W205 Mercedes-Benz C 63 AMG and C 63 AMG S first photos and details – 700 Nm of torque!

2015-mercedes-benz-c63-amg-w205-0006

Well, here it is – the first photos and details of the new Mercedes-Benz C 63 AMG, based on the new W205 C-Class. An official press release is not out yet, but these pictures have been saved from Mercedes-Benz Germany’s site which published a page on the car for a while, but it’s gone now.

Two variants are available – a “base” C 63 AMG (if you could ever use such that word with this type of car), and an even more powerful C 63 AMG S.

The C 63 AMG’s new 4.0 litre V8 biturbo engine derived from the one in the Mercedes-AMG GT does 476 hp and 650 Nm of torque, while the more powerful 510 hp and 700 Nm figures we previously wrote about turns out to be actually for the hotter C 63 AMG S.

2015-mercedes-benz-c63-amg-w205-0031

Both engines are mated to an AMG SPEEDSHIFT seven-speed automatic transmission, and the car also gets AMG RIDE CONTROL three-stage adaptive suspension.

Styling tweaks include AMG front and rear aprons, side skirts, a bespoke radiator grille in iridium silver matte and 18 inch 5-spoke titanium grey wheels with 245/40R18 tyres at the front and 265/40R18 tyres at the rear. Curiously, the “C 63” designation badge has moved to the right side of the boot lid – different from the rest of the Mercedes-Benz lineup – while the AMG badge is now on the left.

We’ll cover the car more thoroughly when the official release is out.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• shawal on Sep 24, 2014 at 6:56 am

It looks properly menacing…..

Power corrupts…

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 24, 2014 at 7:29 am

just hate it when car companies purposely detune the engines to make you pay more for more power when the engine is exactly the same

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • probably detuned so that the power is manageable by the car. more power needs better gearbox, powertrain, brakes, tyres etc. c class is compact sedan so need room for all these

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • bampazli on Sep 24, 2014 at 8:15 am

same engine doesn’t mean using same parts and electronics.. a bit titanium here and there, a bit lighten here, a bit strengthen there.. that what you pay for.. you retune with aftermarket software maybe, and if you are lucky you will get almost the same result but the life span sure will be shorten..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • jolly_idiot (Member) on Sep 24, 2014 at 8:56 am

The tork can easily achieve using diesel.

Anyhow, v8 sound enormous on a c class.

• heybadigol (Member) on Sep 24, 2014 at 10:32 am

Noticed that tyres are “only” 18 inches. Must be due to the very wide thread, so putting in 19 inchers would make the tyres too low profile (uncomfortable).

Looking at the rear decklid, there is no mention of 4matic, so this must be RWD. Imagine 700NM of torque to the back wheels of a compact luxury sports sedan. Thats just insane.

• sam69 on Sep 24, 2014 at 11:26 am

Just go to ah pek and make amg line facelift for your c200.. Caught many eyes already.. The price of this c63 amg things will totally blow up when arrive in msia soon!! Boleh land!!

• foxtrot on Sep 24, 2014 at 11:31 am

wah lau eh, for such an atas car the LCD bezel still so fat ah

• These germans, where are they getting these ideas of putting labels on their cars? That C63 AMG S should be the Black Edition. Then the W205 Black Edition (of course crazier than the S) will have the C63 AMG S Black Edition S+ and finally the Black Edition R. What are the Merc’s management thinking?

• jackchaivoonchoon on Sep 24, 2014 at 1:43 pm

Worthy rival to my current ride BMW Z5 0-100 Quad Turbo with Brembo 8 pot brake.Will this new c class amg come with a quad turbo edition?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 21
    • Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 24, 2014 at 2:51 pm

don waste money…just keep your inokom atoz…

• gavincsy on Sep 24, 2014 at 9:17 pm

I woild be surprised if they didnt have to weigh the car down just so it just doesn’t melt the tyres at every take off

• Painter on Sep 25, 2014 at 12:54 am

2 kidneys and half a lung for rich old Singaporeans in dire need of organ transplant would be enough to buy one of these!!

• It will cost u a head to own this Singapore. Average income of S$12,000 still cant afford u a car.

• Yes the power numbers are quite good when it comes to hp/litre.

But the thing is, Mercedes claims that it’s in effect two A/CLA/GLA45 AMG engines mated together. That engine produces 350hp from a 2 litre mill. Tuners like renntech have gotten 400++hp from what is just an ECU tune.

Kinda makes you wonder if Mercedes is saving up the full blown 700hp version. Will that be put in the AMG GT Black edition? Hmmm…