Chrysler to sell rebadged Mitsubishi Attrage in Mexico

Mitsubishi Attrage review-2

Chrysler has signed a five-year deal with Mitsubishi Motors to rebadge the Thai-built Mitsubishi Attrage for sale in Mexico. Reuters reports that the deal will help shore up the latter’s production levels in Thailand which has been lagging due to poor domestic sales.

The deal marks the first time since the Eclipse-based Eagle Talon was discontinued in 1998 that Mitsubishi has provided Chrysler with cars to be rebadged, but will be limited to the Central American nation only with no immediate plans for expansion to other markets. Chrysler’s Mexican arm hopes to sell at least 10,000 units of the likely Dodge-badged B-segment sedan annually.

Mitsubishi Attrage review-3

The move is aimed to resuscitate Mitsubishi’s Thailand operations after slow sales due to the ongoing political crisis and the termination of subsidies for first-time buyers. “Our Thai business has not necessarily gone the way we had hoped for due to political and economic conditions, but by sending these vehicles to Mexico, we can maintain production levels,” said Mitsubishi Motors CEO Osamu Masuko.

In other news, Masuko has denied that the rumoured partnership with Fiat to supply the Triton to the Italian company exists, claiming that he has never even met Fiat’s CEO Sergio Marchionne.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Well when you consider that the galant was once rebadged as dodge challenger

• Same L0r on Jul 04, 2014 at 2:53 pm

If Chrysler willing to rebadge Attrage, why not Proton to rebadge the Accord?

Think, use your brain please.

Profit more important? Or ego more important?

You want to tell the world
      “You can build a car entirely, but sales poor.”

or

“Your car are selling like hot cakes with long waiting period, and you make a lot of profit?”

• Pondana on Jul 03, 2014 at 1:51 pm

Proton bila lagi? Next year if Perodua Sedan comes out, gerenti penasihat marah-marah rakyat tak beli Saga SV….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
    • kzm (Member) on Jul 03, 2014 at 3:10 pm

next year saga 3 come out…

• Vader (Member) on Jul 03, 2014 at 5:02 pm

What potong commit:
        2012 –> Launched the GSC.
        2014 –> Launched the hybrid car.
        2015 –> Launched the pure EV car.
        2015 –> Launched the all new saga.
        2015 –> Launched the perdana even better than accord 8th generation.

Let wait and see.

• Same L0r on Jul 04, 2014 at 2:55 pm

I think this is more practical:
          2015 –> Launched the GSC.
          2016 –> Launched the hybrid car.
          2016 –> Launched the perdana even better than accord 8th generation.
          2018 –> Launched the pure EV car.
          2020 –> Launched the all new saga.

• Asyraff Khan on Nov 30, 2014 at 5:46 pm

what!! dude…gsc has being launched this year as Proton Iriz.. what the hell are you thinking??

• Obviously (Member) on Jul 03, 2014 at 1:53 pm

Hmm…wonder what it’ll look like.

• Burong on Jul 03, 2014 at 2:17 pm

21km/l, I can sell off my hybrid and change to this. my hybrid is just 23km/l, but this metal looks odd, suitable for daily usage fresh graduate.

• U doesn’t seem value hybrid.
      A hybrid give u more power, more low end torque, yet more fuel saving.

Attraga 1.2L to replace a Hybrid??
      No, attrage 1.2L can only used for replacing a Jazz Hybrid. Jazz Hybrid is a powerless Hybrid. Others are powerful.

• So, no one bashing ka??? If Proton 110% sure kena one… haa haa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
    • Low Budget on Jul 03, 2014 at 3:50 pm

Proton should consider a name change to ‘buang sueh’
      so that it won’t get bash every time it gets highlighted.

• 4G63T DSM on Jul 03, 2014 at 2:54 pm

Mitsubishi based Chryslers were the best thing to happen to Chrysler. Diamond Star Motors (DSM) was the joint venture company that made the Talons/Eclipse/Laser triplets.

I had 3 Eagle 2000 rebadged Galants (2- 1989, 1- 1992) and 2 Eagle Talon Turbo AWD (1991 and 1992). All powered by the bulletproof 4G63 Twincam

They were great cars, legends in their own right.

• wendy on Jul 03, 2014 at 3:14 pm

why when Chrysler or just name any brand including perodua do this sound so ok but if if proton did it like did an incest or something..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • kangkong on Jul 03, 2014 at 3:26 pm

Other company rebadge current in-production models. Only Potong terrible enough rebadge the trash can expired Accordana and Tiara.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
      • Obviously (Member) on Jul 03, 2014 at 4:27 pm

In this case, the rebadged vehicle is in a market that Mitsubishi doesn’t sell in, which makes TONS MORE SENSE than the Lancer-rebadge-into-Inspira that happened in Malaysia where the Lancer is sold.

• Motorhead (Member) on Jul 03, 2014 at 8:00 pm

When Perodua rebadge some monkeys talk kork..& craps..

Hahaha. .

• Anti-Toyota on Jul 03, 2014 at 10:17 pm

U see, even giant companies do rebadged so lay off Proton for God’s sake. Another thing, poor sales due to political unrest? Come on, just because this car is one hideous design. Asians do have taste so don’t take us for granted!

• EnergyAnalyst on Jul 04, 2014 at 9:26 am

Wow . You are going to get a lot of hate energy from Mexico and China coz that is where this Chrysler rebadge Attrage is going to be sold.

These two countries are very easily warm up to American brand. Look at how their GM and Ford counterparts are selling well there . And because American brands are having limited options offered due to their homeland prefers big and sizeable rides. Developing small cars are not going to be their priorities .Just like how Ford fiesta is developed in Europe. And most GM small cars are developed by Opel and even by Korean ( think Chevrolet Sonic) since Chrysler has no such models. To quickly get numbers in and enrich their product portfolio. Rebadging Attrage makes sense since Chrysler and Mitsubishi has a sort of dormant relationship going on —now re activated

• Denaihati on Jul 03, 2014 at 11:03 pm

If proton rebadge, i’m sure the price should more interesting, much lower. and buy with confidence.

• Anonymous on Jul 04, 2014 at 7:50 am

Bila company luar rebadge model yang tak lawa sgt neh pon, semua menikus … ada lak sokong kata model neh model baru … is it new? platform neh dh agak lama dh kt pasaran … So company do rebadged due to save cost .. same thing goes to proton. If proton develop new chassis just for the new perdana, ppl will start saying proton spend too much on the new platform laa .. bla .. bla .. so i think proton should just ignore those ppl those idiot and start develop better car, just safe and reliable but also with nice interior and exterior with very competitive price and start market to development country. And last but not least, proton service center should provide better customer service. Their staff should have better communication skills.

• lalat on Jul 04, 2014 at 8:04 am

lor..most of the comments so gentle. i impressed!