Audi A6L e-tron confirmed for China, 50 km EV range

Audi und FAW kooperieren bei  Plug-in-Hybrid fuer China

While we’re mourning the loss of the incredibly attractive pricetag of the Audi A6 Hybrid, China is preparing to receive the next level up – the Audi A6L e-tron has been confirmed for production, after being teased in concept form at the 2012 Beijing Motor Show.

Like the concept, the production car will be based on the A6L instead of the A6, because the Chinese market loves long wheelbase cars. The A6L has a wheelbase of 3,010 mm.

While the concept car promised 80 km zero emissions EV mode powered by the electric motor alone, the production car will have a shorter range – 50 km. Then the combustion engine will take over and the car will become a hybrid. The car is a plug-in hybrid, which means you can recharge the battery through a socket.

We don’t actually know anything else about the specs of the car at this point, but the concept car used a 2.0 TFSI engine as the combustion engine component, while the electric motor could do 95 hp. No photos either – pictured in this story is the A6 e-tron concept from 2012. More details to come.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• justLOL on Apr 09, 2014 at 1:52 pm

The rims!!! I wonder how long will it take to clean it up..

• nabill (Member) on Apr 09, 2014 at 2:21 pm

I stil dont get these luxury brands offering hybrids…u can afford these things who cares abt FC…n thy dont offer any more power than a turbo or those hi end diesels….and china dont exactly have strict emmisions wither…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • Joker on Apr 09, 2014 at 2:33 pm

Wow.. so if i recharge it daily and travel less than 50km daily then i wont use even a drop of fuel??

• Same Lor Orii on Apr 09, 2014 at 2:55 pm

Very nice!!

Too bad Malaysian couldn’t get it due to the upcoming awesome J class Proton hybrid.

• niterunner99 on Apr 10, 2014 at 1:18 pm

I realised that those full electric powered cars in mkt or design…the electric charging socket is still at the normal fuel openings.
    Wouldn’t it look better if it’s just a small little 3pin plug socket hidding somewhere else?
    Whole body work will look very ‘clean’ then.