Kia Picanto five-door gets a very minor facelift

kia-picanto-fl-0025

An updated 5-door Kia Picanto has appeared in certain markets, looking different yet familiar at the same time. This is because the minor facelift for the five-door basically takes the front end look from the three-door version of the Picanto and grafts it onto the five-door.

The new look features a front bumper that has a wider air intake area that combines with the foglamp surrounds instead of being separated and forming a clear V-shape on the original design. The front grille is also larger. Everything else exterior and interior wise looks like they remain unchanged.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• kimchi on Sep 25, 2014 at 6:40 am

kimchi car..no RV..bad quality.. high FC, high maintenance

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 75
    • Vader (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 7:27 am

I think we have one joker call shameless is enough to keep on talking RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 0
      • KaoPehKaoBu on Sep 25, 2014 at 10:16 am

People who think himself are so great of all most of the time are stupiak as Sam Loo who can only afford fugly tin milo vios!

• Bad News on Sep 25, 2014 at 6:59 pm

KIA = Killed In Accident .

Not a good brand name at all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 17
  • Marieta on Sep 25, 2014 at 6:51 am

Bestest car in its class…if only it was price lower than 45k..mmg bungkus la P2

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
  • proton Iriz better

cheaper
    safer
    longer
    wider
    taller
    bigger

overall looks better

this pic an to just too small and so expensive for a 1.2l engine

ripped off really

axia also better

half the price

and same safety 4 stars ASEAN NCAP

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 58
    • jibby on Sep 25, 2014 at 7:27 am

bro, picanto is an A segment TRUE GLOBAL CAR, u cant compare it to iriz because iriz is B segment & the QC is yet known because no one haven’t use it yet. picanto is EURO NCAP 4 star & ASEAN NCAP 5 star & the engine reliability is proven worldwide. same engine used in i10 & have been refined several times. while p1 engine we’re hearing so many complaint and problem. picanto FC is FAR better than iriz (5.3L/100km). ride quality, material quality also far better.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 10
      • ride quality, material quality also far better.
        ———— but
        u cant compare it to iriz because iriz is B segment & the QC is yet known because no one haven’t use it yet.
        ———–
        joke of the day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 35
    • poor ling on Sep 25, 2014 at 7:32 am

u no money no tok kok la.. stupid comparison. local car b segment 100% CKD u compare with a segment car (global car).. “axia also better”? axia is still tin kosong la bro, still no ESC & traction control.. i bet u only can afford proton n perodua only.. puiiii

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • komen berfakta on Sep 25, 2014 at 1:40 pm

proton iriz nampak murah di malaysia saja tapi di luar tidak… kia picanto nampak mahal di malaysia saja di tapi luar tidak… sebab itulah punca utama mengapa proton tak pernah berjaya jual macam goreng pisang di luar… ini semua disebabkan faktor harga, ditambah dgn kualiti yg teruk dan enjin yg teruk… siapa yg mahu membeli proton? hanya rakyat malaysia yg masih tertutup mindanya saja akan membeli proton.

• holofanboi on Sep 25, 2014 at 8:13 am

Even a small detail like this can’t go past your radar. This is what separates a true car reviewet from enthusiasts.

Well done PT and crew!

• I think the air cond controller is different too. Pre facelit comes with three knobs, new one is digital? Correct me if im wrong

• Anti-Establishment on Sep 25, 2014 at 9:02 am

Actually the digital a/c has been in some market’s highest spec models

• joker on Sep 25, 2014 at 8:57 am

Just want to share my family experienced. My sis bought new Naza aka Picanto 1st model. Engine got problem. Went to Authorised Dealer to check.. she been given Quotation from dealer amount RM8000 ++… damn expensive. Then I got contact/repairment from Naza that doing service outside (partime). Bought the part outside + repairman workmanship = rm2000 . Lesson learn no more Korean car for us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
    • KUS (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 9:35 am

Picanto is a great car for the confort and safety it provides, only drawbacks are not as fuel efficient as quoted ( unless drive in a very patient and gentle manner), and service centre need improvement.

• That’s why I bought 2nd hand 2010 KIA Forte sx. You can get KIA c segment price same price as myvi price or iriz. So far so good.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 25, 2014 at 7:03 pm

excellent car only bogged down by brand image

• Marcus on Nov 24, 2014 at 9:01 pm

after one month drive, really regret to buy korea car, fuel consumption is too bad, sound from door and dashboard come out, air cond no cool…no recommend to buy korea car…