Lexus NX – first photos released ahead of Beijing

Lexus NX-09

Here are the first official photos of the new Lexus NX compact SUV, set to make its global debut at this year’s 2014 Beijing Motor Show. The new NX was developed under the concept of “Premium Urban Sports Gear” and features a striking design with a line-up of new Lexus powertrains.

The base model is the NX 200, which uses a normally aspirated 2.0 litre engine. Then there’s the NX 200t, which uses a new 2.0 litre turbocharged petrol engine. The hybrid option is the NX 300h, which is powered by a 2.5 litre four-cylinder engine mated to a full hybrid system.

For the exterior you have the choice of either 17- or 18-inch wheels to fill those wheel arches. The front end features a big spindle grille and those new split headlamps that are also found on the new IS.

The photo set shows the regular NX in white as an NX 300h, while the grey car is the version with an F Sport kit. Lexus has also implemented a world-first door handle mechanism with a hidden key barrel and integrated lighting. The production car has been toned down from the wild LF-NX Crossover Concept, thankfully.

The interior has a few neat features – a Lexus-first Wireless Charging Tray to enable charging of portable devices, the first application of a new Lexus Remote Touch Interface with a touch-pad, Panoramic View Monitor and a comprehensive Multi-information Display (including a Lexus-first G sensor and boost meter), Heads-Up Display, All-speed Dynamic Radar Cruise Control, Blind Spot Monitor and Rear Cross Traffic Alert.

We’ll have more details on the new NX on April 20 when it is unveiled at Beijing 2014.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Alladinlamp on Apr 11, 2014 at 10:25 am

Cerato rear lamp, Lancer hatchback rear lamp, Focus sedan rear lamp….lamp lamp lamp

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 62
    • You also have cock, ur dad also have cock, ur grandpa also has cock, obama also has cock, anything special?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 2
      • kslee on Apr 11, 2014 at 12:48 pm

cock got foreskin , no foreskin ,
        long , short , fat , thin , it is special

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
    • Same Lor Orii on Apr 11, 2014 at 11:54 am

Nice one. Even the Range Rover fade in front of it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • BroYouMad? on Apr 11, 2014 at 12:11 pm

Such a retard…

• rifle on Apr 11, 2014 at 12:51 pm

oh really..so other cars have lamps too..i thought that only this car has lamp..sorry, my mistake -.-‘

• Sam Loo on Apr 12, 2014 at 9:44 am

No Celaka DNA here.

Pure sushi beauty and technology

• Yeah baby on Apr 11, 2014 at 10:48 am

Paultan says “a world-first door handle mechanism with a hidden key barrel”…well I would not say Lexus is the first on the world to have this features, our own local brand Proton Preve first have it with hidden key barrel, you need to prey open the plastic cover to access the key barrel…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
  • kami (Member) on Apr 11, 2014 at 10:49 am

exterior looks weird n bit ugly. looks like kimchi+ china car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 38
    • Marieta on Apr 11, 2014 at 11:17 am

What to do, Korean and China automaker lead the best standard nowadays..so every automaker has to follow suit them if want to survive their business

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
    • Sam Loo on Apr 12, 2014 at 9:45 am

Kimchis will have no RV.

• Jebonr on Apr 11, 2014 at 10:55 am

Sporty and solid look and just right for Young People and Couple with small family. The included “wireless Charging tray” is one convenient accessory.

• WellIlikeIt on Apr 11, 2014 at 10:56 am

Unabashedly. A 4 banger turbo charged Lexus that Malaysia could buy without the paying most of our money to taxes for the 6 banger. Great interior. What’s not to like. I say bring it!

• spongewai on Apr 11, 2014 at 11:11 am

wow, but the price in Malaysia when it launched lagi wow for 2.0 Turbocharged here

• from the front view looks like it is own by Darth Vader. All in all i would say it has a stunning exerior design with exceptional interior. Lexus malaysia, can u give a good price if i trade-in my 2.5 cx-5? hehehe

• Sure, we can give u a good price if u trade in your 2.5 CX-5..Whatsapp/sms me at 019-2088800

• Lexuslover on Apr 11, 2014 at 11:52 am

Are you guys nuts?? This car is stunning! Audi Q3/Q5, BMW X3 can’t compete with this design – German designs are too predictable. But the NX is truly an eye-catchingly radical design. Good job, Lexus! Keep giving us more edgy designs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
    • lousy lexus on Apr 12, 2014 at 11:41 am

Typical toyota car, less features, underpower engine but carry high price tag. Go for german SUV & u wont regret..

• tricycle on Apr 11, 2014 at 12:07 pm

nice, but the back looks like CX-5

• It’s ugly as the Ssangyong but since it’s a Toyoda all say it’s beautifool

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 20
  • Stunning!
    (The rear kinda reminds me of the CX-5 though, but the whole thing looks so much better than the Q3 and X3)

• NICE!! When come to boleh land this car easily 300-400k. Recond will be a better bet!

• shawal on Apr 11, 2014 at 12:51 pm

Better looking than german offerings…

• the gear stick looks a bit far to reach

• roti canai (Member) on Apr 11, 2014 at 1:36 pm

disappointed that it doesnt come with the LFA style speedo and those rims for the F-Sport aren’t really sporty.Still, price it well…not Evoque crazy and we have a winner

• It’s a like it or hate it design. It’s indeed very Lexus design. I personally like its rear and side profile, the front is a little funny.. the proportion of the bumper isn’t right Lexus..

• powderful on Apr 11, 2014 at 2:40 pm

I agree. Prolly the license plate on the front bar will reduce the ‘spindle’ thingy a bit. Other than that, good call by Lexus daring to do a ‘left-field’ design exercise. Love it or hate it, at the very least it’ll bring some new flavour for our local roads.

• kinda like CX-5, my humble opinion.

• W204 C63 AMG on Apr 11, 2014 at 2:09 pm

That “thing” looks like it needs a 500HP V10.

• Lexus NV on Apr 11, 2014 at 2:52 pm

One of the best looking SUV in the market yet.

• AVH (Member) on Apr 11, 2014 at 4:10 pm

It honestly turned out much better than expected (see the concept) and Lexus did reduce the grill size a little furthur. No ,even for me its not good looking(not when there is an Evoque around). But amongst all the compact SUV, this might perhapse be the one that will garner the most attention, it is just so much more striking than its German counterparts.

• daniel on Apr 11, 2014 at 5:16 pm

DAYYUMM!!!

• Sam loo on Apr 11, 2014 at 5:55 pm

My big brother…LEXUS… So handsome, soo smooth, soo refined, evoque, x3, q3.. Step aside…

• vaderdarth on Apr 11, 2014 at 9:14 pm

everything looks nice except the front which looks like ugly darth vader. arghhhhh

• Alitstar on Apr 11, 2014 at 10:54 pm

Looks like they got carried away…

• Allen toyota subang on Apr 12, 2014 at 8:38 pm

Just wearing lexus t shirt or umbrella is classy aready… Need i say more?