Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV Concept-S: first photos

0943-1 3

Mitsubishi has released two photos of their Paris 2014 debutant – the Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV Concept-S. It’s supposed to be a “special design package” for the current production Outlander PHEV.

The new “X-shaped face” cleans up the look of the PHEV somewhat – there’s no longer a line dividing the front bumper and the side fenders. Perhaps this is how the facelifted Outlander PHEV will look like?

0943-2

The interior uses a “Black & Burgundy” colour scheme. There’s black woodgrain trim with silver accent, and there’s a centre console design inspired by Japanese traditional black lacquered boxes. The seat upholsters uses soft hand-stitched leather, with the upholstery forming a 3D surface with horizontally-ribbed cushioning.

The Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV uses a plug-in hybrid EV system, where the front and rear axles (effectively a 4WD system) are each powered by permanent magnet synchronous motors, fed by a 12 kWh lithium ion battery. The car’s 2.0 litre four cylinder DOHC MIVEC engine is used to charge the batteries.

We’ve tried the Outlander PHEV in Japan – read our short drive report.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 22, 2014 at 3:50 pm

not an evo….moving on…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • Goodbye CKD and Goodbye FDI on Sep 22, 2014 at 4:04 pm

Don’t worry. Mitsubishi will CKD this in Indonesia or Thailand and the people of Thailand and Indonesia will benefit from a locally produced cheaper car.

Soon Malaysia will not have any CKD cars. Looks like everybody is running away from once the Asian Tiger. Now Malaysia is not Asian Tiger but Asian Monyet.

Thank you MITI, MAI and Madani Sahari

• ngvuser on Sep 22, 2014 at 4:06 pm

proton….where’s your REEV????…. i’m waiting..better fast or i’ll choose this PHEV

• hondana on Sep 22, 2014 at 4:26 pm

Don’t worry. After 1 year Mitsubishi sell it here, Proton will rebadge it later. All same parts except the logo. Power window ok 10 years warranty. Apa lu mau takut lagi?

• Jaybond on Sep 22, 2014 at 4:16 pm

Imagine if that is the face of the all-new Lancer GT/Evo, Galant VR-4 , Mirage Cyborg or perhaps 3000GT. Will make a great looking car is’nt it? I mean what the hell is going on with Mitsubishi Motors these days? Producing only boring cars & SUVs?

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 23, 2014 at 6:17 am

If you don’t know, since the last time they were in dire financial straits, they have changed the direction of their company to focus on 4×4’s and environmentally friendly vehicles (Drive@Earth is their slogan now rather than try to do everything. This move seems to be working well for them because they are indeed recovering and slowly growing as an automaker once more. Focusing in SUVs also means they’re not competing in the markets dominated by Toyota, Honda and Nissan. The SUV market is also on the rise. I also believe that Mitsubishi makes one of the better SUVs out there.

This, however, means the end of their performance vehicle era and the loss of a long-time rival for Subaru. It doesn’t mean they’re completely out of motorsports, though. They recently won the Pikes Peak Challenge electric division with a 1-2 podium finish as well as 2nd and 3rd in the whole Pikes Peak Challenge overall. Their EV technology seems quite promising.

• Super Saiyan (Member) on Sep 22, 2014 at 4:48 pm

not much different with the Preve’s headlamps.

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 22, 2014 at 6:45 pm

PHEV is brilliant. . But don’t know what happen to Mitsu. . Very slow. . Lancer a decade dy..

• “Hey head designer, how do we design our car dash?”
    “Why don’t we copy KIA K5’s dash?”

• very nice front design. awesome.
    dont you agree

• gaviny on Sep 23, 2014 at 9:48 am

seriously i wouldn’t have to fill my tank with this car driving to work 12kms completely first second gear