        • Why would the cry to you? Are you some kind of therapist or something?

• PassingBy on Nov 12, 2013 at 7:21 pm

seriously? oh well all u care is toyota n RV what else? not everybody buy cars to sell.

• I won’t mind having small output power as a daily car (which will result in lower fuel consumption right)?

If I already work I’ll definitely consider this car. Love it so much that I think I won’t care for the RV. The QUALITY is totally there (based after sitting in the new 208). Love everything inside and outside. It’s like “this is what a real car should feel after paying so much money for it”.

Now just have to wait to finish my phd.. :/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • Cool…
    I saw the beauty inside out..
    Well done!!

• KLIMS Accesories show on Nov 11, 2013 at 1:29 pm

Is KLIMS an International Motor show or just a sales event like PIKOM IT Fair? International Motor Show exhibit new cars and prototypes. But looks like our KLIMS is becoming one big sales event. All companies are doing bookings etc

I am sure this year, we will be disappointed again. Just like previous years, you won’t see new cars not new prototypes. You will see mostly car accessories being sold. That is our KLIMS. It is an accessories show.

You will see

1) Car Shampoo
    2) Car Rims
    3) Tyres
    4) Car Tinting
    5) Oil additives to saves fuel
    6) Selling T shirts
    7) AAM selling membership
    8) Car rubber mats at RM5

That is all we see every year. Hardly see any new cars. Even hot cars like Ferrari and Posche also don’t have. Luxury cars like BMW and Mercedes also don’t have.

Maybe KLIM organisers should reduce entrance tickets from RM15, to RM1.50. Because it is like going to Brothers Mall and buying car accessories.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 126 Thumb down 4
    • Do you see the indo autoshow? They oso do similar thing…u want proof..the easiest check paultan indo autoshow picture

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 25
    • Since when every year?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
  • samlook on Nov 11, 2013 at 1:42 pm

1st….hilux face

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 12
  • nice! 1st?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • That roof looks interesting!

• burrpp on Nov 11, 2013 at 1:52 pm

Price?? With those specs including smart park assist.. wouldn’t expect it to bring less than 110k.

• Furqan on Nov 11, 2013 at 2:30 pm

Peugeots doesn’t have the auto parking feature like the one on the ford focus. Its just a tool to measure available space for parallel parking.

• sudonana on Nov 11, 2013 at 2:58 pm

Yes they do. Smart park is self parking. Available space measurement (ASM) will measure space only.

• Furqan on Nov 11, 2013 at 5:02 pm

my bad. Does the 208 in Malaysia have that?

• sudonano on Nov 11, 2013 at 8:30 pm

208GTi has the self park. But neither thee 208 or the 208 GTi have the ASM. ASM is on the 508 and 5008 if I am not wrong.

• burrpp on Nov 11, 2013 at 1:52 pm

Price?? With those specs including smart park assist.. wouldn’t expect it to be less than 110k.

• Anybody give any comments regarding peugeot cars ?
    i means performance,petrol consumption,after sales service ? 5 years free service ? and others.
    thanks

• burrpp on Nov 11, 2013 at 3:45 pm

Without Qashqai, Captur, Juke, Trax, new SX4cross … not much choice is this niche. This or Ecosport.

• KLIMS : just a weekend car showroom

• showmetheranger on Nov 11, 2013 at 9:06 pm

Hopefully the price won’t be so high,
    cause the RV definitely low down.
    People will say it is 2008, now 2013 already.

• burrpp on Nov 12, 2013 at 8:38 am

Would be more expensive than current Suzuki SX4 1.6 @90k with those specs. The 208 3door is already at 95k. Pricing more than 110k for a 1.6 would steer away a lot of potential buyer . RV? then have to wait for Jazz_based crossover ….of which the concept looks pretty cool, like Captur.

• Any solid leads on price range and is it a turbo engine ?

• Was it is around RM118k

• Ricardo on Nov 12, 2013 at 11:22 pm

The estimated price is RM118k. Have to wait until the autoshow to find out. Beautiful machine.

• nice car but 118k is slightly overprice,
    105k still acceptable

• forget it, low RV